(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi patsy,

very nice of you to stop by...hope you are also doing good now

hi goodbabyb,
i think bb clothing can buy also cos got 20% mah...
pigeon stuff also

snowbelle
cheese dip- snowbelle, enough... i actually ordered n kept it in fridge... when wan to eat, take a small portion n microwave it...

patsy,
+wave+

cake bp
heehee, me thought of bringing it to office on xmas eve as bf!!

jeannie, happymum2be,
thanks for ur advice regarding cloth nappies.

patsy,
hi!

linda,
the car seat is the convertible kind? thats good leh, can last longer. i am thinking of getting the peg perego infant car seat to fit into the stroller.

i remember when i was young, babies used to sleep flat on their tummies. After that heard that it's actually safer to lay them on their backs to sleep instead. Is that true?

hi tute,
join me lah for the cake.. if u want the chocolate cake, gotta be quick..
left 3 more qty b4 she stopped taking order for chocolate cake (limit to 30 pcs for each flavour).. hee..
which part of compassvale u stay ? i m at compassvale cres..

Hi Patsy,
So nice to hear from you!!

Hi June,
What's bumwear? You mean wear it over bb nappies? Or is it used with nappy liners...*BLUR* =P

SALES ALERT
Robinsons Storewide 20% starting yest till this weekend

garfield/linda/cheryl
string type easier ah? that time, i got few pc string type, i tied it very 'pek chek'. 'cos after the bb wriggles, the knot will get loose, then have to re-tie... my CL also told me she prefers button type, easier to dress.
another friend also share with me that those tops that she bought which is string type easily broke after few wash.
that's y i don't plan to buy string type this round loh.

hi patsy

fairfield
ya, it's safer for bb to sleep on the back. but, sleep on tummy makes them feel more secured and can sleep longer.
last time, i used to let my gal slept on tummy during daytime when i could watch over her. then at night let her sleep on the back.

Daring lady
Today met a lady in MRT standing next to me. Seeing me she's daring enough to ask me whether I need a seat. I told her it's ok. She even asked the lady sitting in front of me whether she wanna let me have her seat. The lady no choice but to let me have her seat. Feeling a bit embrassed but glad to have the seat cos I'm still feeling the pain on my chest tummy below the breast area. Dunno whether can "tong" till next week for gynae checkup.

Gift for exchange
Everybody gotten to gift for exchange already?

Hi Patsy! *Wave wave*

Thankful, its nice to meet such people.

Any budget for the gift exchange?? Nearly forgotten about it. Need to include this in the shopping list.

happymum2b,

wanted to order but 1kg really too big for me, only have hb & me at home and my hb not a big cake eater, i'll have to finish the whole cake by myselft ! i stay on the other side of compassvale... at compassvale drive, nearer to rivervale area :p

re:sale,

i've got my schedule line up for today...lunch time will go taka and check out if any avent promo, then after office will check out OG and Robinsons...i hope my feet doesn't give up on me before i finish all my survey :p btw, i think taka also got extended shopping hours...not sure till wat time though.

re: gift exchange
i haven't got anything yet !!
another one on my shopping list...lucky tomorrow i got no ante-natal class so can go for more shopping. i still need to get...

re:baby's sleeping position
is it true if u put bb sleep on their tummy then their head shape is better than if u put them lie flat on their back? heheh...this is an old myth i used to know...

happymum2b,
heehee.. in case forget ma...

apple
budget is $20!

leapfrog
happymum2b, did u get this for yr boy?
if i wan to get one for my ah boy.. which one to start? cos i din get this for my gal.

tute,
re: cake
i see.. my hb oso not a big cake eater.. hee.. i m ordering for a xmas gathering at my place..

re:baby's sleeping position
i hv heard of letting bb sleep on their tummy but i dare not try. for my son, his sleeping pattern after birth is that he usually sleep on his side (just like me) and he will turn towards the other side when it gets warm.. occasionally he will sleep on his back but most of the time will be on the side..

dor,
hahaa... I think may not be enough for me lah.... I like to coat the entire nachos chip with cheese one...

Patsy,
*wave-wave*

Gift exchange,
What type of bb gift should we buy huh?

June,
I intend to get bumwear for my girl too! Think they are more cost efficient and lesser chances of getting nappy rash! You bought yours from yahoo auction?

Garfield,
I posted the link on bumwear earlier here too, here you go:
http://bumwear.com/

I should be getting the package deal from bumwear, cost around 200+

Patsy
*wave*

Do you gals keep feeling hungry during your 3rd trimester? I can't seem to satisfy my hungry but my doc said to control my intake to prevent baby from growing too big and kena stretch marks.

Constantly hungry leh...

wow snowbelle, big cheese eater. I was thinking the cheese dip is too much for the nachos liao.
Nachos taste great on its own too for me that is.

dor,
re: leapfrog
yes, i recently bought a LeapPad learning system for my son.. i think this is more suitable for babies above 6 mths..

But my mum did bought a Leapfrog product for my son when he was much younger, a "Leapfrog baby counting pal". I think this will suit ur ah boy more. U can let him play at home or strap this on his stroller when gg out..
U can check out my son's blog http://myprince-ervin.blogspot.com/ for pic of this product, under the Label "Gifts from po po", then search for post dated 31 march..

If u still want to take a look at the learning system, go to the Label "Gifts from Mama/Papa", post dated 20 Nov..

hungry
Moi-Dar, me too!!

happymum2b,
thanks!! thinking of what to get for him as xmas gift... thinking of getting bump mat... but scare hb "nag"

apple79,
luckily my hb stopped me from getting the cheese dip leh... else dunno how many kgs I will put on this month. But I already bought salsa sauce and a green colour sauce (can't remember the name, usually eat that in Mexican restaurant)... going to bake the nachos chips with lots of chedder cheese before dipping in these sauces... yum-yum...
1 packet of nachos is really a lot leh... that day my hb helped me carried hor, many ppl looked at him... maybe thinking he's a monster... hahaaa

OG sales,
Saw on Today paper, OG is having 20% discount + 5% for standard charter credit card member, think until this weekend only.

thanks andrea for the link on bumwear.

so with bumwear i don't need nappies right? but will need the nappy liner? and how many bumwears will i need?

sorry, so many questions =) mum has been nagging me not to go 100% disposable diapers so starting to explore options now =P

salsa sauce is a better choice! I love salsa sauce. Where do u get your sauces from?

hee ya dorothy, your son is so "xin fu"

apple/happymum2b,
heehee.. ya.. veri ks... not lah... got to be fair ma...my friends told me that they got xmas presents for my ah boy already.+faint+

Garfield,
I intend to buy 6 (2 pieces of petite size and 4 pieces of one-sized) and 15 inserts..total cost $229 after 10% discount. if not enough then next time then buy again =P

If you are using bumwear, then no need to use so much disposable diapers. Probably use them when going shopping? Thats what I think..

Finally I can start shopping for bb stuff liao... after controlling for so many months...

Actually that day I scolded my hb... very angry with him... I was telling him about bb full month celebration thingy and genna scolded by him saying I too gan cheong... he said I can research or shop around after bb is born! I was so pissed off... I told him I'll be jailed at home for 1 month, where got time and energy to go check things out...

He pantang until only allow me to get bb stuff in Dec... and it's our first bb, and I didn't get to enjoy shopping around, researching for bb stuff during 1st or 2nd trimesters when I still got energy. Now walk a bit, got terrible backache liao... how to fully enjoy the joy of becoming a mother...

Before I pregnant, I cannot buy bb stuff... can only see... after pregnant for whole 6 months, cannot buy too... that time Taka bb fair wanted to get the pigeon steriliser set, also cannot... kidzloft 50% discount also cannot go... wanted to get bb stuff during sales also cannot... no matter what must wait until Dec... really cannot tahan him... damn pissed off... now think of this, still want to bite him...

*sigh* sorry ladies... having to "listen" to all these... but when I think of dunno what to get and where to get those bb stuffs, it reminds me of these... can't help, still feel very pissed off... gotta pour it out...

Now, I need your help and advise for the following, since most of you already gotten most of the items liao... I'm planning to go OG maybe tomorrow to get some of these since got sales... Thanks in advance!

1. Baby safe mattress, pillow and bolster
- Is it necessary to get Baby safe one or any brand is fine? If get Baby safe one, any model to recommend?

2. Baby pillow and bolster
- I saw the baby safe pillow, not sure to buy or not coz seems a bit too high for bb leh...

3. Milk bottle
- What is the diff between wide-neck and normal neck one when feeding?

4. Bottle drying rack
- Do we need this? Actually, I'm a bit confused with the washing procedure... after washing the milk bottles, we sterilise them. Then we assemble them using tongs and put aside for later use (there may still have water vapour left in the bottles). We can't leave it to dry on the drying rack right? Or else we will need to sterilise them again?

5. Any brand to recommend and where can I get it cheap?
- Milk bottle liquid wash
- Laundry detergent
- Baby non-rinse body wash
- Baby shampoo (Do we need this? Can we just use the body wash?)
- Baby moisturiser
- Barrier cream (this is to apply before wearing diaper right?)
- Disposable breast pads (How many should I get?)
- Washable Breast pads (How many should I get?)

6. Hooded towel
- Do we need to get hooded towels or normal towels will do?
- Where to get it?

7. Bath thermometer
- Where can I get this? I've checked BHG and Kiddy Palace... can't find...

8. Sterilised container for cord spirit
- Do we need this? Where to get it?

9. Baby pacifier
- Does bb need this for the first 3 months?

10. What is Ruyi oil & Woods Gripewater for?

11. Nail clipper & nose cleanser
- Can use our normal nail clipper?
- Is it necessary to use nose cleanser or there is other way to clean the nose?

12. Receiving blanket
- What is this use for? Necessary to get it?

Thanks a lot ladies!

Dor,
Arnold's Fried Chicken - Is this the yummy fried chicken you mentioned last time?

apple79,
I got the salsa sauce from Cold Storage. But dunno whether that brand nice or not... Actually, very tempted to go Carl's Junior to secretly tabao their salsa sauce... :p Love their salsa sauce man!

ADe,
Me, me... in SengKang too...

morning all,. i just woke up...

i still duno wanna buy the cake anot... 1kg leh... scare put on too much....

now already thinking of buying 1 more nachos n cheese dip. hb say i siao... haha...

christmas gift exchange
havent buy leh piang

cheryl,
the nachos lady just called me!!! she wants to deliver to me tonight and ask any additional orders?

quick quick need to decide fast fast =P

hi snowbelle,

yes, i can understand cos my hb oso v pantang but he allowed me to start buying bb stuff when i m in 2nd trimester..

4. Bottle drying rack - for mi, i sterlised the bottles by boiling them on stove (twice daily) & put them in the pot covered until i need to use them.

6. Hooded towel - do u mean receiving blanket? yes, u can get 1 or 2 pcs.. Hooded is better, can cover bb's head when u bring him out during first few months.. Or if u use normal towel, u can let bb wear hat/cap oso can..

8. Sterilised container for cord spirit - when i delivered in TMC, they give me a bottle of cord spirit but i din use any special container for it.

9. Baby pacifier - u can hv 1 pc as standy

10. Ruyi oil & Woods Gripewater - Ruyi oil is to apply on bb tummy to remove any wind. Woods gripewater is to let bb consumed AFTER 1st mth, similarly is oso to remove any wind.

11. Nail clipper & nose cleanser - no, cant use normal adult nail clipper cos it's too big for bb.. better get bb nail clipper.. nose cleanser ??

i oso stay in sengkang..

so happening here...

re: Nacho
Garfield, I wanted to get 1 pack nacho and 1 tub cheese sauce leh. But don't know if dorothy can help to get them from you?
Dor, can help?

Patsy,
Hi hi hi....

Cherly, I also feel like ordering one more nachos , also scared hubby nag. Cos the one i ordered is for my fren gathering on sunday. The nachos been lying in the room and I am really temoted to open and esat some first haha. Anyone eaten already? Is it readlly nice?? *Fingers itching*

Snowbelle, i went for a seminar and this Mrs Wong boh boh desmonstrate the bathing of the baby. She does not use shampoo leh. Sje only put one or 2 drops of the bath lothion into the water and use that to wash the baby head.

sharon

i have the same gynae with u... wat i feel is u dun need to change gynae just becos of the asst.... just tell the Dr adrian abt her....