(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

kitsune,
IC. It's OK at least still can use ReAnne's clothing also good. My gynae said girl, but cannot confirm yet. will see the DS 2 week later.

Recently, Channet likes to throw her tantrums. Not too sure if it is because to teething or the hot weather or grow spurt. Not much appetite too. So now more on FM. For teething, she only leave with her last pairs of Molar, the rest of her teeth already out.

Reena, nowadays I pant when I carry her for more than 5 mins. Out of shape man! But she outgrew her bjorn carrier liao so I bo bian but to carry her when I bring her out eg. today to another playdate at Ikea Tampines cos I can't manage the stroller alone.

blueginger, yup, still got many new clothes that RaeAnne outgrew without even wearing cos my relatives keep buying clothes for her. :p

RaeAnne too. I was so angry with her yesterday cos she used her megablocks to hit my hubby repeatedly until he got a cut on his mouth. My hubby also very funny, just lie there for her to beat. :/

tong, i gave fresh milk to alex. i let the milk stand for abt 5-10 mins, then i add cereal and fruits. this is the only way he will take milk.

Hi mummies, I had been giving my elder dd fresh milk for awhile. Recently when I visited the paed and he looked at her underweight, was asking whether she's still drinking milk. When I told him yes, fresh milk, he said that actually fresh milk more for adults. Doesn't have the additives and calories which formula milk has if the child needs to put on weight. So for those mummies with children who are thin, need to revert back to formula milk. I have to try diff brand as my dd now don't like formula milk taste. Sigh..

Kistune,
I hardly use stroller too. Find those lighter one also very bulky.
I panted too when I carried Channet too, perhaps you walk too far.
If I stay Tampines most of the times, I will probably let Channet join a playgroup. Dun want her to stick to my smoker PIL. Now they get so overboard that they smoke in front of Channet. There is once, channet open a pkt of cigarettes and eat a few. Choke herself. Hubby see only carried her away. I cannot stand when they smoked in front of me too. I will tell them off and walk away. BTW which playgroup you intend let RaeAnne join?

Channet used to beat us on our face when we slept before she did. But we explaint to her. They will understand. RaeAnne should too.
Channet will throw her bottle and toys that are in her hands away when she throw her tantrums. I'm gng to train her not to do this. Sometimes
When I scold her "Naughty girl", she will stroke her finger signaled to me "No, she is not a naughty girl". When I asked her "who is good girl", she will tap her chest to say it is her. I really dun know how to be angry with her.

cheryl,
the hb is mcp. can't handle the kid and no intention to learn to take care of the kid.

pauline,
yaloh. that's what i always insist ppl to do - find me a solution before you object my proposal!!
find my friend very poorthing, no leave left and now slim down a lot

sunny,
i don't know how's their communication, but my impression about his hb is that he's a spoilt child.
if i were to have a mcp husband, i won't want to be SAHM too. without income, sure the hb will demand everything from her.

grace,
i am so irritated when she told me about it. feel like scolding him. that's why come here to air it out.

bluegin,
i can emphatize your situation of ppl smoke in front of you and channet, especially now your are pregnant.
my hb has a smoker uncle go their house very frequently for mj. and he doesn't feel anything wrong to smoke in front of pregnant woman or children. when i was pregnant, i always hide myself in the room if he's around. until one day i cannot tahan because he smoke in front of C when she's not yet 1 month old. i told him off immediately and now he never dare to do it again.
but he also 'bu zhi dong' one, he nipped the durian and stuffed his finger into C's mouth although we already told him C has enough durian. YUCKY!!! me and hb were very unhappy about that incident.
problem is that they are your pil, very difficult to tell them off and cannot forbid them to see channet. probably sending her to playgroup is a much better option.

channet so cute. i am sure will laugh if C do this to me.

XY,
The headache part is I did told them off before. My MIL very "zhi dong" but forget sometime. My FIL is the one who "bu zhi dong". I even tell him when he light the cigarette in front of channet. He also smoke in front of her. The angry part is my hubby, who told me if they like that will get channet into room, witnessed it and din do anything. I'm the one who carry channet back to the room.
Yes I think playgroup is the only choice. Hope things get better.
My MIL decided to hire a maid. I really worried for the maid, cos my MIL is the bossy and commanding type. (Shake my head)

Blueginger, having a maid in the house is going to be another issue. Hope all turns out well for you. I have heard so many stories of MIL fighting with maid and no peace, sigh...

blueginger, thanks for the suggestion. Raeka is a unique name, reminds me of 'Eureka!'. hehe. Actually, English name is not as big as headache as Chinese name if want to count the strokes and make sure it's good. :p

RaeAnne will sometimes say 'uh' when I ask her if she's a good gal. But if I say she's a naughty gal, she will ignore me. :p

pauline,
i asked LNT tmp if they have promo for trial. they only able to give 3 for $100. no free trial at their side. think their business not bad due to good location bah.

Thank you, EASY. Hope everything turn well too. Afterall, hiring a maid isn't my decision. My MIL long to have a maid even way b4 I have #1. The idea is brought up again since #2 is on the way. She is not the housewife type of MIL, just wanna play MJ daily and go Casino. She is the decision-maker in the family, her impression on maid are they are very good. But the moment my hubby told her must bring maid on cruise when she goes on one (maid go anywhere you go mah), she quickly protested. Her gambling friends also side her. I really buay tahan.

Kitsune,
I nv relate "Raeka" to "Eureka" so far. That's a good relate. Haahah
Wow. U wake up so early in the morning ah?

sunny
yup, me was at centrepoint yday and happen to pass by mothercare, then remembered abt the 50% disc. was in a rush hence only bgt 2 dresses for my gals. didn't hv time to look for my boy's clothes. after disc each dress cost $28 and $31.50. not v cheap but definitely much cheaper than original price of $56 and $63 (me wonder if anyone would buy at its original price :p)

sunny
me was the one leftie in my family. didn't find much problem all these years. think probably got use to using scissors and doing stuff with left hand after so many years. for my girl, probably easier since her mummy is leftie too :p

Fresh milk: I just introduced today and shaun finished the 200ml! surprised that he din reject, maybe the taste is just too good, hehe

anyway, i read that kids dont need to have so much milk if they have enuff calcium from solid food. so i will make sure that he got enuff from solid.

Easy, what is your dd’s weight?

isobellies.. thks for the weblink but like not very attractive.. haha.. think cause i see that they even have programmes for sec kids.. too wide range already. So where do u intend to send ethan to? I actuaaly saw this mindchamp pamplet .. and they have a branch at the biopolis.. maybe i will consider there. ANyone noes the fees of mindchamp? If too ex.. think i will will enrol her at PAP..afterall most of us also came from PAP..

Grace.. u mean u enrollled ur ger alrealdy?? SO its confirmed? Are u staying near harding road?Do you mind sharing the fees? can pm me if uncomfortable to share here.

Blueginger.. i hate pp that smoke in front of kids.. i just came back from durian feast with hubby at geylang saw this family.. got a middle age woman smoking.. and there was a 2-3 yr old boy beside her with a maid... i super unhappy.. and asked my huby.. y there are pp like that.. just smoke in front of kids. I think i will tell ur fil off too ( i noe its very difficult) but i think i will end up venting all my anger on my hubby!

Xy.. ur fren;s hubby is horrible lah.. how to have more kids like that??

Re: Fresh milk
Gwen drank almost 1-2 months of fresh milk ( normal fat content abt 12% i think) plus FM alternating.. but she's ok.. no rxn and no loss of wt. However, i still think if possible give kids FM.. if they dun like can give fresh milk and FM together ( i mean at differnt timings). I noe of 1 couple who have been giving their kids fresh milk since their ger is abt a few months old cause the baby doesnt like FM... and now the ger is already abt 3 yrs old.. everything is ok.. just that a lot of $$..

For name in Chinese, must remember not to have too many strokes. I have a friend's son whose chinese name so complicated, at k1 struggling to write his chinese name, so discouraged. I always had a good time in school as I only have two characters in my name, ha ha.

Tong tong, I was refering to my elder daughter who is 7 yrs old this year. She's very skinny, only 18 odd kg. She had been drinking fresh milk for awhile now. Paed say must drink FM to fatten up before puberty, esp Pediasure. But she hates the taste of Pediasure now thou she used to drink it. Headache. Don't know what other brand to try.

bluegin,
so, your MIL hire or not? got to pay extra for the cruise leh.
in fact, it should still be alright to leave the maid at home while she enjoying her cruise right?

pauline,
please note that the number of strokes we counted may not be the same as what's in the method counted by 'shi fu'.

genice,
i wanted to find a pair of squirky sound shoe for my gal. i remembered you bought it before, where did you get it? and how much is that? saw Isetan has some Cerisi one about $15, design so so only. and very pretty one about $30.

my friend decided to stop at 1.

xy
that's right, if want to be sahm, really need the support from hb 'cos financially we are totally dependent on the hb already.

stephie
i also find their dresses expensive that's y i never buy dresses from mothercare. keke... i just bought those clothes which got 2 or 3 pc in one hanger or some pants. so, after the 50% discount, each pc is less than $10. :p
i wonder if my boy is really a left hander, how i should teach him.

Blueginger: I would send Channet to full day childcare if really unable to control the *smoking situation*. Used to have a smoker coming to my house often until I blew my top and my husband became aware and banned the smoker (MIL fren) from coming to my place anymore.

Genice : I dunno when I will ever meet u to collect my thing.....can send by post to my place? Or shall we have a playdate this weekend?

Garfield: Yah Mindchamps is expenstive! Been looking ard for playgroup and childcare for Amanda and find that some really are so ex... Imagine we have more kids.... $1,000 *2... really faint.

genice
nope.. not staying near harding road (i wish).we are at serangoon. fees for pre nursery are $900(10 weeks). Nursery, K1 and K2 are $630(10 weeks). We managed to get the N, K1 and K2 but pre N on waiting list. We might change to barker road meth church kindergarten if we manage to get the pre n there.. there might be changes at st james.. think they going to move back to leedon and add additional classes and time slots.. if you are interested, i can email you the info they sent out couples of weeks back..

Mommies
what brand of fresh milk you give your babies? How often they drink milk( any form)? maddy is underweight so pd ordered us to give her pedisure..she drinks very little.. not sure why.. am wondering if it's due to the teats.. am still using the teats that she used from day 1.. is the small holes causing the problems? do you upgrade or make the holes bigger? she's using nuk teats..

Grace: I think it could be the teats. Used nuk before and Amanda drank very slowly and could not finish her milk cos she sucked until frustrated.

Xy, I got my squeaky shoes from Kiddy Palace. Which reminds me, must get my VIP card back from you. Forgot to get from you when I went to my mum's place last week. :p

Sunny, end up I bought the white dress I was eyeing for RaeAnne but they are out of sizes, I bought 9-12 months instead, for up to 80cm. RaeAnne is about 78cm now so she'll be outgrowing it soon. Never mind, keep for Mei Mei to wear next time. :p

June, I remember you were an insurance agent but didn't know your hubby is also one. Then why are switching to teaching line, my insurance agent was trying to persuade me to enter the line due to the flexi hours. But I think timing not right because first of all, no. 2 will be due in Dec plus after that I intend to total bf for at least 6 months. How to meet clients like that?

Fresh Milk
RaeAnne is definitely on the slim side, she hasn't gained weight for months. Think I'll continue to give formula milk then. :p

Thanks, BX for checking for me. So since trial also no promotion, means no 1-for-1 referral for term fees lar. In that case, I'll start RaeAnne for playgroup at opposite block in Aug as planned bah. :p

princessgx,
how's ur hubs now? what happened???

mummies wid boys,
jus wondering if ur boys r keen on vehicles n stuffs. I find my son so into vehicles, esp construction site vehicles like the diggers, bulldozers etc n whenever we go to the library, he wld only hang on to such picture books. Is this a male thing phase he is going through????

pauline,
my son also have not been put g on weight for mths. that day i jus went to a party n a 13 mth old was actually almost 2 kg heavier than him.....Prob now is he doesn't like to drink milk!!! drop to 1 feed of FM. Aiyoh! Any ideas how to encourage milk drink g??

XY,
hiring. She is the tai tai mah. Must bring on cruise. Cos noOne at home with the maid. She will be on her own since 12pm to 7pm with 2 dogs and Channet.

PrincessGX,
My EDD 25Nov.

apple79,
I think that could be one of the option.

apple,
would you happen to know if i can use avent teats on pigeon bottles? any leakage problems if i do so?

re childcare, ya lor, so ex!!! probably set a budget and try to work within that lor. if our babies were also entitled enjoy the $6K CDA that would have been helpful =)

leila,
how heavy is L now? if he is eating enuf solids, should be fine bah. how abt giving him one milk feed when he wakes up and one before he sleeps? or try a "tastier" brand? but i'm not sure which are the tasty FM though.

re:mindchamp
as there is a mindchamp just below my ofc.
i went to check on the charges.
full day - $1400+
half dat - $1300+
u can claim from MCYS $300 per month if your are a working mum.
conclusion: dun think will send Gervaise there cos too ex!

Re:Mindchamp
Wah.. mindchamp so expensive!!! I din know.. think totally out of my budget!!.. Dun think i will spend so much on pre school.

Re: St james
Grace.. can you email me at [email protected] You and ur hubby very hardworking.. actually bother to come all the way from serangoon.. is st james recommended by someone?

XY, i got my squeaky shoes from bata lor.. the bubble gummers series.. gwen likes it too but now her feet too big.. cant really wear already.

Re: apple
I popping by toa payoh tmr.. will be there abt 6 for appt. U wnat me to bring ur stuff? I dun mind having playdate this sunday.. Can we playdate at lib than can go coffee after that.. :p

Re: Lib
Finally i brought Gwen to the lib... haha.. a bit late.. Brought her to Queenstown lib.. very good.. sunday not many pp plus got free air con.. good place to escape from the heat.. BUt she was bz checking out other kids than reading books..ANd she got her own library card.. Yeh!! free one... :D Intend to bring her there every Sunday!! Time to immerse her in the world of books!! :p

Since u all were talking abt vaccines some time ago just wanna share this website. Not sure whther anyone has shared before. This website is abt this adorable baby boy IAN. He passed away at a tender age of 47 days in 2007 in US because of allergic reaction to.. (gasps!) Hep B vaccines.

Sigh.. who would have thought even Hep B vaccines can kill... now i am thinking twice if i have a 2nd kid.

http://iansvoice.org/ianslife.aspx

I just get terribly upset and tears just stream down whenever i read his blog and see all his pictures. Such an innocent and young life who suffered so much in his brief 47 days on earth and passing away from no fault of his. He did not even get a chance to step out of the hospital ..
.. Sad. Hopefully he will be in good hands in the other side of the world.

cheryl/pauline/genice,
thanks. will go and find at Bata.
i went kiddy palace (parkway) the design not good.

pauline,
yaloh. i won't be around this coming weekend.
do you want me to pass it to your mum in the evening, around 6-7 pm?

re: mindchamps
wa.. so much more expensive than uni tuition fee!!

june,
lucky everyone has the insurance coverage.

I am proud to announce that C reached the mark of 8.8 kg!! it's after her dinner of 1 banana + 1/2 avocado + cereal + yoghurt (7pm), milk feed (9pm). hoho.. i feel like i tried too hard to squeeze whatever good food into her. :p

re: bread
i made a loaf of chocolate bread with TZ (water-roux/boiled dough) + sponge-dough method.
yes. the bread is soft. hope it can last.
problem is that i tried to take the dough out and wanted to shape it, roll it. it's so soft and sticky. why is that so?
it doesn't appear sticky in the baking pan. and tested it, it passed the window pane test. what happen?

re: mindchamp
i heard it's expensive, didn't know it's so expensive!

xy
IMO, light weight but healthy is good enough. my gal is always at feather weight category also, even till now. no matter how much she eats. the only period she gains weight is during durian season. haha... she loves durian just like me.
my gal's doc always asked us not to overfeed her 'cos it's not good for the digestive system. she tends to fall sick easily whenever she ate too much food 'cos of indigestion.

Genice : I don't mind going to the library this Sunday for a library playdate. PM you my mobile. easier to contact this way.
Which library you want to go? I dunno where is Queenstown library though....

Genice - i read the baby Ian's blog.
, but where in world would the PD tell us that there's even a slight chance of allergies to Hep B vacination?? everytime with a vacinnation, they just prepare it and inject, nothing much said, and even if we question, i bet it would be the same type of response (are u insulting my intelligence?)

XY, okie, can. Thanks. You pass to my mum then. I should be there this weekend since I didn't go on Sunday. I wonder if the 20% discount for members is over. ;P

XY,
Thanks for the tang zhong link. I'm thinking of making the 17 hour bread first as tang zhong seems more time consuming.

Try Angie's Recipe, she has a few recipes using the Water Roux Starter (tang zhong).

Fresh Milk from fridge
I used to warm it too but now I just let it stand for 10 mins before offering.

DS2 has been drinking fresh/uht milk since I weaned him at 2yo, he's coming 4 now. I personally prefer fresh milk as compared to FM as it's less processed.

princessgx,
Yes, I visit her at Bedok too. Who knows, we may have met each other at the clinic without knowing ;)

Weight,
DD3 had fever on Wed night without any other symptoms, no cough/runny nose. Finally recovered from her fever on Sun and yday rashes outbreak. I think she lost some weight too as she hasn't been eating well while she was sick. Yet to weigh her but I think she's prob 8kg now?

genice,
thanks for sharing the link abt Ian. It's so sad.
Must remind myself not to get so easily frustrated with bb when he is naughty in future.

xiaoyun
shawn finally drink fm. last week my mum gave him pure fm and he drank it with no problems. when i tried giving him on fri nite, he initially refused and wanna latch on. I 'scolded' him and told him must drink his fm. then he guai guai drank :p

sunny
with 50% disc, i just buy those dresses at mothercare since i don't buy clothes for her very often.

genice
i put my gal at PAP nursery just because it's convenient for my mum.

re the link, i dare not read the post after seeing comments from u gals. frankly speaking, there are 2 sides of story re vaccines, on one hand we are afraid of the side effects and hence avoid giving to our kids; on the other hand, if we do not give the vaccines, kids may be expose to the virus, etc. my SIL told me there's a kid whose parenet did not let her take some vaccination (can't remember if it's MMR or what) because of the side effects pple are talking about. years later, her kid kana polio and blamed the mum for not giving the vaccination. really torn in between.

Sunny, what made your doc think that ur gal has been overfed?

Genice: very sad story of baby ian.. ian is such a beautiful boy, felt so sad and I couldn’t bear to read all the 47 days!! L