(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

kitsune
no thanks to you, i've emailed your friend about the croco fold bag, heehee

leila, dor,
try to let me know by mon can?

kitsune,
i will ask bjg tmr abt the bf room. ya, $37.

cheryl,
31 aug 2pm.

y dun we have the gathering on 31 aug itself? can go for tea after the bjg class. mummies & babies who r not attending can meet up later.

<font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">hi mothers of 1st child < 1 yr,

I think we shld fight for the addition
Children Development Co-Savings (Baby Bonus) Scheme to be given to us. As we too, have small child to look after and requires childcare education subsidy.

Please let me know if you are keen to petition on this matter. [email protected]
</font></font>

bx, good idea, last time our gathering was in the east. This time should accommodate the western mummies.

Isobellies, hehe, got good things must share mah... haha.

wa, can petition for benefits, anyone else keen? Let's go as a group. Power in the masses. haha.

good morning mummies,
although it's good to have more benefits, i feel that government is already kind enough to backdate the package (4 weeks extra maternity leave + baby bonus) to 17 Aug.
if government is going to be mean, they can actually choose a date that is 37/40 weeks from 17 Aug to 'reward' the ppl who get pregnant after the national day rally.

probably this is their strategy to give a later date then change it earlier so that citizen will feel that government is 'listening' to them? :p

however, i am more interested to know if we will have the extra child care leave this year? prorated one also not bad. :D

re: bb on fruit
Some books said we need to steam/cook apple or pear before making into puree.
But, i didn't follow. i scrap the fruit and just feed bb.
shouldn't be too much problem right? (and the fruit is just taken out from fridge somemore - so, it's cool) :p

jass,
she likes apple but not plum.

xiaoyun
i used to feed my girl scrapped apple taken out straight from fridge too. no problem so far. as long as bb not coughing, it's ok to be slightly cold i think.

xiaoyun
i'm surprised that govt reacted so fast to appeals/petition by mummies. cos i heard dat during the last enhancement in 2004, govt stood firm on the implementation date altho there were lots of appeals too. and this round, they actually changed their mind within 1 day. i mean, they should have anticipated the outcry when they decided to use 1 Jan 09. and if they were ok to 17 aug 08, why don't they do so in the 1st place. maybe like you say, it's a strategy they use.

me too happy to have the add'l 4 days leaves. think should have leh. hopefully not pro-rated. keke :p

iso
the CDA a/c is in addition to the $3k cash. it's the co-contribution thingy by govt, e.g we put in $1k, govt put in $1k capped at $6k from govt.

stephie,
i have a strong feeling that it's all wayang one.
*sh... *

thanks for your reassurance on the fruit thing. anyway, i didn't feed her much. just for the taste only. but her expression is very funny lo. :D

stephie
oh ok, so we don't qualify for that cos we already had our bbs?

xiaoyun
yah i agree.. maybe it's the aug date all along ;) but actually i don't think it looks good on them to change their mind within a day.

XiaoYun,
Govt will not give benefits to SAHM. From what I gather from my hubby, Govt need Singaporean women working so the work labour in Singapore is enough. If not wait all mummies don't want to work, and shortage jialat. So in order not to have this end result, Govt did not give benefits to SAHM only to FTWM.

JGal,
I want to petition Child Care Leave to implement wef same as Baby Bonus.

iso,
ya lor....so many. i only know that as it stands, only 1) enhanced tax benefits 2) enhanced infant/childcare leave apply to us.

the following don't:
3) enhanced ML
4) enhanced baby bonus
5) enhanced CDA

thankful,
so, they are more concern about the quantity more than the quality of the next generation of singaporean?
with the implementation of the 4 months of maternity leave, the increment/promotion of women will be less if the mindset of the employee is not changed.

on the other hand, they also provide more scholarships and bursaries to increase the standard of the child care centre. hopefully kids grow up in those child care centre will have better quality then.
i am still not convinced with more subsidy for child care. i am sure child care centre will definitely increase their fees. in the end back to square one.

iso,
on most of the cases, government is quite firm on their decision.
so, it doesn't matter much for this time as it's for the benefit of the citizen.

Hi Garfield9,

Also the enhanced childcare/infantcare subsidies.

While having the S$7k extra would be well and good, I think it is not very realistic to expect the government to backdate it anymore. I mean if the PM did not make the announcement, we would have carried on without this S$7k anyway. So don't need to take it so much to heart right?

:p That said, if really can backdate I also don't mind. Hahaha...

By the way, the link provided by jgal does not work leh. :D Reach removed it?

Gals

At pri 1 .. our singaporean children wil be the only ones that does not have CDA.
those that are 2nd child will have, those that are born Aug-Dec will have.

So we either have to topup for our child, or she/he wont get the same education.

RE : OldNavy.com 2 Aug Spree

The items will be delivered today! :D Finally after such a long long time. This Comgateway lost 1 of the packages (the order was shipped in 2 packages) that arrived on the same day and I had to ka jiao them 3 times before they moved their butts to find it. I am so glad that it arrived before my birthday. Yipee!

jgal,
pardon me not understand too much about the new scheme.

what do you mean by this:
"So we either have to topup for our child, or she/he wont get the same education."

how will the education will be different?

Hi Xiao Yun,

I think Jgal is thinking in terms of extra circulum activities and tuition that may be paid for by CDA.

But then hor... Like I said if the PM did not make the announcement, won't we still have gone on to enrol our children in whatever educational activities we deem fit or they are interested in without this S$7k? Have is a bonus (pardon the pun) don't have does not mean we will not give our best to our child/children right?

hi xiaoyun,

the cda account $ can be used for their education programmes,all those 2nd babies have cda account of $6k,those aug-dec 1st born bb have also $6k in their cda account,just the jan-jul 1st time babies dun have,so we need to cough up $6k on our own if they want to go for the same programme

thanks Artemis&amp;goodbb for explaining.
i agree with Artemis.
Those $ are just good to have. but not necessarily need to get from government as we've never plan the 6k into our baby's budget when we try to conceive in the first place.
no matter what, i will still pay for whatever ECA, course that required if it's beneficial for my gal.

no point rely on government so much. there isn't any $ given by government during our parents time, and we still grow up strong right?

i think jgal is concerned that compared to Aug-Dec08 babies, the Jan-Jul08 babies (1st born ones) may not be able to enrol for as much early education / activities etc. without the govt matching 6K. so in that sense not getting "comparable education"

not all families can afford these activities, so i can understand that the 6K goes a long way for them.

Xiao yun.. not true.. School may plan for more expensive CCA cos' most babies will have bb bonus when they are pri 1. We will need to pay extra to get our child in because she happend not to have.

Hi crystal,

Please transfer S$17.74 to my POSB Savings account: 109-37121-1 for the shipping charges on your KidSurplus items. Do note that this is inclusive of the S$3.16 previously owing.

Hi jeannie,

Please transfer S$4.05 for the shipping charges on your Baby Center items.

Hi xuan,

Please transfer S$13.71 for your Healthy Times items.

Hi Jgal,

lol... That could be true. By the way, the link you provided does not work. So want to contribute my 2 cents also cannot. :p

bkk,
saw your post in the other thread. good post =)

yes, i agree that we shouldn't be pursuing extension of all benefits.

i think the argument and rationale for extending CDA to all babies born in 2008 is a good and sound one (based on the logic module i learnt in philosophy class last time) hee hee

hi artemis

sorry for the delay. i was held up by work recently and in the midst of packing for shifting place. i will tt asap. will text you once payment is made. thanks!

Gar, Artemis, Bkk, saw your post at the petition thread. I put my name down already mainly for the CDA because it can be used for school enrichment and childcare, did you?

jac.. forgot to say.. ur gerlooks very cute..her skin like porcelain.. quite fair hor..

And ur cake is big! for 6 month celebration.. hehe.. mine is just a super small slice.. :p