(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Happy V dae everybody... Not celebrating.. neber buy gift for my hubby.. dun think he bought for me also.. sad sad vdae.. hehe

June/ dor.. wow.. polyclinic so cheap.. so that means my 1st pd checkup i just bring my baby to polyclinic and register can already..Then the pd the hos allocate for me how har??

Kelly.. stephie's one is no. 2.. think thats why so fast..power!!

cheryl.. i think the whitish pimple is normal.. i thot a lot babies have that and it will go away one.

Happymum.. so early.. 630 am?? Skali he also plan mine on same day.. gonna c him tmr again.. think he will ask me go induce.. but actually i really dun want lah.. want to wait cause my edd still some time away.

Losing sleep
Have u all been sleeping well?? sigh.. cant really sleep at night.. dunno wake up how many times to go toilet.. sian man.. somemore i stay those old hdb.. toilet only in kitchen..I think i go toilet every hr or evn less than that.Always have the feeling baby is pressing down below.

Engaged
Actually can we see the diff in our tummy when baby is engaged??? does it mean the trioangle potion above our v area will be more popped up??? since baby's head is at pelvic area??I think my baby still haven engaged leh.. still licking vigorously high up..

bluegin.. wow.. 24 hrs.. thats what i am worried man Aske doc... when will induce labour become emergency C sect then he said only 2 scenarios.

1) mummy's pelvis too small to let baby come out.. this one no choice.. cannot control.. or

2) after being induced for long hrs.. baby show signs of distress.. then have to go for emergency c sect.. else we can still wait...

sidetrack a bit.. anybody ordered face masks from pinkberrie?? Jia lat.. i dun even remember what's the status.. and where the thread was..

jeannie, i have same problem as you. every night wake up at least 4 times to pee. lucky now on ML, so can take nap in the afternoon.

my mother say now i on ML, bb will take longer to come out coz not walking enough. so tonight I jio my hubby to go shopping. keke...

kelly
ya, this is my #2. i think dat's why pop so fast. my gynae had been warning me that #2 usually will pop v fast that's why he wanted to admit me but i kept delaying :p. he said #3 must really be admitted if cervix alr dilated. but i told him i close shop liao. keke.

jeannie
sometimes pple say your tummy became lower, that means engaged liao. but i can't tell for my case leh. to me, my tummy position looked the same.

just checking... if i dun wanna induce labour is it ok?? I very scared tmr go see doc he will ask me to induce leh.. but i really want to opt for natural..its the experience..If i reject him how har.. scared he say scary stuffs like water level not enuff.. blah blah..but my abby still moving vigorously leh.. and my edd still some time away. Nomally do docs encourage being overdue??

i think my tummy looks lower now leh.. although nobody says so.. hehe

BX.. u still can shop?? I cannot make it already.. every step i move is so tiring..

Kelly.. its normal to be forgetful.. now i also very jia lat.. short term memory.

congrats blueginger !! 24 hrs of labour is really tiring, hope you'll recover well..

sc,
i think even emoments and me have due dates near to you and bx...no wonder dr. wong so busy...

jeannie,
i got order facial mask from pinkieberry too, she has started a new thread, here's the link :
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1243701.html?1202952108
dunno if i'll be getting mine before i pop :p

btw, i dun think ur gynae will offer to induce before due date if everything is normal right? unless got problem e.g. amniotic fluid running low but i think you should double check with ur gynae...

happymum,
thanks for updating the list ! hope your mum is doing better and you can go for ur c-sec on monday

bx,
i also went window shopping yesterday, managed to walk around for 2 hours before my back and legs gave up...

latest updates!!

baby_yun has popped!!!
today @ 1542h at 2.3kg!!! natural!

stephie,
sad to say abt the "2nd one usually will pop faster" see mine!

tute.. thanks man!!! i have been looking for this... just emailed her.. haven receive my last batch...

Bx..wow.. u very agile leh.. i totally slack.. my baby abt 3.2 kg.. and i fel so fat now..

jeannie,
wat's the reason u/adrian want to induce ?
even if induce, it does not mean u cant hv natural birth.. like wat adrian told u, induced labour become emerg c-sec when one of the 2 scenarios take place..

for induce, it's not so fast.. adrian will insert a pill into your V and u hv to wait for the effect to take place.. can take abt 6 hrs..

for my son, i was induced becos i still do not hv any signs of delivery even after my EDD.. as per his advise i went to hosp 2 days after my edd for induced labour..
he inserted the pill into mi at 9am, i started to feel contractions at 1.00pm, my waterbag burst at 3pm, i thot i m ready to give birth (naturally).. he came & checked and told mi that my cervix only dilated 2 cm so far and oso there r signs that my son passed motion.. thus i decided to go for c-sec..

for this round, i planned for c-sec delivery. so he allocated the timing of 8.00am for mi & asked mi to be at hosp around 6.30am for admission & preparation..

jac,
will upate ur record..

apple,
dun be nervous.. wish u hv a fast & smooth delivery..

krisci,
thks for more details.. will update accordingly..

tute,
thks.. my mum is much better nw..

baby_yun,
Congrats to you !!

My boy (#1) was born on 12 Feb (EDD 22 Feb) by Dr Su Lin Lin @ NUH. Natural birth with aid of gas. Wt 3.1kg.

my boy drinks about 60-90 ml - now week 2 too. Think should be ok.

Anybody know if the type of breast pump use has any impact on milk supply?

For some reason, my milk supply drop these 2 days...not sure becos i had been popping pain killers to ease the pain from engorgement....

Can i know what fm you give to yr bb? went to quite a few supermarket to check out the price today. I am currently choosing between Nan 1 ha, Friso and Enfalac. Any comment on the above?

congrats blueginger!wah, went thru so long hours of normal labour.. anyway congrats!

sunny, you mean bath once a week only after 12 days?oh, becuase my bb still got yellow, so will give him fm for 2 days, when he is fully recovered only resume bf.. dunno whether it's correct to do this way?

dor- grace massage ok ba, i think not "hard" enough?

congrats bbyun!

cheryl- how much your boy is drinking now? is he at 4th week now? so you give him 100% FM?

cheryl, my son drink like a lot wor, 120ml, but he is born after your son. dunno I got overfed or not?? cuz he keeps demanding after i feed 100ml. he is >4kg now.

Kitsune, tongtong & dorothy..

I bathed my son today... wow really challenging! Well, i have to start all these be4 my confinement end, coz after the CL has left there is only me & bb at home. Thats why i hv to start it now.. really a hard time for me. Praying hard to god, hope that i can handle bb well by myself.

So far, i have change the diapers for him, bathed him, feed him, sing to him to make him sleep..(silly mummy)
Hope u gals will hv fun with your little one!

Lack of sleep & rest, but all these are expected & its worth it... ;) cheers

hihi, no time to check forum today cos I went to A&E yesterday due to hives. Dr gave me a jab, slept the whole day. BB was on FM cos the med not suitable for BF.

June, that's good. Hope the powder works. Ya lor, so difficult to push her out but my gynae never offer forcep or vaccuum. Keep saying I can do it. :p

tongtong, cos I was asking Grace who else is she doing massage for. She mentioned Tongtong but don't know from which MTB thread. I'm postponing my last 2 sessions with Grace because of my hive problem. This afternoon, stop taking med liao so that can BF but still itchy. :p

Casa, I extended CL to 40days so I'll wait until after full month then learn to take care of BB myself. Think it'll be tough. :p

ladies, i'm up to express milk again. suffered from inflammation yesterday, temperature went as high as 39.8 degrees. the horrible part was when i was feelin so cold i was shivering with 5 blankets piled on top of me. after taking lotsa panadol i'm feeling much better now, but guess have to be more hardworking in pumping milk from now on.

kelly/sunny/cheryl/tongtong, luckily i thot only i feel warm. so now i bathe n wash hair on alternate days. my MIL encourage me to blow fan n since i also don feel any side effects, don care la.

goodbbb, the 5-in-1 consists of the dtp, polio, and hib, so u take one instead of three shots. the 6-in-1 includes hep b, so u take 1 instead of 4 shots. however, looking at the price diff btwn 5-in-1 and 6-in-1, i think i'll juz go for hep b + 5-in-1. actually hb say no need for these combination shots cos bb won't remember the pain. but i sim tia la... can't imagine seeing my bb take so many shots at one go.

tongtong, i'm on full bm. believe it's best for bb n plan to go on as long as possible.

andrea, they check with their fingers. one finger is about 1cm then they see how many fingers they can put.

re: feeding quantity
i go according to the fm guidelines and feed my bb 50ml express ebm every 2-3 hours. compared to all of you, mine seems little leh.

re: bb's growth
my bb put on 200g after one week. how about your bbs? is that normal or too little?

jeannie, i think not worth it to go to the pd cos mine is $50 for first consultation and haven't even included the jaundice check. and i think since nothing really serious/impt, the polyclinic visit seems good enough.
actually induction is also like natural... same contractions etc, so not as bad la. and i think it's dangerous if u r overdue/water level low.

julie, maybe it's because after u take the painkillers, u feel less pain and hence express/feed less... and thus reduced the supply. cos my supply also reduced after i reduced the number of hours in between expressing/feeding.

cannot really sleep the whole night. Baby was super active last night, kicking and kicking. Made me worried.

June:- wow 38.9 degrees! Hope u are feeling better and take care! Breastfeeding seems really hardwork.

Stomach feel bloated these 2 days. Think constipated..... How do they clear your bowels before delivery?

Feeding quantity,
Thanks ladies for the info.

June,
Take care leh...

Apple,
Jia you yo! Why do you choose to induce at night?

I think I'll kenna induce next week too... maybe on 19th... then my hb said why not induce on 20th, so whole family's birthday is on 20th... faint lah...

kitsune: oh i see! yea no wonder grace got slot for my mum cuz you postponing. hope your hives ok liao! i think it's quite common to have hives cuz my friend got too. hers is due to alcohol intake.

june, rest well!! yea i want to go on full bm too but bb got slight jaundice, so now i mixed half half. hopefully his jaundice go off and i can back to full bf.

Yeah...me working really hard to try to get my supply back....otherwise really very discouraging...

Was hoping to at least feed him EBM during the day and supplement with Similac in the night...

I used similac for my 1st boy but dun remember having so much bubbles...any mummy using similac? anything else closer to taste of BM?

hi babyxan, tute and LindaChan,
Everyday i hope i'll pop...waited for too long and tummy too heavy..as per last check up on 38wks+, my baby already estimated 3.5kg..Dr Wong said..if going to full term might hit 4kg

That's y i really impatient now as tummy too heavy and difficult to walk or even move myself on bed...Dr ask me to walk more, do squatting and take staircase....hope everyday it happen today.

hi sc,

don't worry,that time,my friend dr wong also estimated to be 4 kg but when when delivered is 3.4kg,so my friend told me the machine estimate is + and -,not really accurate...
dr wong asked u to induce?

hello ladies!!! long time no see =P after disappearing for close to a week...am finally back in action.

thanks to all for your well wishes! and congrats to all who have popped after me!

was in hopsital since last Sat and only discharged yesterday. instead of the 3D2N package, had extended one day cos wanted a bit more rest (my CL fly kite!?!!??! cannot locate her)

then, bb developed jaundice with reading of 270 on my 4th day in hospital so had to undergo phototherapy for 2 days. so in the end, stayed for 6D5N in KKH =P

trying to catch up on all the posts now and upload my bb photo.

UPDATE FROM BKK GAL

Baby kate was born this mng at 0847hrs after 15hrs of labour. Natural with epi weighing 3188g.

<font color="ff0000">Congrats Bkk Gal!!!</font>

going to see Dr adrian on monday, dont know if he will check if cervix got open? I really cant wait for my bb to pop liao.

hi goodbbb,
my elder son estimated 3.3, end up 3.78kg...tis 1 can feel is bigger as my tummy is much bigger as compare with 1st 1...hope 1 or 2 push he'll come out.She suggest to induce if too big...my family all big babies..., my 2 nephews were 3.9 and 4.1kg respectively...