(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

I did, if u referring to the one that that did the 1st trim test on DS. I did it prob in my 12 weeks. After that, the monthly vists have been the normal scan and test.

BTW, anyone sign up to store cord blood? Any good lobang around?

no leh, he didnt say in my last visit. I ask him today. Wat is the test for?

I remember Xiaoyun is using the same hospital. Not sure if she done hers already.

looks like a lot of us have fruitfull shopping weekend... was busy shopping over the weekend till feet all cramp... my shopping list wasn't as long as some of you though... manage to get sterilizer, warmer, blanket, hooded towel, mittens/socks, hats, ear thermometer, wash towel and the sateen baby sling from both taka/jl... i think last weekend sale is really worth it, all in all got at least 30% disc for all items
now just need to wait for dec sale..hahaha..hope it would be as good as this one ! by that time sure cannot go out shopping for so long... =P

garfield,
yeah the express one i think is enough liao...coz the salesperson told me (if i understood correctly), the difference between iq24 and express mainly is that iq24 if you on it 24/7, it will always re-sterilize your bottles so they are always ready, while for the express one you need to on it when you need it.

babyhope,
u even got a baby cot..i envy u ! hehehe...just realise all cots are big ! we want baby to sleep in our room but in a cot. only saw a smaller one at baby's kingdom so might end up getting that...anybody knows where else have a good cot collection ?

oic... thanks cheryl. I will check with gyn today. Gender I already know from the last check. But I am more concerned abt other his other well being.

Tute, yes, I also got a tiger food storage for $68(with 10% taka discount) and another soup storage for $39 ( usual $119). Really good weekend cos its my first shopping spree on my bb. For the cot, I din buy a very big one too. I wanted bb to sleep in our room too. I bought one with 4 heights and can convert into a toddler bed at a later stage. So hopefully can last for a few years. My friend got the same one at OG at $299 so I tot its a good buy at JL that day. Now I have to get nice beddings to go with my cot. ;)

good morning ladies...

looks like most ladies had a very fruitful weekend shopping

hb was down with flu, and in the end i sort of caught it too...so a very sedentary weekend for us.

garfield, thanks for asking
i guess it's too late now...do u know when is the JL sale until? btw, is there a difference between JL and robinson? which JL did you go to? the one next to UOB at orchard?

monday blues.... bleah.

hi dor, how come not good mood? feeling better now?

glad you gals had a fruitful weekend at JL. my hubby didn't allow me to buy the wet tissue to stock up cos he say scared dry up (haiz....) else it's really good deal. also didn't allow me to buy baby clothes cos he says pple will give us.

so my final shopping yielded a maclaren techno xt, avent iQ24 sterilizer with freebies, avent manual pump, zojirushi hot water flask, disposable panties, towel for baby, full suite of organic toiletries for baby, plus my own facial stuff like masks and scrubs.

hi kitsune,
i see that your shopping list has turned mostly blue now =) i've been using yours as a guide too hee hee!! so thanks for that

hi babyhope,
wow you managed to save a lot!!! hubby and i have not decieded a number of things like whether to use a cot, or what car seat to buy...so will have to wait for dec sales!! hopefully it'll be as good as this one =)

3 cheers for john little's!!!

i think my boy is better more active. :p my hb for the 1st time feel the bb move from outside my tummy... he like so excited. lol...

Tute, I got the same problem. Need a small cot for my bedroom so eyeing the small one from Baby kingdom width 66 cm, length 116 or 126cm. Saw a foldable small cot at Kiddy palace for only $179 but does not include mattress, after you add in safety mattress price (they only have the latex type) about $100, Baby kingdom will be cheaper cos they have normal foam, safety mattress. Just need to top by $30 more.

babyhope,
ya. i from raffles same as you.
gynae didn't ask me to go detailed scan.
however, he did somewhat 'detail scan' for me without extra charges.
he scanned the heart, kidney, bladder, genital, measuring head, abdominal, thigh lenght, etc.

talking about shopping, i went to Orchard JL yesterday too. bought about $450 things. Playpen (89 x 0.8 x 0.65), iQ24 (145 x 0.65), Medela Harmony pump (101.8 x 0.8 x 0.65), NUK premium bottle set (29 x 0.65), NUK teats (5.1 x 0.8 x 0.65), diaper, baby detergent, Avent breast shell set, etc...
Can't find the capella stroller that I saw previously at Baby Kingdom. Going baby kingdom to check it out later.

phew, first time buy so much baby stuffs. good that they provide free delivery service.

regretted didn't buy more...

Yup yup, Garfield. Thanks for the tip off.
I think I just need to get the cot and bath tub. The rest probably can wait. Hopefully, will receive them as gifts.

babyhope,

i saw some cots at JL but all seems a bit too big for my bedroom
so end up didn't buy... me also first time shopping spree for bb stuff ! hehehe.. sooo happy ! eventho hb till now a bit hesitant coz he thinks still have time... i keep reminding him that later on i can't walk too much so must start buying a bit from now...otherwise will be too overwhelming...

realised that during the sales more girl color is available rather than boy... hmm, makes me wonder if people are having more boys this time around...

piggletail,

i think the additional 30% off at JL only applicable during last weekend leh... me also just recover from flu last week...read that for preg women need to take even more liquid if we catch a cold. so drink more + take vitamin C... hope you'll feel better soon !!

hi piglettail,
sorry to hear you're sick. rest well! i wanted to buy even though i didn't hear from you, but scared later you stocked up already then i'll be stranded with a few tubes of stretchmark cream =(

tute, i see the cot so cheap that I din really take the measurements. I jus thot it will fit lol.... neh mind, jus see how when it comes.

Garfield, hubby allow me to buy wet tissue but din really allow me to buy the toiletries cos worried that the quality will turn. Looks like fathers all worry for different things. Ha... Actually din expect to get so much, wanted to go and get the stroller only and in the end bought almost all the big items. Regretted not buying some diapers to store. My sis bought all the XXL pampers on the rack to store up at home for her gal who is currently using them at a very fast speed.

For those interested in the JL sale, confirm its only till last Sun. So if you miss it, got to wait for the next. Hopefully it will come again in Dec, I sure have more to buy.

Xiaoyun, thanks for letting me know. I better make sure my gyn check him properply this evening.

Haha, I bought 1 pack of drypers S size too. Also regret not buying more. Hubby was eyeing the M size Drypers but I scared to buy more cos don't know if drypers will be suitable for my BB cos never tried it before. It's very cheap though, half of the price of my Pampers (cos of sale) and more than double the quantity. One piece only about 12.5 cents.

ya mummies, start doing up your shopping list and reccee trips to decide what you want so can hantum during the next sale

i see some couples very targeted. the moment they are in JL they zoom in on exactly what they want!! very efficient!!

haha babyhope, yes so funny right? toiletries are fine. like cosmetics, usually have a shelf life of at least 3 years (if unopened). the ones i bought have expiry dates in 2010/2011 so still long way to go.

hi kitsune,
my friends who have kids say that for diapers, must try and see what suits baby first before whacking big time. cos if you end up with tons of diapers that baby don't like then also headache. so don't worry, you're doing the right thing!

kitsune,

just saw ur post on the baby cot ! :p i think we are eyeing on the same cot at bb kingdom coz the smaller one only have 1 model with 2 diff colors.

i'm not familiar with all these mattress type latex vs. foam..which one better huh ? read that popular one currently is babysafe mattress but not sure if it comes in a smaller size or only the standard cot size...but i'll check out the one you mention in kiddy palace, that's actually my next shopping destination for cots...

I just went for my detailed scan last Friday and everything is fine but I still don't know if boy or gal. My baby super shy leh and the gyne said 70% gal cause so shy. lol...

Allahmah, I did not log in during the weekend if not I also will rush down to JL liao. Hope they will have another sale soon.

I am also going for the Joyful Parenting 2007 event. But only for the second one. Isn't the first session on baby sleeping patterns? I thought the second session on breastfeeding would be more useful. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Wah, seemslike everyone was at John little. he he he.... I went yesterday and bought quite a few things too!!

Got the IQ Avent and medela electrical breast pump. Some baby clothings, 6 avent milk bottles and other misc stuff... he he he... really great sale! Like all of you said, btw I went down... the maclaren stroller was sold out liao.

Guess what ppl, I went for my detailed scanning today and my "daughter" turned out to be my son!!! Could see my husband was over the moon.
But I have rather mixed feelings. Glad I can close shop liao but wanted a girl more.

Dor, Can update on my details? Change girl to boy. Hospital: Mount E. Thanks

stephie - the phillip events yea, i called to register very early and the lady never told me to send in the cheque asap, so i tot my seat already booked. i only sent in the cheque on thursday and when i called on friday, she said since they ahvent received my cheque, my seat is not confirmed. i'm so furious!!

xiaoyun - your doc did not ask u to do detailed scan too?

piglettail - rest well!n congrats for having a boy!

shopping - aiyak, din log in during weekend too and miss the john little sale!! went to OG and saw lucky baby play pen at $125,mama love playpen @ 109(+free matress), baby safe latex mattress at 125. havent bot any yet though.

Tute, yup, I think we are eyeing the same cot. The smallest one is only available in white colour but the 126cm one is available in white and brown I think. Where do you stay? We should go down and buy together, ask them to give us a better discount. Hee.

hi moi dar,

congrats to u!that time,ur gynae got said what is the % for the gender during the previous scan?so normal scan and detailed scan results maybe different?think wait for detailed scan results more accurate then buy things?

Garfield,
It's my number 2. My first one is a daughter. In fact my baby is rather big for his age. He weighs 470g and is rather tall.

goodbabyb
Gynae didn't say how many percent, but the last time we did the scan, couldn't see any visible penis or scrotum, only two lines... that's why we all thought (including myself) and felt it was a girl. But today, the lady who was scanning for me is very certain it is a boy leh....

moi dar, so you same same as dorothy? no wonder hubby is so happy!! most couples hope for one boy and one girl leh.

if my second is a boy will also consider close shop haha!!

have been asking around in other threads if need to get fridge to go, cos i got my breast pump without the carrier so now thinking if i should swap for one with the carrier or invest in a fridge to go.

Hi, mummies. More shopping deals. Just received the Metro Infant fair postcard. Got a lot of bundled deals. Capella S321 stroller + Capella Infant car seat - $299. Lucky baby Besto changing table + Deluxe high chair - $129. Lucky baby deluxe baby stroller (looks like a Quinny) + 2-in-1 walker cum rocker - $159 Avent Isis Manual Breast pump with 2 feeding bottles & Express Bottle & babyfood warmer - $105. Free delivery with min $100 purchase.

Garfield, check out http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/1017882.html?1192382339 for second hand fridge to go. I bought my breastfeeding pillow from this mummy. Her baby is only 5 months old.

thanks kitsune!

btw just received my carter bibs in the mail. very cute. thanks for featuring in your blog (that's how i knew about them)

Hee, Garfield, they are very cute ya. How many did you buy? I'm tempted to buy more but my BB wardrobe very full liao. Have to keep moving things around to maximise the space. ;P

i bought 4. dunno if enough or not. the ones from kidz cottage also quite cute.

wow...your BB wardrobe is full already? you have been stocking up aggressively =P

Ya lor, but I put everything there not just clothes. I've categorised into BB's hygiene & bathing needs, clothes, toys, mummy's stuff etc and put them in different drawers and boxes. Unfortunately, the Medela PIS and the pump bottles from my friend is too big to fit into wardrobe so it sits on the floor in a big paper bag, collecting dust. :p

Wah Garfield and Kitsune,
So fast stock up already? Don't buy too many clothings cos friends and relatives will be giving some to you plus the fact that bb grows very fast.

I didn't buy much... only a few sets to start off with.

Fridge to go? Never thought of buying leh... since first month i'm going to be at home, don't think will buy first unless the needs arises. Cos still not sure how long I can breast feed. I only breast fed for two weeks with my first one.

Moi_dar, no lar, I only have 5 sets of BB clothes (0-3 mths) & 5 sets (3-6mths). I used my ikea wardrobe as storage space since I won't be buying a chest of drawers so I chuck everything inside. BB room looks neater this way. Hee.

i got a whole load of hand me downs from my girlfriend who delivered to triplets last year, and another girlfriend who is renting out her apartment.

so far have/will be getting from them - 2 play pens, 1 high chair, 1 bath tub, some toys and a whole bag full of clothes.

Interested??
COMPLEMENTARY TALKS
* What Babies Want
* Introduction to HypnoBirthing, The Mongan Method for a Gentle Birth Experience
* Top 10 Tips for a Better Birth Experience
* Top 10 Tips for Breastfeeding
* What Is A Doula, and Why Do I Need One?
* Baby Proofing Your Marriage
* Birth Into Being, The Russian Waterbirth Experience
Register for these sessions at www.singaporedoula.com or for further information call 9451-7702 Seating limited.
http://singaporedoula.com/_wsn/page6.html

kitsune,

good idea about buying together ! i stay in sengkang so bb kingdom not that far from my place... just that i can't confirm yet, coz hb wanna check out other place first see got any other choice or not... btw, when's the metro baby fair u were mentioning about ?

garfield,

me also ordered some carter bibs from kidzcottage, the link passed by kitsune...they are definitely much cuter than the ones i saw in stores... i am now addicted to looking through any bp for good buys

cheryl
checked with gyn yesterday, he says the detail scan optional. Like Xiaoyun, my gyn did ultrasound to check on bb brain, spine and liver, heart to make sure they are ok. Confirm its a boy again. So we are quite relief cos started to buy things in blue without realising it. My boy now weighs 484g at abt 22 weeks 3 days. Gyn says its a healthy weight but advise mummy to go slow on putting on weight ( I have put on 3 kg over the past 1 mth despite not eating a lot). ;)

I also received the Metro Infant Sale card. It starts 19 Oct (this friday) to 26 Oct (I think).

I saw from a Mothercare leaflet that we only require 6-8 sleepsuits and 3 day suits. But have not started to buy yet as I still am clueless about the sex of my baby <sigh>

babyhope

ic, mean ur gynae machine is much better de.. hee.... i oso gain another 2.5kg liao leh... haiz... 1mth gain so much scary

A doula is a non-medical assistant in childbirth. A doula is not the father but is usually a woman who is experienced in childbirth. The role of the doula is to provide the mother with physical and emotional assistance before, during, or after childbirth. Also known as a birth assistant, birth companion, childbirth assistant, or labor support professional.

There is another definition of a doula in Wikipedia. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doula

Hi, tute. It's ok, take your time and check out the other small cots first. BB kingdom is very near my mum's place and I usually visit my mum every Sunday so I can pop by anytime.

hi ladies..

been busy for past fews days and also feeling sluggish becos of flu. stepped into office and saw my boss sneezing away too...! haiz. he sits like 1m away from me, i sure kena the flu again.

Garfield,tongtong and tute, thanks! yes i had oranges last nite and been drinking lots water...feel like a water machine manz.

been having mini diahorrea since last week. not the extreme serious kind but frequent mini stamouchaches and loose stools. didn't eat anything 'exotic' for the past week leh... *scratch head*

is the metro sale being offered to all or only metro card holders only?

Doula
I think of a doula as a 'labour cheerleader'.. keke..