(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Wa, thankful, your SS so good, envious. Really ah, must pump after latch on. But everytime, I do that, very pathetic so I didn't bother. :p

Initially I pump 30mins after latch on. I'm using Medela dual electric pump. So even pump on the latch on breast. Supply was only 100ml+. Then begin to increase to 200ml+ and now 300ml+.

Must make sure to keep reminding yourself to pump diigently every 3hrly

I take lots of warm drinks like longan black dates drink (2big thermos flask) + holicks + milos + packet milk. I heard drinking milos and milk will increase your supply. So I did test on myself.

Fenugreek
Actually you can buy these seeds from Indian spice shops for a few dollars. My mum bought from Sheng Siong for $0.50+ per packet. Have expiry also. Heard some mummies in this forum boiled these seeds and make milk or drinks or just drink plainly. Increase their supply. I have not tried yet. Will try after I go back to work. See how is my supply then.

I'm using Medela PIS too. I usually latch on in the day and pump only in the morning when I wake up cos engorged. Taking fenugreek too, but keep forgetting to take it nowadays. Hot drinks seldom nowadays cos CL went back liao. Very lazy to make drinks for myself so mostly drink water. :p

bluewind, ya i bathe with warm water and the packets of herbs.

kitsune, the amt i pump out after latch on is also pathetic. like 10ml? so i also can't be bothered to pump.

xiaoyun/eliaw, i see. so most of the time u feed ebm. i scared if i dun latch on frequent enough, ss will drop. but i guess both of you have aleady establish ur ss.

taka bb sale:
went last night but din see the cotton ball 3 for $5.

very tempted to buy the medela PIS. but ss so low. scared i am wasting $. dunno how long i can breastfeed. moreover, seems too bulky to carry to work. mummies using medela PIS do you find it bulky too?

thankful, can't remember someone said cannot take milk.. wahaha.. but i also drink milk..
btw, i also tested, past few days skip breakfast, ss dropped.. so oats w milk works well too.. yesterday took again, ss picked up slightly.. i already bought quite a lot of lansinoh bags.. i bought 10 boxes!

kitsune, lots of water help also.. cos BM is 85% water..
btw, do u all realise u pee lesser (due to BM)?

yo.. y nobody respond on the massage dates??

Venue @ KKH
Pls note that u have to make sure u r free for 3 consecutive saturdays, as there are no replacement classes availabe.
22/3 - left only 1 place
19/4 - left 3 places
17/5 - left 7 places

ok. looks like we gotta spilt up. max class size is 8 only..

Interested
Eliaw (19/4, 17/5)
Dor
happy
vine
blue
snowbelle
cheryl
jeannie

qoosan - ok.. so far membrane still haven't break b4.. phew..

andrea - i put bottle into cup of warm water to heat up.. bottle warmers too slow already.. by the time heated up, full blast already! also, defrosted ebm can keep in fridge for 48 hrs max..

xiaoyun - ya, the nuk bottles take longer to warm up.. the storage bottles are much quicker!

eliaw,
i ordered two bottles of the goat's rue. if you want urgently, i can pass one bottle to you first, then take over your order from batch2.

Venue @ KKH
Pls note that u have to make sure u r free for 3 consecutive saturdays, as there are no replacement classes availabe.
22/3 - left only 1 place
19/4 - left 3 places
17/5 - left 7 places

Interested
Eliaw (19/4, 17/5)
Dor
happy
vine
blue
snowbelle (19/4, 17/5)
cheryl
jeannie

Venue @ KKH
22/3 - left only 1 place
19/4 - left 3 places
17/5 - left 7 places

Interested
Eliaw (19/4, 17/5)
Dor (19/4)
happy (19/4)
vine (19/4)
blue
snowbelle (19/4, 17/5)
cheryl
jeannie

happy, actually on 2nd tots, it's kinda too long for 17/5.. maybe i'll go for the raffles medical one.. 1 session only.. $30.00 5 April.. Left 4 places..

eliaw,
i m interested in the 1 session massage too.. cos not sure if i can make it for 3 consecutive saturdays for the session at KKH.. btw, where is raffles medical ?

eliaw,
TMC massage class is full for this month.. They hv classes available starting in April..

coming back to the one at raffles medical, dor, vine & myself r interested in the 1 session massage on 5 April..
including u, we juz nice fit the 4 places..
so, shall we try the raffles medical one?

eliaw, the medela mini electric plus suction good? the promoter told me the mini electric plus only good for occasional use. if i am a full-time working mum, i should go for PIS.

bb massage: 4 of us have signed up for raffles 5/4 session.. n class is full already.. for those still interested,
KKH - 3 consecutive saturdays
22/3 - left only 1 place
19/4 - left 3 places
17/5 - left 7 places
Raffles - 3/5 - 10 places

hi bx, it's working well for me.. can express well..

hi andrea, i estimate the temperature.. usually warm to body temp.. sometimes room temperature also..

eliaw, thankful, bx and those who express ur milk. How long do u all normally take and how much do u all express.. Sometimes i can take half hr and i express only abt 80 ml from both side using hand.

Eliaw.. ur pump very powerful har.. so once pump on then the milk will flow?? is it painful??

rashes/pimples

hey gers.. my bb got pimples and a bit rashes on her face.. only started to appear this week.. is it normal?? when will it go away?? Does this happen to ur babies??

Taking care of bbay alone after confinement.

Just to check.. who is taking care of bb alone after confinement..meaning u are alone at home w bb. I wil end my confinement in 2 weeks time.. then i noticed now bb does not sleep as well.. likes to make noise.. getting a bit panicky..Scared i cant cope alone.. who in the same boat as me??

eliaw.. thanks for checking the massage.. think now a bit precoccupied to think of that.Anyway.. u got the raffles hos no to call.Maybe i will o for the may one.. baby abt 2 months then perhaps.. i will be more used to taking care of her.

tubao
i used glass bottles to store in EBM in freezer. it works well.

jeannie
is it milk rash? my bb on and off got milk rash. PD told us to use cool boiled water to clean his face after every feed. now, it becomes lesser and lesser.
i will be alone with my bb after confinement. at night will take care of a toddler and a baby.
you mean after feed your bb doesn't sleep?

i also dunno milk rash or not.. hmm.. milk meaning breast milk or FM??i think i will try to clean her face moe often now.. Thanks.

Wow.. u got another kid.. erm.. so even tougher for u.. so actually after the first child are u moe confident of looking after ur baby??

Sometimes after feed she sleeps.. sometimes.. she can be awake for quite a while then struggle a bit canot cleep.. u carry her.. she sleeps.. u put her down.. she starts to wake up and struggle.. dunno what she wants..

Goat's Rue at USD19.05 per bottle (excluding domestic & international shipping AND local postage + envelope)

Batch 1 - order placed on 4mar
1) annabelle PAID
2) annabelle
3) annabelle
4) garfield9 (postage) PAID
5) garfield
6) bx PAID
7) snowbelle PAID
8) snowbelle
9) dor11 PAID
10) dor11
11) happymum2b PAID
12) vine_gal PAID

Batch2 - order placed on 8mar
1) star70 (postage) PAID
2) star70
3) jaslyn (postage) PAID
4) blurspark (postage) PAID
5) bkkgal (postage) PAID
6) goodbaby (postage) PAID
7) kelly
8) kelly
9) eliaw PAID
10)jeannie PAID
11)jeannie
12)kitsune PAID
13)kitsune

Batch3
1) winnie (postage)
2) winnie
3) sweetpea
4) tongtong
5) tongtong
6) eileengoh (postage) PAID
7)
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)

jeannie
i think either BM or FM bah. i also don't know. i just follow instruction to clean the face diligently. hehe...
in terms of handling bb at 2nd time, ya, it's more like i know what to expect. but, every bb is different. so, i still find it challenging.
think your bb wanna to be carried to zzz. we told cl not to carry the bb too often in case the bb got too used to it. so, my cl will talk and sing song to bb and pat him to sleep if knows that he wants to be carried to sleep though he's full already. and the talking and singing song are done in the cot.

jeannie, i take abt half an hr for both sides each time i pump. If i pump straight after i latch on, only about 10 - 20ml. If i pump when i miss a feed (due to feeding ebm or fm), can get 80 - 100ml.

i feel that my ss not getting better. coz one breast not functioning.

as for the rashes, i think it is because we breastfeed, some milk tend to be left on the face, so must wipe off with cotton ball wet with warm water.

my girl used to sleep after feeding. Now she is sometimes wide awake and will cry after feed. i will carry and pat her to sleep. i know it's a bad habit, but that's the only way to coax her to sleep.

jeannie - i usually express for at least half hour.. i get abt min 300ml every 4-5hrs..

Raffles Medical Tel: 63112350 - Ofc hrs only

my bb also have rash on his face.. now coming 4 week.. it's like small red spots in patches.. is tat milk rash?

genice,
My bb also same... sometimes after feed, don't want to sleep, will make noise or cry... have to carry her, put in her playpen will make noise again... but when I let her sleep on our bed, then no problem... so sometimes no choice, gotta squeeze her in with us...

eliaw,
Really envy your ss!

eliaw
wow... your ss is really good!
the milk rash my boy has is like small white dots on the face. mayb you can clean it after every feed and see if there's any improvement? last time my gal got the milk rash for quite some time. then end up, it became fungus. but after applying the oilment given by PD, it recovered very fast.

wow eliaw, ur ss really power. i just tried to pump. after much squeezing, massaging and pumping, can only get 90ml.

now i worried. coz its almost time for my bb's next feed and my breasts feel empty!!

bx.. i also have same problem... think our ss just not enuff.. so u FM feed at night or u latch on.. if i latch my gers cant get enuff..

rash..

so i think its normal to get rash.. but my CL.. so irritating.. i say wanna clean the face more regularly..then she say dun need lah.. it will go off naturally. I dun care lah.. just clean the face lah hor..

went taka fair today. bought avent bottles. cos the old bottle will pass to babysitter....

my bb also will make noise after feed. sun 1 to slp. wan ppl carry

aiyo.. u all making me very pai say leh.. i also don't know why my ss is good.. guess just lucky la.. so mummies, just keep pumping n latching, eating n resting.. yr ss will also increase!

sunny, based on yr description, i think mine is heat rash, not milk rash..

bx, jeannie,
how do you know your bbs don't get enough?

i don't think my ss is more than both of you...but my bb seems relatively ok with it. maybe she has small appetite? or this blur mummy is missing some signs that she isn't satisfied

jeannie, i latch on at night. each time my bb dun drink alot. but she will wake up every 1-2 hr, so i just let her suckle until she sleeps.

i think i worse than u. coz i deliver 1 week b4 u, by right my ss should be better right?

eliaw,
ur ss is really good le. i can't imagine if i can pump 300 ml each time. my ss now a bit siao siao when bb sleeps a lot at night and i lazy to wake up to pump.
this morning about 180 ml, just now 130 ml. latch on right breast at 5 pm, left breast at 7 pm. now i still don't feel engorgement. afraid that my ss drop liao..