(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

I also had my full month celebration yesterday. I used Neo Garden for catering (used them the last time too)...received positive feedback from my guests. Have a lot of left over too.

I bought my cake from Melrose, but never try their catering before.

hi kelly,
re: goat's rue
I am interested too.
please keep me informed if there is any spree

hi dor,

for goat's rue,is there any side effect??

eliaw, my ss this 2 days gone haywire again..only achieve 60ml so far..sigh...argh..i tried 4 hrs interval still like that...faint..maybe its in my genes..haha....

starry - no la.. it's not in the genes.. my mom last time also no BM.. don't give up.. don't stress about it too.. rest more.. think the goat's rue is in liquid form..

Xiaoyun - can buy washable breast pads.. i think avent has them.. ok.. tell me how yrs taste like.. whahahh..

Garfield, haha, my finger full of germs, cannot lar. Maybe I'll try pacifier one more time when she's older. hee.

Goat's rue, interested but TMC pharmacy too far for me. Kelly, you doing BP? Is the $105 jab from the Tampines st 80+ clinic you told me about? Does it include pd consultation?

The 6-in-1 packages for those who checked, is it until 6 month or 18 month? I'm a bit confused cos my PD charge by per injection so I don't know whether package more worth it or it.

ladies, thanks for the note on the DOM. I took it after latch and empty the breast. and i waited 1 hour before i latch baby on again...

wonder if you all get this feeling, i am losing count on what day is it today... and i get a bit scared to hear baby cry.... cos it means she wants milk milk again...

really wonder if i am providing enough... sigh... sometimes she sucks tillv ery pak chek after i pump, i thot no milk, but a light sqeeze can see milk ozz out... then people around me thot i ill treat her by pumping before latching that is why no milk...

keep waking through the night, every 2 hourly leh, but in day time i just cant rest cos hor, just cant sleep leh, a while bath, a while meal time, a while internet hehe, then the day pass liao....

xiaoyun,
The membrane just rinse with water can liao hor? Only other parts need to sterilise, right?

eeee... your FIL dare to drink BM lah... so disgusting and like so awkward leh...

BM taste,
My hb reluctantly tasted it and commented very sweet... I think only BM that has stored in fridge for a while will have fishy smell...

DOM,
My mom asked me to start drinking DOM at night... a bit worried but my ss super low... should not affect much bah?

bx,
Thanks for checking the price for me. Pampers so ex... Now I dunno what diapers to use liao... currently using Nepia, but always leak... seems like it can't absorb too much urine leh...

can identify with the "no life" feeling. feel like a cow.....i rely on this quote to motivate me on days when i feel very down. would like to share with all mummies

There are few daily jobs that have to be done by me, yet no one else can make milk for my baby. I am doing the most important job in the world - mothering a human being.

there will be bad days but we must be strong. jia you everyone!!!

mummies, just a word of encouragement.
It may feel like eternity when almost all your time is spent pumping/feeding, changing diapers, burping and carrying/rocking bb to sleep. But this period will fly by faster than you know. When your bb starts reaching milestones, you are gonna have soooo much fun anticipating each one- flipping, sitting, crawling, cruising, walking, first words. The joy is indescribable. So hang in there, one day when you look at your baby and realised that your bb is no longer a baby, you'll be glad for all the time you spent holding them.

laughing bbs- omg my baby just LAUGHED lol! He was kinda falling alseep in my arms and then he went 'heh heh heh!' followed by a mega grin! I am glad I didnt miss this one haha.

garfield, I used mamy poko for my DD last time cause the cutting suits her perfectly. But this time round I find that pampers' cutting cuits my boy better so sticking to that (the better it fits, the less chance of leakage, plus the tapes dont 'cut' into his thighs/tummy). But in terms of absorbency and quality, I really find them equally good except that MP is a lil thicker.

Anyone who has a C-section resumed driving already? How long did you wait? I got 2 friends telling me that they started driving in the second week. I cant yet cause there is a bruised muscle next to my incision so quite painful (sometimes I still hobble around, cant walk straight), but I think by next week (3rd week) if I feel fine, I will prob start driving. Hope its ok. :p

snow,
you sent me msg? via mobile? sorry my phone is a bit spoilt, will switch off on its own and i have been missing msgs. what is it ah?

berry,
my hb said exactly the same when we were having a small "fight" re feeding bb. and then i realised that it's true. i only have 3 months to devote all my time and energy to my gal..and once i return to work - even if i wanted to, won't be able to BF her most of the time. in the grand scheme of things, 3 months is a relatively short period of time.

re milestones - yes i agree 100%!! my gal just learnt how to flip over the weekend. she was lying back facing us whilst we were having our dinner and the next minute, i turned and saw her darling face staring at us...she had turned her whole body to face us!!!!

thanks for the feedback on mamypoko. pampers works fine for my gal so far - just curious about MP cos my gal poos a lot and it's usually very messy so wondering about the effectiveness of the poo poo pocket.

garfield, wow thats very early, you mean she flipped from her belly-down to her back?? You must be overjoyed!

Haha wait till you watch her take her first few steps, your heart will explode with joy.

starry
i've tried once for melrose catering (for my girl's full month). imo, it's definitely better than YLS.

goodbabyb
the caterer which i will be sticking with if i ever have function to hold again is called Gim Poh Restaurant. don't think many pple heard of this caterer before. i came to know of it cos my BIL used them. thereafter, practically all relatvies who have function ordered from them. thot this time round wan something different (in case pple get sick of the same food :p), who knows it's big mistake. haha, that's why i said i keh kiang. next time should just guai guai stick to this caterer. they have yam paste too and their bubur chacha is very nice. YLS' yam paste is very pathetic. was telling hubby, the qty given can at most give each guest half a small bowl of serving.

may i know any of you tried the catering from chilli padi before???

cos i always tried neo garden, hoping for a change.

snowbelle,
i wash the part with membrane with bottle cleanser. i didnt' detach membrane from the pump cos it looks so fragile. then i dump everything into the sterilizer.
i will make sure i drink the DOM during the day which i am not going to feed bb with bm. i latching at night only. the ebm i pump out now is solely for FIL consumption and bb bathing. still do not have the courage to drink it yet. :p

IAng,
regarding shifu for chinese name. personally, i went to YouLongZi at Guilimard. it's a unpleasant experience for me. as I am chinese educated, and I tend to ask a lot of question on the meaning of the name, meaning of lacking of what elements in the 'ba zi'. the shifu is just so annoyed and doesn't want to answer my question. just tell me that giving name no need to be meaningful. just the 'strokes' is correct will do. what the heck $@#$%@#!
And it's not cheap lo. before go in got to spend $100. after that still got to give ang pow. they are really commercialize. i will not go there if there's next time.

winnie,
my friend ordered chili padi for her house warming last time. I would say the food is nice. Not sure about the portion cos don't know how many ppl she invited.

garfield,
ur girl can turn already? so fast? I thought should only be able to turn in 3-4 month? my girl can only shift herself from 12 o'clock direction to 9 o'clock direction; and from face facing left to facing right.

Xiao yun, thanks for the note on chili padi. i am quite tempted to order from them....

But your comment on YouLongZi seems negative hor... how can he not answer the questions. I read in magazine that though we give names on strokes, it is impt for each character to have its meaning too.

Iang.. i would recommend Jing Zi Long at aljunied mrt. I went there last sat to collect my bb's name. they are very nice and patient in explaining.. like their service.. cost $88.. the no. is 67417377

xiaoyun,
thot YouLongZi quite popular yet u had an unpleasant experience with them.
i oso seek the service of a shifu for my gal chinese name.. the same shifu we use for my son.. yes, he will explain wat is lacking in the bb bazi and will calculate the strokes before deciding on the chinese name.. we juz need to call him to give him our gal date & time of birth and our (parents) names.. he will deliver the names to our hse and explain to us in person..

stephie,
yes, please share wif us Gim Poh's telephone no.. still dunno which caterer to use..
same as winnie, i hv been using neo garden.. hope to hv a change..

garfield,
wow, ur gal can flip over liao.. tats v fast..

Hey gers.. ur wound recovering?? I still feel a lump when i sit on chairs.. and now still abit painful.. My lochia also haven end like a bit abit coming

so envy those mummies can pump out 100-120ml. I only can pump out 30-60ml after BF my baby. Only sometimes can pump out 100ml. So far only store EBM in fridge for 2 days.
Now my baby is 3 weeks, I have tried to mix BF and EBM. I am planning to start total EBM when she is 2 months old. Anyone know this will reduce my SS?

mummies, i just can't seem to burp my bb successfully. i think only 2 out of 10 times i managed to burp her. and this is disturbing me... anyone has the same problem?

jeannie, think my wound is ok liao. when i wash that area, can feel that the stitches are not there already. my lochia still haven't end. got brown stains.

jeannie/happy,
seems like the shifu you all got is quite good.
i would say YouLongzi is famous but very much like a merchant. They don't need the bazi of parents - which i don't feel quite comfortable with. just that i need it fast because i've been dragging very long to decide her name. most of the other shifu i found are all need 1 weeks time to find a name for bb, except YouLongZi only 1 day. then i choose YouLongZi. now I understand why YouLongZi one take such short time because the name he gave is from computer one and do not require parent's information.

cheryl, initially i let bb slp on tummy a lot. and he can sleep very soundly and 3 hours if zz on tummy. but hubby read that there's high risk of SIDS(sudden infant death), so i dare not let him slp on tummy liao. now let him zz on side. now sleep on back or side hor, he cant sleep too long, will easily get up.

my gal also very alert now..sleep a bit will wake up..doesn't sleep soundly..is this part of their growing up or is she just cranky..cos when she wakes up..she will cry for u to carry, then fall asleep in ur arms again..zzzz

starry

my son also like tat ah... making the daddy n mummy losing slp... zzz... sometime carry also cry like ppl torturing him

anybody have problem burping your baby ? my baby very difficult to burp, sometimes i spend 10 minutes using different position to burp him until he gets cranky, few times we manage to burp him within a minute or so sigh...and seems like now he's getting bloated since we can't burp him often and he's been throwing up his milk
so sad...starting to think i'm a bad mother coz of this problem...

bx.. so god.. ur wound is ok.. mine was initially fine for few days after i discharge... but now whenever i sit down still uncomfortable.. there seems to be a lump there. when i use mirror to see. i can still see the knot of the stitch leh..does the doc removes the knot?

re flipping
err...maybe use wrong word to describe. she was lying on her right side, facing 3 o'clock and then turned her body to the left side with head at 9 o'clock. is this flipping?

berry,
how's yr first day on yr own?

bb zz hrs
i experience the same...bb awake AND crying from 9am to 6pm over weekend. hubby and i were so busy carrying her.

burping bb,
nurse at KKH said if cannot burp bb, then let bb lie on either side. helps to prevent vomitting.

i tink babies smart..know that we can't bear them to cry..so got to carry them..i wonder when will "dun always carry them,wait becomes a habit" comes into effect..

tute, i oso feel like a lousy mother because i fail to burp my bb. i oso feel that maybe my bb is not full from drinking my milk. that's y no burp.

garfield, i oso heard b4 about the lying on one side. but my mil juz commented that the sides of my bb's head is flat because bb always sleeps on her side.

jeannie, i deliver earlier than u that's y heal faster mah. the doc say the stitches will dissolve on their own. so i can't feel any knot already. btw, how's ur milk ss now? i juz bought the fenugreek pills from gnc ytd. haven't seen much effect yet.

garfield,
thanks for the tip, just tried it but bb refuse to sleep on his side...he quickly turned to his back side...must i force him to turn sideways ?

bx,
just saw ur post...we are in the same boat...mine now worse coz he threw up 5 times since yest afternoon...today manage to burp him twice so hoping that i'll get the hang of this burping thing...i try to be patient about it but sometimes during night feeding i'm sooo sleepy that i just let him sleep after few minutes of unsuccessful burping...some more he will be quite alert after burping session that i have to rock him to sleep...so tired

re: sleeping hours,
my baby also quite awake during the day, hardly goes for long naps..he will wake up after 1 hour. then my mother/mil keep saying must keep bb awake during the day so that can sleep at night but then i read in books average sleeping hours for newborn should be 16-20 hours ? scared my bb is deprive from his sleep and not getting enough.

re: mp and pampers,
i'm currently using both and no complain i.e. no leakage. But i find that pampers cutting fits my baby better coz mp a bit too big. can see the tummy area a bit loose for him... but i've bought one pack oredi and since it's cheaper i use it at home...

hi emoments,
i was staying in room 526B, 2 bedded room..ya..about 3pm she just walk out from the delivery room. Hope u didn't hear me shouting at 2pm+...haha...

Any good catering to recommend? i saw 1 of u recommend neo garden, anymore?

bx,
no la...just make sure that you alternate the sides. dun always put on one side. or buy those infant pillows with a small round depression to shape the head.

tute,
try using some pillows to support bb's back so he cannot turn back.

carrying bb to sleep,
mum suggested to buy yao2 lan2...anyone using?

yao2 lan2 - no good for the back right? but really wat the heck, watever makes bb sleep rite? nowadays, pp also said walker is no good for bb's CG.. but we used it all the time when we were young!

Diapers - MP & Pampers both ok.. Nepia leaks easily..

burping - i gave up burping mine.. it's like mission impossible.. but at least he farts rather often.. wat i do usually, i don't put him down immediately after feeding.. i let him lie in a incline position to let the milk settle in.. not sure if it helps..

gar - i just called my PD.. confirm that 5-in-1 costs $82.00 + $30 consultation fee. each visit must pay consultation. 6-in-1 costs $112.00