(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi snowbelle,
u veri cute.. but i like the way u described yr feeling...

hb
sometimes, i also veri angry with him until feel like biting him.

pantang
my hb pantang only until 6mths only.

ok, my opinion/answer to yr questions:
1)Baby safe mattress, pillow and bolster

no need lah. see yr budget also.something that is firm to support can already. but for newborn, they dun need pillow. u can use cloth nappy to fold into a pillow for her to sleep.

2)Milk bottle
depend on yr preference. i like avent one cos mummy(me) veri cock eye one... so must have those wide neck for me to pour my fm. go for nuk or avent.

3)Bottle drying rack(go to BHG n get. now got promo 20% til today. i got one from taka abt $13plus b4 discount)
u can also use yr normal dish rack to dry.

5. Any brand to recommend and where can I get it cheap?
Milk bottle liquid wash -pigeon
- Laundry detergent -pigeon/pureen
- Baby non-rinse body wash -Johnson/kodomo
- Baby shampoo (Do we need this? Can we just use the body wash?) - can use body wash
- Baby moisturiser -haven get. johnson can already. but me thinking of getting avent. $30plus(super ex)
- Barrier cream (this is to apply before wearing diaper right?) -ya. go for desitin(buy online)
- Disposable breast pads (How many should I get?) -maybe one box first
- Washable Breast pads (How many should I get?) -i din get as i using disposable breast pads

6. Hooded towel
normal towel can already

7. Bath thermometer
no need lah. but i think kiddy palace have. use yr ellow can already

8. Sterilised container for cord spirit
hospital will give

9. Baby pacifier
maybe u wan to get one for standby. i got 2 cos avent sell in a pair

12. Receiving blanket
this one is when u bring bb home to wrap her up one... no need lah.

Arnold's Fried Chicken
snow, yes!!!

Nacho
xiaoyun can!!! u got garfield's no to sms her?
june, u need? i will collect from her(garfield) next sat(15/12) can wait?

snowbelle,
now a lot of places having sales. bhg til today. OG/robinson also have. taka also.
can cheong already... but i think boxing day, will have more sales...

Anyone can help?

My due date in February 08. I stay at Jurong West St 61. Looking for Infant Care Centre or nanny near my area. Please help.

NACHOS ALERT!!!

Xiao Yun, June,
you have to confirm your orders quickly cos the lady wants to deliver to my house tonight....=P

hi ladies!

it's been a mad week at work...

Baby Clothes at Tarlington
hee.. i very kan keong spider so just grab since i was more concerned about buying front button clothes...didn't notice the size. i'll go check it out and take pictures tonight and post them.

I know another piece which i didn't buy in the end had sizing (NB)...but the sales lady said no point cos it's really too small...? so i guess best to rely on our eyes to gauge and buy an assortment of sizes?

went dr check up today, baby is 1.37kg at 29weeks 5 days

since two weeks ago, my bloated feeling came back and nowadays i feel like my food is permanently 'stuck' at my chest and can't go down...

wah everywhere also sale! think tonight i will be a warrior along orchard road...hahaha

just went to OG albert complex. stocked up on birds' nest and chicken essence. wanted to buy more but can feel tummy cramps as i walked back to the office with 3 boxes. tonight will bug hubby to help me load up haha...!!

couldn't find the shop that linda referred to at si ma lu =(

dor,
you think boxing day will have better sales?? then i dun need to rush like mad woman this weekend =P

Hi Snowbelle,

You're sooo cute!! Don't worry - we're here to let you fa1 xie4 =) Can imagine how you feel. I would also be very exasperated with hubby =P

Past few weeks my hubby has been on reservice, so I'm just shopping and ticking off my to-buy list on my own lor. Also quite fun....I make the decision on my own haha!! Will wait for him for bigger ticket items like furniture...but for the small things like bottles lah, clothings lah, i find deciding on my own easier cos ask him also get an "anything" reply =P

don't worry about missing out on the sales - plenty this time of the year!!

garfield,
dun buy too many chicken essence cos u may end up receiving them as gifts.. tat's wat happened to me.. i received alot of chicken essence & DOM which i can't finished and still hv them at home.. if really not enuf then get hb to buy later lor..

garfield,
postxmas sales
usually quite good also... dun rush lah... but i think yr shopping should completed already right?

dor,

Thanks!! I can wait.

garfield,

confirm order for me!!!
can pm me your account number so that I can transfer the money to you. $22 right?
Thank you!!

Garfield, the shop linda is talking about is just next to the hawker centre.I think.Walk down the staircase from the hawker centre (where the malay and indian stalls are). The shop is behind another row of shops that is facing the shop selling buddhist stuffs i think.

garfield,
cannot find the shop? its along the lane opp guan yin temple. along those shop that selled dried food. its a corber shop. you cant see from outside cos block by a wall. mus walk along the stretch of the shop house.

snowbelle:
re: bottle rack
i attended the prenatal class, the instuctor says dun buy bottle rack. it defeats the purpose of sterilising as u let the bottles expose to germs in the air.

apple is right, mrs wong dun use shampoo, use few drops of bath lotion. i bought the lactacyd ph 3.5, we also can use to wash our own face and body.

happymum,
now i drinking to bu3 baby leh =P after delivery then it's bu3 me. not so impt haha!!

dor,
ya i think 80% completed left mostly big ticket items now. but i think i'm addicted to shopping so finding excuses to buy things!! then got last minute curve ball like this cloth diaper thingy...=)

xiaoyun,
order noted! will pass your order to dor next sat, 15dec. are you going for xmas dinner? can pay me then no prob.

si ma lu shop
thanks apple / linda...ALAMAK! i didn't go in to see...was walking along the central walkway and looking across(where those pple sell flowers and incense etc) could only see shops selling dried foods =( never mind, next week try again! linda - can i call you if i cannot find again on my next trip?

dor, you want? or you waiting for linda to post pics of the clothes first?

re: lactacyd
anyone bought this for your baby wash? how much did you buy?
i just bought it from a shop near OG, $7.90. not sure if it's cheap.

Ladies, thanks a lot for the advise!

h@ppymum2b,
The nose cleanser is something like a pipe leh... to suck out the dirt in the nose one...

apple79,
I went to Mrs Wong's seminar too... the Avent one... but now totally can't remember whether she got use bb shampoo or not... didn't write notes
I gotten a list of things to get from the forum and bb shampoo is one of them... so got confused...

dor,
I'm those gan cheong type... last time when we decided to get marry, I immediately go research and shop for all the things... and now gotta control, can't see, can't touch, can't buy for so many months... very xin ku one leh... like a torture...

I don't just feel... I really bite him one! Whenever I'm very angry, he will auto give me his hands:p

1)Baby pillow
- I see... didn't know that nb no need pillow one... I saw so many of you buying pillows, so thought it's a must...

2) Barrier cream
- Where can I get Desitin online? Any bp for this?

dor, garfield,
Hopefully, I still got the energy to go shop around... nowadays, walk for half an hour only, can kill me liao... dunno whether I will have the strength to shop on Boxing day or not... hate the crowds too

linda,
If we don't dry the bottles and assemble them after sterilised, will the bottles become smelly?

lactacyd ph 3.5 also non-rinse one?

ADe,
I'm staying at Rivervale Drive...

garfield
i dun have the pic le.. the clothes all in my mum place.. wont be going back so soon.
the clothes there all very plain, only worls like i love mum on it... to other pattern. ya, u can call me if cant find...

sunny, i bought lactacyd too, for $7.50. at the shop abv ppl park market, the girls went that day at chinatown.

snowbelle:
wont get smelly la... after sterilisng leave it.. only open when u need to use it. and cover it back... she really emphasize, dun use drying rack no matter how convincing the sales ppl tell u..

snowbelle...violent leh =P
dun worry, actually dun need to walk that much. most stores sell the same stuff - just different pricing and different bundles. we always share info here so you can figure out the best deal before going down.

linda, thanks! i thought i know si ma lu area very well...walked up and down 2x also couldn't find. ended up in OG instead =P

may i know that have u all book the postnatal massage lady ?

got any good massage lady to recommend?

Snowbelle, so funny that your husband actually offer you his hand hahaha.

The seminar i went was organised by Pigeon one. Quite good cos got goodies bag.

I think those sold at the si ma lu is good for homewear. Its those basics in a bundle. Last time i used to work ard that area and bought towels from there in a bundle.

linda,
After take out what we need from the steriliser, do we need to sterilise the rest again? I read from the steriliser saying that once the cover is opened, gotta sterilise again... very troublesome and waste electricity leh... that's why thought of assemble all at one go...

Actually, since we are not using the boiling method, do we still need to get tongs?

garfield,
violent - actually a bit worried my bb will inherit my violent gene leh... already control liao... but can only gentle for 1 min when remember... then back to old self again... :p

Honestly, sometimes see all the sales around until I really confused... dunno what is good buy liao...

re cloth diapers

any other mummies thinking of the bumwear type? i saw some at OG like for about $5 each....much cheaper than the "official bumwear" brand.

what're the pros and cons of using the bumwear type vs traditional nappies (other than cost)?

hee hee dor...never never tempt you...you asked piglettail for pics of the bb tops she bought mah, thought you also keen in what linda bought =P then i buy for you since i will be at si ma lu lor

apple79,
coz my hb knows whenever I'm super angry, my whole body will shake one and breath very hard... so it's a way to help me vent it out... of course I gotta control my bite lah... if not dunno he bleeds how many times liao... :p

I saw the Pigeon seminar poster in TMC only last sat... already over liao... can't join...

dor,
Thanks for the link.

You can still bite him lah... in the bedroom when your gal is not around... heheee... hope yr hb don't read this... else he bans u from talking to me :p

garfield
i used both bumwear and traditional nappies before.
other than cost, i prefers nappies 'cos it get dried easier....
for bumwear, the outer layer get dried very easily, but the inserts take quite sometime to dry...
but, bumwear is easier to wash.

snowbelle
i bought the nose cleanser for my gal. did come in handy when she had blocked/runny nose. hubby managed to suck the mucus out to relieve the discomfort.

the baby pillow that the gals bought is meant to be laid across the chest/body of the bb when they sleep. not so much as support for the head.

for the sterilized bottles, ya, won't get smelly even if we don't dry cos we are gonna use it pretty soon after sterilizing. not like we will keep for days. me too never had a drying rack for bottles. wat i did was, once bottles are sterilized, assemble all and keep the bottles in a airtight container for later use. the pigeon sterilizer comes with a tong but i rarely use. use my hands to handle the bottles/teats, etc when the temp is not so high.

Pigeon Seminar
Didn't even know there's one and now it's over liao.

thanks sunny!
maybe i buy one pack of traditional nappies and a few cheap bumwear to try out while CL is around. see which one is more convenient before making a decision.

snowbelle,

i went for the avent seminar by mrs. wong, and as far as i can remember...mrs. wong don't recommend to wash newborn bb's hair, so just wash with water ok already...

yipy,

if you can search in this thread's archive, i think cheryl/dor posted some post natal massage lady contacts already

piggletail,

i went taka again during lunch and saw that for medela, only medela swing and pis are not covered in the 15% discount thing..

pigglettail,
my colleague selling her PIS advanced second hand. used only 3 months. if you are interested i'll ask her how much she is selling?

actually if you want to rent medela pump, you can do so at Mums & babes. They have pumps (heavy duty like hospital type) for rental.

dor/snowbelle,
according to the owner's sms, 1 tub of nachos = 9-12 GV packets and 1 tub of cheese = 6-8 GV portions only. and for big cheese eaters like me, i think will need 2 tubs of cheese for 1 tub of nachos. anyway i can always eat the leftover cheese with anything!

dor/garfield,
thanks for the offers. i haven't decided yet cos muz cfm no. of ppl coming to my little party. so i'll prob collect from her later la. seng kang still considered quite near for me.

garfield/andrea,
i didn't buy from yahoo auctions cos only 1 person selling really old and used ones. bought from the "want to sell" section in this forum. some mummies got as gifts but didn't use, so can get brand new ones at low prices. garfield, when u go to the website, they'll teach u how to use the bumwear. i've read various reviews online. some say very good, some say very lousy! got other similar brands available, but since i already bought liao, i'll juz use first. the $25 bumwear no need to change so often, every 2 hours or so juz change the $7 inserts and put nappy liners for extra protection. nappy liners can be used to catch poo. and according to the website, u can wash and reuse the nappy liners if no poo on it.

kitsune,
wow yr hubby is a writer! impressed impressed...

re: gift exchange
i bought mine already, but it's slightly less than $20, so thinking of what else to throw in. bought it long ago when i was doing my kiasu shopping. haha.

june
for bumwear, my mil doesn't like to use it. she said it's too warm for the little butt..... end up, i only used it during weekend....

Snowbelle:

4. Bottle drying rack
i think juz put on normal drying rack lor. should sterilize before using - according to my lecturer last time, bacteria will appear after 5 mins even after u juz cleaned.

5. Any brand to recommend and where can I get it cheap?
see my earlier post... expo hall 5 Pureen having everything 20% to 40% off regular price. if u don have brand preference then it's very very worth it!!! ends on this sunday.

6. Hooded towel
personal preference ba. i wanted a hooded one. searched for a long time. most places sell old-fashioned designs for hooded ones. finally got mine at www.kidzcottage.net. anyway today saw at IMM there's this big shop called "kid's mall" i think, 2nd floor. they have quite a number of choices for hooded towels, and not those typical designs i've seen elsewhere.

7. Bath thermometer
thot it's quite common... see it almost everywhere i go. usually it's a cute looking one in an animal shape. from what i remember, toys'r'us and baby kingdom confirm have.

10. What is Ruyi oil & Woods Gripewater for?
My mother say Ruyi oil very very impt. For stomach pain, when air goes into baby's stomach. Will get rid of the "wind" inside.

11. Nail clipper & nose cleanser
cannot use normal one la. specially for baby type is about $4-$6. nose cleanser, i bought one juz in case - $4.

12. Receiving blanket
it's for receiving yr baby at the hospital. i bought the hooded one mentioned above. cos i think it'll be sweet for yr baby to have a brand new cute one that belongs to him/her.

bumwear:
actually if i remember correctly, mrs wong did mention that dun wear cos it no ventilation for the butt... defeats the purpose that u wan to prevent nappy rash.

linda
that's good, then i can buy clothes and nappy cloth at the same time liao.
i hope the shop open before lunch during saturday....

Sunny, hmm din think of that... by the way, recommended 5.5kg to start using bumwear, but if i wanna start immediately from newborn, can anot ar?

Thankful/Apple79,

Renting Breast Pumps - http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/demo-pumps.html

they offer various breast pumps for rental... dunno issit free.

http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/nursing-products-pricing.html

they also sell pumps at discounted rates, esp if u join their membership which is $25/year and u can attend breastfeeding courses at discounted rates too.

si ma lu shop
garfield, thanks for the offer. when u gg again?
wow!!! i think the pig head u need to get a much bigger one!!!
i need to do my stock take this weekend first, before i can tompang yr order. cos dun wan to over spent... cos the biggest item-hospital bill still have not settle yet....

i got a doubt....

1. not necessary that the gynae will cut u right?

2. is stitches a must?

3. if stitches, i heard will inject a jab to that part right?

dor,
not going so soon...probably middle or late next week. you let me know after you stock take.

haha, i can use you as excuse to disguise my own shopping =P very good!!! hubby ask i will just say - oh buy for friend one =P

linda

1. not necessary that the gynae will cut u right?
Not necessary.

2. is stitches a must?
If cut, then need to stitch

3. if stitches, i heard will inject a jab to that part right?
Jab is injected before gynae cut. it's to numb the area.

garfield,
it becos she has not put up the final delivery schedule but keep telling us to reserve the slot and she did not indicate any bank details but told us to proceed to make payment.. :-(