(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

qingling,
was shopping for a present for A yesterday and almost bought the dora laptop! jus that it was too ex and i find it too bulky to bring to the hospital. perhaps will buy for her another time coz i kinda like it too.

i din know jaundice and blood type got relation. interesting... hope jaundice stay over from lil H.

A has not been sleeping well, esp these 2 weeks. not sure if she can sense #2 coming. sometimes i wonder if she understands that i have a baby in my tummy. i think she will be in a state of shock when she sees didi.

gar,
i hope A will get all the attention. dun wan her to feel left out. i will try not to carry #2 too much except for breastfeeding time. actually i am also afraid that A will refuse to go cc when she sees didi at home with us.

I think as my edd approaches, i am worrying a lot. went for checkup yesterday and was told that bb engaged already at 36 weeks plus. dunno will take how long before i deliver. i think i better be on standby.

bx-i also gave in to the price after much hesitation but after seeing her so emotional for so many days,i decided its perhaps worth it,actually I got another wooden counting toy prior to that cos I always wanted to buy toys which have better educational values..Hee..but then I noe that toy will not interest Heidi,so later min I went to shop for an alternative toy.

u better be on standby already given ur first one so fast, r u on ml liao?but dun worry unnecessary,take care ya

Tks for mummies for the well wishes from bb hayden,who tekan mummy from 8pm to 2am, then mummy too tired,reject hayden back to the nursery for a gd night sleep,then the sleepyhead decided to sleep from 2am until now still refused to wake up!zzzzz

CONGRATS QL! Glad it was a smooth delivery for you. Dun worry abt Heidi - like Gar said, the attention to #2 in my case also less than attention to #1. The grandparents tend to favor #1 because they have more "relationship" ties to her.

I just came back from Penang. Took a short trip to get away from the stress of maid issue etc etc. Hb and bb didn't go, only me and K and my parents with aunties. But K caught a bad cough and cold just before we went. She had to be put on nebuliser.
She's still recovering but at least she has medication. NOw, baby also kena bad chesty cough and runny nose. Is there any medication or home remedy I can give to SM? She's very poor thing, latch oso cough, sleep oso cough. Cough until wake up very pekchek. I see her like that very heart pain cos there's no medication I can give her.

hi stephie.

oh yes, i check wif my SIL who told me the same. 2 bad, near my dad's place, dun hv. if not, i would wan 2 put Cayenne. guess i will hv 2 put her in playgrp 1st.

today very quiet. me going out for lunch and shopping with my gal friends. enjoy life before #2 pops. see u gals ard later!

qingling,
congrates.
saw your pic on fb. you look great!!

tong,
the boss is married with kids around the age of secondary school. she has a different mentality with us who born in the year of 70/80+.

bkk,
must be very heartpain to see SM suffer.

bx,
enjoy yourself!
i wanted to go out orchard walk walk with hb. but now too tired because of naughty C tired me out over the weekend.

MUMMIES HELP!!
please please please assure me this is just a phase...
C has been extremely grouchy recently. don't want to wear clothes, don't want to comb hair, don't want to wear shoes. and she purposely do the things we told her not to. e.g., suck thumb, put coins in the mouth, throw food out of the bowls onto table/floor.
she's still very good girl 2 weeks ago and we thought that we already help her kick the habit of sucking thumb. but now she will give us the 'evil smile' before doing things the she's forbidden! and she accidentally swallowed a 10ct coin yesterday afternoon. now what we can do is only to wait for her to pass it out from her body.

what happened to her? teething? hot weather? or attention seeking? terrible 2 phase?

hi ladies...

my new FDW came yesterday... this one is ex-SIN, speaks fantastic English! looks very "bright", i must really monitor this one.

my inadequacies in household matters showed thru immediately with this new FDW, D. It appeared in the previous household she worked they had separate cleaning cloths for toilet, floor, separate sponges for cleaning toilet (this one me too), kitchen sink and washing dishes. for my previous FDW she only used 2 cloths and 2 sponges for all of the above. partly becos that's how my MIL does it (i think) and i didn't supervise and know better (i know...i'm a lazy wife/mistress of the house ;p). cos with the 1st FDW we were still staying with IL for a good 4 months hence she was supposed to be trained by MIL...when I'm at IL's place I'm totally hands-off as it's my MIL's "kingdom".

Anyways, new FDW, new start. I want to do it right this time, my way, in my house. only problem is I'm kind of clueless about household cleaning...help!

- Qn 1: how do i clean parquet floors? is this the correct way:
1. sweep floor
2. wipe with damp cloth (with water)
3. Wipe with damp clothe with parquet floor cleaner, diluted in water
4. Done - no further wipes/rinses needed.

- Qn 2: how do i clean/scrub the toilet floor tiles to get rid of the black dirt in the grooves but without further 'deepening' the groves (right now I only know to clean thru the 'primitive' method of scrubbing with toothbrush/mini toilet floor scrub which I am told will deepen the grooves?)

- Qn 3: How do i restore the shiny look on my toilet taps and shower knobs/bars? the previous FDW never wipe dry hence now it's all stained with water mark stains. I asked D to wipe dry while washing toilet yday but she told me cannot be salvaged thru wiping, need to buy a certain type of cleaner for this?

keke...sorry for this long post...

piglettail,
it seems great you got a good help.

can't help much either. but for Q3, you can try using baking soda. pour some baking soda then use a damp cloth to rub it. then wipe it dry. hope this helps.

very quiet this morning... no mood to work as well... :p

bkk,
poor SM... hopefully can recover slowly... have you brought her to PD yet? wonder if nebuliser can help newborn babies like SM?

bx,
nicee... enjoy your personal time before baby comes

xy,
hmm... C also started behaving that way, well in particular he becomes a screamer now... whenever we asked him something (even if it is just offering for food), if he doesn't want it, instead of shaking head or saying no, he will scream... then he wants to do everything himself, don't want to wear certain clothings - in short - he has his own preferences... we bought a new stroller recently and he refused to sit on it! these days he also refused milk, only want to drink choc milk or fresh milk (cold one)... so i give up giving formula milk. in summary, yeah i think it is their terrible 2 phase... i agree with jeannie though (she post this in her blog) that part of the reason is becasue they want independence.

piggletail,
re your cleaning question, let me answer with what i do (not necessarily the right thing to do) :
1. parquet flooring - i have no special method, which is bad i guess, just the usual sweep using broom, then use the floor cleaner to clean dust then just mop but i told my maid to really squeeze out the water and always on the fan and face it to the floor after mopping so that the water will dry up fast...

2. the black dirt you're talking about - is it mold? if it is, there's a duck cleaner i use to clean molds... but corners really difficult to clean plus those that gets into the sides between tiles and glass panels... now i close 1 eye :p

3. i think can try using jif with scrub... there will be scrub markings but it gets rid off the water mark stains. watre mark stains is difficult to get rid off, particularly when it is always left to dry on it's own..

xy
i think your gal is seeking for attention. maybe she notices that she will have a siblibg soon? my gal was sticky when i got pregnant with #2. she only wanted me and no one else.
ya, part of the reason that she wants independence and wants to have her say in doing things now.
my boy can be temperamental quite often now. he can be very smiley and cheerful in the 1st minute, then 2nd minute, he would be throwing tantrum, telling us that he doesn't want to do things in our way.

Bkkgal raelynn was coughing too. Caught it from raeanne, we gave med n even a antibiotics given by pd.

Bx, dr wong very nice, u r in very good hands.
last time my Bb engaged at 37 weeks too but only came out at 39w1d but good to be on standby lar.

XY, carrie became like that because she can sense that her sibling is on his/her way. I told my mum that Carrie became like that, then first thing my mum asked: "is XY pregnant?" she said i also created lots of problems too when she was pregnant with my sis :p. So, dont worry, this is just a phase.

Bkkgal, jiayou! hopefully both ur gals will recover soon!

Pauline
Brt both back to PD today. It's bronchitis. PD prescribed some med for Sarah. K has to use nebuliser. I feel so sorry for S cos jiejie keeps infecting her with nonsense viruses, germs. Poor girl, so young already kena HFMD, flu and now bronchitis.

Xiaoyun, Tute,

K is demonstrating the same behaviour too. I thought going away for a few days to spend time with her could bring my darling girl back. She is always doing the opposite of what we tell her to do. Parenting gurus say that oppositional behaviour is the hallmark of the terrible twos because they are pushing limits and boundaries with us.

K will look at me deliberately when she's going to do something I told her not to do.

Piglet
Me too - new FDW just arrived. haiz......all over again. Jiayou!

been trying to post since afternoon..hmm..server down?

so tired today..been to the hospital since morning and just back..bb with jaundice,lucky no need to hospitalise after all the pricking,but still got to go back and prick again to monitor (shaq). downside is bb have to be on formula first, even though i felt its quite sad since i manage to start off with BF quite well this time, hopefully supply dun come down because of this

bkk-ya,tmr still going back hospital to test again. PD advised to drink FM first,perhaps he thinks the BM is still in the early stages,so not sufficient for bb.

Hope SM and K gets better, its really tiring with 2 ya, especially more when they r sick. H also very emotional when she sees us carrying the bb (grandma or me or daddy),tears will start to well in her eyes (like so poor thing..sigh)

bx-i din bring pump to hospital during delivery,cos i latch on directly. bb tekan me the second night when i was staying alone in hospital from 8pm to 230am by crying for milk every half-1 hr
,refused to sleep when put down,keep opening the mouth (signalling want to drink)-maybe more for comfort?!keke..first night home also like that..second night was better,hopefully it stays today as well (and more nights to come)

PIS - been using it for the past 2 days, i find that the suction isn't that strong? or have i been using it incorrectly? i have the feeling i still cannot fully clear the milk even when i on the max suction already..hmm..any1 using the suction to the max with PIS?

Kitsune - can you give me the contacts for the lactation consultants at TMC? may need their help with block ducts, what do they usually do when you request for home visits ah?

qingling,
i hear about H's reaction when she see u all carry baby I feel sad for her. can imagine my darling A also like that when didi comes along.

xy,
A also tire me out every weekend. dun worry, it's a passing phase.

pauline,
i dun wanna wait 2 more weeks before i deliver. i hope i deliver by next week. so tired of the bump.

qingling,
dun be sad abt giving bb formula milk while he is having jaundice lah. I rem my doc at hospital also wanted me to do that in the beginning when S had very slight jaundice. BBs need to drink a lot of milk at the beginning so they can "remove" the jaundice by peeing more. But becos breastmilk initially not enough, so got to supplement with formula. So its gd for bb.

bkkgal, poor sarah mae. I also feel very sim tia when Raelynn started coughing. Last time, RaeAnne was almost 1 year old when she kenna HFMD cos we caught it from my cousin's kid when we went to Shanghai together. But poor Raelynn not even 6 months, got to take antibiotics liao. Sigh. Bo bian lar, hopefully no. 2's immune system will be better than no. 1 since she is exposed to more virus/bugs.

Qingling, I have not asked for home visits so far. Most times will wait for hubby to come home then I go down to parentcraft centre. If not, then I'll take cab down myself. Charges range from $25 - $75. The number to call for appt with the LCs is 62514090. I think should be the same tel no. for home visits. Among the LCs, I like Liqin best. Try to request for her if you can. She is gentle and thorough.

That time, at TMC, I was doing TBF so they fed RL sugar water not FM leh. :p

Bx, I was like you too. Keep asking baby to come out early cos of the backaches and sleepless nights. But once she was out, I asked myself why didn't I put Raeanne at ILs house and watch just one more movie with hubby. haha.

pauline,
haha... cute pic ! makes me want smile when i see her face... heheh...

qingling,
PIS to the max, never try... it is usually already painful for me even before that... i find PIS suction quite strong leh... is the cup fully secured around your breast? there could be air leakage if you feel it's not strong...

bkk,
oh dear... hope both of your gals get well soon... i think babies with elder sibling do have a tendency to contract more illness at early stage... have seen this happen with my nephew as well. but hopefully once their immune system builds up, it will reduce ya..

QL
I see...at NuH, they encouraged me to latch as much as possible to clear bb's jaundice which was v slight. We did supplement with some FM at home because my milk has not come yet. Try to latch as often as possible to encourage milk production.

Pauline
#2 is so chubby! cute
She must be at that very engaging stage now? goo-ing ga-ing right? SM also starting to "talk" to us, making eyes, laughing. I simply love it when she looks at me as if I'm the most important person in the world to her

BX
keke...me too kept wanting SM to come out come out but when she was out, I regretted why never go and keng kai some more. Dun worry abt A ok? Just make sure that your hb, parents cont to give her attention. I made sure that when K visited me for the first time in hospital that bb was in the nursery. She came into the room and we play with her and she asked me where is mama's tum tum. I told her bb came already and then we asked the nurse to wheel bb in. She was quite fascinated to see bb. AFter that, we told her bb got present for you. It was all positive cos she kept telling every visitor that the present is from bb.

Tute
Thanks. Yeah, I think poor #2s will simply have to suffer #1's illnesses until they get older. A friend told me it will be like this, illness after illness, until they reach 5 or 6 yrs old.

XY, Tute,
Thanks for sharing the household tips

Tute,
it's not mould (yet), more like prelude to mould? it's rust/brown colour stains caused by water being trapped in the grooves. it's the same at the corners and between wall/glass panels etc.

FDW is sick on 2nd day already! running nose, fever, shivering. sighs. im at work now, MIL will be bringing her to the doctors later.

Had a chat with her last night while going thru the admin matters which I didn't manage to on her first night (as I picked her up in late afternoon and the agency's boss was not around...??! agency-that's another story)

im not sure who's speaking the truth, apparently she was told she will be working in a very different set-up from mine. 1 house, 2 kids (6yo, 4yo), Sir, Mdm and grandparents.

Mine: Sir, Mdm, 1 child 2yo. but need to travel to grandparents' plc daily and help wash up there too.

luckily i asked if she's aware she will be communting between 2 households BEFORE we were out of the agency door, which she said no and informed me of what she was supposedly told. the agency boss was not around, only a staff who was only instructed to collect $$ from me. i called the boss and she claimed to have spoken to FDW on my arrangement and asked to speak with her on the phone. after the conversation between them, FDW wrote down the arrangement on a piece of paper and signed it as instructed by the agent:

"Cleaning Madm house and Ah Mah house"

------------------
During the chat last night she indicated she wasn't entirely happy with the arrangement.

In all honesty, there would be real minimal work if she were to only work for my house only.
we both work, do not cook at all, am out by 8am and back only after 9pm. what's there to clean all the time?

even at IL's place, she does not cook at all, only does the laundry (for all - we get her to bring our laundry over), wash IL's toilets and sweeps and mops. yeah, strictly speaking she is cleaning the floors and toilets for 2 houses, but then again, she doesn't cook at all.

i'm not sure if i'm flouting any MOM rules... can anybody advise how i can 'protect' myself on this?

I am planning to 'compensate' her with additional salary and bonus at end of 1 year, but just wanna be 'smart' about this in terms of any paper documentation to save my own skin should anything happen.

kitsune
aiyo, such a cute pic!! :D

bkk
oh dear!! has K been more sick since she started school? bronchitis at her age, is that common? sounds so serious... poor girl, and poor mummy too!

qingling
is it an old one or new one? some of the old ones don't work as well..

Bkk
oh no... Poor K n SM n poor mummy! Hope they get well soon. Take care n jia you!!

My family also kena doremi A flu n fever then J n now me.

Iso
Yes, K has been falling sick more due to school. Prior to school, she only had minor sniffles, nothing major to warrant visits to PD. I'm giving her expressed milk now. Hope that she gets some immunity from bm.

Gar
you too? haiz...really musical chairs huh? Hope the girls get well soon!

Piglet
Dun reveal your additional salary plans to her yet. Use Artemis' method of incentivising her to work. I've also told my helper yday that she will be gg to MIL's hse sometimes to help look after the kids. At the house, she has to help MIL but I won't expect her to come back and do extra chores. She will get rest. My agent also knows that this is the arrangement we agreed.

bkkgal,
thanks! but erm...i can't quite remember what was Artemis' method...

More updates: New FDW is down with a very bad flu/cold, went to see doctors this morning and doc said could be H1N1. she has been in bed since 10am after back from doctors and taking med.

Artemis,
Could you kindly share with me your method again as Bkkgai mentioned above and how you administer it?

qingling
last time when my gal was admitted to hospital due to jaundice, the doc also said give FM 1st. initially, the nurse gv FM and i was super sad as well. but that probably motivated my BM supply to come in fast and more. I worked hard in pumping and my hb would send the BM to the hospital for the nurse to feed my gal. hope your gal discharge soon. treat it as a short break from handling the bb.

bkkgal
my boy (#2) also fell sick when he was quite small. i guess it's because the sister brought the virus back home from her school. both of the kids fall sick every month, without fail. hope your kids get well soon. it's always very stress to see kids fall sick so often. what we can do is only to change our mindset to tell ourselves that the kids are building their immunity system. take care

QL,
don't worry. A had very very bad jaundice even after 2 days of phototherapy so they recommended supplementing with formula to help pass the bilirubin in stools. don't worry, just be more hardworking pumping to make it up and your supply will be fine.

bx,
you can also call the avent HQ they usually sell the parts.

art class for toddlers,
any mummies know of good art classes for our darlings 2+ years old?

Gar,
My colleague/friend sends his girls there for art class (near bencoolen area...) - but they are slightly older - about 5 and 7. Every Saturday about noon time thereabouts.

He stays katong too hah...and bought your LL. :p

lezy,
LOL...izit?

Can you get some feedback from your colleague on the classes? thanks ah!

I think this NAFA one quite "serious" right? A is probably not ready for "proper" art classes. But she loves to sit quietly and do her colouring (the only activity which keeps her focused) so her daddy wants to cultivate this interest.

good for u! i've seen this art thing at west coast plaza but that's abit far for u probably - and again looks like more older kids - prob about 4-5 yrs.

i have this set-up at home (can't remember what it's called right now...argh!!!!) with a roll of paper (ikea) coming down. everyday (almost), ruth will be quite happy to stand there, draw and imitate me. but not for long. and one of us have to be there and colour/doodle alongside.she can't just sit and colour on her own. will always end up colouring the chair, floor, etc instead of the book.

*groan*

morning morning...

is anyone familiar with overseas online shopping, specifically US websites?

is there a cap of US$200 purchase to avoid having to pay GST when we receive the goods at our end?

lezy,
i'm sooooo thankful for those few mins of respite man. i think A and R similar in activity levels. so i know how you feel too!

is it called easel?

A doesn't really follow our instructions not to doodle on table, floor, furniture all the time. So my house machuam vandalized like that now.

piglettail,
the total value of the shipment (cost of goods + shipping cost) cannot exceed SG$400. else will kena GST.

bkk
one of my friends actually withdrew her girl from sch because she was falling sick far too often, and the mummy felt that other parents were being too irresponsible.. but i think not all of us have alternatives available, when we have to work..

piglet
wah biang! your FDW is really suey leh!!

gar
you don't use washable doodling stuff? they're really worth the $, heheh.

for art classes i've been meaning to try abrakadoodle, at cluny court.. think i better do it soon before i pop :p

lezy
oh i saw that place! yah think it's 4 yrs and above..

Hi Gar,
Thanks! No wonder I kena GST...was too greedy with my online shopping. oops.

Iso,
yah lor..i dunno to laugh or cry. now im know people management is tough business! maybe that's y bosses can't seem to get real work done cos they are busy dealing with people issues all day? (haha...machiam im speaking up for my boss)