(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

garfield, wow!!! u attached by the pig out huh?

this month, i very tied leh... my gal exam, then i veri stress... guess what i had nightmares on this hor....

ya lor dor, some more i don't like to go out in the day (too hot....pant pant) so week nights are good for me =P

cheryl next week i have con calls every night except friday. week after is better for me.

dor, same same week after next is better for me also.

i have a list of buffets around town (but hotels only). anyone else have other suggestions?

Joyful parenting
piglettail/cheryl/bluegin,
yippee!!! philips called me!!!! they rec my chq!!!!
so our session one is confirmed!!!

Got to split into two docs due to size limit

Here's part one<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif
buffet guide part 1
Buffet Guide.doc (45.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

i would wan to try melt, i duno is at the oriental or marina mandarin...

i go b4 triple3 at meritus mandarin.... not bad...

i heard the line at shangri-la has nice chocolate fondue... heee

but see u all any preference...

melt is very good, but ex. UOB card has 15% discount but it will still work out to about $50/head nett.

been there twice for office function. excellent spread and quality

just checked out takashimaya and john little sale. can't decide which pram to buy...arrrrgggghhhhhh

Hi Kellie and Eileen,

Thanks for the postings. Makes me feel better. Hopefully can find something. Crossing my fingers.

Went to Taka sales but don't find the discount that attractive and the range is quite limited.... Not worth going if you ask me. But I did buy two preggy tops for $69.

Dor,
Did they call you to say it's full? I called on Monday and they said they have registered my name and simply asked me to send in the cheque. Didn't mention anything about session 1 being full? I haven't sent out the cheque and intend to send it out only tomorrow.

garfield,
thanks for yr sms...

moi_dar, i think u can called that rosyln cos now she said s full... she also told me that she will register me while waitng for my chq....
so when i called her this morning... she told me that the name is just for data entry... but i told her that not what she told me on mon... so in the end, the other person in charge squeeze in me... then abt 5plus, she called me to inform that she rec my chq...

On course again today so no internet access. Went to the Taka sale today.

Moi dar, I bought a lot of stuff from Taka sale leh. Got some good buys including the Thermos Foogo Food jar that was on BP recently.

But I bought a pack of 10 Anakku diapers at Taka Sale today, for $17.91 and a Jan MTB said it's cheaper at Robinsons $19.90 before 20% discount so if you need, should buy the diapers from Robinsons instead.

Details of my shopping buys, what's good to buy & prices are on my blog.

http://www.anewpiggy.blogspot.com/

hi ladies...

been out the whole day so haven't had chance to log in...

dorothy, thanks for arranging the joyful parenting event! how will u like me to pay u--by bank transfer or pay u on the day itself?

cheryl, glad to hear u are getting better..

patsy, it's good news that u r home! stay positive and take good care okie? yeah, we can go ur house for gathering another time, no worries

went for my detailed scan today, all is well. average baby, 425g at 21 weeks, and ah boy...

then followed by gynae check up and asked gynae abt my nipple pain and discomfort during urination lately. he said both are 'normal pregnancy symptons'...so gotta bear with it lor. haiz..

placenta has moved up, but still kena yoga/gym/travel 'ban'.. think it will be like this thru out already.

but anyway ok lah, since bb is okie and growing well im happy..

Hi ladies, I have gone for my detailed scan yesterday too.

Confirm Baby is a girl! 325gm at 20th week.

Patsy hang on there!

wow. the parenting talk full liao for session one ah? but no one called to tell me so leh. in fact the day after i called, someone call me to confirm that i'm gg for the session and ask if i'll be sending in the cheque leh. i think i called to register on wed, send in cheque on thu.

tongtong - if you had already sent in the cheque, how come they tell you no more vacancies liao? you registered quite early right?

piglettail
great to hear that your placenta has moved up! and congrats for having a prince

patsy
indeed it's good news to hear that you are back home resting. do rest well and don't worry about the gathering. lai ri fang chang...

Hey gals
yesterday while i was walking back home, suddenly felt that the skin at my tummy area is 'spliting/cracking'. so horrible, first time experienced such a thing. think it's a sign that stretchmarks are appearing. so last nite was the first time i started applying cream on my tummy. scared liao. :p

kitsune
The Thermos Foogo Food Jar that you bought is a recommended one ah? How much was the food jar during the BP? I'm also sourcing for a food jar. thinking btw thermos and tiger (for tiger, i heard there's one model where you can use to cook porridge just by putting boiling water and rice and cover for few hours. but not sure what that model is).

the maternity bra you bought at metro sale is cheap leh. too bad expo is too far for me since i stay in the west.

would like to recommend a place for maternity clothing. it's Marton-Bell at Velocity (Novena Square #02-24). The clothes there are quite decent and not very auntie. The price not very cheap, not too steep either. I bought a knee-length dress yesterday at ~$85 (inclusive of alteration). I think the workmanship is not bad either.

It has another outlet at VivoCity (#02-84).

piglettail,

your ah boy 425g at 21 weeks quite big leh.
mine one 343g at 20 weeks, gynae already say she's bigger than average already

patsy,

please make sure you don't move around, ok?
hope you and chilli padi are doing well.

hi ladies, just curious, what do they do and check for during the detailed scan huh?

and during your normal ultrasound scan at gynae, does he check and show you organs like heart, kidney, etc? Mine dont leh.. but a friend of mine says her gynae usually do a rough check even during the routine scan..

just back from john little's. finally bought some bb stuff!!

got the maclaren techno xt stroller for $240 after discount and avent iQ24 sterilizer for $94. the maclaren price is probably the lowest i have seen so far...for the sterilizer no idea. but thought ok since it comes with a few freebies.

also got some organic toiletries for bb. without discount would have cost me $80 but after discount almost half price at $42.

tomorrow picking up the hand me down play pen and high chair. got to start clearing up baby room liao =)

hi andrea, ya got it at JL Orchard. they have the volo and the quest there too.

original price $459 + 20% discount and 5% rebate for robinsons card. then another 30% in JL vouchers. so nett price is about $240.

have a question re how to transport new born in a car. is infant seat a must or are there other options? are there any infant seats that can use from NB to 4-5 years old?

garfield,

avent iq24 sterilizer for $94 i think very cheap leh... usual price is $200... lucky i didn't buy @taka...they're offering 20% off + 10% off for cardmembers...

must go john little tom oredi...but today i oredi walk till my feet hurts !

went to baby's hypermart and really like the pliko p3 pramette but price a bit too ex, so decided to look around further :p

Stephie, typed a long reply about the Foogo food jar this afternoon but forum hung. Lazy to retype, posted more details on my blog. http://www.anewpiggy.blogspot.com/

Went to Nanjya Monjya at Grand Copthorne Waterfront for Okonomiyaki (japanese pancake). It's the DIY type, very authentic, lots of Japanese customers. Waited nearly 1 hour despite having a reservation because we prefer an indoor table with aircon but it was worth it.

Wow, Garfield. Very good deal for Maclaren XT, does the 30% vouchers apply to everyone who buy Maclaren XT or got terms and conditions?

hi ladies...

cheryl and xiaoyun, hehe..bb must be taking after my hb, quite a chubby bb. as long as we r all ok!

hope gynae dun ask me to watch my diet, nowadays my appetiate is very good...haha

cheryl, think must rest more..do u think using a hot or cold compress will help?

hi toot, i think there are two models of iQ24 around. cos apart from the one on offer, there was another one that was normal price. but i didn't mind getting an old model cos have heard quite good reviews for it too =P

hi kitsune, i think the 30% applies to everyone not only cardholders. but better hurry quick!! cos they were flying off the shelves when i was there. within half hour, 3 couples + me bought it.

the promo goes like this:
1. 20% off normal priced items (all customers, additional 5% rebate for robinsons card)
2. Another 30% off the 20% discounted price in the form of JL vouchers valid for one year (all customers)

for already discounted prices, then its:
1. 5% rebate for robinsons card
2. 30% off in the form of JL vouchers valid for one year (all customers)

so in all, still good deal!

Hi, Garfield. Looks like I must make a trip down but was out for a long time yesterday and hubby got work to clear. Don't know if he'll want to go out again today. If not, I'll have to go on my own but transportation will be a problem. I haven't been to JL sale since they moved out of Hotel Phoenix? Is the JL you went to the one at Orchard Emerald? What colours do they have there?

Hi Garfield, glad that you had a good grab. That stroller is retailing at about A$400+ in Aussie, which is almost equivalent to S$600!!

Too bad i bought a stroller recently, if not i would have gotten someone to help me grab it from JL!

hi andrea, thanks!

actually hubby and i are in love with the aprica prams but the price is really out of budget (looking at 800+ for the better models after discount).

so when we saw the maclaren at such a good price, decided to grab first =P

one of the sales assistant told us that if we intend to travel with baby in future, will need a relatively cheaper pram as there will be lots of wear and tear. so may be a good idea to get two prams.

garfield,

yeah today went JL, notice there's 2 versions of iq24 but hb thinks it's the same...just different packaging but dunno also.. me finally bought the express sterilizer from taka and not the iq24.

yeah, the 30% discount thing is not bad, but i hardly shop at JL, so finally decided to get from taka instead since JL ran out of the express version as well.

re strollers,

we haven't decided on what we want yet...maybe will end up getting a combi since it's pretty light...anybody knows if capella is a good brand for stroller ?

Hi Garfield, popular brands are Steelcraft, PEG Perego, Love n Care, Mother's Choice, Baby Love

Hardly you see someone with mclaren prams here!

so quiet in our thread this weekend. everyone busy shopping? =P

toot,
the avent express is a good buy too! i originally was eyeing that but since iQ24 was on sale decided to get that. i also seldom shop at JL, but do get my toiletries and lingerie plus some household items from time to time. so i think the vouchers will come in handy.

andrea,
of the brands you mentioned, only PEG Perego is more common in Singapore. Rest i never heard of =P

recently came across these two brands - bugaboo (popular in US) and micra lite (popular in UK). but unfortunately these ang moh brands tend to manufacture very heavy prams like close to 10kg although they look very stylish =(

returned after my 3rd round from JL. this time bought breast pump, baby towel, disposable panties and more toiletries. in all, spent $500 at JL but feel it's worth it cos normal prics is like $1000 so 50% off is good!

fruitful weekend =)

Hi, Garfield. I called up the other JL stores. Causeway point only has display piece left. Marina also no stock but the customer service guy said I can order and I'll still be entitled to the same promotion as long as I pay today. So, rushed down to JL Marina with hubby at 12 today. In the end, we bought 2 strollers since it was cheaper than Baby hyperstore because of the vouchers. Bought Maclaren XT stroller (1st choice: red, 2nd choice: orange, 3rd choice: light blue) and a smaller lighter Capella S217 to put at my in-laws place. Only $244.19 for Maclaren and $95.23 for Capella (vouchers' value included). Bought a lot of other baby stuff too since got discount. Spent $600+ altogether but got back about $200 worth of vouchers.

http://anewpiggy.blogspot.com/

Thanks garfield for sharing the news. I haven been in the forum for some time and happen to see your posting on Sun before cheong-ing down to JL. Really good buys with the additional 30% rebate in JL vouchers. The sales person told us that this time is a good buy cos usually only 20% storewide at most.
We bought our Maclaren stroller ($240), cot that comes with mosquito net and mattress ($160), dual electric medale pump ($160), pigeon steriliser($80), milk bottles, car seat ($100), receiving blankets, tons of wet tissue all for abt $850 (nett after JL vouchers and all discount and rebate). Like Kitsune, I also order the stroller cos no stock and they will deliver it to my place later ( which is even better for me since I only need it in Feb). Fantastic lobang. I ask a friend to go too and she also spent $1400 buying tons and tons of things. So contended......

hi cheryl
Yes, I have been better in second trim but travelling and busy so haven been up here for weeks and i think prob mths. Haven see my little one for a month, going for my check today. He should be in his 22 weeks now. Start to feel baby movements for about 1 week or so. So excited....