(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Thanks mummies ! Vulva sounds like the most correct and well... scientific way to call it. THink will try that.

besides me and gennice, anyone else joining next Wed trial at JWT ?

fairfield,

ur bb is very cute! smiling happy bb.

qingling,

u gg 2 the bb fair? might be gg...

btw mummies,

Isetan's private sale is next on 12 March (Thursday)

nicole
where is JWT? how much is the trial and what time is it?

qingling
when are you going for the bb fair, i might be going too =)

tong2,
wow...so every weekend you go back to KL? I've a colleague who has similar arrangement but his parents stays in Kuching so he only goes back every 3-4 months. must be v tiring for you to go back every weekend ?

gar,
unfortunately both me and hb have no relatives at all here. all our families are back home in sgp. may try to get my mil to stay for a month if possible, but that's only temp solution.

esther,
yeap, going to install those camera which you can access from phone via gprs/3g. i think singtel/m1 offers those services. at the very minimal i can see what's going on in the house. dilemma is now whether to tell my maid what the purpose of that camera is or just keep quiet :p

jass,
yeah... i'm v thankful with my parents. by coming here they are really sacrificing their social life because they don't know anyone here... but they do go back every 4 months or so... for around 2 wks usually...

tute,

my gf advises me 2 let the maid knw the existence of the camera, as in she will behaves "properly" & take care of the kid properly.

but is it true tat we can oni install one in the living room?

esther:
SALE.. are u going? o dear, you are tempting me! LOL~

nicole:
wat time are u going for the trial next wed? i'll try to make it. hee~

esther:
haha w a #2, you sure have lots of things to buy wor. anyway, is #2 a boy / ger?

jass,

SALE SALE SALE! Another sale next wk is the JL sale 3rd to 5th Mar (preview sales for cardmembers) I might be gg aso. ;p

my #2 is a boy. think nothing much 2 buy aso cos i alreadi got alot of hands-me-down from my SIL. I got 2 nephews.

esther, andrea,jass -baby fair, i haven't ask hubby..haha..he's the driver..Sat is out though..he's working..so leave sunday. i hope to grab some huggies diapers

qingling,

thanks! can close production liao. keke...

andrea,

i'm interested in the crocs! happened 2 chance upon a bulk purchase. the one u posted, the price is in US$? roughly hw much 4 the kids disney mickey?

wow esther, you so zhun strike a boy!! congrats!!
i also wish, but dunno how.. hehe

tute, yea i try to make it every weekend, but this weekend i'm not going back cuz got someting on. well, it's not tiring to take train cuz basically i took night train and just sleep on the train. as for driving, still ok, probably quite used to it liao keke

XY, oic, yes interested, price sounds reasonable but probably will just go once in a while if it's good. Cos too far from the East. 4-5pm is better for me actually but if really cannot then 630pm also can. Help me find out details can?

Gogo Bambini, err... where is it? Next Wed confirmed?

Gar, Bkkgal, isobellies, Esty, Qingling, actually no matter how much $ you have, it can't buy time, love, health, or happiness. Guess hubby supportive cos he tired of hearing me complain about the things I don't agree about RaeAnne's care under ILs.

Eg. 1) He didn't take RaeAnne's temperature when I came back to rest for 2 hours yesterday, even though I already told Ils to do that. When I asked him, he said he got no time to take her temp. Please, got time to bring her downstairs on stroller to make her sleep but no time to use a ear thermometer. How much time does that take? When I found out that she didn't have milk (and medicine added to milk) since I left and the medicine timing has past. I wanted to take her temperature but he insisted that I cannot disturb her cos she only slept for half an hour. End up, by the time she woke up at 1.40pm, her fever already hit 38.5 lor. Also, there was a thunderstorm and FIL insist that I switch off the Leapfrog learning drum that I was playing with RaeAnne. I told him it runs on batteries, it's not a lightning hazard. If anything that run on batteries are a hazard, how about the lights, fridge, remote control, that are still switched on in the house? Duh... I know they love her lots and I don't understand why he's so concern about her safety (lightning strike in the house?) but so bo chap about her having fever, letting her fever spike up again and again. Making her sleep is more important to him. Sorry, just need to rant though I know they love her lots and I do appreciate their help in looking after her so that I have some 'me' time. That's also why if I put RaeAnne there at their house, I don't want to stay to help cos I don't agree with things and I'm not the sort who can't hide my reaction or act blur. :p

Pauline - ya, i can understand your frustrations..cannot imagine if my caretakers do that..hmph.

but lucky for me, my own mum is taking care, and she mostly is open to my opinions and very careful when bb runs a temp or something

pauline & qingling:
i guess its easier to talk to our own parents abt caregiving issues than ILs.
hmmm... i guess pauline, try to open 1 eye, close the other eye ba.

qingling, jass ya, i would prefer my parents too but they r too old. Today, my mum came over n bought some food for me n she stayed till 5pm. At least i can grab lunch, n go toilet, cook raeanne's porridge in peace. Mil commented that raeanne didn't want her to carry anymore, I'm thinking of meeting my ex colleagues for lunch tom so that i can leave raeanne at ils place n close both eyes. Provided she's fully recovered lar, cos can't trust them to give med.

jass, thanks for explaining. No wonder. Yo, anyone same birthday as me? 7 aug? Hubby just told me he has 2 weeks reservist in aug. Sian half liao. I joked with him that i'll take a 2 week vacation during his reservist. :p

kitsune,
strange hor..why your ILs don't wannna give med? is it bcos they believe in chinese med or what? will it help if your hb gave them the instructions instead?

generally, i think most women have issues accepting their MILs' way of doing things. my theory is that every household is different, so we are more comfortable with our mothers' habits and practices since we grew up with these. when it comes to baby, there will be lesser conflict lor since we're already used to our mothers' way of doing things.

so if we really need ILs' help, have to try to let go of our own notions of how things are to be done, which i know is damn tough la. i can have issues even with how things are washed...hehe...

fairfield,
skylar is so cute! and the hat...was it for some occasion?

wow, 6 years is a long time to be in the US. are you planning to be home by the time skylar starts school?

hi babes...

garfield,
thanks! yeah counting down to tmr and den go buy my carrier this weekend n start practising gg out with baby alone

Ergo carrier
anyone knows where are ergo carriers sold?

hi hi kitsune,
yr fil is really weird. Don't understand why the frequencies r always wrong. Anyone here has good in laws??
i can totally understand wat u r going thru cos I'm having problems w my mil too!!
Decided to close both eyes. Nowadays I become quite forgetful n when things happen, after grumbling, I'll forget.
But I always remember tat she called C stupid n xiao before. Made me really pissed but I just went over to her n then carried C away. At tat moment, I didn't know wat to say n didn't want to be rude by saying something n offend her. But by not saying anything also offended her. So double dilemma!
I'm just glad tat I'm not staying w her n I only go visit them half a day on Sunday. But just feel the akwardness all the time. N really dread Sundays.
忍!!!!

4 March (Wed) Playdate @ Gogo bambini
Time: 2-5pm
1. Garfield
2. Bkkgal
3. Berry
4. Piglettail
5. Eliaw
6. Kitsune

Anyone been there before?? Is it good??
realized I can't go on Monday becos got meeting.
actually I got presentation tat day. But heck!! Means must start mugging during weekends.

Gar, Eliaw, ILs are those people who don't believe in seeing dr and taking med, ya maybe they believe more in letting own immune system take over or they'll take chinese med when they really need to. Also, they believe that all babies should sleep a lot (like their 2 sons) so maybe they feel that sleep more will recover liao. Eg. FIL has a really bad back but he refuse to see dr or go for proper treatment. Everytime his back hurts, he'll say he needs to lie down. MIL is more supportive in this aspect, she also agrees that should not let fever spike up for baby. So she's the one who helped me hold RaeAnne down when I feed the medicine by syringe. But she's a housewife and seldom contradict FIL who's more stubborn. :p

Hubby give instructions also no use and he knows they are like that. So, he even reminds me to go over and check re: medicine.

Fairfield, agree Skylar very cute, such a beautiful smile. Unique name too.

good morning mummies,

emoments/tong,
i can share your pain... it's not micro. it's NANO!!!

pauline,
most probably 4 pm. will keep you updated. if not, keep in contact with sms?
i got to meet garfield at 6 pm. die die must finish the massage by 530pm.

garfield,
ignore my sms. Monday 6 pm is fine.

re: IL problem
i close both eyes liao.
just appreciate the fact that they love C and taking care of her.
for the education, feeding part, must rely on myself. (but i am still worrying for her food in take - not enough vege, not enough fruit, not enough calcium... )

btw, mummies,
do you all know if it will have side effect if i feed C dried fruits everyday? as i don't go to market every week, i not be able to stock up on fresh fruits for C. I replace it with dried fruits and mixing dried cranberries/apricot alternate days into her cereal for breakfast.
ok or not one har?
(i sometimes feed her fresh fruits if i have time at night)

got to chao and wake her up for breakfast liao... bye

esther, gar, eliaw, pauline,
thanks! he is very smiley, laughs a lot, but also cries a lot... according to my mum, its like that lah.. babies who laugh easily also cry easily.

gar,
ya 6 yrs is a long time. I hope to go back to sin by the time he needs to go to sch, cos i think the early yrs of education in sin is better than US.

ahh, the hat.. we were in Ikea and came across the hat, so just put it on him, and managed to catch his smile just in time for the camera.

emoments
glad u let your maid go. to me, stealing is one thing but bullying a child is another. a child cannot say, cannot complain. even if unhappy also cannot take it out on a baby/child. it's very shiong on you...maybe hb can help out a bit more? or if your parents/ILs can chip in during this tough period..will be good..at least until the reorg is over and u more or less get used to the new management style. hang in there ok?

female bosses
yeah..tho i m female myself, i must say that female bosses are the more difficult ones..somehow i think male bosses can be more sympathetic esp if they are married, have kids, they can see their own wives facing the same issues as us.

XY
If C has no constipation and moves bowels easily, think dried fruits should be fine. still has the nutrients except not fresh lah. u can also supplement with multi-vit for her.

My K woke up 4.30 am screaming last night. I thought maybe stomach ache, apply yuyee oil. hb thot hungry, so we feed milk but she still cry. in the end, open diaper, she poo-ed 1 pc of shit very hard - i think very bad constipation cos she cannot sleep and kept trying to strain. in the end, she poo another time again very hard. by the time we went back to bad, almost 6am liao.

we give her bananas, papayas, watermelon, apple, pear. every day she has variety of fruits. i also give flaxseed in her food whenever poss. Any advice har mommies?

uline, Other than lettng Raeanne take medicine remember to let her drink lots of water too hor, and of course zz.
do you plan to take care of bb all by your own now? raeanne would not be with your il all the times right, so you can just close one eye la.

Re: MIL
I"m glad that i'mm not staying with MIL too, cuz my living habits and hers really like sky and earth . I stayed with her for nearly a year before, glad i moved out before i exploded hahah

re: lady boss
why they want to be so nano??!! hai, bobian la, i think i accept it liao, just work and leave on the dot, no eye see haha.

Xiaoyun, for dried fruit, i think can eat , but still fresh one is better? your in law can go marketing and buy for C right?

bkkgal, first time kate having constipation? banana can cause constipation one. give prunes, nectarines and papaya instead.

tong,

haha.. u wan a boy again ah.. tot u wan a gal for #2. ;p

pauline,

i can understand hw u feel. Count myself lucky tat i dun stay wif my inlaws. cos reali like wat tong say me & them aso worlds apart. Upfront alreadi told i wont stay wif inlaws and i wont depend on them 2 help me tk care of my kids. tat y past 2 mths i was having headache as in who's gg 2 take care of my kids when #2 arrives. I jz simply dun wan my inlaws 2 tk care. anyway maybe they aso dun wan la. keke...

4 me, i aso cant act blur or close eyes. i will explode!

jz 2 share a recent incident. jz during cayenne's BD party, my FIL wanted 2 carry her but he got "bad" record according 2 my hb's SIL. my FIL gave alcohol 2 her 3 kids, the youngest being 1 1/2 yrs old oni!

so i told my FIl "father, dun give cayenne alcohol hor" cos i see he has a can of beer in front of him!

andrea,

yes i wan 2 order. wait 4 me hor. i will pm u later. thanks!

gar:
agree w u, each family has their own way of doing things. therefore, we are more used to our own parents ways of doing things. hehe i mean even if got conflicts oso easier to resolve. hahah for me i can talk loud loud to my parents (coz we all have loud voices lah) but to PILs.. have to talk nicely. hee~

eliaw:
me me! i'm quite fortunate to have a really nice MIL. she was a FTWM last time, so didnt look after her 3 children. thus no much opinion on caregiving. heheh so i'm pretty left to make decisions abt my boy. Thank god! and she comes over everyday to look after my boy. v sweet of her, sarcrfice her personal life for us. coz she used to go out walk walk, watch play and meet up w her retired frens. now no longer. trying to encourage her to bring matthew and maid out. but so far not really successful yet. dunno lah, up to her ba.

o dear... y your mil says that? not v nice leh.

xy:
wah... breakfast for carrie is so early! OMG, matt & i are still in lala land.

prob can give fresh fruits which u can store? when i buy melon, i can eat for 3 days. grapes can also... maybe u wanna cut out the portions and bring it along to ur MIL's place and ask her to give your girl in the day time?

for me, i'll mix fresh fruits like strawberry / banana / kiwi into morning cereal for matt. sometimes i'll add mango / apple / pear puree / avocado into the cereals too. these are what i have prepared earlier and freezed. these are his daily fruits intake. usually wont give fruits as it is. lazy hee~

emoments:
got to jia you wor... its going to be a tough period. but hope things will work out well for u
*hug*

bkk
hmm did u say that she doesn't like cereal or is it porridge that she doesn't like? i find E will poo more easily when he takes more cereal.. but he prefers to have porridge so recently poo more like every other day.

pauline:
haha actually i'm also like your IL.. hahahah hope bb's immune system can work by itself. hehe but oso quite heng matthew is quite a healthy bb. so far... we ahve only seen dr for fever once. so when he has fever another 2 times, we'll just give him that medicine. other issues like cough / running nose, its not so serious... we monitor abt 2-5days.. usually will disappear by themself. phlegm oso, just stop all the phlegm causing food then he will be ok in a week or less. hope he will always be so healthy. *fingers cross*

re: not staying w IL.
not staying tog will have less conflicts due to different style of living. overall, i personally think tat it will bring more happiness to the family. hahaha tats y i put my foot down when hubby initially say dun wanna buy a flat, just stay w his family. stay nearby is ok.. even next door is ok... as long as we have our own living space. LOL.

esther:
your FIL huh *shake head* hahah give alcohol to make them sleep better is it? dun disturb him huh!

bkk:
cant help u much. coz matt dun have constipation ever since he is off total milk feed. but so far, for his meals... he will have abt 2 types of fruits w ceral in the morning. portion is at least 2 ice cube sized puree. w fresh fruits. lunch and dinner i'll put in min 2 ice cube sized veg for each meal. sometimes i'll put in 2 types of veg into 1 meal.

fairfield:
ya... akylar is really cheerful hee~

RE: sleep

i wont wake shaun up for breakfast, infact wanted him to zz more!! whenever he started to make noise at aorund 7am, my mum said my dad will put him back to the yaolan and rock him to zz again, then he will zz till 9am. er, i dunno whether this is good?? or just let him wake up at 7??

jass, can give strawberry liao? since you freeze the fruit puree, how do you heat it up?

jass,
can you share with me how you prepare the fruit puree ice cubes?

just add all the types of fruits together and blend is it? or do you blend each type of fruit separately to freeze?

female bosses
the boss i like the best (and would love to work for her again) is female, surprisingly. then there is a previous boss who is male and ang moh with 2 kids who was not v understanding about working hours (i asked whether there's any flexibility in time, cos my previous co. was quite own time own target). guess there are always exceptions to the rule!

XY
what about freezing some fresh fruits? some fruits freeze pretty well..

ILs
i know what you guys mean, i still live with mine! am really thankful that they can help out and look after bb, but i definitely don't agree with some of their ways of bringing up kids, but bo bian, got to close both eyes. luckily my bb spends maybe 50% of his time with my mum, and we're much more on the same wavelength.

eliaw
omg, call C stupid?? my FIL did that to my nephew before, i told my hubby that if he ever did that to our bb he has to scold him! i definitely don't agree with that practise.

ILs...this topic among married women is like "army talk" to our hbs hehe
never fails to invoke a lot of emotions one!

female bosses,
hmm...i have had my fair share of female bosses. some went on to be my best friends (known her for 12 years, and we meet 3 to 4 times a year even though we have left the same coy for almost 6 years now).

but hor, IMHO, the WORST WORST WORST bosses are those petty and insecure MALE bosses!!! much much much worse than any micro-managing female bosses....!!!!! i am sway lor, kenna these type a few times liao

gar
wah!! sounds shack. i never encounter those before. my 2nd best boss is a guy who has a v v cute son and is super super pro family. i regret not taking up a job with him recently cos it's less $ than this current place, then now no more headcount. kok myself! heheh

iso,
yes....it is so super emotionally tiring and sian to work for such a boss. i think i had more energy to cope with such bosses when i was younger. nowadays, gosh, they can go elsewhere to have their egos massage. i aint gonna do it!!!

tongtong:
hehe actually i kinda of give him everything. strawberry, kiwi, blueberry, pessimon, soursop. cant think of any new food to intro actually. so far no allergies lah. erm... actually i have been feeding him bits of wat i eat daily too.

gar:
i'll prepare the puree seperately so tat i can mix can match. haha lazy. usually will just blend the fruits and scoop into ice cube tray then freeze. i do it for fruits and veg. avocado i'll just scoop up the fresh, divid into 4 and freeze. apple and pear will steam then puree and freeze. coz apple will oxidize if i didnt steam it haha so brown brown one, not nice. heard my mum say after steam chinese pear, its less liang and will not cause phlem, so i steam.

Eliaw, me! I have pretty good in-laws by my standards hee. They are good because they are generally respectful of my views/parenting style as the mummy and are not pushy at all. Of cos there are times when opinions will differ and they will try to sneak some treat to my dd when I already say no(eg, if she is having a cough) and other petty stuff like that, but not really harmful things like coffee/alcohol!. But since they only see the kids during times when we visit and they dont help with caring of the kids on normal days, so not that much chances for conflicts too. I have alot of respect for them becaue they were good parents to my hb, so I will try to be as respectful and nice as possible on my part. Oh, it REALLYREALLY helps that their parenting style is not v far from ours. I guess in a nutshell thats why we get along. Which is why I brought them along to the joint party that time, cause I thought they'd be pleased to come along.

xiaoyun, alot of dried fruits contain preservatives, sugar and colour brighteners to retain the colours. Also, alot of perishable vits will prob be lost during the process of dehydration. I guess once in a while may be fine in v small quantities? As for apricots, see if u can get those unsulphured (then they wont be bright yellow, instead they'll be a dark reddish brown) and unsweetened ones.

bkkgal, tried prune juice? Effecitive but my bb wont take.

Hi, mummies, now that RaeAnne is better, temp 37.1 at 9+am, I'm down with cold and sore throat. Went to see dr just now, want to quickly recover so that won't spread to her. Now not BF anymore, very scared that she fall sick. Actually planned to go to the expo fair today then meet my colleagues for lunch but I took med, very groggy now. Stay home to rest better. RaeAnne at ILs place. Make hubby to call FIL to monitor temperature and feed med in milk if got fever. Hope that's work :p

No, we stay on our own, but 5 mins walk from ILs. Staying with them is a NO, NO, NO! MIL also didn't want us to stay with them cos she stayed with her MIL and there was a lot of conflict so thankfully she's aware too.

XY, 4pm sounds good, how much is the trial? What is the centre name?

In laws
hahaha!! this topic never fails to pop up. Though i find i do have a helpful MIL but i guess our views and methods on bringing up kids are pretty different. There are times that i have recommended some interesting books on child care for her reading pleasure but she's not keen on it as she feels she has sufficient "knowledge" on childcare. And the worse i feel is that, she gathers info. fm all her majong kakis n insist that it is the so called "right" way. Though i have told her i am not keen to do so, she wld still do so behind my back when i have my "me" time. Sad to say, we r not exactly on fantastic terms now as i have told her to back off totally and leave anything that has to do with my son to me and she is not to interfere. My hubs, of course is not too pleased about it n i have lost my "me" time. But i guess, i would rather keep my sanity. hahaha!!!

bkkgal,
how abt trying sweet potato, papayas. that has never failed to bring poop out fm L.

woman bosses,
oh..... i can remember my dear ex boss. Unmarried and old. Goodness!!! job=life for her man! Even on weekends, she wld call me and ask abt a project and when i tell her i am in the mist of lunch and will call her back later, she says it is v impt !!!! m now wondering how i endured my years with her???