(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bkkgal
re. MMR jab
to update you on H, she got fever 1wk later. other than that, shes fine. think, you can bring K for her jab =)

Genevieve saying a nursery Rhyme
oops only the last word lah..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7sYb7kBArPw

pauline,
i not bringing ashlynn for her 1st class on fri. rather, i am going down to check out more abt the place b4 i sign up.

re: #2
will let nature takes its course

xy, i'm trying the same recipe with diff brand of flour. i bot another brand recently, breadking i think. oh, so far this is my order of preference from the most preferred: gold medal, prima deli, redman.

Bx, oops sorry, I got wrong. :p I thought your hubby said try out 1 term first, no good then don't continue so thought Fri is Ashlynn's first class. Actually, I was at Tampines today. Thought of popping by CPF building to take a look at LNT but carrying so much stuff from NTUC plus raining so I took cab back straight from TM. Bumped into Dor at Century square though.

XY, verdict of cooking chicken stock using slow cooker. It's definitely more convenient cos it won't boil over and the water level decreased only by a little so I got lots of stock this time. Also the meat is so tender that when I was picking out the chicken carcass from the stock, they disintegrated. :p But I cooked from 4pm till 8pm so I think I wasted a lot of electricity. Hee. Taste wise, can't tell the difference between slow cooker or stainless pot chicken stock. Think my taste buds not sensitive enough. :p

Pauline,
Cantonese way has always been using slow cooker. My parents have been cooking this way since i was young. Sometimes can slow cook for up to 8 hours. Meat will not have anymore taste one.

If you only slowcook for 4 hours, the soup will not be as sweet.

that's from my experience lor. Cuz they start in the morning, if i wanna drink abit during lunch (say 1-2pm), the soup not very tasty. But if i drink it at 6-7pm, wow...the taste is really heavenly!

vine/stephie,
agree that the media exaggerates a bit. if without exaggeration, i think it will spread very fast.
once the virus mutates, it's very hard to control already.
i will avoid indoor events as much as possible.

pauline,
if using slow cooker, you can actually boil the soup over the stove first then transfer to slow cooker. it's faster this way.
i am actually using the tanyu claypot, boil it then simmer for half an hour or more.

my MIL said if want to get clear soup, use stainless pots over the stove. if want thicker soup, use slow cooker.
i can taste the difference even she uses the same ingredients.

stephie,
think he will eventually takes fm, maybe get hungry for some time? how about replace with some fresh milk?

tubao,
i think the brand is something AVANTE (??)
the cup is blue color.

clover,
mm.. red man ranked the last. the texture not good or has too much flour taste?
where did you get your betty crocker? seems not all NTUC has it. btw, saw the full range of it at Cold Storage, it has the organic flour as well.

Cornflakes- Organic cornflakes lightly sweetened with honey/organic cane sugar, it’s available here in sg. Saw it in one of the organic shop.

XY, I did boil the soup in high heat pot over the stove until boiling then transfer to the slow cooker. Even used boiling water. This time, I bought the oil blotting paper from NTUC so didn't bother to remove the fats. Wa, really very oily, my tongue got scalded while tasting the soup. :p Yesterday, I used the chicken stock to cook shanghai lamian for me and hubby's supper.

Brought my gal to the playgroup at opposite block to pick up registration form and get her used to the place and teachers. We hung around for close to 1 hr cos the teacher was busy answering phone calls so walked in and out of the classroom while we waited. My gal was very wary at first but she warmed up when she saw the teacher aide singing and kids dancing. She even joined them for morning snack (xiao man tou biscuits) while I carried a crying little gal to the toilet to wash her hands. Don't know why but this little gal took to me, she rejected both teachers. When I left with RaeAnne, she called auntie auntie and cried even more. After that, then remembered I'm not supposed to carry any babies. Not sure whether 18mth old gal count or not. :p

pauline,
from a recipe book, here's the ingredient for boiling chicken stock:

3 sets of chicken bone
few slices of ginger
12 cups of water

for extra collagen, add chicken feet

you mean pregnant cannot carry small kid? pantang?

anyway, seems RaeAnne likes the place. you should feel happy about it.

Xy, yup, I used 3 sets of chicken carcass from NTUC, 1 thumb size piece of ginger, 1 stick of carrot and 1 med size onion. Oh, can add chicken feet? Next time, I'll try.

Hehe, RaeAnne likes the place but that's because Mummy is there. I hope she won't be like that little gal who cried from 940am till 1040am while I was there. She's already there for 2 weeks but the teachers say she still cries everyday, calling for mama. So heart pain to see her cry until like that. :p

Ya, they say pregnant not supposed to carry babies but not sure if it applies to older kids. :p

reena, we have the same gynae! but dr ho wasn't recommended by her... got recommendations from this thread last time and it's open morning till nite every weekday so it's quite convenient.

garfield, he was discharged yesterday. and now almost back to normal already.
only that he lost quite a lot of weight... and has to take medication everyday...

pauline, i see dr lee most of the time, but went to baby & child on those "emergency days" dr lee wasn't open. but overall experience from both sides, find that baby & child is much better, maybe that explains the long queue. usually dr lee's consultation is very chop chop, whereas i see that dr ho was more thorough and sounded very experienced.

tubao, monitor her condition, fever can be serious.

xy, was at bkk's condo last yr

tute, confirmed and cured already. i don't know how much it is, though i heard it's costly... but i don't care la cos all covered by my insurance. hehe.

apple79, thanks for the info. seems like kawasaki is more common than i thought. hmm.. it was a painful one week.

stephie, thanks

June, oh you see Dr Lee too. I usually prepare 1 whole load of questions to ask her so my consultation usually not so short. hee. ;)

Great to hear that Jerome has been discharged. By the way, did you buy any hospitalisation insurance for him? Can claim? I also not very sure what to buy but met my insurance agent last month.

June, I still carry RaeAnne but I avoid carrying other people's kids in case my baby is jealous or also because some mummies are pantang, think that if preggie women carry their baby, their baby will be cranky and difficult to look after. :p

June, I think it's cheaper to opt for normal playgroup then just attend a few times a day. My cousin said there's one in East coast area that offers a few days of playgroup. Think it's Kinderland or something but I'm not sure cos too far for me. :p Most 2hr daily playgroup is only $100+ per month but cannot claim.

Paiseh, Bx, I 'borrowed' your blog link for a while to show some Jan mummies pics of the ikea play area cos they also thinking of organising a playdate. :p

any of your toddler show the sign of using left hand more often? my son does. he does almost everything with his left hand leh.

pauline
do you tend to let her use right hand more when you noticed she used left hand last time?
me and my hb are right handers, too. but, my hb suspected that he's left handed by nature, but trained to used right hand when he's small. my BIL is left hander.

kitsune,
you know your bb gender?

Playgroup:
I still have not decided whether to let Channet go for playgroup when she reached 18months. Why must join playground?

Sunny, yup, initially, ILs and us will ask her to use the other hand to take when she stretch out her left hand. But after a while, we also forgot but she seems to be favouring her right hand a bit more.

blueginger, yup mine should be a gal again if no surprises. Yours?

Playgroup is to let her learn to socialise and stuff ABC, songs, dancing, shapes, sharing etc. ;)

stephie
for you is still easy 'cos you are also left handed. i wonder if my boy is really left handed, how should i teach him to write, do things?
do you find it inconvenience for you when you do things like using scissors to cut papers, etc?

Hi mummies will be bringing Gen to the zoo tomo. Haven been there in a long time , can share where are the "must go" for babies of our age ? Anywhere can touch or feed the animals ? Any simple water features where she can splash around ? We will be there about 10-2 pm..so also limited time..Sorry very sua koo.. my mil managed to get zoo passes from her company

pauline,
no longer baby liao loh. i think once pass 12 month mark, consider as toddler? don't worry so much lah.

june,
wa... our gathering was last year. time flies..
good that jerome is recovered.

sunny,
mine last time used left hand more.
nowadays use right hand to grab the pen and scribble. i've no worry for her to be left handed as no one in our family has this tendency.

clover,
how much is the offer price?

electronic book on the 'tang zhong' bread making
http://www.doc88.com/p-4800141764.html

H1N1: cases increasing everyday. Even my sister’s colleague caught the virus. Now they were all given mask and I asked her to wear !!

Update: H1N1 case spotted at raffles place! My ex-colleague in another part of raffles place all on BCP mode already, they work from home cuz one of the colleague caught the virus. I think I better go buy mask later and wear in MRT, don’t care how ppl see me la! better play safe

Pauline,
I heard of the same saying too, abt preg woman not carrying other pple's bbs. BTW, be careful when you carry RaeAnne, dont injure yourself. For me, I used my sling (ds2 was around 2yo) when I was preg with #3 then.

Princessgx,
Small world! Do you visit Dr Heng's clinic in bedok or ESH?

Playgroup,
For me, I prefer 5 days week so that the child will get used to going to school daily and not be confused why today go tomorrow dont go.

Lefthanders,
They use their right brain more thus more creative. I'm suspecting DD3 may be a lefthander too as she's using a lot of her left hand despite me trying to correct her.

mothercare got 50% on the all hanging kids clothes, socks and shoes if you use dbs credit card. promo till 28 jun.

Sunny, I thought it's 30% off cos I bought a top and 2 pairs of tights? If it's 50%, I must go and grab cos there was a white dress I was eyeing for RaeAnne but after discount still $30+, too exp. :p

XY, yup, just that I'm so slack about no. 2 that I feel guilty sometimes. Eg. when I was expecting RaeAnne, I would talk to her all the time, even ask hubby to read stories to her. For no. 2, I don't even talk to her unless she kicks me. And I keep skipping my supplements cos of the fishy taste which I hate. Poor no. 2. :p

pauline
ya, it's 50% off for those clothes with hanger if you got dbs/posb credit card. it's worth buying. if you don't have that credit card, then i think max you can get is 30% off depending on how many pc you get.

aiyoh..
i am so mad with my friend's husband. i just want to complain!!!

my friend is struggling hard to find someone to take care of baby as her mother and mil take turn to fall sick.
she wanted to send the baby to infant care, the husband objects, saying that childcare centre will beat the baby if they cry.
she wanted to find a nanny, the husband objects, saying that some nanny will tape the baby's mouth if they cry.
she can't be SAHM as they need the income.
and the husband now wanted to fire their part time maid as the maid spoil their things at home. and he's not helping out taking care of bb or doing housework.

what kind of person is that!!!

wa, Sunny, then I'm really tempted liao. Must try and go this weekend.

XY, aiyoh, I hate those people who veto everything but has no constructive suggestions to give. Looks like he rather have MIL and his mum take turns to fall sick then to find another babysitting arrangement. Sometimes, I can understand also, cos most people will feel like 'own people look after better than other people look after'. But he doesn't understand that it is very stressful for your friend who always need to take urgent leave, and it will jeapardise her career and future too. Maybe your friend needs to have a good talk with him. Maybe only if MIL or his own mum 'ba gong' and refuse to look after baby anymore then he'll wake up his idea. :p

tongtong
i will warm the milk.
but so far haven't gv fresh milk to my boy.

xy
does your friend discuss with her hb the option to be SAHM since he seemed to have objected every mean to take care of the bb? if the hb doesn't gv any solution, i think you friend needs to be firm on what to do next for the bb.

pauline
haha... ya, the 50% off if really tempting. somemore the material of the clothes is soft and comfy. all those cute designs are mostly gal's one and my gal can't fit in already.. and boy one not as cute as gal's. otherwise, i will spend more. :p

xiao yun
eee.. why that man like that?

re: play groups
Maddy been attending GUG for the last 2 months..Not bad.the teachers are very friendly. it's twice a week, 1.5hours each time. She seems to enjoy the classes very much..
Err.. being ks.. I actually registered her for pre-nursery to k2 at St James..