(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bkkgal, i give quinoa as staple, like cook as porridge.

Bx, can give yogurt. My boy has been coughing, so b4 he gets well i give bread. Usually its fruit, cereal n yogurt.

yeah!! last day at work!
but still coming back to office next week to return exam papers as i can't finish marking by today

pauline,
haha...both our gals very "smart" leh, must say it's quite an innovative way to drink water mah

bkk,
ya lor...we're their "slaves" for life muahahaha...

FDW - long story. but in essence, my mom is already primary caregiver for A, and A doesn't allow my mom to carry or care for J. was hoping MIL can step up to be a primary caregiver for J, but based on my observation - errm...ahh...you know what i mean lah! so need a 3rd pair of hands lor....just have to decide what form of additional help to get - external paid help, or maybe get FIL to help...but i think that's a bit too much (imagine, mum, MIL + FIL under same roof...double hmm...

tong,
thanks for sharing! i think i have more confidence to continue doing the same. J's poo reverted to normal liao.

ya, agree with bkk that S has v healthy diet. will try to slowly intro healthy foods to A as well.

bkkgal, i dont add quinoa to cereal, i add quinoa into brown rice or with millet and buckwheat. you soak the quinoa or millet for few hours first or overnight, then add that to cook with your white rice. dont think she can notice it. I dont think custom will reject a bb wor.

Garfield, jiayou! S also likes junk food one if no one controls him.

goood afternoon all!!
the office monster is not around today. here i am!!
later got meeting at 330.

tute/sunny/tong/bkk/bx,
thanks for your assurance. perhaps to shower her with more love love and love.
C is not to the extent that only wants me. it will be even more headache if she's sticky. at least i can walk away when i feel annoyed. :p

ql,
good that Hayden's jaundice is cleared.
i fed FM too when C got jaundice last time. mine is not because incompatible blood type. more like the PD scared that the amount of breastmilk supply is not good enough to clear the bilirubin from the body.
just keep pump pump pump. at least i am not obliged to go hospital to deliver milk.
we took it as a short break when she's in hospital too. (secretly feeling happy :p )

i used only 30% strength for the PIS-A. did you check properly the membrane? when the membrane is torn, the suction is affected too.

piglettail,
oh dear, H1N1 for your maid. better quarantine her in her room.
she's better now?

re: toddler breakfast
bx,
we feed bread (try to give wholemeal) + nutella/peanut butter, cornflakes/granola.
last time more hardworking, wake up early to make pancake. now too lazy to do that.

re: healthy food
bkk,
can K differentiate (quinoa + white rice) and white rice? try substituting a little and see if she can accept?
quinoa is actually very small, should be not much difference in the white rice texture.

one question, how do you all handle the ppl (e.g., close relative) keep speaking to your toddler in totally broken english?
(1) tell them to speak to her in their mother tongue?
(2) close 1 eye?

that seems to be a very strange phenomemon in Singapore, Malaysia, China that ppl tend to speak to the kids with english even it's broken. do you agree?

just to complain a little with the new maid - the first blunder she made..even though it sounds quite farnie.

my mum bought 2 packets of mee,1 for her 1 for herself for lunch, as i was sick, my mum helped me feed the young one milk. Since already 1 plus, my mum being the kind soul, ask the maid to fry and egg and eat with her mee first. Then when my mum wants to eat, she found no more left..the maid ate the 2 packets! duh. Is she really stupid? Indeed she follow instructions to eat... sigh.

Qingling, wa your maid got good appetite man. Can finish two packets of mee plus 1 egg. She should know ah mah has not eaten yet right? I hardly let my maid eat first, cos same principle, she cannot be 'more good life' than me. Today, I ask her to fry macaroni for our lunch, got mixed peas, fish cake n minced pork, she still say not enough ingredients n added sliced hot dog. I suan her compared to what u eat in philippines (plain rice fried with salt n MSG), like that still not enough ingredients? U want to eat or raeanne wants to eat? She laughed. ;/

ql, i think maid is very ignorant one, if you tell them to eat , they thought both packets are for her. so need to tell them 1 is for madam.

u caught fever from engorgement ah?

ql,

for me i have separate cutleries for my maid (1 plate, 1 bowl, a few small bowls for her side dishes/dessert/fruits etc) and i separate the side dishes for her, my mom practice this method since long time ago... we always separate our maid's food prior to our dinner/lunch time, so that the maid doesn't feel the feeling of eating leftover (though at times i do that as well - esp when i'm lazy or if i'm cooking soupy stuff, to keep it warm).

Anyways, i will put side dishes in smaller bowl and let her take rice on her own. For any food that we want to give to her, we always put them in her bowl/plate so that she knows as well. Anything apart from that, she should not touch.

Even for snacks - i will separate and give her. I don't buy snacks just for her, what I will do is take a portion from what we have (eventhough it's just a bit). maybe can try that practice, that way no need to literally say which one is hers or not

breakfast
we usu give bread + peanut butter, or ham/cheese sandwhiches if we're in a rush, otherwise cornflakes.. sometimes waffles too, i buy the ready made ones, although will try to make some fresh ones soon..

XY
wah! pancakes! that's super hard working!! lol
broken english.. my FIL speaks a lot to E and my nephew, which is good. but he like to correct their english, and in a manner that is sometimes quite discouraging for them, which i don't like. worse, his english is not that great!!! but i close 1 eye cos E can speak a lot now, so i guess better than no one speaking to him.

Abrakadoodle
gar, bkk
weekdays no afternoon classes cos most toddlers are taking naps, heh. So far the only classes are:
Friday 1015am, currently 5 kids, quite "full"
Tuesday 1115am, only 2 kids
Sat 9am, 2 kids - if you want to attend, this would be a good time, but it's way too early for me
sat 1015am, 7 kids

Think i will try to go next Tues or Fri, depending on if I can get a trial with Playdays also.

bkk
i was deliberating on Playdays for a while, and now they say they r full! hubby and MIL decided against half day CC, so ok lor, anyway ILs will be the one who will have to help out, am just trying to ease their load.

QL
such a funny story.. maybe she act blur so she can eat more. i've heard stories of maids who come here and put on a lot!

tute
what if u have leftovers? will u still offer to her?

toddler discipline
any mummies have problem where if you want to hold their arm to lead them somewhere (usually in disciplining), they will just make themselves v "nuah" and refuse to walk, and lie on the floor? what can we do about it?

iso,
we hardly offer the leftovers to her because usually i give her quite a big portion, my worry is that if she cannot finish her food. dunno why, my experience with my maid a bit odd, if we don't separate and let her take on her own, she will take very little. But if we separate for her and give her big quantity she can finish, dunno if she's shy or what so my mom say maybe she's shy and just continue to put separately for her... Honestly my mom cooks in big quantity so quite often we will eat leftover food esp during lunch, but it's just the feeling to serve it in smaller bowls is nicer... i think i am trained by my mom that food must be presented in a nice way, even at home so that you will also feel good when you eat.. heheh.. sounds very traditional huh :p

tongtong
yah but if a situation where it's meal time, and they run away, i want to make them come back to the dinner table... E is quite ok with sitting for his meals but my nephew is all over the place, so these days now that i'm at home for their meals i buay tahan!

pauline,
yeah it does get cold... for us it's ok for side dishes to be cold but rice must be piping hot, and sometimes we will heat up using microwave. oh, and i found out my maid doesn't like to eat hot food, she will cool it down first so might as well :p

btw mummies, can i ask is there any medication OTC for ulcers that i can give to C? He fell down 2 days ago and tore the outer skin of his lower lip, now developed into ulcers... it's very big so i want to get sth that can help soothe the pain...

tute - i also think they "act" shy. at my house when i cook and leave portion for her, like 3 chicken wings, a portion of vegetables, she sure only take 1 chicken wing, half of the portion of vegetables. But at my mum's place, she take huge pile of rice, plus wallop a mountain of vegetables and meat my mum leave for her..weird.

Iso
Thanks for checking out abrakadoodle. I think I'll give it a miss. Sat 9 am would've been good except that hb works and I hv no bbsitter for #2.

Playdays is popular huh? Why not 1/2day cc? It'd lighten the load for your PILs y'know...Just having the morning free to catch up on chores while bb sleeps is such a luxury for me!

Gar
OIC :/ i think u gotta sort this out soon yar? cos u gg back to work earlier right? i'm starting to train the FDW to help with K, bathing, feeding etc cos MIL won't be able to handle both when I go back to work. luckily the FDW seems ok with kids so far *cross fingers*

Tute
CAn give C watermelon seed powder from trad medicinal hall for his ulcers. It works much better than bonjela.

FDW's appetites
hmm..mine v strange, dun eat breakfast. I bought her bread, jam, margarine and coffee. She said she doesn't take breakfast, don't drink coffee. She will work until lunch on empty stomach. What does she run on, I don't know man... She's very skinny. But at dinner, when I give her a big portion, she will eat.

"nuah" tods
If need to bring her somewhere, I will have to carry - no choice. If at home, I will leave her on the floor and let her be.

Tong
ok i'll go try quinoa with rice. Do you put a small amt or equal portion of rice and quinoa? I'm also afraid the other adults in my household will object to quinoa in their rice! Esp my hb, he always making noise abt my "organic" ideas. Even flaxseed in bread I oso gotta put small amt. It's only after I got gestational diabetes that I need to eat brown rice then the others accomodate me.

xy
got the stuff le. thanks!
i would close one eye if see the relatives talking to the kids with broken language. 'cos haven't found a way to correct it in front of the kids and the adults. haha... adults tend to talk baby language with the kids which i don't quite like. when the kids use the baby language, i will correct it and more than happy to correct it in front of the adults. :p and when kids spoke broken language, i will also correct it in front of the adults loudly. :p very bad of me... keke..

iso
i usually squat down and talk to my boy and ask him to stand up and walk together. if he still wants to continue throwing tantrum, i will leave leave him on the floor alone, divert his attention by saying things like 'oh, that uncle is coming and wants to scold you 'cos you sit on the floor.'
if he still refuses to stand up, i will tell him off sternly. He will usually stand up and cry and complain that I scold him. :p so far, he has not lied down on the floor publicly. I hope i don't need to experience it.

bkk
same, at home, i will leave him alone and walk away. :p

iso,
S does that very often, even when we are outside. Worse is he is not shy/scared of strangers, so he doesnt care if i try to scare him by telling him pple looking at him.
So i just leave him alone. He would lie there and cry, and then walk over to me after he has thrown enough of a tantrum.

Round ligament pain:
anyone experienced this during pregnancy? I am getting it bad this time around.

toot, my boy also fell on his face n split his lips. Happ on thus. Luckily he didnt develop ulcer. U can try jorubi aloe vera gel or papaw ointment. I applied the aloe vera gel once n now his scab is gone. Can get e gel fr guardian off the rack. Papaw... Hv to get fr oz.

lying on the floor
hmm ok i will try talking to him and if not i'll just leave him alone. i get really irritated when they do that though, hee.

fairfield
what's round ligament? i have bad pelvic/pubic pains, sometimes can't walk much! it was mostly during 2nd trimester, but these few days been getting a bit again, maybe cos bb growing bigger in this last lap.

bkk
will let you know how the class goes

MIL said if we put him in half day CC then later on he goes to a different nursery at the end of the year then it might be disruptive for him. which is true, but that could be another 4-6 or more months! think i'll just ask both of them again, because it's now or never - won't be so good if we put him later after didi is out..

tute- can try aloe vera gel\

bkkgal, it doesnt change the taste much, try putting bit by bit then. quinoe and millet are very tiny grains

hello mummies !!

gd morning !!

am going to get cut-up (c-sect) this wed ;p

btw, now having problems with N. She doesnt want to drink water. And food intake also reduced alot.

And she's not pooing daily....

What can I do ah ?!?! * headache*

Happy Belated Mother's Day to all.

Hi Garfield,

Let me dig out the documents from my home laptop this evening and post here.

Hi dianA,

I think if she is not exhibiting any abnormal behaviour can ignore the food intake part. Water just give her a cup every hour, doesn't matter if she doesn't finish the cup. I find that if I don't ask and just give, Danica doesn't refuse and just drinks. :p

Hiya mommies!

K surprised me by taking some half-boiled egg this morn for breakfast. She also had milo. Hope she keeps up with breakfast.

Iso, yeah dun let E have the idea that he's being sent away. Kids can be very sensitive abt these things. K is also going to a different school next year which we think can be pretty disruptive. Hence, still keeping options open whether to keep her at Pat's or move to new school.

Diana, Good luck on wed! K has this novelty of drinking water from a syringe. So whenever I wanna water parade her, I'll take out the syringe and then she'll happily syringe water in herself. keke. Or my mom will bring out a new waterbottle to amuse her and make her drink. Dun worry abt food intake. This book I'm reading now says that kids have a natural ability to self regulate their caloric intake. Some days they will take more, some days less, which I found to be true with K - sometimes her appetite like super good, sometimes won't eat a bite which will drive me nuts but I guess alot of factors affect their appetities e.g. whether the food is to their liking, weather (too hot also no mood to eat), how tired they are (too tired just drink milk and zzz), whether they had a snack before meal.

Artemis - yeah I noticed the same too. If I make a big deal out of her not drinking enuff and keep asking her to drink, she'll walk away. If she's like playing or watching tv, I just shove a bottle to her, she'll automatically drink.

Poo - u tried the usual prune juice? probiotics? papaya?

morning ladies! Hope all had a very good Mother's Day weekend...

Thanks to all for your advsie and tips on maid

I think I will have a chat with her and action based on her reaction. Think my agent is useless, will do this on my own. Probably only go to agent after all has been agreed with maid to put down in writing as a safe guard and having a 3rd party as a witness.

morning mummies!!

BOLIAO QUESTION FOR THE WEEK

Which of the following makes you feel like you struck 4D

1) You check the pregnancy strip and it turns positive
2) You check the clock when bb cries at night, and realize that bb has slept thru for the first time
3) You really strike 4D

iso,
okie maybe you check out abrakadoodle and let us know how you find it? cos it's quite far from my place so weekday afternoons are definitely a challenge. i can only manage saturday mornings. but it has to be good for me to travel all the way there hehe

bkk,
glad to hear this recent FDW is turning out well so far. jia you!! i'm trying out a part time nanny for the time being, before considering taking the plunge to hire FDW. wish me luck!!

fairfield,
i think cheryl used to have this pain, but she hasn't visited our thread for a v long time.

artemis,
thanks v much!

drinking water,
my mom made sure that we introduced water to A at a tender age of 3 weeks in spite of TBF. her theory was that if they start early, they will like it! so far, it's been true for A...she will happily guzzle down about 3 to 4 bottles (about 300ml size) a day.

but she also has her off days, when she refuses to drink. i have invested in novelty bottles (dora munchkin straw bottle, miffy thermos bottles etc) cos she loves using the bottle = drinking water. maybe can try.

Gar
probably no.2 in a few weeks time, cos no. 3 - depends on the winnings! if it's like first prize Toto, then that's another matter altogether :D

Happy Mother's Day everyone !

diana,
can try giving more cooling drinks? give more fruits too or yoghurt... that should help. my son is addicted to water chestnut drink now, so he's drinking less water too - till now no constipation except during the weekend.

re: reduce appetite,
C been showing these signs over the past week, he keeps rejecting breakfast - usually he eats half a portion of porridge for bfast coz he doesn't really eat bfast, occasionally he will ask for milo cereal/koko crunch with milk (very rare though)... these days half of the time he will reject porridge and soemtimes skip bfast... as for milk, he almost completely reject his formula or any plain vanila milk that is and he only takes choc milk, he doesn't want strawberry either... i resort to buying the pediasure bottled milk so that at least he'll get more nutrition as opposed to just drinking UHT milk... but heartpain on the wallet, the pediasure bottled one is so ex!
but at least he's still taking milk rather than none at all... haiz, how i wish he can be more adventerous with food...

re:maid,
just wanna vent out here... did my usual spot check on my maid of 2+ years, found that she took these honey candies while we left her alone at home. i confronted her at night, asking her why she did it... she said "just want to know the taste"... honestly not the first time, i remembered 2 occasion that i found food in her drawer but i didn't wanted to talk to her coz i'm not sure if she bought it herself or my mom gave it to her... but this one i'm very sure. I told her if she really wants to try something, ask me instead of taking it coz it's the same as stealing... haiz, i'm so dissapointed in her. I told her to reflect - even it's jsut sweets but i do not condone taking things without asking... Told her that if i caught her again, i'll cut her salary to original again (just gave her a raise in feb)...

She has a handphone too now, because i know how most people in indon remote places only carries hp and do not have home phones, but told her that she can only use at night, but when we were in the car yest she was using it to sms (C was asleep), i told her to put away her phone and she was not happy, can see she was sulking... that angered me a bit and prompted me to do the spot check... but anyways - had a long talk with her.. so i'll see how she behaves int he next 3 months...honestly she's good with C and she has a lot of patience esp in feeding C so i'm reluctant to thinking of replacing her with someone, but just have that thought what if i can get somebody whose better... then again, what if i get a worse one?

erm Gar...the new one is....how shud i say?

On sat, she showed me my brandnew bedspread, the colour all ran, looks terrible. She apologised, said that she found some red stains on it, so she spray with bleach and turn out like that. I was like !!!! it's used only once and I paid like $200+ for the whole set, 528 threadcount egyptian cotton become like shit lidat. But I didn't say anything to her, didn't scream, shout or yell. I just sigh, shake my head and went to google abt dyes. Then, guess wat, she came to me and said she wanna go back Indonesia, scared she spoil my things, cannot handle the work, blah blah. I'm so angry cos I never even scold her, never dock her pay, and she dare to come and quit on me!!! So easy to say go back and go back. I told her your loan how? who's gonna pay? u go back, and your son how? Never think through carefully dare to come and say this kinda things. Even if I make a mistake in my job, I also dun dare to say quit just like that without getting a new job. These people think it's damn easy to just quit. UJ told her off also. Basically, there are thousands of Sitis, we can get another Siti no prob. But you got to think of a way to repay yr loan. NO one will help u.

Maybe this sounds bad to pp reading this post but I feel that FDWs who come here think they can just shop around for the perfect employer. Is it the employer hiring them or they hiring us?

Gar, maybe ur PT nanny option will work better than FDW. Hope for the best for u. It's seriously very stressful having a stranger live in ur house. A stranger that you can't trust. A stranger who gives u a black face when u correct her. I was thinking even of hiring a full time local auntie to come in every day for the housework. Even if I pay up to $1400 also worth my sanity man! She will go home everyday. Dun eat my food, dun use my electricity, dun sleep in my hse. Not happy she quit or I fire. She can find anotherjob. With FDW, we still have to pay airfare to repatriate them.

Hi bkkgal,

Oh gosh! Your new maid sounds like my first maid. Spoilt my washing machine (she overloaded it and it totally crashed to the floor) but we did not scold her. End up she quit when I scold her for not placing my EBM in the freezer.
I believe they think they can get a better employer no need to stay with us. GRRR... My HB said cannot find one who does not have a "thankful" attitude.

bkk,
how did she respond when you asked her about all her obligations? my thinking was that she probably thought you're gonna comfort her and tell her it's ok? or she is seriously scared about ruining the stuff... i know what you mean about having a stranger... FDW these days are not like in the past, next time i look for FDW i think i wanna look for an older ones... they may have more sense of responsiblities than younger ones...

bkk...sigh. dun worry about what ppl think la. FDW is really heng-sway whether u get a good one or not.

when we had maids, i had to keep reminding my mum to adjust her expectations. (already with me, she's so unhappy with housekeeping n etc). I always remind her that if they are of better calibre...they wun be FDW liao.

i dun think they are 'choosing'employers. I just think they dun THINK at all about ocnsequences - again if they thought so much and so in-depth, they would not be FDWs.
dun be so hard on yourself. it is really not easy to find a good one...esp one that does things the way u like...and is honest and down-to-earth.

breakfast......is ALWAYS a challenge for me.

Ruth used to eat bread with cheese - chopped up into small cubes after melting it for awhile.

Then suddenly she decided she doesn't like bread. will only eat cakes.

She doesn't take cereal either.

So it's either pancakes or cakes usually.

NOw that she's going to playgroup (11.15), we feed her lunch at 10+.

So usually she wakes up 7ish, has about 60-90ml milk, then a small bun (usually a Wassan - from Petit Provence), then goes over to my mum's to play at the playground, then lunch (porridge) at 10-ish before going "school".

Weekends, we usually bring her out to McDonald's or Swensen's for pancakes.

Expensive girl...but to qualify, it's usually cuz we're on the way out to bring her to park or shopping or whatever la. heh.

Artemis, how do we know if they have thankful attitude until they work a while right? Worse still, some of them have the "you owe me because u are rich singaporean" attitude. Like my fren's maid who keep pocketting their small change. When caught, she will beat her chest and cry and say milk powder so expensive.

Tute, yeah she expected me to comfort her and ask her to stay. I think she wayang in front of me, sitting on the floor, tears rolling down. I have a feeling once she clear the loan period, she will quit on me.

You know, older doesn't mean better. My last one was 40 yrs old but no common sense, also quit on her first employer, quit on me and told agent she wanna go back to Manila.

People have different sayings for different things e.g.

Older - more mature, more responsible
Younger - more energetic, less health problems
Single - no kids to worry abt, less homesick
Married with kids - won't fool around, more responsible
Taller - good can clean windows, hang clothes

Lezy, ya lor - that's wat the hubbs said too - if they got calibre, won't be FDW liao. Prob be some customer service officer in Starhub.

RE: breakfast

Danica usually drinks 180ml of FM upon waking up. Weekdays, I will bring her with me to the LRT station at around 7:45 - 8 a.m. (we walk around the park in front of our place before she sees me off to work) then my maid brings her back for breakfast. Normally, she will eat bread (with either cream cheese, butter, peanut butter, nutella, strawberry jam), half a kiwi or 2 whole strawberries with juice and half a cup of Meiji fresh milk before she goes for her playgroup at 9 a.m.

Weekends, she will share breakfast with me which is usually chocolate or cheese waffle, chocolate chip walnut or chocolate chip oatmeal cookies with Meiji fresh milk. :p This mummy has a sweet tooth. Occasionally, if we managed to reach MacDonald's in time for breakfast, I will let her have the Hotcakes Happy Meal or just a hash brown if she doesn't feel like eating. She loves fried food. But cannot give her too much or she constipates. :p