(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

abc,
thanks for your feedback.

can i understand more how the shoo shoos will injure the baby's feet? cos i'm thinking that it provides some protection as compared to walking bare foot?

what i read is that as babies are learning to walk, it is preferred that they do so bare foot so that they learn how to grip the floor with their toes. and if we need to wear shoes (in the event they learn to walk outdoors, on pavement, on grass etc), soft soles are preferred for this very reason that they can feel the surface that they are walking on.

bkkgal:
sob~ those clothes i buy fr spree S or M or M petite i cant wear... ok... guess i really cant buy clothes for myself online. hahahah heng they are all clearance items, if not heart pain ya.

jeannie,
yeap... we are using d60, so far so good... just that for indoor pics sometimes really depend on the lighting, so we're thinking of getting a good flash e.g. sb600 or sb800. still haven't buy yet now coz quite ex...d60 is actually a very similar model to d40 with some improvements.

if you wanna buy sony might want to see if they have a good range of lenses ? bcoz for nikon and canon they are quite well known for their dslr range and have quite good selection and variety of lenses but not sure for sony. does sony dslr uses memory stick or sd card ?

btw, how's gwen now? has her fever gone down ?

re:knocking heads
cayleb always does this too...he will knock on the wall, on my forehead, on my chin etc etc... it's actually quite painful to the adults so i can imagine that it must be painful for him too...

re: talking,
cayleb said "mam-ma" twice loudly... first time on saturday, second time yest morning... i was really happy ! hehehe... he's been humming ma ma ma since last week but not a distinct mama like what he blurted out...

apple,
i think i saw munchkin selling bpa free bowl at kiddy palace but am not sure if it has lid though...

artemis
did you receive my shipping charges top up ?
can i collect from you on friday at Sk ?

i finally moved. but down with flu. probably due to not enough rest and all the cleaning and packing to do ! sighs.

playdate cum mini xmas celeb 6dec @ seng kang (tute's home)
1)jass
2)vine_gal
3) dor
4) abcdisney
5) cheryl
6) happymum2b
7) garfield9
8) Artemis
9) xiaoyun
10) apple79
11) eliaw

hihi tute, pls add me in too! i'm ok for gift exchange!

crystal
take care

garfield
shoo shoo/soft sole shoes are only used while they r learning to walk and when they r not walking. Once they hv mastered the skill of walking, it is not suitable for them anymore as it will hurt their ankle n sole...

i-walk
http://www.bobuxusa.com/baby_shoes/I-Walk;jsessionid=0a0104451f439e8d76ca0a2e457b8614c29ad3fa0cdf.e3eSbNmQaheLe38Mby0 (pls cut and paste the link)

jass,
me also always buy the wrong size from spree. haiz... waste $. I'll stick to buying clothes for hb and ashlynn.

tute,
so good cayleb can talk. ashylnn still refuse to open her golden mouth. also dun wanna bye bye and clap. sigh...

re: knock head
ashlynn kenna knock by my buck teeth a few times alredi

abc,
ok thanks for the clarification! so i can still let arielle wear the shoo shoos then cos she not so advanced, still learning how to walk.

intend to let her wear during christmas and chinese new year =)

bx,
arielle also same same. refuse to talk.

recently, she learned how to imitate the pigeons cooing (every morning and evening, there are a lot of birds near my place). so she's making A LOT of sounds, but still nothing close to words

jeannie,
how's gwen?

RaeAnne's first word is 'Ap-ple'. Because of the Carters Apple pyjamas I bought and because ILs feed her apple everyday so she can relate to it. Nowadays, if we say apple, she will pull her shirt to look for the apple even though it's the wrong shirt. Haha.

if anybody needs ideas on what books to buy...check out:

1. sandra boynton board books including volume sets
2. sandra boynton audio CD song book - philadelphia chickens
3. dr. seuss - bright and early board books which are brilliant, audio cds are good too (arielle laughs and kicks the minute we recite the first line of each book)
4. usborne touchy feely books (arielle will pick out her favourite book from one whole pile, open it - and spend 10mins playing with the kittens in the book)

Jass
how abt giving away for xmas to friends who can wear? i ordered 1 top for myself, M regular, the armhole is big but otherwise, it's quite ok.

Knee protectors
Anyone knows where to get? Anyone tried this snazzy baby knee pads before? Reviews? i see K crawling all over the house and her knees are red and sore after that. Thought of getting this. Maybe the experienced mums can tell us if it's useful or just a waste of $$.

http://www.amazon.com/Snazzy-Baby-Knee-Pads-Princess/dp/B000ML6YM0/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&s=baby-products&qid=1227065337&sr=8-8

Gar, wait for me, i may wanna get the knee pads from amazon.

Tute
ooh cayleb getting more talkative!

jeannie
how's gwen? hope her fever's down.

bx,
your ashlynn is also v smart. no stress no stress. every baby is smart in their own way.

bkk,
my mum makes A wear a pair of long pants to protect her legs when she is on the move. but hor, A doesn't crawl, she creeps, so i think it's less painful for her knees. not sure if you wanna try

tempted to get the books!

Knee pads: Like to know if they helps too? Will it be slippery? I let her wear the leg warmers but think she had a diffuclt time crawling cos its slippery

shucks! makes me wanna spend to save now! muahahaha.

long pants/crawlers will make her hot lah. this girl perspires alot. i oso thought the extra padding is good for their kneecaps.

bkkgal:
haha thats wat i intend to u. so pack nicely into the plastic bags liao. luckily its xmas season wahaha~

bx:
ya... easier to buy for men and baby.

re: crawling,
matt still refuse to crawl properly. hahah think he couldnt be bother to crawl on fours when creeping can get him where he wanna go.

Apple
yes it does qualify but i think the free book must be one of those on promo. and the free one will be the cheapest one of the 4.

Bkk : Thanks. Silly me I tot 3 for $23.97 is cheaper as a bundle. haha its still $7.99 for each book.

Garfield: - when will u be ordering? I want to get the books

crawling
actually K was very lazy to crawl, not even wanna do the stomach thing for long long time. she only wanted to stand. i thought never mind lah, maybe she would just go to walking but suddenly last week, she decided that crawling could get her where she wants to go. everyday she just practised, starting with doing a downward dog (like a yoga pose).

i think babies are very funny wan...one day not interested, next day just decide to learn new tricks.

Tute,
I had asked Garfield to pass you my 2sets of Avent bottles during playdates at your place. I will only be able to collect from you mid Dec. I will sms you then

Garfield,
Check your email.

Bobux
I have 1 Size L bobux brand new in brown. Suitable for boys. It's a gift to my no.1 but he can't wear them as Doctor that time recommend to use Bubblegummers type of shoes. Anybody keen?

Thankful
my boy is wearing bobux now. Y dun u gv to yr bb now? Yes like wat i say lor.. bobux is not suitable for walking. Thus i recommend for soft sole shoes get up to M size unless the feet is very big then get L.

hey garfield sun2 you3,
you tempted me to get the books!!!
i actually wanted to get some books for C. can you recommend the best book for reading encouragement out of the 4 that you recommended?
i will trust your justification. let me know how much to transfer to you, k?
TIA..

re: knee pad
bkkgal,
we discussed about knee protector previously.
from the more experience mums, they are not necessarily needed.
however, i do let C wear knee protectors when she's crawling on normal floor. you can get those from departmental store/NTUC.
they are not the designs that selling at Amazon though.

btw, please give your support to my sis

Car seat/stroller accessories and organisor bag
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1892363.html?1227071009

Dining/Art Apron and Safety Item – Safety Vest, Smart Positioner, Booster, Knee Pad etc
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1892361.html?1227069610

Cutie Pacifier/Bib Clip/Shampoo Hoop/Mattress Protector
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1892362.html?1227069267

hi mummies.. i'm back

Thanks for all the concern. I was really prepared to send her to A & E already yesterday.. luckily her fever dropped but i dunno why she can vary so much last night dropped to 37.4 and by this morning feve cam back to 38.5 again.Going up and down...hopefully it will subside by tonight, if not will go seek 2nd opinion.

She is a bit clingy now.. wants to be carried all the time but ocassionally she will be good and play with u, in fact she started to learn to crawl on 4s yesterdae.. sick.. still can learn to crawl.. faintz...

Its really very tiring when kids are sick.. i cant imagine if i got twins.. and both sick at the same time.... super physically and mentally draining.

Artemis.. at first i also thot its rosella.. but she does not have spots on her body.. just pure fever.. should be viral fever.

1st time baby have such high fever.. din noe what to do..super no sense of urgency... think next time lesson learnt.. will just send her to A&E.

Thanks for the advice given by mummies here and also thru sms and even phone call. Reallly appreciate it.. makes me feel more calm... Thanks!

Re: camera

Sunny and Dawn.. i wanted to get D90 iniitally but i thinks its too pro. for me already..cause i dun even noe basics.. so just want to get something simple and suffix for beginners to pick up the functions and brush up skills. Also.. i dun want to risk spending so much and becomes a white elephant..

tut.. D60 got live view?

bx.. wow.. ur hubby atcually bought a camera for ur honeymoon!! so sweet.

Re: Baby picking up new things

Bx.. dun worry.. i think ashlynn vey smart leh.. vey good psycho motor skills compared to Gwen already..
.. she can crawl everywhere, cruise and learning to walk now.. my baby cant leh..

All babies have their own strengths.. very difficult to compare... i think let them learn at their own pace.. prob.. ashlynn will compensate and talk a lot and nag at u in the future.. :p

But i also can understand ur pt... sometimes.. i also wish my baby have the courage to stand...so fed up when 1 month passed liao.. and she still the same.. hehe...

bx/garfield,
my gal also doens't like to open her golden mouth. she only call 'da da' or 'da di' when she's happy. but it's like once every few days.

she fell last night. i made her stand beside coffee table. then i was happily taking photo of her.
then suddenly she lost balance then fell sideway.. aiyah.. bad mummy..

xiaoyun,
haha... at least carrie is "talking". ashlynn only goes eh... eee... but most of the time she is quiet. unless she wants us to carry then she will shout or cry. So far never hear proper words being articulated.

milestones
i think there is this saying that says if one's motor skills is developed faster. then speech would be at a later time. if one who is very expressive, however motor skills would be much more slower.

think is to just make up for one another.

xy.. so ur ger's 1st word.. will be daddy??

u must tell her to say mami...

bx..that means ashlynn.. got talk leh.. eh.. ee.. and shout leh.. i think most babies like that... dos ahlyn mummble to herself when she play alone??

jeannie,
glad to hear gwen is fine now. you must hv gotten a scare.

apple, bkk,
no worries - will wait for your orders. probably ordering this weekend cos i need to receive items in time for christmas

xiaoyun,
hehe...ok this sun2 you3 says that the following are worth seriously checking out. The reason being the rhythm and rhyme is very catchy and infectious so not only will Carrie enjoy it, so will mummy!! (i feel it is very important that we enjoy the book as well or it will be so boring having to read and re-read) :

1. Sandra Boynton - Going to Bed Book
2. Sandra Boynton - Snuggle Puppy
3. Dr. Seuss - Dr.Seuss's ABC (An Amazing Alphabet Book)
4. Dr. Seuss - Hop on Pop
5. Dr. Seuss - Mr. Brown can moo can you?
6. Dr. Seuss - One fish two fish red fish blue fish

For the Dr. Seuss books, do note that they come in paper back and board book versions. The board book versions are abridged so shorter than the paper back ones, but of course more lasting.

thanks garfield.. i think i will also want to buy the books u recommend...now got sale?? now US currency very strong.. heartpain to spend moeny...

baby toothbrushes
mummies! i have some OralB Stages toothbrushes, for $2.80 each. got toothbrushes for all 4 stages but only 4-5 of the stage 1 (baby, 6-24 months) one.
postage is going to be about 80cents, so unless you can collect from raffles place at lunch time, think it'll be cheaper to buy from NTUC.
Let me know if anyone is keen, then i'll go check the colour combinations and let you know what's available

jeannie,
ya lor...i regret not splurging more when USD was low.

for me, i think the books are worthwhile investments cos they can be used for a long long time (vs say clothes which they outgrow v quickly).

there's a 4 for 3 / 3 for 2 promo for dr. seuss's books now. not sure what titles apply though.

sun2 you3,
asked you for 1 and you gave me 6!!!
how? how?
which one i should get? what will be the estimated damage if i get 3?