(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

all this talk about porridge is making me hungry...

tubao
wow! u backpack alone.. i cld never do that. the backpacking part, haha.

how many teeth does your baby have now?

my gal had two on top and two on the bottom.
last night i saw two more coming out on top on each side....

is it suppose to be top first then bottom? cos when they were small, it was bottom first...

nag,

my boy's 9th and 10th teeth are out a few days ago.

i think there's no sequence as to which one either top or bottom should come out first..

esther
definitely not stupid qns. no worries. usually will add soup, if no soup, then add veg and some gravy.

nag
re: teeth, my boy is the same as yours.

tubao
salute you! i always salute pple who can travel on their own. for me, won't travel on my own cos feel so lonely. at nite, i oso dare not sleep in hotel room on my own. haha. me scary cat. sure, will share with you when i'm back from europe.

garfield
ya, think kids get sick of same stuff if taken consecutively. so must rotate a bit.

me going to europe on 26 Apr, coming back on 8 May. ya, i heard about the good weather during this period. so decided to go coupled with the favourable currency reason. as a warm up for shawn (since he has never taken flight except when he's in my tummy), we are going to taiwan first. departing abt same time as you, on 24 Mar. :p

Talked about food rotation. Cooked ABC pasta for my gal using stock (corn, pork, wolfberry) then added fish and egg. But she doesn't like it. Only took half of her usual portion compared to porridge, keep making 'puking' sounds. :p

Isobellies/stephie,

Hehe...But I never(scared) bring baby out alone, never(afraid) take after baby alone for one day....

My close friend brainwashed/inspired me to backpack alone...... she backpacked alone for many countries including India, and she met me every week before she gave up professional life here to start a Adventure club business; so I thought it's normal.......

Hehe....If you're close to me(timid part of me)....you may try backpacking alone^_^...Yah....I am not brave/adventurous, but It seems that I can endure loneliness .....

Does any mummy bath baby in standing position?

My baby cried when bathed in standing. When we bring her to swimming, I need to carry her for shower.

kitsune
hahah so funny now that you tell the story. i bet at the time you probably were pek chek that she didn't want to eat!
i just made some pasta for myself tonight so froze some of the sauce for bb. but suspect he might not like tomato base cos last time hubby and i made shepherd's pie for him he also dun like.
the PD asked what he was eating, i told her porridge and cereal, but he seems to like porridge better, and she said "ah, chinese boy!" so cute.

tubao
i think i won't like to backpack cos i'm the type who packs a lot and doesn't like to carry my bags, so i always check in as much as possible. even travel for work in the beginning i used a backpack for laptop, after that i change to a rolling bag, so i dun have to carry, haha.
but backpacking, i think not everyone is as brave to do it

i bathe bb standing but when swimming i always carry him in the shower - a bit troublesome but i think better lah. some of the showers not so clean.

Isobellies, haha, yes, you detected my 'subtle' frustration. I was super sian lor, wash, cut and cook, then got so many extra pots to wash compared to using my slow cooker to cook porridge (just need to dump everything in). Then my princess reacted as if I'm feeding her poison. But when I tasted it myself, I also find it quite 'xin1' lar. Must be the fish and egg killer combination. So, afterwards I cool down liao and make hubby eat the rest of the ABC pasta as double dinner. Hee hee. ;)

Actually, could understand why our darling prefer certain foods. I mean even when I was preggie with her, I usually eat rice based meals for dinner, and noodles for lunch. Wonder if they could taste Asian food from then? Hee.

pauline,
ashlynn also rejected the pasta i cooked for her. i thought it looks yummy. even hb said it smelled good. i dump it away after kena rejected. she is definitely not ready for anything other than porridge and cereal.

re: teeth
ashlynn's 9th and 10th tooth coming out. so many teeth but not adventurous to try more solid food. in fact she still prefers nuah porridge.

bx, haha, aiyoh, yours also. Mine also like that, she prefers baby food that she can swallow without thinking ie. watery nuah porridge. But hor, if it's adult food, everything she wants (egg kueh bulu, white rice, white bread, wholegrain bread, pao, fruits) even if she can't chew them properly cos she has only 3.5 teeth so far. Duh. Why our daughters like that? So, what did you cook your pasta with?

Tubao.. u are super adventurous.. dare to go ALONE!!! Ur hubby must be impressed by u.. haha.

Stephie.. wow.. u really going to a lot of place this year.. taiwan then europe.. shawn's food how? Just wondering what will u be preparing for him or will he be eating what u all are eating?

Dun worry too much, shawn is such a nice boy he will definitely behave himself. E trip to europe is prob abt 14 hrs only so not that bad..

Re: Feeding Rice
I haven try that cause she seems to be swallowing her porridege instead of chewing but we do offer oure rice to her when we having dinner but not as a full meal. Scared she cant digest.. maybe i will try o cook porridge that are not so nua first.

Re: pasta

Can i feed her normal pasta instead of ABC? SO what should i do?? Cook and cut to small pieces then feed with soup? Can anyone advise?

If i use tomato sauce.. can i used the can ones? Will it be too sour?

Re: bathing bb standing
Gwen is a scary cat.. still cant stand unsupported so we dun bath her standing but if she is supporting on e wall.. she is ok with water splashing down her face.. train many times.. but not with shampoo going down...

Re: milk bottles

Any mummies still using teats? Or are u all using spouts/straw to feed milk?

I am thinking of using straw to let her drink milk but dunno whther i shld do it.. any advices?

I tried using magmag straw for her to drink water but it always leak so i stopped and switched back to teat now thinking of reintroducing. What u all using now?

But gwen just finally managed to hold her bottle to self-feed milk ( she self feed water quite some time ago) so dunno whther i should break e momentum when i just finally got a break from having to help her hold her milk bottle.

genice,
nice to hear from you!

re: milk bottles
will stick to teats for the time being.

re: pasta
i think i might have the recipe of tomato based pasta in my blog. but u muz go to the archive. ashlynn didn't like it though.

pauline,
i cook with stock (corn, carrot, wolfberries), added fish, pork rib and finely chopped sweet potato.

btw, that day saw u at LNT, i think RaeAnne is growing more and more adorable by the day. when r u going for the 2nd trial?

Just to share a pic of gwen in e bassinet and also a pic taken at home b4 we went out over e weekends.

2240258.jpg

The super small bassinet, she has to bend her knees to sleep.

I think like what stephie says.. good to ask for bassinet even if not using cause u will have a bigger leg space and u can put ur baby stuffs in e bassinet too.

2240259.jpg

my sweet gal

Bx, your pasta sounds even more yummy than mine. Ashlynn doesn't know what she missed. Haha, thanks, at least she's getting more vain.
Can show us her 'mei mei' pose (copy from toy r us brochure) when we tell her to let us comb her hair, put on a hair clip etc so that she'll be 'mei mei'. But some things still need convincing eg. socks and shoes. :p Next trial is this coming Sat I think but forgot whether it's for Jap or Mandarin. :p Are you likely to sign Ashlynn for LNT?

Genice, wa, Gwen looks all wrapped up for the cold, reminds me of hong kong. She always looks good in warm clothes. My gal will pull and tug at the long sleeves and cry when we make her wear winter clothes. :p

jeannie,
i just convert using mag2 cup to feed cayleb his milk at night because he just refuse his milk for the past 3 days... but he always like to drink water and that's using his mag2 cup so just now i try using the mag2 cup and he finish his milk and faster as well... so i think i'll stick to this going forward... oh, but during the day my maid still giving him milk using bottle while putting him to sleep... cannot give milk while in a sleeping position, cayleb will just stand or sit and drink... gd thing he can now open and hold the cup on his own...

hi hi everyone!
just finished my exam.. feeling good for a while.. but next week lots of assignments due..

genice.. *hi*..
gwen looks cute in her winter clothes.. wat's the temp there??
C's legs were already out of the bassinet the last time i went bali.. it's really for infants.. for mummies who flew by SQ, did u kapo the blanket? my hb likes it so much that i have like 4 at home la.. hahha..

re: teat for milk
if use teat, then they can lie down n drink.. otherwise they have to sit up straight.. so usually i will let C lie down for his night feed n drink so tat he sets in the dreamy mode..

i have fed C with mini pasta, n also spaghetti quite some time back.. cos i just wanted him to try new foods instead of porridge all the time.. i broke the spaghetti into small portions then boil.. quite easy to cook.. the other time i also cooked homemade tomato sauce..

re: rice
i also fed rice.. cos he wants to eat what we are eating!

re: salt / soya sauce
i try to minimise givng salt/soya sauce because there's already natural salts present in meats/fish.. also i don't want to spoil his taste buds so early else next time he doesn't like bland foods.. maybe i m rather strict on diet as i also don't believe in giving sweets n sugary foods..

iso, how's the JWT trial?

to all the mummies who are going overseas:
ENVY! enjoy yrselves!!

re: backpack
i miss my backpacking days too!! tubao, salute u too!

genice,
my bb can't drink from straw nor sippy cup yet!! everyday i am trying to practise it with him.. sian. So now feeding water by spoon, siong!

genice
gwen is so cute in her winter wear. i won't think abt the flight for now. let nature take it's course else stress myself for nothing.

will stick to teat too. shawn has always been difficult to feed using bottle. when i was on mc last week and he was with me. was pleasantly surprised that he's ok to drink milk using bottle and willing to hold on his own though me is just beside him (mummy around = latch). but good to train them to drink from cup so that they get wean off bottle early. my girl still drink her milk using bottle :p

for shawn's food during travelling, will bring cereal. so other than milk and cereal, he will eat what we eat. good thing he likes to eat bread.

my mum feeds shawn macaroni. he likes it. think pple usually use abc pasta for baby cos it's small. if bb can't already chew quite well, ok to give bigger size i think.

stephie,
wa.. seldom see you so early today. good morning!!!

re: milk from bottle/spout/straw
still let her drink from bottle with teat. she has the problem of choking when the flow is too fast from spout/straw.

re: teat
btw, anyone using NUK silicon teat?
i just changed to new teat recently, found that it's very soft compared to last time i bought in Oct 2007. when my gal drink with it, it will collapse.
thought that it's because the hole is too small, i changed to larger hole. she has the problem of choking.
thought that the teat is too small, i changed to the stage 2. she drinks like very 'chuan3'.
don't know what happens. my MIL asked me to change a teat for her but i don't know what to buy liao. i like the design of NUK teat though. how?

re: rice
i tried mix rice with soup last night.
she's ok with it. but i find it more difficult to feed cos she need to chew very long and hard to scoop up the rice from soup also. anyway, i think it's good to let her eat the rice as she got the chance to chew.

(will still stick to cereal/porridge when i am rushing for time :p)

i tried pasta before - the shell shape. had a hard time breaking it up to small pieces. think so mummy blend it. any other way to make it smaller in an efficient way?

re: Dumex seminar
i've registered for myself but yet to pay. will be going alone.
anyone going?

specifically i will attend the session:
(2) Dangers of a weak and imbalanced immune system
(3) Boosting your child's immune system

genice,
wow, gwen is so cute in her winter clothes.

Pauline,
wun be able to go for the 2nd trial this sat as i have school camp. hmm... the 2nd trial hb will sit in and evaluate the lesson. so far i dun think i will sign up. actually i still prefer baby jumper gym.

morning xiao you and bx

xiaoyun
ya, i don't usually wake up so early. cos today got to do testing for a new server at wee hours.
zombie at work later. luckily can go off in the afternoon to recharge :p

another nice place for F&E are turkey and USA. Good for USA specially when you buy a lot of USA kids stuff. So many factory outlet there. think it'll be a nice destination for our kids as they are growing. I backpack in USA and turkey for 21days only. Europe no as Euro was very expensive then. Envy those who go Europe.
Me will definitely go back to Taiwan this year. Will be planning to set up business after this trip so that I have more time with my child.

nagsterak
Teeth:
Chanett have 4 below and 4 on top. So most of the time I will let her bites big piece of food.

i have my fair share of feeding woes (solids). but mummies don't give up. JIA YOU! my boy hated chicken, i kept trying until he's ok.

for pasta, i will puree tomatoes & carrot, steam it with minced beef and add to pasta.

pasta
if i give larger pieces type of pasta like macaroni/fusili/penne, i'll blend it to make it smaller, but i'll also cook it so it's softer lah.
if ABC, no need to blend. i haven't tried spaghetti but i think if soft enough should be ok? the other day i gave him e-fu noodles, he liked it, but i only gave a few strands, not a whole meal.

stephie
macaroni give whole??

jeannie
gwen look so cute in her winter clothes!! btw i use mag mag straw for water with E, but it's normal for babies to drink a bit and spit out a bit. they think it's fun..

kitsune
that makes sense!! apparently babies can kind of taste our food when we're pregnant with them or something like that right? so maybe that's why they prefer porridge and rice, haha.

eliaw
i din go JWT in the end cos i ended work late and cldn't make it there in time. so i decided to run my errands and today i'll bring him to GUG instead. Sat i'll do gymboree too. haha!

BX, aiyo why dumped your yummy pasta away? you should eat it yourself what.

genice: gwen looks so sweet and pretty lei!! the bassinet looks real small. but she din protest when she sleeps in it meh?

shaun likes the mini ABC pasta a lot. We din make tomato puree for him, we just cook the pasta in our own veggie stock but put in some tomatos in it.

re: milk bottle
he still drink milk in teats bottle. he only drink water from straw mug. we can give milk in straw mug liao meh? but tot the flow quite fast.

hi genice

my baby still using avent teat and bottle for milk...she also can hold on her own now and on mornings and night b4 sleep, i ask her to hold it and she drink lying down.

i also bought the sippy cup and the straw one...but both she dont really like.
of course she like the straw one, but she wants to play with it, she suck and then swallow once, after that she just suck and release all out wetting her pants and floor which i think it is "lei jeh" i still need to wipe her...so i gave up.

water
does avent have a straw one? i tried the magic spout, but it's not easy to drink from leh. even my sister and i tried it, haha. maybe i should just remove the plastic bit inside so that it flows easier? he can also drink from like mineral water bottles.

MOrning mummies!

Jeannie - Gwen super pretty in that outfit, mummy very good dress sense. How r u settling down in your new environment?

Feeding rice - i also worry about indigestion if we start with rice, even when we put soup, the rice don't really soften much right, its not the same as grainy porridge.

Using straw - Can you bb use the straw liao? Heidi likes to play with the straw only, she doesn't think its meant to drink. EVen when i put it to her mouth, she will chew and spit it out, how to train ah?

Tubao - wow, backpack Europe, i should have gone for something like that b4 getting married, then pregnant..hmm

Little neurotree - i am going for the trial class this sat at Selegie (Pomo), any1 going? was thinking to sign up also :p

fairfield,
i didn't train for either.
i just tried a few times, and then one day he just got it.
i guess with all things, babies will do things in their own time

iso,
really ah? oh, so i just have to keep letting him try lah. I thought u will need to demonstrate and do the "sucking" sound etc..

OK, i shall patiently wait for the day he can drink from the straw then.

hi mummies, it is possible to train to drink from straw. Use yr finger to stop the water at one end n give the other end to yr child. Let yr child suck while slowly releasing yr finger n allow the water to flow. They should be able to get it v soon.
actually when i 'train', it means just letting them try over n over again. If first few times can't get it, try again 2-3 days later.

Hi, Eliaw/blueginger

Hi5....miss backpacking life hah!?

Hi, Eliaw
Salute to you who take pay cut to learn educating C.

And always amazed and salute to mummies who take care of one and more(three for Kelly) kids at home ALONE. I still haven't figured out what's lack of me so that I couldn't do it.

Hi, Genice
Gwen looks so fashionable......and envy you-----feels Gwen is angel baby; Guess it's impossible for my gal E to conform to sleep with bent knees, she will ask us to carry her for most of whole night.

My gal always asked older kids' water bottles at playground last time; so we bought a water bottle(with straw, for older kids type) for her.

And when older kids were drinking from bottles, we asked our gal to compete drinking water with them. She is now used to drinking water with straw. But for milk we still use Avent with teat.

Hi, Garfield

Last Dec we left E to my IL family for 2 weeks; we travelled in Vietnam.

For me I think it's good decision. My hubby and I talked a lot about what happened after baby joined us. For IL family/especially SILs& BIL who're on Dec school holiday, they came to realize that we lived a tough life by juggling work and taking care of baby. They loved E more and appreciated(I feel) our financial contribution.

Though E missed us very much, and was quite unhappy when we're away; I think it's good to train her independent and survive disappointment.

fairfield,
i sort of train my son to drink from straw because he doesn't like teat/sippy cup. so i try using normal straw first and demonstrate first few times to him that need to suck. initially they will bite the straw, but once they can suck successfully then there's no turning back... they will also have problem controling the suction power (at the time, i have to pull the straw away so that he doesn't choke) but now he can suck few times without choking...