(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

BM - I'm on total EBM bec my nipples are too short and milk doesnt flow fast enough for baby.. from my experience so far (only abt 2 weeks), ss is ok.. just need to get baby to suckle a bit (like just 1-2 min) occassionally if ss starts to show signs of decreasing.

Xiaoyun, think cant stop leaking one.. my supply is only average, i also experience leaking on one side in betw feeds.. think you experience the leaking problem bec of good ss.. one of my friends had that too...she says just have to keep changing breast pad..

Catering for full month -- Has anyone tried Buffet Paradize for full month catering? Any feedback on portion and food quality?

Kelly, let me know how much more I need to pay and I'll transfer the $$ to you via internet. Thank you.

kitsune,
my baby still 3 weeks old now so still too young to bring out.

garfield,
yeah me learning how to use the sling now...using a traditional indon batik sling, seems like my baby likes it better...my mom also makes the "sshh 2x" sound to calm him down...so will try my luck later...so far he's been a happy camper today, will see if late afternoon got another attack... now i'm typing with one hand while carrying him using the sling :p how's ur baby gal today ?

xiao yun,
how serious is your leaking ? mine on and off can be quite bad...but i think urs could be due to your abundant ss ?

cheryl,
i keep the umbilical cord after it drops coz my mom ask me to... some traditional belief lah...

btw, u ask regarding nuk wide bottle teat and avent bottle last time right...have you try it ? does it work ?

re: latex teat
somebody mention that we can't put in steriliser...is this true ? so how do i clean/sterilise it ?

Xiaoyun
my milk leaks when bb is latching on. sometimes even when i am not latching on, my breast will leak but am not sure about the amount! definitely not as much as you!! envy your ss =)

Plain water
do you give your bbs plain water when you are total breastfeeding? my mil told me to give my bb some water to drink.. anyone can feedback??

Formula milk
my bb has been cranky and my in laws think that my ss is low thus bb still hungry. hinted me to introduce FM to bb to satisfy her hunger. how?!! should i or should i not?? am in dilemma..sigh

Vernon'sMummy,
swaddle - my girl also same lah... think it's normal bah

umbilical cord - I do keep... my mom asked me to put in a red packet and place under her pillow, so that she will not get scare easily.

breast pain,
These few days start to feel pain ard my breasts... dunno is it pump too much?

Thankful,
Really envy your ss. I'm also using PIS Advanced with the 2 phase, but it doesn't help in increasing my ss at all... think it depends on individual...

leaking milk..

xiaoyun.. i think ur ss very good thats why leak so much.. i also have this problem when pumping out.. during letdown..both sides will flow.WHy not u use a bottle to collect the milk.. then after u finish latching just pump out the other breast to complete 1 bottle. Thats what i always do.. 2bottles everytime i pump.

Low ss

Snowbelle.. just check w u how many times u pump a day.. frankly speaking i am in the same category w u. Low ss one.. what i do is i take fenugreek religiously.. u can continue w ur goat's rue.. and try to pump 3-4 hrly. And everytime i pump i will use hot towel to massage my breasts. Each pump session can last up to half hr to 45 mins. and i need to change the hot towel at least 3 times. For me.. the hot towel massage works cause it will stimulate letdown. Doing it this way.. i can get abt 150 ml from both breasts.. not fantastic.. but enuff for my ger during daytime. Dun give up.. the key is to punp and pump.. even like no milk come out.. massahe.. relax watch tv.. and suddenly u can feel letdown. I even pump when i bathe myself using herbal water.. cause i noe.. everytime i bathe using hot water.. i will have letdown.. so i always bring the pump in w me... :p

Umbilical cord..

Sigh.. believe it or not .. mine was lost!!!! by 2nd week.. the umbilical almost half dropped off then 1 nite i saw my bb room light still on.. then realised that my CL was looking for my bb umbilical cord.. she said it was not there when she wanted to change diapers.. SIgh.. gone lor.. guess it was stucked onto the previous diaper and she din check.. Imagine the whole morning she was telling me how she kept 4 umbilical cords for her kids and how impt they are.. i was a bit upset lah.. but eventually realise a lot pp also never keep.

re cord
I kept it in an ang pow also

re milk intake
not sure why, but baby seems to demand more and more.... i realy hope i can keep up with the demand... really stressful.... if feed her ebm, i will quickly go pump and replace the bottle...

re sterilising
i dont dry the bottles and pump completely before i pump....

re nanny issue
my hubby aunt is here to learn from CL, but obviously things are not going fine... and she is getting on my nerves.

1) she watches me bf like a hawk behind, so sick, first time like that, i told hubbby to tell her not to, she told my hubby she looking at baby not at me???!!!! baby is on my breast ok???? today, baby is not coorperative, so i cant burp her after feed, she also watches my moves. in the end baby throw up a bit of milk (which is normal accordingl to CL with or without burp) then she says it is because i dont burp.... if she not staring at me, how would she know my every move?????

2) told her not to keep carrying baby, she retorts me that anyway she is the one looking after the baby next time what.

3) during a feed ask me twice if baby is full???!!! come on, i am no x ray machine, how am to know how much she consume???? so i told her bf is different, you can only see if she wants more later and feed on demand. she says you will know one whether she has enough??? just see if she wants more later.... then what for ask me since it is this way????!!!

4) told her to learn from CL, when CL teaches her, she says she knows everythind... so CL is pissed off.

snowbelle, you mean can put under pillow and help her not to get scare??? i would love to try leh.

Cheryl, so putting a few drops into the bathtub with water, bathe liao then no need to rinse again>?

yea i kept my bb's umb cord

xiao yun
the leaking problem will get better when your supply and bb's feeding pattern get more stable. after the supply is stable, normally it will leak if you didn't express the milk or bb didn't drink it on time.

thankful...mine always poke the heels...never poke hands. she doesn't seem to feel pain...just squirm abit usually.

eliaw...ok..i try to massage hard. i just massagw softly so far. no wonder she dun seem to like to drink from my right breast - cuz even i can't get antything out. then whole day hv to carry her or feed her, no time to express. bath or eat aso must be damn chop chop.

kitsune, i tbhought bfed bb will hv longer jaundice - they call it bf-ing jaundice n is not dangerous apparently. my gal still yellow too...coming to 1 month liao.

baby sling/pouch/carrier:
any of u find it useful? i bought a MIM baby pouch but like very hard to use

now feel like buying babybjorm...

andrea...i relented n gave FM cuz she seems to be hungry even after latching on for too long. but i give like very little...maybe less than 100ml per day. my ideais to use FM to supplement. i still want to bfeed cuz of health benefits n bond. some suggest to express cuz suckling can be tiring for some bb n they get less cuz get tired n fall asleep easily.

lezy, i bot MIM sling but dont know how to use eventhough i have watched the cd demo. have asked MIM whether can arrange a trip to my house to show me or not ... dunno whether they provide such service though

May i ask if its alright to shower after 7 days later of spinal C-section? i'm scare if the water may affect the wound. thanks!

genice,
Thanks... Now I try to pump every 2-3 hours but night time may drag longer... I only pump 10 to 15min... is it too short? I can only hide in my room to pump, so a bit impatient... How do you pump while bathing? Won't the herbal water goes in? Honestly, I feel very sian with this pumping thingy... esp now breasts pain, really feel like giving up... Besides pumping, did you latch yr girl on?

winnie,
You don't be so stress lah... Is there anyone else who can help you take care of your bb beside your hb's aunt?

Umbilical cord - yeah... that's what my mom told me lah...

tongtong..
i bought the baby pouch, not the sling. It's very hot for my baby and she was really uncmofy in it. i may have to sell it away at a discount.

anyone interested? mine is the sweet maroon one with bubbles. so nice..but well, baby dun seem to like.

hello every1,
i just joined this forum and i think it's great to be able to find support and share info here.

mom to newborn Travis and counting down to end of confinement soon
finally

i bought my MIM sling today too - at their showroom in Jalan Peminpin. The lady was really nice - showroon was not actually opened on Friday. We tried our luck and she came to the door and offered to help even though she worked in the office.

She even showed me how to use and help me to compare between the baby pouch and the sling..which make it easier to decide.

For those small to average size lady - baby pouch will be comfortable but must buy the right size, otherwise can be quite restrictive.

For those like me above average - get the sling, can adjust and more comfortable.

Actually wanted to buy the pouch - as it look easier to use, which is true but more restrictive. So with her live demo, i bought my first sling...can't wait to try it on with the real baby....

They are going to have a booth at the Mother & Baby Fair @ Expo next weekend - for those who is deciding may want to check it out...live demo.

snowbelle, nope if this does not work out, my baby will have to go infant care.... if not, i will petition to my hubby to take NPL for time being.

I also got the MIM sling from my friend leh, but so far have not used it before....

re soreness
I also experience soreness. esp when baby latches on, i am still trying to push on

Tongtong, Lezy, I also have MIM sling, tried to sling baby using the demo but found it very difficult to adjust the ring. Maybe it's also because mine is an extra from a colleague and it's cotton not cotton sateen so not easy to slide.

Lezy, my BB's jaundice ended by Week 3. I also BF but when she had to be hospitalised for uv therapy, I let them supplement with FM. After BB came back, jaundice much better liao, follow up at poly a few days later, also ok.

re: MIM sling
ya, next wk got motherhood fair. drop by and ask them to teach you.
last time when i just bought, i used soft toy to practice. after that, use the real bb i.e. my gal. but when you just use, please use it on the bed, it's more secured for bb, just in case....
i hope i still remember the technique of slinging bb using MIM sling.
if i manage to sling it successfully, and you gals still need help, we can meet up and share the technique.

I have extra desitin creams to sell off at cost (SG$7 per tube). My friend brought back a couple for me from US but now I'm using California Baby so don't need so many tubes of diaper creams.

2x desitin creamy
2x desitin original

Anyone interested pls let me know.

tong,
my bb stools still has bloody mucus, but a lot less and only once per day. PD hasn't asked me to send the stools for diagnosis yet, but have a follow up coming Mon so i'll ask her.

pump,
i have the avent isis manual and the medela PIS advanced. strangely, the manual one yields more milk (i thot shld be the other way round!) anybody knows why ah....like that i feel like selling off my PIS already.

ss,
i did a trial yesterday. have been on almost 100% latch on to date, but switched to 100% EBM yesterday for a few reasons
- i'm quite frustrated with bb always falling asleep at my breast =P
- she's not getting enough of the hindmilk
- i want to see if my daily ss meets her needs
- i want to see how much she feeds per session and the interval in between (in preparation for going back to work).

quite tiring though, cos was pumping every 2 hrs in the day and every 3 hrs at night.

lezy,
my gal also had jaundice for close to one month. just make sure she is drinking well to flush the billirubin out of bb's body.

winnie,
very irritating hor...my MIL also a bit like that. she puts both her arms behind her back when looking at baby in the cot, and will jiang3 a lot of dao4 li3...but hor, dun even want / dare to carry my gal. so i'm like ?????? just smile and nod politely lor =)

garfield
when's the expiry date of the desitin? you got the pix?
i am interested in the original.
i think better don't sell the PIS away 1st. you might find it useful when you use it after going back to work.

vernon
i didn't find out more about the fair 'cos this yr i can't go.... still on confinement.

found the link for you, though.

http://www.family.sg/todo

cheryl, why u wan to sell away yr desitin?

garfield,
re: pump
i am using medela mini n also avent isis. isis yields more milk too...strange???

garfield, i am tempted to go on 100% EBM so taht i can see how to adjust back to office life....

but then i am very scared that without latching, ss may drop... and then i am scared that in reality if see the amount of milk pump and demand, i may not meet.... this is kind of bad, cos i am trying to escape the fact that i am not producing to exactly she needs.

but it is sooner or later thing i think.... do you latch her on still sometimes???

sunny,
the expiry date is 08/2010 for the original and 08/2009 for the creamy. here's the pic of the original one. let me know if you want it.

1300098.jpg

dor,
so it's the same for you too? strange hor...ok reserved for you liao

winnie,
ya know what you mean. i just took a nursing break yesterday...cos going crazy with latching on all the time. today doing combi - latch on plus feeding EBM. i'm trying to work out a schedule when i go back to work eventually. maybe feed EBM in the day and latch on at night.

Garfield, noted, I am on combi latch and plus feeding EBM at the moment. I will slowly phase and increase the frequency of feeding EBM.

winnie,
if you combi latch + EBM meets bb's demand, then your ss should be ok. for pumping, in order to sustain supply, should increase frequency (ie, if you latch 8 times a day, then to sustain supply you need to pump > 8 times a day). apparently, the intervals do not matter, it is the frequency per 24 hrs that counts.

i thot this article is quite useful. share with you. http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/pumping_decrease.html

garfield, ic, so if we depend on pumping alone, then we msut ensure that we pump according to the number of times the baby latches right.

Thanks alot for the url.

Garfield, I heard from the Jan MTBs that the Avent ISIS is a good pump that will help make the breasts nice and soft, that's why I went to buy it. It's true cos after I use the PIS to pump esp in the morning when engorged (never wake up to pump), I can still get another 20-30ml combined using the ISIS pump. I think it's because of the massaging effect of the silicone shield.

Oh ya, bought Pet Pet S size for $8.10 and the Pet Pet M size for $13.95. Pet Pet is one of the cheapest diapers so far. Good for my BB who likes to poo those 50 cents coin poo then cry when we don't change her. At least use Pet Pet, not as heart pain when we keep throwing it away. :p

Anyone's BB had ear infection before? Mine's ear infection still not ok after seeing dr and taken 1 week of antibotics, altogether already 2 weeks liao. :p

EBM:
i'm on EBM/FM since bb's day 3 due to latching problem. Tiring to pump (and perpetually washing/sterilising) and try to catch-up with bb's demand esp with my low ss (so hv to collate few pumping sessions output for 1 feed, those in-between feeds when i hv not enuf BM, will feed FM). Sometimes i'm also so sian of pumping so often but think it's worth it when i see bb drinks every drop and look contented
and also motivated by some mummies in this forum who persisted in pumping.

Fenugreek:
Just bot one bottle to try. Bottle's instruction is to take 1-2 capsule (610mg per capsule) daily, but i read somewhere need to take abt 6 capsules to be effective for increasing ss. Anyone knows what is the correct dosage?

petpet s size and dryper s size same anot???
i regret buying nepia. cos the newborn n s size leak leh... dryper can last longer ah....

Hi Garfield

I am from NOV 2006 MTBs and recently gave birth to my son on 13 Feb 08 so on and off will pop in here to kpo a bit. do you still have the desitin creamy one? i would like to buy from you. if still have how do i get it from you? where do you stay? do let me know...can sms me 91768227 thanks

bb full month,
Finally my bb full month is over... very tired but fun... however, quite disappointed with the food from Mum's Kitchen... only 1 or 2 dishes is nice only... the Penang Kway Teow that my hb has been looking forward to... is not nice at all... Regret in ordering from them...

Yanyen, I took 6 a day too, can tell the difference, nowadays keep forgetting to take cos my meals are irregular, SS did drop a bit. :p

Cheryl, Pet Pet S cutting quite small but luckily comes in 46 pieces only so don't think my gal will outgrow it. I don't have Drypers S anymore so can't compare the size. But Pet Pet has same problem as Drypers, poo can leak from the back if a lot so must be careful. If I use Pet Pet and Drypers, once BB cry, quickly carry her to change, don't dare to wait. Anyway, my gal screams the moment she poo poo so even if I use super absorbent diaper also no use, end up throwing away when it's just a bit stained. :p

Desitin creamy
Garfield, any idea how long we need to apply nappy cream for BB? I got 4 tubes but after setting aside 1 at home, 1 for diaper bag and 1 for MIL's place, I'm only left with 1 spare. Don't mind getting a few more tubes to stand by.

Desitin cream
I am having difficulty applying desitin cream on my bb. Find it too thick and hard to spread... seems like alot of mummies like it though! Maybe hubby and I are the weird ones.