(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi ladies...

im getting very sad about my bf-ing.

i spend 40min trying to bf, bb is probably only sucking for 16min (8min per breast) during this time cos he keeps falling asleep and im struggling to latch him on, wake him up etc...

i set a time limit of 40min for myself and will stop after that. bb will be asleep for 20-30min and wakes again. cl/mil will make him FM and he can finish a full feed.

i have come to terms with the demoralising comments EACH AND EVERYTIME from cl/mil after my bf session ("bb still hungry hor? auntie/grandma make u milk milk...")cos it's a fact. the FM will keep him full for 3hrs, exactly the same results when he's on total FM from 11pm-6am.

but im just wondering what is wrong...how can my bb be able to take a full FM feed almost immediately after bf?? althou my ss is low, it can't be as thou he didn't drink anything at all right?

i tried expressing whenever i miss a feed cos cl will rush to make FM if im not hovering around waiting to 'snatch' bb during feed time (this is another major irritating part that i have yet to resolve, i dunno what's her problem??! trying to make her life easier i suppose, yet at same time keep asking me to bf--when she is too busy to care for bb at that moment....!!%$&^*&*) i can get about 60-70ml from both side. not alot but surely it should be able to sustain him for at least an hr or so? (he's taking 90ml FM per feed now)

sorry gals, just needed to pour my frustrations here... and seek advise if im doing this bf issue correctly.

Bras
do we have to wear nursing bras as long as we r breastfeeding (even partially)? cos the nursing bra cups are so huge and straps are so thick, none of my clothes for going out can "cover" them up! unless i wear t-shirts but i only have 2-3 of these. even my maternity clothes cant cover up cos most have rather low necklines.

Any advise?

piglettail, i actually dun plan to wear nursing bra. as you mentioned, most of my clothes can't hide it. so if i am bringing bb out, i will probably bring along EBM or FM. so that i dun have to latch her on outside.

hi kelly, realised tat me name is out of the list for purchase of goat rue. kindly add in for me thanks. i have transferred 28.56 to you posb account. transaction no: 1602800293. thanks.

piglettail... dont worry you are not alone.

I try to keep to 20 min each breast as the actual sucking is only around 10min....

U can consider pumping out, if baby still cries after latch on, then quickly shove EBM to baby. this is what i do...

cos now CL though encourage bf, but she hates me latch and pump at the same time. so everytime baby still cries after feed, she will say cos my breast empty after pump, so baby cant drink enough... this kind of word makes me feel bad too. but never mind, i just give EBM loh.... it is my milk too. i will just push on till the day, when i can no longer provide enough for her...

Any mum out there just do latching???? cos my CL kjust keep insist that latch is good enough.... SS will also increase simply by latching....

Piglet, dun despair. Beginning my mil and mom also keep sayin baby hungry, not enuff is it. My hb helped me. Explained to them tt baby is gettin enuff, no of diapers prove it. He will shoo them away when i bf. Now they Quite understanding and supportive. persevere on ok? Dun give up. If need to vent, just come here.

Xiaoyun,
How's the PIS advanced? You got from amazon.com is it?

Piglettail,
Same here. My mom still attributes bb crying to "not enough milk". At least she thinks it's bcos bb falls asleep at my breast, she hasn't said that it's bcos mummy has not produced enough milk. Just ignore them....

IMHO i think bbs a bit like gold fish - give them milk they will drink cos they like suckling something (be it a tit, or breast, or pacifier). that's how most FM bbs end up being overfed.

agree with garfield. bbs dun know when to stop cos they have the sucking reflex. It becomes a vicious cycle cos the more FM u give, the more the bb will take.

garfield,
i got my PIS advanced from babycentre.
would like to recommend http://www.hackleyhme.com/

it's selling USD 230 if I not wrong.

so far, i dno't regret buying it. it saves my time of pumping.

pigletatil: dun be frustrated, i'm oso facing same prob as u.. bb falls asleep after 10 min when i'm trying to bf him. Used to top up w FM after BF. but now i have decided to be persistent and just let him latch on. Haha I'm noy producing enuff milk too. Coz he will demand for milk after 1 hour so its quite tiring sometimes. I guess my ss has increased over the days although when I pump out I can only get 20ml tog. So I guess if he dont have enough to fill his stomach, he will cry for milk milk. Jusr do what you can for bb ok

winnie.. when i express.. i dont see blood coming out from the cracked nipple so i guess it's alrite.. that's partly why i stopped letting him latch on.. cos if he latch on directly and bite too hard and swallow blood from my nipple i wont know.. at least with expressing i can monitor..

pigletail, I think nursing bras are for ease of BF, so if you dont need that (do you bf bb when you are outside?) then just a regular bra will do I guess? I have the same problems with BF bras too, I wear them at home casue its comfy and convenient, but I really need to get some regular bras soon, cause now I cant fit into my old bras at all.

bx, my bb drinks around 100ml every 2 hourly at 2 weeks+ (currently). We feed FM in the night (so he can slepe longer, plus I dont have enuf BM to tbf) and 100ml of FM can last him from 3-4hrs on the average.
Yar, its also my experience with both my kids that they almost always fall asleep atthe breasts and there is no way u can monintor how much intake. Feedings are more regulated and far apart when they take EBM, thats an advantage of EBM I guess.

hi.. i'm new to the forum, delivered my bb gal in mid feb, she's 3 weeks old now.

bx - i hv the same frustration as you. my mom comes over to help me (no CL) but she likes to fry a lot of food and my kitchen now everyday got the cooking oil & fish smell even though she said she wipe. previously i used to love sitting on my kitchen floor to drink my morning coffee, but now the whole kitchen has been taken over, i miss my private space so much..

winnie - i do full latch on, havent tried expressing at all cos i was worried that bb wont know how to latch on after. so far seems bb has enough, i latch her on 1 breast only for 15-20 min each feed, then her next feed is 1.5hr - 2hr later. i figure if not enuff, she will just wake up earlier and feed more often.. i think our bodies will know how to generate enough BM to supply our bbs...?

xiaoyun,
thanks for the recommendation. any problems with the voltage ah? cos US and SG standards are different. i'm tired of spending half hour pumping with my manual pump =P

Garfield, i very jia lat, i latch already, then quickly assemble and pump, but by the time i finish pumping, i am only 1 hour from the next latching..... cos her feeding is now 2 hours apart... so CL thinks i am a weirdo.

Eileen, I c, the first time i see blood when i pump, i cried.... cos i thot that is the end. but i stand by Avent Cream, very good to cure.

Oscarthegrouch, oh you do fully latch on.... at night really siong right....

my bb seems to cry when i carry her. very frantic and always groping for my breasts. when my mum or hubby carry her she seems to be more ok. dunno why =(

Kelly, sorry, need to drop my order, cos hubby is really slow in doing the transfer, dont want to drag others orders.

Garfield, Cl says cos when we carry we smell like food to baby... thats why they behave like birdie, searching

Winnie,
no lah - i do that too, but not after every feed...only if i feel that bb has not emptied my breasts and they still feel full. if my breasts are like jello after the feed then i don't pump liao.

oic...so if bb cries and roots for our breasts when we carry her, how do i know if she's really hungry or not? my mom keeps thinking my bb is still hungry but i'm not sure cos she only roots when i carry her *roll eyes*

Garfield.... my CL will just carry her and tickle her mouth, if she opens means she wants to eat hehee.

at least it is your mum, you can explain to her... if MIL then *faint*

winnie
no worries. how abt i move u 2 batch 3?

Goat's Rue at USD19.05 per bottle (excluding domestic & international shipping AND local postage + envelope)

Batch 1 - order placed on 4mar
1) annabelle PAID
2) annabelle
3) annabelle
4) garfield9 (postage) PAID
5) garfield
6) bx PAID
7) snowbelle PAID
8) snowbelle
9) dor11 PAID
10) dor11
11) happymum2b PAID
12) vine_gal PAID

Batch2
1) star70 (postage)
2) star70
3) jaslyn (postage) PAID
4) blurspark (postage) PAID
5) bkkgal (postage) PAID
6) goodbaby
7) kelly
8) kelly
9) eliaw PAID
10)jeannie PAID
11)jeannie
12)eileengoh (postage)

Batch3
1) winnie (postage)
2) winnie
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)

thanks for your encouragement!

yes, the 'signal' cl uses to test if bb is full is by putting her finger near the corner of his mouth...if he opens his mouth or starts behaving restless, she'll conclude that he's hungry and make FM for him.

Garfield,
I totally agree with the goldfish theory!i think my bb is being overfed but can't really do much about it. cos he does keep quiet after being fed FM. being a 1st time mum, im unsure if what im doing is correct. cl seems to have a great way of keeping bb under control hence i dun really dare to 'challenge' her. :p

Berry,bx,
Bras
oic, so nursing bras are solely just for ease of breast feeding? i was under the impression that as long as we are bf-ing, we can't wear regular bras with underwire as it will cause blocked milk ducts? or i should i get some regular non-underwired bras instead?

hb is planning for an outing with our friend (outside) the next day after my confinement ends...*horror* i simply feel a mess and look a mess now. dun have clothes to wear out (i can't go out now to buy right?) and i cant even hold bb properly. the thought of the impending outing stresses me out ah...

kelly, it is ok, cos he is very "nua", so i think better drop my order first....

piglettail, i dont even know what i can wear for baby shower.... I wear nursing bra from perfect mum, make it very loose and open it to air...

garfield,
yes. you need to buy a adapter to convert the voltage.
since your friend is going to help you, why don't you buy some membrane to standby? it's very ex here.

piglet,
don't be too upset.
me too feeling very messy now. don't have anything nice to where. felt lousy going out, especially now with stinko smell on myself.
all those messiness will be over soon...

anyone feeling as bloated and bz as i am? I'm so bz w feeding and changing diapers then my mum will be forcing red date tea lah, tonic soup lah (2-3 bowls per day) and lots of confinement food down my throat. she won't take no for an ans. cant leave these food overnight too. its worst esp now tat i'm now doing the massage and has a binder on thw whole day.

piglettail,
take a few hrs off to go to hair salon and get a pedicure =) outsource caregiving to someone. you'll feel better. can go out la...i was at parkway 10 days after deluvery =P

pigletail, actually I was also moping abit earlier about the lack of clothing to wear cause I am hoping to start going out this or next week with bb. All my pre-2nd-bb clothing cant fit at all, and I definitely dun wanna wear my maternity clothes. I think, if I feel desperate enough, I am gonna go and do some shopping by myself real soon.
Bras- If your BF is establish and you are not particularly prone to blocked milk ducts, then shdnt be a problem I think? I remember wearing only underwire bras when I am out when I was bf my DD.

garfield, haha great minds think alike! actually just this morning I was thinking of gg for a pedi with bb in my sling sometime next week when my DD is in school. If he is hungry I can feed him w/o having to get up, but wat if he poops?! Its not like I can schedule my pedi aroond his pooping time since I also dunno when he will poop. Hmm.... let me figure this one out lol.

berry,
haha! you are damn solid la =) i can just picture you with sling and all at the salon!

hmm...is yr bb fussy abt dirty diapers? i know some bbs have super high tolerance.

i'm still wearing my maternity clothing *sulk* cos hv 6kg / 3 inches more to lose. sigh...

garfield
u bring bb out in sling alone??
i thinking of going to do rebonding and some shopping with bb, but scare i cant cope when bb cries for milk.. haha i wan to look better when i go to work ah... wan to dye and rebond. :D

talking abt weight, i dun even knw hw much i lose cos no weighing machine... but hor, definitely i cant fit into my pre-preg clothes..

cheryl,
no la not me. it's berry. i just carry her out lor, but with hubby. and only to shopping centres with nursing rooms cos i can't BF in public.

dor, I smsed u liao.

vernon's mum, when bb cries, u just stop anywhere w a bench n prepare FM can liao. BBs aare beri easy to bring out esp if u sling them, cause if u sling them, they'll end up sleeping most of the time.

garfield, dun give me credit for something I havent done yet haha. :p

actually hor, my gynea tells me I cant drive for a month, now I am just into week 2. But I think I will drive soon cause I know a few others who did so at week 2 hehe.

piglettail, i think better go for non-underwired bra. coz i think underwire can cause blocked ducts.

i have also sneaked out a few times during my confinement liao.

and i intend to go to taka baby fair this fri. will plead with my mil to let me go. and i will ensure i have pumped enough milk for her to feed the bb when i am out.

berry, u mean we can't drive for one month after delivery? i am actually planning to drive this fri if i am going to the baby fair. i am into week 3 this fri.

Berry u r using MIM sling right? I have watch the dvd several times but still could not figure out how to sling bb cos i tried once and he is uncomfortable.

<font color="ff0000">Baby fair will be starting from 6 Mar 08 - 23rd Mar 08 at Takashimaya. Babycare festival at Spore Expo Hall 6B from 21 Mar to 23 Mar</font>

I also wanted to go to salon to do my hair, rebonding and trim my hair. I dun want to look like aunty, I wanted to look more like beautiful mum!

winnie,
i'm doing full latch when it comes to feeding. only time i pump is when my breast feels a bit engorged as the flow will be too strong for my baby. so far seems ok coz baby pee/poo quite a lot and he's gaining weight as per last visit to pd.

piggletail,
dun think you have to wear nursing bra, getting a non-underwired bra should be good enough. if i'm not wrong, underwired bra is not encouraged coz can cause blocked ducts

re: dirty diapers,
my baby has very high tolerance with dirty diapers...think he feels it's warm ?

re: cloth diapers,
i initially intend to use cloth diapers for the first month for my baby but i'm giving up soon ! he got very cranky this afternoon because i had to change his wet diaper in the middle of his sleep and just 5 minutes after i change him, he pee again !!
and it also dirty my clothes...sigh, so stress...told hubbie i'm stress enuff as it is, dun want to add dirty diapers in the list... anybody tried huggies diapers ? any good ? think it is slightly cheaper than mp

re: loosing weight,
was pleasantly surprised to see i've got 4.5kg more to go to my pre-pregnancy weight ! though i think it doesn't matter much coz my hip and bust size totally change...in the end i bought some nursing tops for going out.

feeding interval

my bb feeds every 1.5 hrs sometimes and can tahan 4-5 hrs other times. is this normal? not sure if i should wake her up during those long stretches cos she doesn't sleep much so don't really want to disturb her sleep

hi ladies...

hmm..i dun even dare step out of house with bb for 1 minute! now bb is still very much like a 'foreign entity' to me althou technically i carried him for 9months and gave birth to him. does anyone share my feelings?

cos bb is asleep most of the time and wakes for very short periods. during his wakeful time, all other members of household will be rushing to carry him. my only time with him is my bf time, which is hardly any 'fun' time cos i'll be struggling with bf. immediately after my bf, im expected to carry him out of my room and 'return' him to the arms of cl/mil. also i'll be too tired and stressed to want to carry him at this point, but i want to practise carry him...say in 15mins time? but by then he'll have either fallen asleep or someone will be carrying and playing with him already.

i felt so sad about not having the chance to carry him that i cried several times over this.

i just wonder...is this my child or everybody elses' BUT MINE?

it is only when everyone is busy then they expect me to be able to care for him like a pro immediately (carry/change diaper/bf). seems like i have to suit everybody else' timming and be on the last in queue to touch my own baby.

nursing bra - my nursing bra from LaSenza is underwired.. only realised after i bought it.. i wear only when i need to walk around.. when i'm resting, i take it off.. my SIL just told me need to take care of our boobs.. cos it'll become saggy.. omg.. first it's tummy, now it's boobs.. sigh..

membrane - just checked the price at Robinsons.. cost $30 for the membranes.. very ex.. how often do we need to change the membranes?

gar - u feeding on demand rite? so it's normal.. eh, i decided to go for the bb massage class at KKH.. anyone else interested?

piglettail - ya.. i have this problem also.. everybody rushing to carry.. guess it's like dat.. can't be help.. so when anyone wants to carry, go ahead.. i'll just take the time to rest..

Stephie - all the while, i'm wiping dry all the bottles n pumps.. so there's no need to wipe dry rite? so when we store EBM, the pump n bottles are wet w water, it's ok to freeze.. u get what i'm saying?

bx, mine is C-sect delivery, not natural mah.

vine gal, if you dont sling bb snugly, bb will sure be uncomfortable. So learning to sling can be tricky at first, thats why better master before bb is too big, caue the bigger a wriggly bb is, the harder to practise. Just gotta keep practising till u get it right. I tried like 300x before I got it right. :p

garfield, I wouldnt wake bb just to feed unless maybe its near bedtime and u wan to feed bb before u go to bed.

pigletail, wow no wonder u feel this way.
Maybe u wanna be more assertive with your CL since she is paid help and hence u should be the boss if anyone is? As for your mil, could you be more assertive too, but politely so? As in just tell her firmly but very nicely that you wanna carry your bb and just carry and maybe disappear into your room to bond w bb while bb is awake? I think its your maternal instincts lor, I am the sort who is not keen on anyone (esp strangers, even nurses at hosp haha, thats why I had my bb room in with me all 24 hours from 2nd day onwards after I could walk slightly when drip is removed :p) carrying/handling my newborn if its unnecessary. You shouldnt need to feel like you are in queue for the baby you carried for 9mths and birthed.

piglettail,
me too... sometimes, i think this is not my son cos my mil is forever carry him. only return him to me when need tolatch on n nite time. sian.

eliaw,
re: bb massage class
me/vine/happy/blue are interested.

I like wat Berry said. A lact. consultant at hospital told me to be possessive abt my baby. Don't let other pp take over her. i think that's good advice.

Swaddle cloth
hb bought extra swaddle cloth from TMC. Told him to buy 1, he bought 4 pcs. Anyone keen to take over from me? It's $13 for 2 pieces.

my confinement is finally over. but still on confinement food for another 10 days.

re: full month
got cupcakes/ cake vouchers

garfield.. u only have 6 more kg to lose?? so good!!

So far.. i only lost 8 kg leh.. atill got 8-9 kg more to lose.. jia lat

Dear mummies.. just to check.. did u all lose alot of weight by full month.. sigh.. with all the oily confinement food.. i dun think i can lose further leh... think only after confinement then can lose by exercising.