(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

iso,
nice article...thanks for sharing!

re babycenter, you can't order direct unless you have a US billing address and US issued credit card. we actually order through the borderlinx concierge service.

Hi Stephie,

I sure hope not. Anyway if they really do that can complain to CaseTrust? Cause by right they not supposed to do that. Wah, government raise subsidy is to benefit parents not childcare centres hor.

Hi snowbelle,

Aiya... You see lah... Me super duper forgetful. :p I don't mind leh. But my place too small. :D Just bought an L shaped sofa that takes up 80% of my living room (HB measure wrongly).

Hi Isobellies,

I order through the Borderlinx concierge cause Baby Center don't accept international credit cards.

ARGH!!! Today I overslept and never wake up for my 3 a.m. pump. So scared tomorrow Danica no milk to drink.

artemis
i also read that the infant care and childcare subsidies went up. but, i think the nett effect is still the same loh 'cos the centres also increased the price with the reasons that all costs go up. so, i agree with what stephie said.
and don't forget next time when our kids go to school, there will be more expenses incurred and it's not subsidised?

gar/artemis
ok thanks! for other sites that mention they need US billing address, i always just put a US address and they were ok. maybe babycenter more stringent. haha.

gar
yah, i wish employers would be more like her!!

sunny
can use your boy's CDA for payment of doc's fees, childcare fee (if u gg to send in future) for your gal. for me, cos i bank both my children's cordblood, i suppose majority of the funds will be used towards the annual payments.

xiaoyun.. i bought a small cake for her.. just let her eat..never take photos ..

stephie/sunny.. can u explain the cda to me.. i a bit blur.. is it like we open a savings acc for the baby and what i put into the account.. govt will top up with cash as well??

sunny:
git discount ya, u make mi gian hee~when are u ordering?

jeannie:
before reasding ur blog was was telling my hubby i wanna buy a cake to celebrate w matt too haha. great minds think alike la. upload the mini celebration's photo?

xiaoyun: hee v cute.. bb got treat! haha~ bb like apple + prune?

re: details on bb bonus:
http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/FCD/Templates/FCD-GenericContentTemplate.aspx?NRMODE=Published&NRORIGINALURL=%2fMarriageNParenthoodPackage%2fRaisingNCaringforChildren%2f&NRNODEGUID=%7b1816B434-A9D2-44B4-AF59-7BCCC24A4F70%7d&NRCACHEHINT=Guest#BabyBonus

Hi sunny,

Actually, I meant dui. Type too fast. No free $7k for Danica.

My HB was saying the government use this kind of incentive if the really money minded will wait some more to see whether government will increase further a not. :p Those who want to give birth would already do so without all this monetary incentives. Those who don't want to cause of career and such is unlikely to change their minds cause of the slight increase. But I think have better than don't have lor. :p

jean: i think its something like tat. its cap @ govt matching up to 6k for 1st bb now. it used to be only for 2nd child onwards. sian~~

Stephie
I havent book but already ask my cousin to book for me cause she in govt job got discount. Public rate is $450 per night but she book only $170 per night so i getting 3days 2nights.

i intend to have #2 cause i dont want the 1st and 2nd only to have age gap. and if #2 is boy i will stop for #3 already

artemis: i agree.. worse still, pple thot good money.. then give birth lor. w/o planning long term finances. worse leh. you qian sheng, mei qian yang... worse ya.

Artemis,
actually I'm thinking outside lah... maybe not just sk gathering but feb mummies one... seems long time no gathering liao

nobertina,
Thks. will check it out tonight. can't access my yahoo mail in office

jeannie
ya, the CDA acct works in such a way that every $ you put in will be matched by govt dollar for dollar, capped at $6k contribution from govt. u will be given a form to fill up and the a/c will be open thereafter.

jac
the disc given to govt so much ah? i thot it's not much of a diff.

jeannie
u let ur gal eat the cake ah? i dare not cos cake contains egg and we are supposed to avoid giving egg yolk to kids below 1 yr old, for fear of allergy.

stephie.. thanks for answering but then how do the govt know that i put money in my 2nd baby's acct??? Must i like fill up a form??

jass.. matthew turning 6 months today hor.. but he got nestle package quite some time back leh.. until now no news from them.

i never take pics leh.. cause camera not w me.

Sigh.. feel like investing in a good camera so that i can take nicer pics of baby.

Re: aloha

yar lor.. the discount quite a bit.. more than half..

Are premature children eligible for the enhanced Baby Bonus scheme?

If the child’s estimated date of delivery (EDD) is on or after 1 Jan 2009, but is born prematurely before 1 Jan 2009, parents may write to MCYS to check his/her eligibility for the Baby Bonus. They should include the doctor's certification on the EDD and copies of the following documents:

a) Birth certificates of all children;

b) Citizenship certificate of all children (if applicable);

c) Marriage certificate; and

d) NRICs or passports of both parents

http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/MarriageNParenthoodPackage/FAQs/FAQs+on+Baby+Bonus.htm

Stephie
Yap i thought is not much diff also then when my cousin told me i was shock so i ask her to book..Initially only want to book 1 night but since her disc so much then book 2 days then no need to rush.

jass
#3 is just in case #2 is not a boy then try is #2 is boy then stop. My parents now have 3 granddaughters so thought of having a boy for them so they happy. My hb siblings all boy so now got 1 granddaughter they very happy already.

jeannie,
You will be given a CDA form to fill in and submit. Thereafter they will send you a letter to inform you that a bank account has been opened. Once you bank in the amount, end of that month or following month they will match whatever amount you had put into.

jeannie
dunno how govt knows leh. somehow they will know loh and will match the $ in subsequent mth. no need to fill up form.

Oops.. really har.. cannot eat har.. she ate abt in total 1 tablespoon? or lesser. I let her take w EBM.. hehe.. cause her feeding time also . hmm.. i think this is not the 1st time i offer her pdts w eggs :p so far ok...i think very minimal amt should be ok can test for her allergy also.. just my opinion but thanks for advising must remember in future.

jeannie
actually not every baby will get allergy. it's just to take precaution. agree that if it's in small amt, shouldn't hv any problem. actually i'm not sure what's the consequence if bb is allergic to egg yolk. just don't feed bb egg yolk on its own ba. i think last time our parents fed us with anything everything even when we were a baby. and we grew up fine! ;)

re: BJG

tong,
it's a trial. i think abt $37. u wanna join in? it's on 31 aug 2pm.

dor,
u there? wanna join in?

the rest jeannie, goodbb, kitsune cfm hor? if ok, i will call them tmr. now going for workshop liao.

bx: yea thinking to go but i am in msia on 31st aug. Doesnt matter then, i will go other times. thanks!

Allergy to egg: I was allergy to eggs when i was a kid. I remember my eyes were swollen like kena punch by ppl like that after i had eggs. Then i asked mum whether she gave me egg when i was still a baby, hehe. but she coudlnt recall liao.

CDA a/c: heard OCBC better than SCB. but dunno what's the difference.

sunny
for the CDA i really dunno which to choose. only submitted the application on the last day. haha. i chose SCB in the end. u leh?

re: allergy to egg
i've a friend who's allergy to egg and cheese.
i asked him to check with his mum if he was fed with those went he was a baby. can't recall also. haha..

but last time, they anyhow feed us.
my mum fed us with honey when we are baby as she believed that honey is the best thing to make water sweet.
and the research said that we can't feed baby honey < 12 months.

i think, probably a little bit of intake will not be too much a problem.

xiaoyun,

i din compare la, but i read from other thread one hehe.

stephie, i dunno which bank is better la. think shold be the same, but check on the interst rate they offer. i think got slight difference, especially during the promo period for signing up the account. you signed already right?

artemis
i agree! if pple think "wah, got $ so good, let's have babies" then i'm not really sure i want people with such values to have babies :p
i think they should put more money into infant/child care, increase the skills of caregivers and lower maid levys, so it's easier for when people do have babies. and that would help pple like us who already have babies or who want more!

i've no idea why government encourage everybody to work.
they give tax rebate, tax relief for the working mum. they pump in more $ to have more and better infant/child care.
don't they know that mother is the best caregiver for children? *shake head*

in fact, i am looking for more benefits for SAHM - although i will never become one. :p

one more thing that i don't like is, why do we need to work until 63 (is that 63 or increase again?)?
i want to retire by 50!!!

xiaoyun
yalor, cannot feed honey for bb less than 1 yr old. have risk of botulism. but i've no idea what's that :p my grandma wanted to feed my girl last time i resisted. i guess our parents were ignorant last time unlike now in the internet age.

tongtong
the interest rate difference is not very significant. at most diff by 0.05% to 0.1%? and it's only for that 1 or 2 mths promo period. really not much difference. yup, me chose SCB liao.

xiaoyun
i oso wish i dun hv to work till retirement age of 63 (maybe by the time we reach that age, become 70 liao). how gd if i can retire by 50, then can enjoy life and go travelling round the world. but provided i have lots and lots of $ loh.

i have got the healthy time food jar, btu there's no instruction stated on the jar about storage after opened? can we keep the unconsumed part in fridge and for how long? how many tablespoon from the jar should we feed bb?

Hello Artemis, sorry for delay. Please check my transfer for kidsurplus. Thanks !

Will sms you for collection again.

To Account POSB Savings
109-37121-1 Artemis
Amount S$4.21
Transaction Reference 1851181236

stephie
Dont worry i will stop at #3 if all is gal. actually i like gal more then boy. gal tend to be more caring towards family.

jac
re:birthday celebration
so r we interested?

re:feb mummies gathering
me onz!!!! anyone wan to organise?

re:BJG
sun right 2pm?
bx, when must i confirm?

hui, wan to go?

re:birthday bash
jan thread already plannin for a birthday bash for their bbs.
so r we gg to have one as wel

re:1st birthday
my hb is not keen. most prob we will go for a holiday to celebrate...maybe disneyland?

Jass, my friend has uploaded the prices on www.bagfan.blogspot.com. Can go there and check out the prices.

By the way, final clearance sale for Spring Summer bags, super cheap prices, don't miss it! Go to our blog to view the pixs. Thanks.
1) BG2-106 Croco folded bag $40 (all 4 colours)2) BG2-100 Croco clutch $20 (all 3 colours)3) BG2-62 small sporty bag $40 (pink and blue)4) BG8-2 Double strap bag $40 (pink and blue)5) BGL2-91 kelly green $99