(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

thanks, Vernon's Mummy for meeting up on the Desitin.

btw, not sure if it helps for those who is having the spill problem on the avent pump. there is a white cover that can be used to place the pump. normally you will assemble the rubber massenger at the funnel rite. what you can do is use the white cover to cover the funnel. it will secure the funnel actually (but provided you assemble the rubber massenger at the funnel, then it can secure). thus even if the pump accidentally topple, the spill will not really be there. so which time if you finish pumping, juz cover & secure the funnel portion before you store it. you can give it a try & see if it helps.

btw, was wondering if anyone hv this problem. my son keeping crying recently in the evening time. i suspected he got colic. my pd prescribe probotic drops instead of winds drop as he said research proven probotic works better than wind drops. but it seems that it does not really work for him after taking it for abt 2 weeks. i realised there is a lot of wind in his stomach. after each feed, will try to burp him, but then now he dont like us to burp him. he will make a fuss.

anyone hving the same problem? how you overcome this?

tute,
my gal had very bad jaundice. her reading was >200 for two weeks and had to do the liver function test. you don't have to supplement with FM so long as you make sure he drinks well from the breast to flush the billirubin from the body. if you're not sure, then feed EBM cos can quantify the amt he's taking (advice from kelly). hope your boy gets better soon.

bkkgal
the pain from bb's pulling and twisting is no joke right! making me feel like screaming at her each time she does that but i tolerate! hopefully she will stop this act soon, if not my nipples will continue to suffer =P

piglettail
my in laws told me introducing pacifier is better than bb eating hands. we gave in and gave bb pacifier last week after enduring 3wks plus. bb too cranky at night =(

stephie
shall look into manual pump since electric one causes my nipple to sore!!

tute..my baby had jaundice too and in week 5+ now...then looks better already.

i have been TBF for week 1-3. then introduced FM cuz of supply. i'm not sure if FM helped...but jaundice will take longer to go away for babies on BM. dun stress too much. all my bosses, colleagues, friends say it's normal if you are bf-ing.

even when i was a baby, my parents say i also yellow yellow...and i was on formula. no problem one.

AK
my boy will struggle when we let him sit up and burp him. we just try to hold him gradually to siting position.
actually there are other kinds of burping positions e.g. lie on tummy on your shoulder or on your thigh to burp. did you try before?

re: bb sleep on tummy & yao lan
my boy can sleep slightly longer when we put him to sleep on tummy during day time.
my cl kept asking me to let him sleep in yao lan. but, i scare that he will get too use to it and can't sleep without yao lan in other places. so, till now, i still haven't bought the yao lan yet.

xiaoyun
the warmer fits the shorter bottles. it doesn't last for few hours wan...just enuff to heat up and serve to baby straightaway

andrea
i actually yelled at baby middle of nite before to stop abusing me! yeah it's really painful

AK
some babies have personal fussy time, usually in the evening. clinical definition for colic is 3 hours inconsolable crying for at least 3 times a week for 3 weeks in a row.

Iang
First growth spurt starts at 3 weeks. After that it's 6 weeks, 3 mths and 6 mths.

happymum and snowbelle

yea i need milkbag cos i get ebm from my friend. so in exchange help to supply her with milkbags loh.

btw the goat rue coming cos i got 2 more wks before going back to work! Arggh i dun wan to work!

re: babycenter spree
hi all. regret to inform u all that bbcenter spree cannot proceed cos my credit card issuing bank is not US based (even my billing add already changed to US).

thought of using concierge service but it's only 2 hr to promotion end date. don't wish to spent too long hrs argue with CGW CS (too fed up with their service)

to ppl have transferred $ to me, pls pm me ur account so that i can return u $

(stephie, already have ur acc no. will transfer back to you)

so sorry for the inconvenience caused.

happy: yea loh, ebm better den fm but will still feed fm at nite bah. Yea loh 2 more wks den have to go back to work sian half.

Xiaoyun: Do u have any lobang for the blue egg milk bag??

vine,
dun feel sian.. time will pass v fast after u returned to work and it oso means that ur boi is growing older and more fun to be..

hi lezy,

u 1 to buy ameda breast pump??
i bought mine on 28th of dec,so still got more than 9mths of warranty,u 1 to buy over?
i had given up bf totally,just went to c doc and got the med to stop bm,cos really too painful for me when engorgement,i had spent so much on this engorgement thing

xiaoyun
re: spree. it's okie, no worries.

tute
don't worry too much. last time when my gal had bm jaundice (which was wat my PD said), he suggested that i stop giving bm for 2-3 days. hence, went to buy a tin of fm and fed bb with it for that 2-3 days (full time) while i continued to pump the bm. once my gal has recovered, i resumed feeding her with bm. was your bb totally on bm all along? probably by giving fm for that 2-3 days will help?

goodbaby,

thanks...but i also not intending to go on TBF. i already have the avent isis and actually prefer the manual pump.

i may give up expressing if possible when i get back to work in fact. just latch on for her comfort at night and day time feed formula. see how la.

thanks anyway. i'm returning my borrowed ameda liao. the avent isis manual more comfy actually with the massage petals.

re: Burp
sunny, we tried all methods, sitting positon, tummy position, shoulder position. can only work for a short while, then he start to get fussy.

re: colic
bkkgal, 3 wks in a row!!! oh no...!!! no solution?

hi xiaoyun
i've transferred $16.44. pls check. thks so much. where are e collection points?

From Account POSB Savings
107-47012-3
To Account POSB Savings
198-15117-3 XIAOYUN
Amount S$16.44
Transaction Reference 1628311420

garfield...

are u referring to YOU eating chocolates? or baby in future eating anything with diary product?

it all depends.

for me when i took diary products as a child, i'd get rashes. but on retrospect, it may have been heat rash/eczema. another possibility u may think of is if kid is lactose-intolerant - which is slightly different. being lactose=intolerant just means ur system cannot digest the lactose found in certain types of milk.

some children take milk will get diarrhoea, some get rashes. have to slowly eliminate lor.

but i duno about if you breastfeed, whether YOUR intake of milk products will affect her. confusing arh?

kitsune: you mean you got engorgement but each pumping doesnt yield much? i tot if engorge sure got lots of milk?

running nose: i had running nose yesterday too, got to wear mask thruout the day when close to bb. i din go see doctor and it will heal after a good sleep. think i was too tired, so after a night's zz i recovered.

snowbelle: i find that my supply comes in quite a lot liao when bb is 6 weeks onwards. and also i will latch bb on during night time and day time all on EBM. you can still try your best first before giving up bf. before bb is 6 weeks he is on EBM alm0st of the time and i dont have excess to store. but now i start to stock up in the freezer already.

pumping time: i also start counting start to start wor. if pump at 12pm, 3pm pump again.

cooler bag: yuea i'm interested to get one too!! am going back to office end of april. which cooler bag is good? fridge to go?
anyone buying small fridge too ? i'm thinking to put one in my own office instead of sharing freezer with another 2 colleagues! my office pantry's fridge is just too small la

bring bb out: anyone will latch bb on when going out instead of bringing EBM?

bb poo: my boy starts to poo once to twice a day only when he is 7 weeks old. he is on TBF.

lezy: if ur bb on fm too, then might poop more.

vinegal: u get ebm from ur fren? u mean for ur bb? yor friend's ss so good?

snowbelle: are you selling ur milkbag? is yours lansinoh bag? i'm interested to get one if you are selling.

garfield: is yoru bb's anus sore or tear and not allergy? i went to another PD for 2nd opinion and she discovered that it's my bb's anus tear , and she said is not allergy! and i dont need to stop eating dairy products becuase not allergy and she said what i eat wouldnt affect bb directly wor..

kelly,
aiyah. i got to return you the $ cos of the problem i mentioned earlier.
kindly let me have y our acc number..

vine,
it's a bit slow. but should work le. i tried.
btw, how many packets u need?

re: bm after ml over
i am in a dilema as in whether to buy any cooler bag to store or transport ebm as i dun know whether ss will drop.

re: outing
hi, can i check whether anyone do pumping when they went out?

stephie, thanks for yr advice.

tongtong
i will direct latch bb when i go out. so, bb and i are always together, can't separate. 'cos i find that bringing EBM out and heating is troublesome and need to bring the pump, too. unless really 'bo bian' then, i will bring EBM loh.

AK
then, when you feed bb, probably try not to let bb lie down too flat. after feed, don't let bb lie down immediately.
for my boy sometimes before i burp him, he already burp 'cos he kept struggling or stretching. so, meaning, some milk will come out too...

Xiaoyun, it's ok. Thanks for organising.

Tongtong, my engorgement is due to not pumping or latching on for more than 3 hours esp at night. According to LC, my SS has dwindled cos I don't pump at night. Now, I'm trying to keep to 3 hrly pumping/feeding she advised but every 3 hrs, only got a bit of milk plus must keep massaging on the lumpy parts, hope SS'll slowly increase lar cos I'm already going back to work in 4 weeks time. :p

bkkgal, called Hwei, she'll arrange for delivery these 2 days. Hope to get it soon and relieve my aching muscles. Eh, didn't even know the PIS can use by battery. Will try it when I get the handsfree, hope next time can surf net while pumping. :p

Milkbags,
Anyone using their Playtex milk bags? Does it work with medela bottles or need to pour the milk into the bottles? How about when giving milk to baby? Need to pour out to milk bottle again?

Sorry, blur about milk bags, been using free hospital glass bottles but the metal caps are starting to rust and I don't know where to get extra caps. So must start using milk bags soon. :p

xiaoyun/kitsune/mummies using PIS,
do we need to dry the bottles, membranes, valves and connectors after sterilising? I didn't and realise got water droplets inside the tubings. I managed to dry the tubings after running the pump for 2 min as stated in the manual.

dor,
i feel swollen but not very painful. coz my milk not alot. so i can tahan many hours without pumping. just that it is no good for the ss to go long hours without pumping. but i find it too troublesome to bring the pump out and have to wash after pumping. then also gotta bring cooler bag to store the ebm.

Hi bx, no I don't dry them, since already sterilised should be ok bah. I had the problem with the tubing initially too, did you put the motor in the correct way? The motor controls should not be facing up but facing sideways. After I flip the motor over, the water droplets disappeared.

Ya lor, my CL set up the pump for me and I also thought it's logical for it to be facing up so never question it. Tubing always full of water droplets and they seem to travelling closer and closer to the motor. Until one day, Grace my masseur saw it when doing massage for me and told me I was putting it the wrong way. That time, already close to 1 month liao. Hee.

thanks, sunny. i will normally try to coax him to sleep after he drank his milk. will take note not to put him down immediately after feeding.

bottle cap:
China town store, not much cheaper i think 90 cents each

bf:
I am very cham, I think I am doing the opposite way and it is the wrong way, using bottle for night so that can drag sleeping time, and using latch in the day... this is supposed to be opposite i think... cos hor if latch at night, she will wake up more frequently... do you all experience that?

Stephie, thanks for the note on the bottle thing, hee i must be very stupid to keep thinking it is the CG issue of the small bottle.

After using bottle, sometimes my girl still wants to latch on, I think is to treat me as pacifier... give her actual pacifier, she does not want.

Thumb or pacifier
Pacifier should be less evil as easier to quit than thumb.

may i know, when you all pump in middle fo night, do you also wash and sterilise each time? cos i pump every 3 to 4 hour, then when i wash in middle of night, my mum grumbles says no good for health... but no other choice right???

Garfield lelong again...

Have the following items to lelong due BF and bb's allergy to cow's milk
- 1x Nestle Nan1
- 1x 900g Anmum Lacta (Milk for breastfeeding mums)
- 2x Yomeishu

Also have excess of the following:
- 2x Pigeon breast pads
- 1x Playtex milk liners

Pls PM me if interested

lezy,
i'm very confused too. apparently what i eat enters the BM and affects bb. i'm not sure to wat extent her allergy is.....got to ask PD next time.

tong,
PD examined her anus and said no tear...but i guess no harm getting 2nd opinion. good for you and bb!!! no need to restrict diet.

Hey, anyone interested in having a baby monitor? I have a Philips digital baby monitor, model SCD463. Range up to 200m. Got it in a hamper but I don't need it. It's still in the original packaging, totally new and unused. I'm willing to sell it at $100. If I'm not wrong, it is retailing at $132.

Payment terms: Cash
Meet up at central (City Hall MRT) at my convenience or self-collect at Pine Close.

Interested moms, pls sms me at 96300620.

bx, mine(breast) veri painful n sometimes, while carrying my boi, it leaks

kitsune,
re:playtex milk bag
i will pump (using medela mini) n then pour the ebm into milk bag to store. so when boi wan milk milk, will warm in the warmer before pouring into the milk bottle.

winnie
re: pump in middle of night
ya, i will wash n sterilise after every pump. at least twice every night.