(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi mummies... happy lunar new year!

hows cny? hahah this is the 1st year our babies received ang pao rite??!!

lol... chinese saying is tat once we pass cny, er will gain 1 yr in age. hahah matt is born on the last day of last cny, so this cny makes him 2 yrs old liao huh.

yeah, matt is not walking yet. still v scared to stand by himself. pil bought him a walker 2 weeks back to train his legs.

stephie:
wah... okok then u must be doing your confinement last cny. for me, i'm so happy that i can finally eat yu sheng this yr... miss this last yr.

XY, supposed to go for photography class organised by my cousin's company rec club but now not going liao. Cos the course change to Thurs evening 7-9pm. :/

ABCdisney, what is the size of your playpen? Prefer big one, can email me the pixs and price to [email protected]? I'll go home and dig out my pooh party stuff, take pics and show you too.

E was born 2nd day so even in the hospital people were already giving us ang pow, he came just in time ;)

jass mei
anyway this year more fun for them to receive, since they know how to give people things or take things! btw last time u got let matt try a jumper? the rent-that-toy lady said it's good for exercising their leg muscles...

kitsune
hahah it ihas been left int he storeroom unopened. Let me check the size for u. I hvnt even open the box

To share... little Andrae

2113245.jpg

hehe, ABCDisney, the playpen was a gift from someone? Never even open? I didn't want to buy playpen too cos heard it's very hot for baby to sleep in it. But hubby think my gal will climb out of the play yard so now exploring play pen option. Need to put her in somewhere safe in the living room when I become SAHM.
Andrea looks very festive and pensive in that photo. Does he look more like you or hubby?

kitsune,

i bought a latex mattress for the my play pen... its more cooling that the mattress tat comes w my play pen.

iso jie, stephie:
jumperoo huh... hmm... can consider leh. need to get hubby yo approve ya. lol.

iso jie:
matt only crush up his red packet haha~ refuse to gong xi gong xi still. i bought the small oranges for him to bai nian and while we tried to et him to hold the oranges and do gong xi gong xi, he wanna bite the oranges. v funny. too bad my camera spoilt (or so i thot) so didnt managed to capture the moment.

abc:
andrae is so cute. CNY costume ya, i got 1 for matt too. lol.

kitsune,
if possible, don't restrict bb's movement as much as possible.
letting bb move about in the house helps their fine and gross motor development as well as their hand-eye coordination.
In normal days, my MIL will keep her inside her playpen or put her on the sofa and watch TV. we never let her crawl or cruise with support at my PIL place as their place is totally not childprooved and not hygienic enough due to the existence of a dog.
I wonder why she seems taking very long to walk with support. Even during weekends, the time that she's allowed to move about at home is limited as we always has some programs outside where she will be carried by us.
I was amazed how fast she learns after I brought her back to Malaysia where she can move freely. With 3 days of training, she can climb staircase and her hands and legs are much stronger.
If possible, try to make your home as childproof as possible. Clear the cabinets within her reach and fill with her toys or some plastic containers for her to play (take out and put in).

jass mei
aiyo so cute!! too bad u dun have a video for us to see...
for the jumperoo how about renting? otherwise it's so big, and will be zhor dang in your house v fast
but the jumperoo also good to keep them entertained in one spot, heh.

Yar.. xy.. i agree with you.. but them my Gwen still very slow.. haha.. think her motor skills really cannot make it.. :p

hey gers.. just wondering. anyone of you feels that ur babe is getting very notti??

I feel that Gwen is geeting very cheeky and she wants things her way. Gets angry when we dun give in to her and now she making funny faces as well... sigh..

I am from Jan'08 thread. I have just ended my boy's 1st birthday party and would like to let go of the Winnie the Pooh and Friends Scene Setter and a Winnie the pooh super shape mylar balloon. Condition is as good as new.

http://www.harvestwell.com.sg/zencart/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=20&products_id=161

http://www.harvestwell.com.sg/zencart/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=20&products_id=409

If you are interested, you can contact me at [email protected]

jeannie,
agree agree agree..
i gave her apple yesterday and she keep biting it and spat it out.
during dinner time, she spat out the vege that i gave her.
this makes me mad as she has never spit out food.

jeannie
yah! now more naughty. they learn to assert themselves, so cute right!

walking
agree with XY, i think babies are happy when they can crawl around and explore on their own also. now our play pen, which has a zip to make a hole at the side, is only for him to crawl in and out for fun or to find some toys that we put inside.

E is v active so i don't think i could confine him to an area anyway. he was crawling up the stairs on his own before he turned 8 months, but also he has a cousin 11 months older than him to "watch" and learn.

Xy.. very frustrating hor.. i am very scared that i cannot discipline her well.

Isobellies.. haha.. very gd.. u r very optimistic... they are indeed very cute but i am worried i am too obsessed by her cutesness that i forgot that it is actually a form of misbehaviour.. sometimes i dunno where to draw the line...

Just to share one incident:

Went to the zoo over the long weekend and brought baby to the kidzworld for her to play w water. I wasnt prepared to get wet ( prepared extra clothes for her and not for myself or hubby), wanted to just let her play with water.. splash ard and have fun.. and its actually possible to avoid the water from "hitting" you. BUT.. then.. got this boy abt 2-3 yrs old.. he was running around.. holding onto the "water canon" ( Actually something that you can turn with water splashing out and can aim at other people.) And he started to spray at us.. and everybody.. and... SHit... i was holding onto my DSLR... he sprayed onto it...!!!! *Angry*.. ok.. nvm.. he is only a kid.. i will forgive him.. we told him.. cannot do that...

Within a few mins later.. he did the same thing again.. no we got slightly angry.. and told him no.. cannot.. Guess what.. a lady who has been standing for ages by the side and watching the show walked over to us and <font color="ff0000">said smilingly:" If i were you, i will not stand around here."</font> ANd she went on to call the boy who was running everywhere, not to scold him but told him to be careful when he run..!!

<font color="ff0000">OMG!!!!I AM APALLED!!!</font> So u are the mother who has been silently watching the show and expect pp to move away to accomodate ur boy who is shooting at strangers??? I wonder what kind of message is she sending out to her son!!! She must have been blinded by her cute kid.... i really hope i dun end up like her.

xy, jeannie:
ya... definitely getting naughtier. but when matt gives me the cheeky smile, i melt. sigh~

iso:
yeah, will not buy coz such things will only entertain him for a while and its quite chor tang. haa~ dunno if hubby wanna rent a not haa~

read an article from babycenter. there are 4 points that worries me as C can't do some of those things yet.
can you please help to answer the questions?

1. Does your toddler point at objects? (Between the ages of 9 and 12 months, most children start pointing at things that catch their attention such as dogs, and toys. It's a non-verbal way of trying to communicate with you and an important step in language development.)
how to define 'point'? using 1 finger or 4 fingers or the hand?
she can't use 1 finger to point yet. so far only reach towards the object and look at me occasionally. is that considered 'point'?

2. What does your toddler say? (At this age your toddler can join syllables together and is jabbering wordlike sounds. He can say "mama" and "dada," and maybe a couple of other words as well. Let the doctor know what your toddler understands. By now he should know and respond to his own name and other familiar words and show an interest in others' conversations; if he's not making any sounds or is making fewer than he was before, tell the doctor.)
some 'ba ba' and 'ma ma' sound.
but she doesn't not always respond to her own name.

3. How are your toddler's social skills developing? (Most 1-year-olds enjoy playing games with others, including peekaboo and patty-cake. Your child will imitate everyday actions such as sweeping the floor or brushing his hair and will be exuberant and curious most of the time. He'll probably seek out interaction with familiar people, but will be anxious when separated from you or around strangers.)
she doesn't imitate ppl and seldom has separation anxiety and stranger anxiety.

4. How are your toddler's fine motor skills developing? (Twelve-month-olds like to point at things and can use both hands together when they play with things. If your toddler isn't using both hands equally, tell the doctor.)
same as (1), she doesn't point at things with 1 finger.
but she likes to hold objects on each hand all the time.

stephie, thanks for the info!

'naughty' kids- hehe just let me be the devil's advocate here for the sake of discussion, so dont mind me and dont take me personally.
So u all feel that sometimes, the word 'naughty' can be quite an unfair term to use on kids? Cause genrally the only thing it means is that the child is not behaving perfectly according to the adult's wishes, and we all know that some things are quite subjective. Its as if once a child is not up to our high adult standard, they become 'naughty'? From reaching out to grab the salt shaker to purposely hurting another kid, its all "naughty". Whereas words like "very mobile", "very strong will/determined", "not easily distracted", or "disobedient" gives more accurate info about the behaviour we are concerned abt? Just thinking out loud, no offence.
What do u all think?

xiaoyun, hey u are right, bbs learn much faster when given the freedom to explore freely. My pd kept telling me that too.
And hor, dont be too concerned abt those 'milestone' charts you find online, it only states what average kids do, doesnt mean that those who dont are lacking in the long run. Like a boy I know reused to talk till nearly 2, naturally his parents are v worried. And turns out later on that his first word wasnt even a word, it was a complete sentence! and I was told that later on in pri sch, he scores the highest (in class) in languages and is one of the more articulate boys for his age.

Iso, yeah, my bb also more and more goal-oriented haha! Quite hard to distract him nowadays, he is v focused onb what he wants, and sometimes if I need to go away from the object he is reaching, he will go "waaaaaaahhhh!!! bababababa!" v loudly to protest hee. Their personality is emerging the older they are, hor? I like my bb's personality v much so far (no, not specifically his loud yells, but I mean everything as a package).

genice, was that area in the water play area? Cause if it is the legiimate water play area, then we also cant ask the kids to stop aying just becase we dont wanna get wet? But I agree that it IS v frustrating to be wet if we dont have clothing to change into. Your post is a good eminder to me to rememebr to bring clothes the next time I go lol!

XY.. my ans to ur qns..

1. Does your toddler point at objects? (Between the ages of 9 and 12 months, most children start pointing at things that catch their attention such as dogs, and toys. It's a non-verbal way of trying to communicate with you and an important step in language development.)

<font color="ff6000">same.I dun remember her pointing.. she will just go for the object.</font>

2. What does your toddler say? (At this age your toddler can join syllables together and is jabbering wordlike sounds. He can say "mama" and "dada," and maybe a couple of other words as well. Let the doctor know what your toddler understands. By now he should know and respond to his own name and other familiar words and show an interest in others' conversations; if he's not making any sounds or is making fewer than he was before, tell the doctor.)

<font color="ff6000">some 'ba ba' and 'ma ma' sound,can call mummy when she wants me to carry. mum mumm when she wants to eat plus duck duck and some other funny sounds.. but she will respond when i call her baby or girl..she will turn and look at me.

When we say head, she will touch her head. SHe can do the usual gong xi, bye bye, hi five, clap clap when we tell her but cant say.</font>

3. How are your toddler's social skills developing? (Most 1-year-olds enjoy playing games with others, including peekaboo and patty-cake. Your child will imitate everyday actions such as sweeping the floor or brushing his hair and will be exuberant and curious most of the time. He'll probably seek out interaction with familiar people, but will be anxious when separated from you or around strangers.)

She will take the comb and comb her hair, when we tell her to comb mummy's or daddy's hair she will also do it to the right person.

<font color="ff6000">She will take slippers and bring to us when she sees us not wearing and attempt to wear for us. She will listen to instruction and go and get her water bottle and comes back with it.

She will be anxious when surrounded by unfarmiliar faces, need time to warm up, she will cry when she is separated from me esp at crowded places, dun want the father too</font>

4. How are your toddler's fine motor skills developing? (Twelve-month-olds like to point at things and can use both hands together when they play with things. If your toddler isn't using both hands equally, tell the doctor.)

<font color="ff6000">same as (1), she doesn't point at things with 1 finger. but she can hold objects using both hands</font>

berry.. i can understand so i dun blame him for spraying ard.. i wasnt really angry even when my camera got sprayed.. some more he is just a kid.. but i guess when a parent is standing by the side and watching, i dunno... but i just feel that maybe it will be good to remind ur kid that while you have some fun, it may be considerate or cautious abt pp playing around.

I have e responsibility to protect my kid when i am in e waters and i noe the consequences of getting her wet and subject to the cold and even some splashing of water at her..but i will also make sure that she doesnt purposely spray water at pp and just want to get pp wet for the fun of it. A 2-3 yr old kid may not understand the inconvenience of it but an adult will.

I dun think she will like it if i start sraying at her kid as well..just because it a legitimate area to play.

Just my thoughts...hope u dun mind and understand what i am trying to say.

But i certainly agree w you that there are more words that can be used to describe kids other than notti.

genice, no lar, of cos I dun mind, we are all sharing our thoughts mah. Its good for all of us to be more open and receptive to each others' opinions, since we are all learning along the way. Yeah I can see your point for sure.

i'm reading this book called "positive discipline" now. it is quite enlightening for me cos it explains the age-appropriate behaviours and how babies are programmed to do certain things.

the book was lying around for the longest time until my dad asked me one day, if i could find out how to deal with the situation of baby wanting to touch EVERY SINGLE THING in sight (he didn't use the word naughty, just described arielle as being very persistent...haha...has he been secretly doing research too??)

for example, babies learn by doing, touching, tasting etc...the human race is programmed to learn this way and they "cannot help it" in that sense. so after reading the book, it helps put things in perspective.

cannot deny that i can feel lots of frustration and feel like pulling my hair out at times, but i have to work extra hard at reminding myself that this is the way nature intended it to be lor. i don't succeed all the time la, so when i get really exasperated with the situation i just walk away and let her dad or grandma take over =P

how to define 'point'? using 1 finger or 4 fingers or the hand?
Heidi will point to things we ask her like where's the sky, tree, dog, my mum also make her read the new year "chun lian", so whenever my mum reads out, she knows where to point to that chun lian. not really using 1 finger to point, but rather her whole hand towards that direction.

baby talk - don't really have actual meaning i think,H still doesn't call mama or papa..sometmes will mumble something similar to papa..and sometimes mum mum..that's all

she is learning to imitate, recently i played the towel game with her, by covering my face and she will always like to uncover the towel, then she will put the towel on her head trying to cover her face

she can switch hands when playing with toys, already starting to take 1-2 steps, can stand for quite long, but still not that steady.

these past few days at home, H has been so clingy, leave her for a moment to go and make milk will cry, keep wanting to carry, and worse of all, she's rejecting her porridge..faint..it started from Monday..but she has developed cough and running nose since last sat, i hope once she recover, this phase will pass. She only took 2-3 mouths of porridge each meal
, so i fed her milk last few days.

Finally her teeth are out, 1 above, 1 below..is strange right, i tot normally its 2 together in the same row.

XY, I told hubby what you said about letting baby explores. He agrees. But now we are stuck, no playpen, no play yard then how to keep her safe. Actually my house quite child friendly liao, no pull out drawers, no glass table tops and I have a bumper mat. But My gal loves to climb and she already fell from the sofa and knocked her head. I'm not confident of watching her all the time leh esp if I need to cook for her, eat my breakfast, prepare bathwater etc.

Mummies, Between the two, what do you think is better? Playpen or play yard?

Qingling, my gal also, only 1 top tooth is out whereas for bottom teeth, both came out at same time. Strange hor.

XY
Everytime I read those books/websites/charts that say "your baby should be able to do this or that or the other at XX months", I think to myself - are these super babies? I get terribly frustrated initially when I compare K's progress esp when it comes to food. Books say that by 12 months, they should be able to self feed. hah! she's hardly interested in picking up food, let alone feed herself. Anyway, what i wanted to say is that these guidelines are just average, general guidelines.

Learning
I read in a mag that children learn in different ways - audio, visual, sensory. Some children cannot learn by just listening, others need to touch. I myself find this to be true - I need to read to learn. Audiobooks are lost on me. K is a highly sensory learner - absolutely must touch every thing and not only just touch but must feel, must explore, must hold. Starting from 5th month, she started by putting things in mouth, using her tongue to feel, touch and since then has graduated to using hands. So now I realise why books are lost on K - she's not a visual learner. Getting those popout books will probably help her along but nothing beats an exploratory trip to the zoo, park, beach etc.

Berry
you have a good point there abt classifications of "Naughtiness". I realise that sometimes I use that word quite loosely such that the impact may be lost.

Kitsune
TRy to teach Raeanne how to get off the sofa. We taught K how to shift her butt and use legs to get off sofa and bed. Now she can do it by herself. At least, that way, you know that she knows how to dismount from a high place.

qingling
yah my bb also, when i come home from work, sometimes i can't be more than 1metre away from him or he will cry! but it's "normal", some babies seem to get worse separation anxiety than others, heh. btw i learnt that if u play peekaboo with a cloth with them it's good for them to learn to take it off their heads in case next time they get covered by blanket or something at night. interesting right.

kitsune
how about try first then see whether you need a playpen or play yard? my mum will let E roam around the kitchen/dining area while she does her things, but of course always keeping an eye and sometimes will have to carry him away from something... if he leaves the dining area to go to living she will follow him.. also now i shower him, i find easier than preparing bath water, hee.

jeannie
wear slippers for you, aiyo so cute!!!
but omg, your water story.. i think if i'm his mother i would have apologised and tried to tell him what is right or wrong. after all, i would want my son to grow up a considerate boy! but that's me, not everyone is the same i guess.

XY
i know that the local milestones for talking is 3 words by 18 months. when my nephew was 15 months, my SIL thought he supposed to say 3 words by then, but turns out it was 18 months (cos he cldn't really say 3 words). so our babies still got some time more lah

berry
i like that, "goal oriented", cute

kitsune, have u let yr bb try both to see which works better for her? Cause some babies just CANT be confined that way (because they wont stand being confined in a small space like that, no matter how much toys u have in there), like what my DD used to be lol! How about you pad (foam mat/LG mat?) the bottom of the sofa in case bb falls, and just teach bb how to climb up/down sofa/coffee table safely? Whats what I did with my DD last time. With your daily guidance n encourgaement, they'll soon learn.

housework n bb - er... I dont have the poblem of wondering where to place my bb when I am busy, cause my bb will wanna follow me! No chance he'll let me off to do housework while he plays alone, so I guess in a strange way, I am spared of this dilema. Thats where my ergo comes in handy. I cook/do housework mostly with my bb on me, either front or back.

bkkgal, actually ILs taught her before to climb down from bed the correct way but I think she forgot due to lack of practice. Do you teach kate to come down back facing the sofa or front facing the sofa? I'm not sure how to teach her. :p

Isobellies, I put her into an empty bathtub then shower her but she keeps climbing out and use her hand to play with the toilet floor water, end up the bathtub will capsize. I'll be one hand holding the shower spray and one hand washing her hair, armpit etc so no hand to catch her fast enough leh.

Berry, I have a baby bjorn carrier but because I have to put her in front of me, hubby thinks it's dangerous cos the pot or fire will be so close to her. RaeAnne hates small spaces too, play yard she'll play inside for a short while but more than 5 mins, she'll start whining and cry so I'll to keep doing a cameo and reappear in front of her to keep her pacified. :p

We've reconfigured the living room after she fell from the sofa, moved it away totally. So that from the play yard, she can now see the tv, the bedroom walkway, the kitchen, the balcony and dining area. Hopefully as long as she can see me clearly, it'll be better.

Eh Kitsune, changed your nick ah?

I taught her to come down front facing the sofa. It's safer i think.

Iso, mine too but she serious case. When pp (not just me) walk away from dining table, she will cry. Strange huh? can't exactly classify as separation anxiety...just want to be with a crowd i guess *shrug*

kitsune
i taught my boy to come down front facing the sofa. like what bkkgal said, it's safer.

berry
wow... how to cook when you are holding your bb?
when i am cooking and my boy crawled to the kitchen, i will bring him out again. sometimes, i will tell him 'No', and most of the time, he understands and will only go crawl till the place where we put the leapfrog fridge magnet which is abt 1 feet from the stove.

bkkgal, ya, baby already turned into a toddler. Think it's about time I start using my real name. Anyway, I always don't remember other forum mummies real names. Don't think they remember mine either. Haha.

Thanks, will try and teach RaeAnne that too.

kitsune,
i use a playard, but i dun join all the panels together, so as not to make bb feel enclosed. Rather he uses the panels as support to stand/play ard etc.
I am a SAHM too, and it gets tough when i cook and he crawls over to the kitchen to find me. But he now understands "No" when i tell him not to enter the kitchen, so will wait outside and sometimes cry for me.

hi ladies!

happpy cny! jus came back fm m'sia yestr and m so tired out cos' bb n myself have not been sleeping well n timing now all "off". Interesting discussions u guys r having.

XY, my ans to ur questns.

uses whole hand to point to an object plus body will sway towards the item or direction he wants.

can make 'ba ba' and 'ma ma' sounds but doesn't relate that to my husband or me. will respond by looking my way when he is being called. n will look me in the eye when i ask him to (ie if i m not angry wid him :p).

Can do some actions that he is "taught". gong xi, clap hands, shake hands etc

DS have been trying to play peek a boo every now and then, he wld be hiding behind a door n peeking out cheekily, as if asking u to play wid him or at times he has this look that wants me to "chase" him ard the hse.

patty cake....hmmmm....does lifting up my tshirt n drumming at my flabby tummy count???? Arrrrgh....don't knw where on earth he picked that up????

mostly still playing wid objects wid one hand. tried getting him to open loosely shut containers but he still doesn't quite knw how to coordinate using 2 hands, end up banging the container on the flr to "crack" open the container. so "cave man" style....hahaha!

kitsune,
i do what berry suggested, put the bumper mat near the sofa, so that my son can climb up n dwn safely. i also don't use the playard or playpen n let him roam ard most of the time. But i did put a safety gate at the kitchen door to prevent him fm coming in when i am cooking. n when he wails too much outside the gate, i wld put him in the kitchen, on the high chair so that he can watch me cook. i do try to distract/interact wid him when i am cooking or he wld be wailing v soon again.

kitsune, my ger also 2 bottom teeth and 1 upper tooth at the corner ( like dracula).
I think RaeAnne is not the kind that likes to be confined ( generally, no kids like to lah...) . Since your hse quite child -proof, maybe just let her roam but of coz.. u mst always keep an eye on her. I am hardly at home alone w her but when i am .. i just let her roam even in the kitchen... distract her by asking her to play with the fridge magnets.. or put her in the walker.

Berry, wow.. u can carry ur baby n cook.. very impressive... i dun think i can do that quite tiring.

Isobellies.. haha.. yar.. the wearing of slippers was quite funny. And yester she learnt how to clean our mouth too... it gets easier when they start to be able to identify who is the mummy and whos is the daddy. Your small little "godzilla" at home has helped Ethan to speed up his learning process! Just hoped ethan doesnt pick up his "growling" sounds.. :p

iso/ bkkgal/anyone... any websites to recommend to learn abt photography?? I am trying to figure out where i can access to pick up some skills like how/ when to adjust the iso, aperture.. for canon cameras..
BTW, are u good with adobe photo editing tools?

jeannie
i am crap with photo editing tools. always ask hb the technician to go and clean up photos. hehe.

For nikon users: kenrockwell.com
Local: clubsnap.com

talking about photos, i always drool at this sesame ellis mommy's photos on flickr http://flickr.com/photos/sesameellis/3078971199/in/set-72157610627296961/
Her photos always conveys the right feelings, lighting is good and composition is great.
She has a 5 yr old and a set of twins. I just wonder where she finds the time to take these fantastic pics, edit and upload to flickr.

jeannie
haha ya, at *least* got something he learnt from godzilla. every day i pray that he doesn't learn to throw tantrums though :S lucky most days i put him at my mum's place.

canon themselves have got tutorials:
http://web.canon.jp/imaging/enjoydslr/

i think once you know the basics, then from there just practise practise.. maybe later when i'm free i go and see if got any others

i now use iphoto, which is v v easy to edit photos, photoshop is quite cheem, not really

bkk
wah, sounds quite cute, although probably at that point in time it's not so funny. maybe she really wants everyone to be together...

jeannie/kitsune
new year, new nick?

xy:
as much as we like our bb to develop according to what we perceive as norm, different babies develop @ different rates. hahahah i admit tat i'll worry a lot too when i check out those development charts. hahah coz prob matt cant do most of it.
btw, my fren told me her sister only starts to talk @ 4 years old. her parents and dr thought she is mute. and after she starts to talk, she is super talkative and refuse to stop. hahahha she must be storing power for the past 4 yrs and release all @ 1 go. quite funny.

Q1) Does your toddler point at objects? (Between the ages of 9 and 12 months, most children start pointing at things that catch their attention such as dogs, and toys. It's a non-verbal way of trying to communicate with you and an important step in language development.)
A1) No, he could be bother. If he is interested in anything he will go to it. Eg when he wants to read his fave book, he will dig it out from this pile of books.

Q2) What does your toddler say? (At this age your toddler can join syllables together and is jabbering wordlike sounds. He can say "mama" and "dada," and maybe a couple of other words as well. Let the doctor know what your toddler understands. By now he should know and respond to his own name and other familiar words and show an interest in others' conversations; if he's not making any sounds or is making fewer than he was before, tell the doctor.)
A2) Sometimes arrrm (eat), mum (no meaning), mama (mummy... this is once in a blue moon), baba / nana (no meaning). He is now calling call animals duck... used to only call a duck duck... dunno y now all animals are called duck. Eyes... I wonder if he knows what this means. Latest word is Star... he calls it TA. Although he says all these, sometimes he is not saying the right thing to the right object.

Q3) How are your toddler's social skills developing? (Most 1-year-olds enjoy playing games with others, including peekaboo and patty-cake. Your child will imitate everyday actions such as sweeping the floor or brushing his hair and will be exuberant and curious most of the time. He'll probably seek out interaction with familiar people, but will be anxious when separated from you or around strangers.)
A3) Matt loves to play but he got distracted very easily too. Latest game is hide and seek. I hide, he seek.

Q4) How are your toddler's fine motor skills developing? (Twelve-month-olds like to point at things and can use both hands together when they play with things. If your toddler isn't using both hands equally, tell the doctor.)
A4) So far ok although he is not pointing @ things. Only do hi-5, clapping and 'no more'. Not able to wave still, not able to open and close his palm to twinkle little star, no gong xi gong xi. I think he is quite stubborn, wish to observe and slowly practice the skills himself when no one is looking. Last week I caught him gently clapping his hands when we are not looking. When he saw me looking @ him, he stops immediately. Lol... v cute like he is very shy.

qingling:
matt too... porridge and brown rice strike. sigh... feeding him solids is a battle. i pity my helper. sigh~

jeannie:
w regards to the play area inccident, i'll be quite affected too. children may not know what is right or wrong, but as an adult, one has to be mindful of others. Personally, I feel that as a mother she has to apologize for her boy's action of spray water on others &amp; on your camera in stead of smiling. Yes, one can have free play in the legitimate play area but if one's action is affecting others in a negative way, its a big no no for me.

berry:
you are a super mum! cook and carrying your baby. Power leh.

Kitsune:
how abt let raeanne roam ard 1st then see how she is coping before deciding on playpen or play yard. afterall, our babies are turning 1 and becoming very mobile, i dun think the playpen and play yard will keep them out for long.

carryng bb cooking- eh, no lar, its not that I am so super or wat. More like out of need. My bb wants to be close to me, and he likes to see wat I am doing, and since he is my last baby, I want to savor all of his babyhood! So might as well carry n cook, save me the truble of running every few min to check on him, or have to pacfy his cries, which makes it even more troublesome imo. Plus I am used to it cause my DD last time alo like that haha, so I got prior experience hence easier for me. :p But of cos cause cook 3-course meal lar, can only do v fast stir-frys, or stews/soups, which are basicaly 'dump-n-boil' type.

kitsune, when I am cooking, I use either my sling which I will side-carry (he 'sits' on my hip), or my ergo which I will back-carry. I agree its a lil dangerous and v uncomfortable for bb to be in front-carry position when cooking, cause v hot.
climbing down- I used to teach m DD "legs first", so she will have to TURN around and then slowly wriggle down till her legs touch the ground, then land on feet, then slowly let go of hands. They learn this v fast once they are ready (yr bb sounds ready if she is already trying it so eagerly on her own), if you keep practising w bb many tim a day, in less than a week she will get it liao.

Sunny, I def cant do it bare-handed! Need my sling/carrier for sure haha.