(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Xiaoyun I dun mind trying leh. But I need to do some homework! haha if not like the fernlim thread!! headache! But is only for feb thread.

hi, everyone!!!

long timeno post. bz with my new job...

Mrs Loh, aiya.. move on....

crawling!!!
Gervaise is learning how to crawl! yipee

Lezy, you not the only bugger, I'm the first bugger but too lazy and sleepy to shop for long last night. Waiting for other mummies' orders to get inspiration. Hee.

Artemis, pinky pinky hat. My gal aleady looks so tomboy. My hubby said is buy blue hat, people will think she's a boy. Haha.

Jass, me interested in 1 set of 2 oz ones too. How to pay you?

Artemis
I think I have 10 Via Cups and lids. I bought at Taka $18...gotta check tmr, now cannot cos it's in bb's room and she's sleeping.

Xiaoyun
if you getting CB stuff, I"m interested!

Iso
sigh...never mind lah...next time loh!

Healthy Times
where do you buy? i started my girl on tasters already - she likes the rice cereal (organic) and today mom intro carrots to her. tmr i gonna give her baby spinach. hehe.

lezy, can pm me the contact for the part time? Me thinking of giving up my myammar maid who is giving me a lot of problems and jus cannot meet my mum expectations.

sunny, u same thinking as my sis. Food better to prepare fresh. But sometimes easier said than done esp when I am a working mum ( hee.. give excuse). Think got to ask my parents to help out again.

can i ask for mummies whose babies are sleeping in the same room as you, when do you intend to let baby sleep in their own room?

had a big fight between doting grandfather (OMG how in the world can you let your daughter sleep alone) and independent father (she should sleep in her own room from day 1).

Gar, I just went through one hour of agony with Raeanne crying and screaming till she's hoarse cos I tried putting her in the big cot in bb room to sleep on her own.
She getting too big for the arms reach bassinet, can alresdy put one arm and one leg over, will climb out soon. Put up and put down so many times also no use cos she just could not calm down. In the end, I caved in and nursed her to sleep then transfer her to the big cot. Bo bian, too many things for her to unlearn in one night I think. She was still panting so hard when latching on, so heart pain to see her so distressed. I agree with your hubby, bb should sleep in their own room cos they have to learn to sleep alone anyway, should have bite the bullet and done it from the start even if still doing night feeds. :p

kitsune
not sure if this will help, but i recently read that one of the ways to transition baby from your room to his own room is to do is slowly. e.g. if bb sleeps on your bed, try putting them on a cot next to your bed for a few nights, (maybe with the railing down so it looks like a big bed with cot extension) then slowly move the cot further and further away from the bed (altho if you're like me my room doesn't have much space for anything! haha), then eventually into their own room.
my bb has been sleeping in his own room since day 1 (or more like 1 month lah, always in his own cot) but if he wakes up at 5 or 6 am i will put him on my bed after that cos i find i can sleep longer, haha..

isobellies, She used to sleep in the bb room but that was when I was still on ML and MIL came over to do night duty. After my ML, I put her in the bassinet beside our bed instead cos got to work full time, easier to do night feeds. my bedroom is so small lor that I can only put a mini arms reach cosleeper beside my bed lor. Cannot put the big cot in unless I move the dressing table out. So, very hard to do transition. :p She just woke up crying, hardly slept for 15 mins, hubby has to carry and pat, hope she goes back to sleep soon. Sigh...

Gar
I had this argument with my own dad too. They said she's too little to be on her own, what if SIDS, what if she turns, what if this that and the other. My point was even if we slept in same rm, i can't be watching over her the whole night,i oso got to sleep. so after confinement, she was banished to her own room and since then, been ok. she's learnt to sleep in the room by herself. i have a bb monitor, we keep it on all night and it's loud enuff for me to hear her when she cries.

kitsune
i just had the same thing with kate! she was screaming her head off in the middle of sleep. dunno what woke her..nothing could calm her so in the end i had to nurse to calm her down. she nursed til she fell asleep. haiz..accidental parenting, but we're all human lah....we can only try our best...

dor
you still have the jumperoo? are you renting any toys? my mom keep teling me to get something for kate to play but so far didn't find anything i like except exersaucer which is not avail cos all rent out le.

bkkgal
healthy times can get from ntuc. if i remember correctly, the distributor is at tan boon liat building. can get cheaper rate.

babyhope
who's taking care of your bb now? actually i find it quite easy to prepare the food leh. just put the ingredient and steam it. after it's cooked, then mash. that's all. :p then, when bb starts to take porridge, just put all the ingredients into slow cooker to cook. then few hrs later, it's very nua and ready to serve. keke... not v difficult one. my gal has home cooked food till she's 2 yrs old leh i.e. she nvr eat outside food even when we bring her out.

re: jshoppers
if anyone wanna order, pls pm me, in case i miss your msg. i don't know what's the rate now, but will use the credit card rate loh.

vinegal
you organising jshoppers? if yes, i won't do liao.
it's very easy one. just register an a/c with them, order and that's it. and they do direct shipment.

bkkgal, sigh, ya lor, sometimes, i feel very 'shi bai' leh that I can't manage my baby esp. when I compare with mummies who succeeded like Artemis. What to do, got to have lots of perserverance to undo what has already been taught to her from CL(hold her in her arms and pat to sleep), MIL(rock her on bouncer to sleep), hubby (walk and pat her to sleep) and myself included (nurse her to sleep). My only consolation is that she'll grow up one day and hopefully these problems will resolve but I'll try to do it the right way with #2. Sigh...

Bkkgal I just rented LeapFrog Learn & Groove
Activity Station which is similar to exersaucer will u be interested?

Sunny, I shd be organising jshopper spree, usually what is the rate you have used previously?

Healty Times
I have email the distributor and will chk with them whether can get in bulk for gd discount.

Kitsune
Poor thing for Raeanne, hope she is better now. I guess she will be needing some time to order to get use of sleeping on her own.

thot i'm e only crazy bugger awake. Woke up to wash bottle- silly hubby went to make milk instead of juz putting powder so end up trying to see if ruth will take. She'll need a feed soon-about 5+/6am. Think on growth spurt.
Ended up packing house n folding laundry-cuz last evening went daiso bought some stuff to organize thgs a bit-beh tahan liao.
Trying to get back to sleep-a bit hard though. Not like my hubby who can sleep thru a fire.

Hv a great weekend everyone!
(will go take a look at jshopper when hv time. Heh.)

Hi Xiao Yun,

currently i also engaged a PT helper once a mth. China lady. Quite satisfied with her work. $48 for 4 hours.

Baby crying

My baby has been crying for 3 consecutive nights for at least one hour. I just couldn't calm him down. Very heartpain to see him screaming. Dun know what has happened? Is this colic? Any mummies can advise me.

sunny
when u go out with your girl, she doesn't want to try the things that you're eating?

kitsune
i can imagine it would be hard to transition, my room also got no space if i had to do it. but don't feel like you're a failure, every baby is different also, some are easier than others, we just have to try to do our best

kitsune
dun be hard on yourself dear. every parent is different and every kid's termperament also different. it's a matter of finding how to click. learning how to manage your child is a skill that no one can teach. it's by trial and error. becos i spend the least amt of time with kate, i find that other pp like mom, mil, maid, everybody seem to know better how to handle her than me. that makes me really pek chek sometimes but i tell myself she's my baby and ultimately, i will find a way to handle her

Vine
how much u rented? from where? i dun mind sharing..u stay in the east?

AVENT Via Cups

Hi Artemis, I found it.

10 x 180 ml/6 oz Avent Via cups with lids and 2 converters for $17.50.

PM me cos I may not check the forum over weekend. cheers!

Hi Artemis,

Transfer done! Pls check.

To Account POSB Savings
109-37121-1 Artemis
Amount S$17.60
Transaction Reference 1814406650

Bkkgal, I stay at Sgoon North. Rented from Rent That Toy for $45 per mth.

Via Cups
Anyone still need via cups. I have BN but just that I have open the box.

Hi everyone!!!
have not been in here for a while and thread moving too fast for me to catch up. Had a 'xiong' week, my boi has been waking up every night at a "witching hour" of 3-4 am and stays awake for abt an hr plus to CHIT CHAT!!! my goodness! i really don't knw wat's up wid that boi of mine but it certaintly didn't do me any good. Everyday i was like a zombie! Well, last nite he slept thru and i hope he continues or i will b so DEAD!!

Co-sleeping wid BB
ya, i have that concern too, m wondering when is a gd time to slowly shift my boi to his own room since he is now sleeping in the same room wid us. Don't want to have him too dependent on us but at the same time we want him to knw that we are always around wen he needs us....hmmmm.....

Hi Berry,
can i ask u if u still have ur DD sleeping in the same room as u?? Or how's ur arrangement like wid ur DD and DS?

Hi BBKgal,
can i ask which bb monitor r u using currenlty??

vinegal
i tried 2 banks. ocbc charged me 0.01309, dbs charged me 0.01316. that was during mid june time.

yen
could your bb be teething?

isobellies
i adopt the no salt, no oil and no sugar method for her food before she turns 2 yr old.
she used to ask her to gv her our food. but, we told her that we would gv her when she reached 2 yo loh. then, from there onwards, she didn't ask us to gv her adult food liao. i must say she's really a good baby (last time. haha..). when ppl offered food to her, she will ask our permission one. i wonder if my boy will do that when he grows up a bit older.

bkk, kitsune,
thanks for sharing.

to be honest, i very bu she de to move bb to her own room. now, whenever she shuffles in her bed, i will take a peep at her to see what she's up to. if she's in her own room, even with bb monitor, i dun think i will be doing that.

recently, i just feel that she's growing so quickly and i wanna cherish every single moment with her. i look at those 2-3 yr olds, and i actually feel sad that one day she will grow out of her baby-ness. am i crazy or what.

yet i also know that she has to move to her own room one day. such a dilemma.

sunny
yah! i think she sounds so guai! not sure if my bb will b like that too, already he sometimes looks so interested in our food, and i would like him to try all kinds of things and not be a fussy eater. although i would like to restrict salt! and sugar, of course

gar,
yah, i knw wat u mean...bbs grow so fast, at times i jus watch my boi in amazement as he tries out yet another new "skill"...v soon they wld b at the age of "ma,why this and ma,why that..."

yeh.....! looking so forward to receiving the books. Thks for update.

bb sleeping with us
mine is sleeping with us. think will also slp with us till we got our flat... by tat time he will be ard 2 liao zzz

garfield
you are not crazy actually. i also feel sad whenever i find that my gal grows up so fast and i don't have enough time to spend time with her to go thru all the development stages.
my boy sleeps in his room from day 1. every night before i go to bed, i will go to his room to take a look, touch his tummy to make sure he's breathing (very paranoid, right?) and see if the room temperature is alright for him.

isobellies
ya loh. my gal is really guai loh. now, grow up older liao, still guai, but very cheeky. sometimes she does things like purposely wanna make us scold her. think she needs some attention bah.
for the boy, he's totally different from jie jie... God is fair, give me one super easy kid, and another more difficult one. haha...

re: flip
my boy can flip from back to tummy, tummy to back liao. haha... and i am the 1st who see his new skill! so happy...

Hi Feb Mummies,

I am actually an April mummy and I am trying to put my girl to sleep in her own room tonight. I am so bu she de but my hubby said if we don't do so, she might get used to sleeping with us.

I think I am going to be sleepless tonight...

Gar, me too, last night after we moved her out to the baby room, I told hubby, the room so quiet hor without her, which is silly cos when she's asleep, she also don't make noise what. :p But somehow I'm used to her presence and so reassuring that she's less than 2 metres away, can watch her as she sleeps. When she stretches herself or when she smiles in her sleep.

But when hubby ask me want to bring her back to our room, told him no, got to get used to this sooner or later if not it's no fun when a toddler is in the same room with us. By then, she'll protest if we try to move her out.

Today, FIL found out that we are putting her in her own room, also reacted like your dad, how can you leave baby alone in the room? Someone must sleep with her. How come old folks all think alike? Traditional or talking from experience?

Thanks, bkkgal, ya we can only do our best.

Dor, my bb also learning to crawl, they very fast hor. Feel very 'bu she de' when I realise how much she has grown. :p

u all transiting bb to own room? Do u let bb sleep in aircon? My boy still sleeping with us too but in his own cot since day 1. Din think it will be difficult to move him to his own room since he dun share our bed, now hearing all of u, I think I better start soon. But hor, one nite 2 rooms air con, electricity bill quite siong hor. I also bu she de...

Today tried to feed my boy with some cereal mix in milk when he is 2 weeks from 6 mths. Cos these days, he dun seems to like milk so thot i start on semi solids earlier. I mix 30ml of milk with 1 teaspoon, is this correct? He took a bit and then was sleepy and din wan anymore so not sure if he actually like it or not. Today his appetite not good, cannot finish every feed. Dunno why....

babyhope, we don't sleep in aircon, nor does my baby. RaeAnne has been in her own cot from day 1 cos ours is queen size bed, too small. I heard that it's better to feed them cereal by spoonfeeding cos different 'eating' technique compared to suckling from bottle teat.

Did you check his temperature, is he sick? Or maybe you started solids or he's feeling more full. Maybe, he's teething? Is he drooling a lot? Scratching his ear or chewing on everything he can get his hands on? Tried giving him a teething ring yet?

bb sleeping in separate room:

i oso bu she de and oso partly i know i'll be too paranoid abt everything if my bb sleeps in another room, think i'll be running btw the 2 rooms the whole nite to check on bb. Anyway, my mum once mention "aiyah, now young sleep wif u, u complain, next time when he grows up, u want he oso dun want oredi!". True enuf, one of my nephew in pri 2 who has been zzz with his parents, recently requested to have his own bed and room :p