(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

lochia:
xiaoyun, i am into my 3rd week and my lochia still also doesn't seem to end yet. i think the smell is normal. i wash my v area everyday with soap and change my pad lor.

bf:
I feel hungry between meals leh. it is a must for me to take afternoon snack and supper. it not my tummy will be growling. and i used to eat 2 spoonful of rice last time. now i can eat a whole plate full of rice. i think it is due to breastfeeding.

jeannie, not bad, ur ss has increased. in between feeds i do not pump coz i scared bb not enough at the next feed. i also started taking fenugreek but like not effect yet.

snowbelle/jas, i oso having full month celebration on 15 mar. i will just have one session. too troublesome to hold 2 sessions.

anyone can share wth me CL contact? hope to get a gd and sincere one. my CL flying kate liao...

bx
i got no choice to do it 2 days. my mum dont want to do with hubby's family. it happen when u have one traditional MIL and my mum is very modern. and furthermore after counting if do 1 day i will need to cater for abt 100+ people. so i spilt into 2 days. both sides family already 60+ people without adding our friends and colleagues. real headache

i will be doing 15mar for hubby's family only and 16mar for my family, our friends and colleagues. my hubby also dont want his friends to go his house due to his mum also talk rubbish.

qoosan, so fast yrs fly kite?
ok liao, unless now fly kite better than u popped.

jeannice/garfield
re:boi's pic
heehee.. any takers?
the pic was taken before he shaven

snowbelle
got to eat n drink plenty of water...

bm
i just now drank the remaining 20ml of the bm as my boi cant finished. i rather drink than throw away

jeanice
re: 1 bottle of ebm in fridge
well done!!
re: full month on 16th of mar
happy is doing hers on 16th too

jeannie,
hey, i oso plan to hv my gal's full mth celebration on 16th March.. haha.. ok, will update my ger's pic aft the full mth..
huh.. yes, u can check with adrian regarding the lump in ur breast..
glad that ur ss is increasing..

xiaoyun,
i face the same situation as u.. my mum always "rush" mi to hv my meals immediately after she has finished cooking.. she oso said muz eat it while it's hot.. i oso perspire after every meal.. think they did it for our own good ba..

could it be the mj session tat caused ur mil to wake up so late every morning ? maybe u wan to get ur hb to talk to her again and confirm if she is able to help u take care of ur bb aft u return to work.. otherwise, u might wan to think of other alternatives..

dor,
hey, nv ask mi hor.. next time we arrange for jeannie's ger, garfield's ger & my ger for an outing with ur boi.. see who he fancy.. haha..
Oh, oso ask vine to bring her julian along.. then my ger got 2 choices.. hahaha..

jac..i also very confused.. dunno how many of my relatives coming.. and my hse quite small.. 4room. so cannot accomodate relatives and frens but i dun care lah.. decide to split into 2 timing.. 1 from 11 am to 1 pm for relatives and from 1pm to 3 pm for frens.. if no space.. no space lor.. can stand along corridor.. corridor.. put more chairs..

Any idea when is the latest time we can confirm buffet??

xiaoyun.. my lochia.. also haven stop.. sian man.. but we same delivery dat.. so now only 2 weeks.. think 1 more week will stop already.I also wash w feminie wash and water. Then apply antibiotic cream to my wound cause previously quite painful.. but now.. the knot dropped offed already.. and my wound not painful liao. i got a bit of smell if long hrs never change pad.. but overall is ok.. How bad is ur smell?

stephie, i nv tried other caterers b4 so i dunno how's their portion like, but I usually have a lot of leftovers from YLS leh. except for that day when the drinks were finished very very early. but i think maybe nx time i can try other caterers to see the difference ba.

bx, my mattress is covered with dried milk already. no choice. i tried putting a bib, tissues handkerchief but somehow will still kena. sometimes is bcos bb spit-up, sometimes it's because my other breast leaks during feeding.

re: house getting dirty
i put up with it for first 2 weeks. hb noes i like it clean, so he helped me clean up a bit, but MIL was just so dirty. On my third week, i gathered enough strength and cleared up the place on my own. Cos i think "mental health" is impt. if the place looks good, i feel happy and my health will be better. on my 4th week, i officially discharged myself from confinement and "sent" my MIL home so I could bring my home back to order. i've given up on all confinement rules and am doing well so far.

jaslyn, i noe got this problem, so when i see that he is not reali hungry, i'll juz pass to my hb to coax him to sleep

snowbelle, i got no epidural, but i used so much strength pushing plus with so little rest that my body had aches everywhere and this pain has remained since then.

tute, i haf problems burping him, so he regurgitates a lot and always dirty my/his clothes so have to change many times. i think don't shine strong light directly. normal light should be ok

andrea, at least yrs is in the day. i get that every nite!

winnie, i purely latch on and pump once a day for freezing ebm. bb feeds for only 10 mins each time and can keep full for averagely 2.5hours. i believe that our SS will always be enough to meet bb's needs so u all shouldn't worry too much. bb is growing well, passing motion, passing urine... indicates he is eating enough. i think adults always get too worried that bb is not eating enough, but i guess we should be confident of what we have been made for in nature. my hb going reservist end of the month... i've been handling bb alone without help for 2 weeks liao. it's actually quite alright

re: nepia
so far no leakage but when it's full, bb's clothes will also become damp and have to change. size is also weird cos it's tight at the thighs but loose at the waist... unless my bb got thick legs thin waist la.

piglettail, i don't always wear nursing bras. even for normal bra also quite convenient for feeding. just pull the whole cup down.

garfield, it's the same for me. cos bb can smell our milk... usually when i think he's not reali hungry, i pass to my hb. if he stops "looking hungry" means he is not really hungry. but if he still opens his mouth etc, then i'll feed him.

re: clothes
i wear some of my loose fitting/stretchable clothes or simply squeeze into some clothes. don't wanna wear maternity clothes cos it doesnt make me feel good. don't wanna buy clothes of my current size cos still hoping to lose weight (10kg more to go!) went shopping but only bought bags/shoes/accessories.

goodbbb,i use nappy liner and i use only 5-6 diapers a day, less than most mummies here, so i guess it does help.

re: bringing bb out alone
i've brought bb out alone many times already. yesterday brought him for haircut. very troublesome cos i have to spend half hour strapping him in/out of the car seat. setting up/closing the pram and carry in and out of the boot when it's 10kg. with so much activity, i'm always drained at the end of the day... haha

re: bond with bb
cos i'm all alone with bb 90% of the time, so no strange feeling. in fact after 3 weeks, carrying/feeding has become very easy already.

i'll be doing bb shower on 21 mar. prob split up into lunch, tea and dinner for diff grp of relatives and frens. luckily its a long weekend.

thanks for all your encouragements and tips on dealing with cl and mil

xiaoyun,
can emphatise with your situation..guess too much or too little attention is bad, we need a good balance of both. i think for the both of us we need to communicate to our IL on the amout of caregiving help we need. althou i must say it's difficult for us as DILs, to speak about such topics..

Qoosan.. when is ur EDD?? My CL is ok.. but she not so pro on breastfeeding.. she wil prefer formula milk at night lah..U ok??

hey gers.. my frens wanna buy diapers for my baby.. but i dunnow what brands to buy.. Of course i want cheap and good.. Can do a quick survey again??

Diapers(Cheap and good for daytime)
1)Drypers.. ithot drpers ok?? ( Jeannie)
2) Fitti

Diapers(Cheap and good for nighttime)
1)

Diapers ( Not cheap but good)
1)Mammy Poko ( Jeannie)

Diapers ( Lousy or leak after long hrs)
1)Nepia after long hrs , cannot be used for overnight. ( jeannie)

Help me k.. and we can all use this as reference

share with u all some pics of my bb's first month...

Jerome's room full of presents...
1284265.jpg

Jerome before his haircut
1284266.jpg

Jerome after his shave
1284267.jpg

garfield,
my son is like that too...most of the time i spent with him is to (1)nurse him (2)clean up his mess i.e. diapers or when he throws up (3) putting him to sleep (4) catching up with sleep...told my hb i'll go nuts if continue like this. can't imagine next week when hb go back to work, night time will be mostly me...kept thinking maybe am not ready for motherhood...

june,
yeah...it's kinda tiring having to clean up the mess everytime...my son somehow throws up quite often too at least once a day...tiring leh, esp. when it happens at night...

re: bb zz
last night my baby tortured her poor parents, he woke up around 8pm and only went to sleep at 11pm, by midnight he woke up again and kept us awake till 2.30am ! sigh...nowadays very difficult to put him to sleep and he's a light sleeper some more...when will his sleeping pattern change ?? he always needs to be pat or rock to sleep otherwise he'll just keep his eyes open...

re: post natal blues,
mine came back 2 days ago with a vengeance and i just broke down in front of hb...can't wait till bb is big enough to bring out, nowadays really troublesome coz always need to carry him plus bf-ing is also troublesome.

re:lochia
mine still have a bit after 4 weeks, read that can be up to 6 weeks.

tute, i juz put my bb down and put 2 waterproof bibs under. at least won't dirty the mattress, but clothes still muz change.

ya bfding outside reali troublesome. yesterday out of 2 hours i spent at united square, one hour was spent feeding and changing diapers. was telling my hb that waste a lot of parking charges doing all these things.

jeannie,
i m a strong supporter of Pampers.. only use this brand for both my son & ger, both day & nite..

2) Fitti

1)

1)Mammy Poko ( Jeannie)
2)Pampers (Happymum2b)

dor,
haha...okie i support freedom of choice! let the bbs choose amongst themselves =)

june,
wow - you mean you can bring bb out on your own? steady girl!! well done!!

qoosan,
these are the contacts highly recommended by my friends - they were fully booked for Feb08 so i haven't tried them out personally. but my friends used them a 2nd time round for bb no.2 so i assume shld be pretty ok

+60167482148 - ya yi
90227779 - mdm yue

june, u very funny. "sent" ur mil home. mine cfm that she will only leave after my bb's full month. right now i still dun dare to start cleaning up the house coz i scared she gets offended.

dyeing of hair:
can we dye hair if we are breastfeeding? or is it must pump out the milk and throw away? wanna look presentable during the bb's full month celebration.

taka baby fair:
anyone going tomorrow evening?

2) Fitti

1)

1)Mammy Poko ( Jeannie)
2)Pampers (Happymum2b, cheryl)

2) dryper not only cant use long hr, n it make my son thigh with red lines.. (cheryl)

jeannie,

re drypers - i find it's really no good. absorbency wise ok, but the material is very stiff. causes a lot of red marks on my gal's thighs, machum very sore.

i find nepia not bad, cheap and good for daytime (assuming a change every 3,4 hours).

garfield, haha everytime i bring him out, ppl will stare at us weirdly cos he looks so tiny they wonder why am i bringing him out on my own.

bx, after 2 weeks i told her she can go home at nite since i'm latching on so no need her to look after. then after 3 weeks we told her no need to do housework and no need to cook. then she found she got nothing to do so she just automatically stopped coming lor. but i guess she was quite hurt and i felt quite bad about it. but hb says it's better this way cos she'll know how we work and will do things our way next time and all will be happy.

i went for a haircut b4 the first month that's all...

bx
better don't dye hair if you are BF. if really want to, probably you wanna throw away the BM after the dye.

xiao yun
what stinko smell you mentioned?

garfield
NB's routine is just like what you mentioned: sleep, drink, poo, pee. those poster bb should be more than 3 mth old liao....

re: feeding pattern
anyone can share the bb's feeding pattern? my boy's feeding is really in mess. 1 hr, 2 hr, sometimes, half hr! so tired....

2) Fitti
3) petpet, NTUC (sunny)

1) pet pet (sunny)

1)Mammy Poko ( Jeannie)
2)Pampers (Happymum2b, cheryl, sunny)

2) dryper not only cant use long hr, n it make my son thigh with red lines.. (cheryl)
3) dry5(sunny) - it can't hold BF bb's poo which is more watery.

1)Drypers.. i thot drpers ok??Erm not sure cause my cl change diapers not me leh.. paiseh ( Jeannie)
2) Fitti
3) petpet, NTUC (sunny)

1) pet pet (sunny)

1)Mammy Poko ( Jeannie)
2)Pampers Active?/Dry? (Happymum2b, cheryl, sunny)

1)Drypers.. i thot drpers ok??Erm not sure cause my cl change diapers not me leh.. paiseh ( Jeannie)
2) Fitti
3) petpet, NTUC (sunny)
4) Drypers (stephie - so far ok leh. used it for overnite too.)
5) EQ (stephie)

1) pet pet (sunny)
2) EQ (stephie)

1)Mammy Poko ( Jeannie)
2)Pampers Active?/Dry? (Happymum2b, cheryl, sunny)

yeap, I think now i need to reduce the times i am pumping, cos my baby just cried murder again justnow....

But i really wonder, isn't it a cycle, i mean she is alawys too tired to draw from breast, then i top up with EBM.... But if i dont pump and if she has not enough from breast, then where do i find the EBM for her????

but guess i better stop pumping between feeds, sigh, cos CL gave me that kind of look again why i am making baby suffer with me....

bx,
For bb full month, I heed Stephie's advise... going to hold 2 sessions, lunch and dinner... at least like that can chitchat with friends longer and won't worry so much about too many ppl come at the same time...

Stephie,
Any food to recommend from Gim Poh's menu? Do they give a lot in term of quantity?

Gim Poh's menu,
Can't remember who ask for their menu... I gotten their email liao... if anyone wants, can email to me...

lochia,
My lochia has been very little only and past few days have turn brown liao... then suddenly today it increased more than usual... red one... really scared me... luckily my mom ard, said it's normal... hope so...

bb hair cut,
Any idea where we can take bb to shave her head in SengKang area?

Dor,
no appetite... how to eat... the red date tea prepared by my mil is tasteless one...

hppymum2b,
When my mom cooks, she also rush me to have my meals immediately... usually after I eat her food will perspire one... my mil's food... nothing happened... usually cold-cold one, not hot at all... can't see ginger... can;t taste the seseam oil at all... Next time 2nd one, definitely must get a CL liao... or at least ask my mom to do it full time for me...

june, u lucky coz ur hubby is supportive of ur decision. think my hubby will prefer to have his mother around. hiaz...

ok, i think i better dun dye hair liao. maybe juz get pedicure done.

2) Fitti
3) petpet, NTUC (sunny)

1) pet pet (sunny)

1)Mammy Poko ( Jeannie)
2)Pampers (Happymum2b, cheryl, sunny)

4) PetPet - leak and cant tahan overnight. I changed 3 last nite (jaslyn)

Happy: Sure will bring Julian out if we have next gathering.

2) Fitti
3) petpet, NTUC (sunny)
4) Drypers (stephie - so far ok leh. used it for overnite too.)
5) EQ (stephie)
6) Nepia (Vine_Gal)

1) pet pet (sunny)
2) EQ (stephie)
3) Nepia (Vine_gal)

1)Mammy Poko ( Jeannie/ Vine_Gal)
2)Pampers Active?/Dry? (Happymum2b, cheryl, sunny, Vine_Gal)

sunny,
the smell seems like from my lochia. very fishy.. but it has already turned brown color.
i've tried to change my pads more often. but still....

happy,
i am not sure if it's the mj make her so tired. but she doesn't play mj everyday. yet she look very tired everyday. she only appear to be very energetic when playing mj. hai.. what can i say?
i hinted to her that day time give bb ebm and night time i will directly latch. whenever bb hungry, she also wait till very long then come and carry her. then just keep saying that 'ne ne coming...' waiting for me to heat up the ebm. then what's the difference for me to latch on? then when bb dirty her diaper, she will also wait for me to change diaper. initial plan was to let her do day shift while i do night shift. now i am doing the 24 hour shift.

so, what she's doing now is preparing red dates tea near noon time (when I have already finished about 3-4 cups of plain water), bathe bb, preparing lunch for me at about 1 pm. i am now quite independent. i think after confinement, i will just cater my lunch and shift back to my own place. so uncomfortable staying at my PIL place now...

winnie - yes i'm full latching on, not that i'm purist or anything, but so far too lazy to express, sterilise bottle, store, thaw etcetc. also i had a very painful time learning how to bf in my 1st week, so now i figure latch on more to make the pain more 'worth it'.. haha.. i agree with you, it's super siong, esp night feeds. now i'm wondering - do i dare to bf in public? how does everyone do it? really just sit down & latch on ah? my bb struggles & cries a lot, will end up showing too much a not? hehe

june - how did you ask your MIL to go ah? my mom comes over everyday but she don't stay the night cos i tell her no need since i'm latching on. but i'm really thinking of asking her not to come over everyday lah. her excuse is that she must cook lunch & dinner for me - how do you manage your meals? do u cook?

lastly, any stay at home moms here?

for the diapers feedback, can anyone help to provide the information of how much per piece for difference brands of diapers?

vernon
can get EQ from giant or sheng shiong.

winnie
if you want to increase your supply, the best is the latch on by demand. ignore what your CL's commenting, just do the best you can for bb. jia you.

xiao yun
your episiotomy wound recover fully already? after every pee/poo, wash the bottom and make sure it's dry before you wear your panties.
can't really help on the per pc price for diapers. 'cos i seldom use NB size diaper. now 100% cloth nappy except when we need to bring the bb out.

wow i just read that some of you have gone out alone with baby, to cut hair somemore.. respect. i dont dare. my bb now quite 'mang zang', no reason will suddenly cry v loud one. i don't have confidence that i can soothe her down. i also desperately need a haircut & highlight but can't figure out the logistics..

sunny,
my wound have not recover totally. i use the antiseptic wash with cotton ball after i pee.

re: cloth nappy
i tried to introduce cloth nappy. but it's so difficult cos bb poo so many times. as i am doing confinement, i dare not let my mil wash all those soiled nappies. think will do it after confinement.

btw, how often do you all put on diaper rash cream (desitin for my case)? found out that my mil doesn't put it everytime after she bathe bb. scared that bb got diaper rash.

xiaoyun
what i do was using cool boiled water to wash the bottom, tap dry and use solution with cotton ball to clean the wound after pee. so far, the smell was not stinko.
btw, does your wound still hurt like day 1? if yes, mayb need to check with your gynae whether it's infected.

i also desperately need to highlight my hair as i got alot of grey hair. i will be going to salon next fri as im doing full mth on 15 & 16 mar so want to look nice. luckily i have CL to look after bb.

i'm a first time mum, gave birth to my boy on 15 Feb, hence currently he's abt 3 weeks now. Need some advice on feeding amt. May i know how much milk are your babies drinking and how much should we increase week by week? Currently my boy is drinking 80-90ml ebm or fm every feed (3 hourly interval), not sure if i'm feeding him too much cos sometimes he'll make wheezing noises and breathed very loudly, like have a hard time trying to finish the 90ml...

hi everyone, after a nap, i have decided to reduce the number of times of pump to 4 times a day in 24 hours....... cos i really worried it is because my breast is emptied after a pump and she is not satisfied that is why she is crying so badly......

But think still need to pump a bit cos hor, if need to supplement there is still some available, if totally no pump, then if she needs supplement then i will be in trouble....

hi yanyen,

i oso delivered on 15 feb. my girl is drinking abt 90ml ebm (2 -3 hr interval). i thinking the heavy breathing is normal coz she has that too. like difficulty in breathing.

i will probably try giving her 100 ml next week. As for direct latch on, i have no control so i just feed on demand.