(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

tute,
Thanks. Your bb's neck strong enough liao? Can use carrier now? I got a sling from my friend, tried a few times but always failed... realy dunno how to use it... I think I'll check out mothercare... if bb and me like it then buy... but worried that I may not have strength to carry her at the rate she's growing...

aquaDucks Free Trial Class
How many? 4 babies per class (1-parent-1-child)
Where? Heated pool at Suntec (so baby only need a swimming diaper)
When? Somewhere in Aug(weekend)
How long? Each session is 30 mins max
Time: TBA
Age? 6 months onwards
http://www.aquaducks.com.sg/programmes.html

1) Cheryl
2) Dorothy
3) Dorothy's fren
4) Qingling
5) Jeannie
6) kitsune_sg
7) Snowbelle
8)
9)

oops, long post!

thanks all mummies for your concern. I'm ok, just that i couldnt help tearing whenever i think of my son, especially now in office

doctor said my boy is ok leh, just that he still got phlegm. i'm glad he is at home now. he was so happy yesterday when back at home. think he knows lor.

happymum, yea my son on 4 hourly in hospital and now 6 hourly at home. Just now my mum accidentlly poured off the solution so my hubby got to go back to fix the nebuliser for my boy.
you see, my son only cough occassionally (when he cries) other times he is okay leh. but the doc still give oral medication. so i feel that TMC doc prescribed stronger medicine lor. My husband is so against it and keeps complaining
The nebuliser hor, not over the head wor, is like wearing the mask and let him inhale the vitalin and etc. And about suction, my boy din cough and drinks well but they still brought him to do suction. 3 times somemore!! and claimed he got lots of phlegm, ok la, at least plhegm is out.sigh, but very heartache hearing him cry so much. NEver did he cry like this before!!

oh yea, he did physiotheraphy too. the therapist will put him on his tummy, head down a bit, and pat on his lungs. pat quite heavy but my boys seems enjoying it :p it's to break out the phlegm.

i think my boy sure reduced in weight, since suffered so much. he is now 8kg.

jeannie: yealor, my boy is not ill at all like what the doc claimed leh. so my hubby kept saying the doctor wanna do business so wanted to admit my boy. my boy din really cough ma, and not ill somemore. everything is fine leh. maybe i really made a wrong choice to go TMC
maybe like your bb, after eating some medicine he will recover, no need to go thru so much trauma!! anyway, i could be wrong too cuz i'm not doctor ma

ISO: my boy got admitted to TMC

poo: my boy so far, only din poo for 1 day. that's the record liao. he poos everyday, and more than 4 times somemore. until buttock red red. aiks

EBM: oh yea, when i was at TMC hor, the nurses told me not to mix EBM and warm up leh. for instance, 1 bottle of EBM got 60ml, then heat the 60ml first, then warm another 60ml from another bottle. cant mix both bottle EBM together and warm leh. Then another nurse told me that once you open up the EBM and pour out, the remainig cannot use liao cuz might contaminate it. i wonder whether it's really like that? cuz i have been mixing EBM and use EBM in one big bottle whcih holds up to 250ml one.

hospitalisation plan: so unfortunate that I couldnt claim for the hospital bill cuz the plan that i bought still under the underwriting period. 2 week not passed yet!! bobian, need to dig out $$ from our pocket. total bill is around $1900

winnie: I think TMC doctors like to admit bb to hospital one leh!!! cuz on Sunday when i brought my son to see her, so many patients got warded on the same day!! my son also went thru blood test. X-ray somemore!! aiyo
oh yea, now i still dunno who spread the virus to my son. could be infant care centre also. yesterday after discharge from hospital we went to see the PD i used to go. then saw another bb from the same infant care centre, cough also!!

oh! the palm tied with flat board is the drip huh! i also saw a few kids on that too but i din ask the nurse what's that. yea looked very sad hor when i was walking around the hospital.
winnie, i definitely know how u feel. you know when my boy went for suctionm, i asked whether i could go in together to the room, the nurse just asked me to stay outside , better if i go away, cuz she said i will cry. and yes, listning to bb's screaming and crying, how could u not cry?
so now is your gal back to infant care? i have to stop putting my boy there n my mum is taking care of him now. though i'm not going back i still need to pay though, 1 month notice.

Age? 6 months onwards

1) Cheryl
2) Dorothy
3) Dorothy's fren
4) Qingling
5) Jeannie
6) kitsune_sg
7) Snowbelle
8) Tongtong

Age? 6 months onwards

1) Cheryl
2) Dorothy
3) Dorothy's fren
4) Qingling
5) Jeannie
6) kitsune_sg
7) Snowbelle
8) Tongtong
9)
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)

Please kindly provide me the children's name, date of birth and their parent contact number. PM me this info and i will consolidate..
anymore?

i really thank God that ruth is healthy. Even jabbing & squeezing her feet for the jaundice blood tests i feel so horrible - much less putting her through all those things u all mention.

when i let the nurse draw blood..i always think "bad mummy bad mummy" cuz a lot of my friends tell me no need to keep going back to check for the jaundice - just let it be n it will go away. last time where got people go test so often! in the end we stop going.

i pump as i type

tongtong, u pull ur son out?

i still let her go. in fact after 1 day of discharge i let her go again, cos fever vomit gone on the night of admission. left slight cough.... really slight.... not sure if nebu is too much for her sigh....cos infant care teacher say hardly hear her cough...

i brought her bk cos no choice i due for work, and infant care has place to quarantine her and they can do nub too as teachers were were former pd nurse.

i thot u stick on and want to exchange num with u to use sms as form of support...

pardon my spelling hee pump in nursing roo now

winnie, tong,
*BIG HUGZ* oh my goodness...i can feel your pain from your posts. glad that your babies are feeling better already.

snowbelle,
you can try shopbug.com 3x 82 sheets going for $8.50. one of the cheapest i've found. i think they do free delivery also above certain spend. nowadays petrol and parking so expensive, unless very near, driving there and back will burn up all the savings!!

bb carrier,
suggest that all interested should try the carriers before buying. even for popular brands like baby bjorn cos you may not feel comfortable with the fit.

for those with weak lower backs, please please buy a version with good lumbar support. hb was previously hospitalized for back problem, so the synergy is necessary else he will injure his back again. if you do not have a history of weak backs, then it could be an overkill, but of course prevention is better than cure.

personally, i find that carrying baby in front causes my back to arch like crescent moon. i do not know what are the long term effects of such a posture so I got one with good support just in case.

tongtong
sometimes the PD wanna plays safe so asks the bb to hospitalised. last time my gal's PD also asked her to stay in hospital for phototherapy when the jaundice level is high (to him). for my boy, we changed another PD, he only asked us to monitor and sun bath bb, no need to go for phototherapy. I remember the jaundice level for both of them was about the same loh.

so, next time, if you hv doubt in the PD's advise, mayb you can seek for 2nd opinion before deciding what to do next.
*pat pat*

Thanks garfield and cheryl... checking out shopbug.com now...

garfield,
For bbjorn, only synergy got good back support? I also need something with good back support... I'm already having backache everyday... if I skip my stretching exercise, it will get worst...

snow,
you can try bbjorn acive. the diff is that material is not cooling like synergy.

the 4 models are:
1. original - non cooling material, no back support
2. air - with cooling material, no back support
3. active - non cooling material, with back support
4. synergy - with cooling material and with back support

i usually perspire very easily. but when i walked with bb out for dinner in the early evening about 6pm, didn't perspire at all so i think the cooling material works. if you dun need it, then just go for active.

winnnie: erm, still considering whether to pull out from the centre or not..oh, your infant care has place to quarantine her , that's good. i'm not sure about mine leh. think i call and ask them. yea there's nurse at the infant care centre. so they can do nebu for him too.
my mum is taking care of my son now, but seems pretty busy and occupied. it's still better to send him over to infant care lor. oh ok, i pm u my contact

re: EBM
i also combine leh. ran out of bottles so when reach home i will pour all the BM i express out into 2 milk bottles (coz 1 bottle not enuff to hold all). then next day when bb wanna drink then pour out the amt needed leh. is it no gd?? i tot ok.. since all the EBM is refrigerated, so cold liao. but i wont pour fresh EBM into refrigrated bottles coz the fresh one is warm.

sunny: yea you are right. initially we were thinking to go seek secodn opinion but heck, it was a sunday. The pd i used to go is close. and at TMC, the PD said it's better to get admitted if not might get worse.

jaslyn, if the 2 bottle's EBM was expressed at the same time, then ok to mix. that's according to the nurse. if different day or difernt timing, then better not.

tongtong: oh... okok but i oso mix when i top up thawed frozen ones with refrigated ones, then heat up tog. so like this is not adviseable lah?

jaslyn, that was i do too, heating up differnet timing's EBM together. when i was in hospital, i pumped and stored at their fridge. When i went to collect my EBM and saw me mixing the milk, she said not advisable leh. she said it's like mixing FM and BM which is nono. so for EBm, it's the same. So strange leh!

tong, jaslyn,
i researched quite extensively on this topic.

what i gathered is that it is ok to mix EBM from different pumping session SO LONG AS
- they are pumped within 12hrs apart
- they are of the same temperature before mixing (so say batch A pumped at 6am and stored in fridge, batch B can be added to batch A if it is chilled first, cannot just pour into batch B without chilling)

i'll try to find the links to the resources that say that.

RE: drugstore spree

Anyone interested? I will be shipping via Vpost cause Comgateway seems to be having loads of trouble these days. Rate used would be 1.4.

1. Artemis - Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment, Creamy, Fresh Scent 4 oz (113 g) US$4.69 X 2 = 9.38 X 1.4 = S$13.13

Garfield, you want to give me your order? Also, did you forget about your Tiger food jar or it is not convenient for you to collect from me? Maybe we can meet up somewhere tomorrow? I going to Bugis and HarbourFront.

Hi XiaoYun,

:p By the time I read your post about the 20% link, the offer already over.

Hi tongtong, Winnie,

Felt so sad for you when I read your posts. Take care!

Hi h@ppymum2be,

Glad to hear that Erlene is out of the hospital. Take care!

RE: baby sick and mummy's feelings

Actually, Danica was in NICU for 1 day during her first hospital stay at birth due to the PD suspecting her esophagus not properly connected to her stomach (haven't fully developed) cause she was vomiting after every feed. When I see her on drip and oxygen with all the tubes coming out of her I also felt so sad! Then she had to do blood tests and take X-ray too. Luckily, it turned out to be a false alarm but really felt so terrible when I went there to breastfeed her and she looked so small and vulnerable in the container they used for a bed and somemore she was naked (there was warmer under the mattress).

RE: Aquaducks

I am interested too but Danica will only be 6 month in September.

RE: Mixing EBM

Oops... Cannot mix chilled and just expressed out ones? I always do that and pop into the freezer or fridge again.

Age? 6 months onwards

1) Cheryl
2) Dorothy
3) Dorothy's fren
4) Qingling
5) Jeannie
6) kitsune_sg
7) Snowbelle
8) Tongtong
9) Blueginger
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)

Please kindly provide me the children's name, date of birth and their parent contact number. PM me this info and i will consolidate..
anymore?

Cheryl,
U got mail.

Thumb sucking,
My girl has been sucking her fingers since 2 week ago. She sucked hers loudly, sometimes the whole fist and den choke herself. However, she dun do it when she sleeps.
Many said that if baby dun like pacifier, they will suck their thumb.

Poo:
My bb oso dun poo daily, the max day she poo is 5 days. Consult GP, and the answer is as long as it is not hard, it is alright.

BUT... my bb hv green stool. VERY very green like those greeny vegetable. Any solution to it?

Sleep pattern:
How can I can my bb to sleep early? She usually sleeps at 12 mid-night or 1am. I want her to sleep at 10pm. I hv tried stopping her from sleeping after 5pm. but no effect.

Age? 6 months onwards

1) Cheryl
2) Dorothy
3) Dorothy's fren
4) Qingling
5) Jeannie
6) kitsune_sg
7) Snowbelle
8) Tongtong
9) Blueginger
10) leila
11)
12)
13)
14)

anymore?

Age? 6 months onwards

1) Cheryl
2) Dorothy
3) Dorothy's fren
4) Qingling
5) Jeannie
6) kitsune_sg
7) Snowbelle
8) Tongtong
9) Blueginger
10) leila
11) Vine-Gal
12)
13)
14)

anymore?

artemis,
oops...sorry! was busy during the long weekend so thinking of picking it up this coming weekend. if it's convenient for you, i can meet you at bugis junction during lunch cos my workplace is just round the corner. feel free to SMS me tomorrow to coordinate.

thanks so much!

for mixing EBM, i always thot that it is fine to mix if they are of the same temp. But i dont mix freshly pump one into those chilled ones....

my girl is still waking up at night.... she use to wake up at 1am, 2am, 3am for pat pat or pacifier drops.... then 4am for latch....

so last night, i thot i will latch her earlier hoping she will sleep through... but i latch her at 12.30am, she not quite intersted, put her back to bed... then she call for pat pat again at 3+am....

yeap baby is feeling better liao, but this sat going for 5 in 1, hope she will be ok too...

very naughty now.... when wants milk her cries will be wa wa wa wa, 4 times. then if want carry, she will say "beh"

I am interested, can I join?
Age? 6 months onwards

1) Cheryl
2) Dorothy
3) Dorothy's fren
4) Qingling
5) Jeannie
6) kitsune_sg
7) Snowbelle
8) Tongtong
9) Blueginger
10) leila
11) Vine-Gal
12) Babyhope
13)
14)

Taka is having 10% sale storewide for members from Fri to Sun. I will be getting a handheld blender to prepare food for my son when he can start taking puree in a couple of months. Saw that there is a BP on it too at abt the same price after discount so think quite good deal. See if you mummies are keen.

Age? 6 months onwards

1) Cheryl
2) Dorothy
3) Dorothy's fren
4) Qingling
5) Jeannie
6) kitsune_sg
7) Snowbelle
8) Tongtong
9) Blueginger
10) leila
11) Vine-Gal
12) Babyhope
13)
14)
15)
16)

anymore?

arielle's schedule all gone haywire.

since early may, for 2 weeks, she would fuss to go to bed at 8+pm and sleep thru to 5+am, take a feed and then go back to sleep and wake up at 7+am for me to latch before going to work.

since i started full day this week, she has
(1) refused to sleep early...will cry when we shhh/pat her at 8+pm, and when we put her down on our bed she will smile and want to play. finally only going to bed at 10+pm
(2) refused to go back to sleep after her 5+am feed...again will cry when we shhh/pat her, and wants to play till 7am when she will fuss to be latched.

very siong for me as i still have to squeeze in 2 pumping sessions in between. felt very mang zhang with her.

but my mom says that it could be her 6th sense telling her to maximize time with us when we're home cos she's not going to see us the whole day. of course it is very sweet if indeed true, but are babies are so sensitive meh?

anyone has simliar experience?

garfield, I dont think its a case of that she knows for a fact you are working fulltime, but it could be a possibility that she doesnt get as much time as she did with you, hence feeling insecure and appear more 'high-need', u know what I mean? Some babies just alot more than other emotionally, and are just more emotional and sensitive, I do believe that if arielle is one of those babies, this could very well be the reason. Plus as they grow, their need for sleep reduces as well, and they arent as drowsy as when they are younger. But I can totally understand your frustration. Maybe you can adjust her bedtime later? In between u an take turns w hubby to eat your own dinner- take it as extra bonding time with bb.

Just sharing my own experience- I find that when I am frustreated about the bb, its usually a case of my expectations not being met, and I learnt that when I drop my expectations to just go with the bb's flow, I parent alot better and happier.

winnie, hmmmm why is it naughty for your bb to cry for milk and asked to be carried? :p
I think thats primarily the main needs of all bbs, to be carried and to be fed.

blueginger:
my gp says if bb on FM, colour of poo will depends on the FM bb take. diff Fm gives diff colour & texture due to diff mineral content & proportion in the FM. like s26 is blueish and similac is greenish. but erm... your bb one like v green perhaps its better to check w doctor. ur bb havent start solid rite???

re: S26
just switch bb's FM to S26 a few days ago. took a sip of the S26 which he can't finish. the taste is simply terrible OMG... no wonder he is not finishing his milk recently

garfield
I am suffering from the same thing. Bb used to sleep at around 9 plus all the way to 6 plus before we dig him up for his feed. This has been a good routine for us for the past 1 mths plus. But since he had his jab last Fri, he has been waking up around 4plus and fuss. I hope this will not last ow, I am getting so tired....

For mummies who stay in Pasir Ris area or can do self collection at Orchard area and are keen on the blender, let me know. I dun mind helping to buy if you can do the self collection. I will be going down tomorrow. Please pm me if interested as this thread moves quite fast and I dun check back very often.

Garfield,
Thanks for the explanation on the different models. Any idea which website got list the price? I tried the bbjorn, but no price listed.

play game with bb,
That day I tried to play scissors, paper, stone with my girl. After I said the word stone, I'll use my fist to hit against hers. Then 2 days ago, she was very cranky... kept crying, can't pacify at all... so I tried to say out the words, scissors, paper, stone... surprisingly... she calmed down and smile, then fell asleep shortly after that... This morning she surprised me further... I just said out those words and after I said the word, stone, she tried to use her unstable fist to hit mine... now she's getting more fun to play with :D

I agree with Berry.

When we stop imposing our schedule and expectations on baby, and instead just "follow the baby's" lead, EVERYONE becomes happier.

Of course, i'm also lucky that baby ruth just decided that she would sleep through and she would take day naps etc.

But i also feel MUCH HAPPIER when I let go of my expectations cuz having those expectations on baby only gives us unnecessary frustrations (when they are not met).

Try to let go abit once in awhile.

And if stuff like waking up to pump extra makes u really tired and frustrated, it seems more beneficial (to everyone) that perhaps you can miss one pump. You'll be more refreshed, less grouchy and less frustrated.

For me, i've "trained" my body to feed only 4 times a day now, and zero pumps. Abit sad for supply to drop that much but i think it works for me. (Before sleep about 10pm, one side at 6am, one side at 7am and another time during lunch). My energy saved for playing with her and etc. Partial BFing isn't that bad after all since i find frozen EBM smells really weird.

Of course, i'm again very fortunate that both me and my parents stay within 10 minutes walk from my work, plus my boss is willing to let me off flexi lunch for 2 hours to feed her (& myself). Then again, i did plan to stay this near work for convenience.

KUNGFU RUTH -
1436207.jpg

FIST-EATING RUTH -
1436208.jpg

snowbelle, haha your bb is co cute, can play scissors paper stone!

lezy, yeah I agree that you are also as important as your bb, an overworked n unhappy mum cant raise a happy kid. If letting yr supply drop a little bit but in return you are better rested and happier, then your bb will benefit so much more from that.

berry,
thanks for your encouragement! i am feeling much better now. as for BF-ing, am prepared to wind down or stop if i feel i can no longer cope.

can't wait to go home to hug A and play with her now =)

Gar,
Perhaps consider wind down abit..but dun stop. I still believe in benefits of BFing as well as the great bonding.

I find while latching her on, I can enjoy her presence and adore her. Sometimes if she isn't looking at me with her intent eyes, I'll take the opportunity to just relax and reflect.

It's really irreplacable. Plus baby can still derive benefits of breastmilk on partial BF-ing.

(i'm pure lazy - cuz i find the hassle of bring/heating EBM, and all the precautions of whether it's fresh, it's thawed correctly etc abit too stressful for myself, much less to impose on my mum who is the main caregiver.)

i have friends/relatives who fully BF for at least 6 months but that's cuz they are either SAHM or they took no pay leave - which is something i cannot afford to do.

Can TBF good la. Cannot also nothing wrong.
Must take care of yourself - dun push until breaking point. There's only one time to enjoy our babies, and that is now.

I dunno about u ladies, but i melt when i'm bf-ing her and she looks at me like this.
1436300.jpg

Garfield,

Seem like your gal likes your company le (albeit it's tiring for you)
U should treasure whatever time spent with her.

I envy u cos in my case super sad loh cos my boy is not sticky to me at all, whenever he sees my mil (who looks after him during weekdays) or hb, he'll smile to them more often and he's okie to let anyone carry him and will smile and "talk" to complete strangers oso!

But with me, he seldom look at me and i must really act like monkey to catch his attention. Its really demoralising cos even tho i work late, i still make sure i go to my mil place to feed/play with him every nite, but still like that. so sad and sometimes i think he dun feel/know i'm his mummy loh

Feel very mang zang abt this...is this an expectation that i should just let go and relax abt?

tongtong/winnie/happymum2b
glad ur bbs are ok liao.

tongtong
can u claim fr medishield 4 shaun's hosp bill? thk it's auto inclusion. plan shd b activated after u submitted the declaraion form sent by cpf.

re: mixing ebm
i've been doing so since my girl's time. never read cannot do so leh.

Age? 6 months onwards

1) Cheryl
2) Dorothy
3) Dorothy's fren
4) Qingling
5) Jeannie
6) kitsune_sg
7) Snowbelle
8) Tongtong
9) Blueginger
10) leila
11) Vine-Gal
12) Babyhope
13) Stephie
14)
15)
16)

lezy,
thanks for your thoughts. i know what you mean by the look in their eyes as you BF that can melt hearts.

i do see my bb as a gift from above for me to cherish and to give my best. i guess during the early months when feeding was such a BIG topic, i wanted to BF as a way i saw as giving my best.

as we go back to work and as bb grows up, feeding is only one aspect of parenting and there are so many other aspects now such as play etc. so i am with you when you say to take it easy wtih BF and shun4 qi2 zi4 ran2 in a way. not to be too hard up with BF.

cheryl..
haha..very cute when they play with their hands...but sometimes so poor thing when they accidentally smack themselves and cry. hahaha.

(poor thing but yet quite funny too)

lezy, yeah, thats wat happened yesterday! My bb was chewing away on his fists and suddenly he slipped and he punched himself in the eye LOL! He didnt cry, but looked kinda shocked for a moment, then carried on chewing haha.