(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hi, mummies.

Big headache now...
Went to my kids' current PCF fill up Withdrawal forms and was told by the Principal that the new CC delayed to mid Feb and still not confirmed...
(They are under the same management so she shared this news with me)...
With my maid leaving on 29 Jan, I need to take care of my kids for at least 2 weeks while working from home. Don't know can cope or not... And my coll just informed that she needs to go op in beginning Feb... need to rest for 2 weeks... Siao liao... I think I am going mad...

Kitsune
Thanks for asking. Later they think u Loh-soh. Do u know any kids taking Sch bus from Pasir Ris & the journey how long? I went to c orange tree but 45-60 min bus time leh.
Moriah the P not free, so I look see n was briefed generally. It is ok, nothing special.

Krystle
Faint. Maybe get ur parents or in laws over to help. I handle 2 I sian Liao, can't imagine work from home!

Hi Luvv,Mom2nat & Pauline,

Thanks for the well wishes. Been very tired as lack of rest from all the night feeding and pumping. So far, supply is pretty good and I have started to freeze my extras.

QQ: Hope tat you have good news for us soon .. baby dust to you.

Krystle, oh dear, think u better ask your ILs to come over to help during interim period or u bring the kids over n look after them there. At least got more hands to help out.

Mom2nat, I dun know how long it takes but I know the school bus kids reach around 9-915am, about 8-10 of them. The school bus driver accompanies them into the cc. Orange tree at simei right?

Verene, jia you! Great that supply is good.

Mummies with maids, do u bring ur maid to Gp or polyclinic for their 6 mthcheckup? How muc is the medical checkup?

Verene wow, ur ss so gd, mus continue jiayou!

Kry, y dun u consider other cc? Mebe u shld look for an alternative as backup?

aqua
I go to GP, no need waste time. Only abt $20, if no xray. If xray she go polyclinic, which is rather fast. Actually the polyclinic just outside my place, but I think no point sit there can catch more viruses, cos see doc need to wait v long.

Aqua, think quite difficult to find CC last minute. Most CC need at least 6mths notice. Unless other pcf CC may give priority bah. I also brought my maid to GP, I used to pay $20+.

Mom2nat n kitsune, tks for sharing, so fast my maid here almost 6 mths liao.

Cc takes so long? I was lucky to find cc near home, gd environmt n clean.. So far so gd n my waitg time wasnt long. Mebe my cc is neighbourhood, nt so famous or popular..

Aqua,

U still breastfeeding? currently I can pump about 125 -150 ml each time at 3-4hrly at my 16th day. Is this consider ok? My gal drinks 80ml now. Cant remember how much #1 took last time. Since she demands more, I let her have it. I only latch her on at night or when she refuse to sleep. More to pumping liao.

Ask about nanny:
If I hire a nanny and baby going to her place. This nanny is new so don't have baby stuff with her. Do I need to go buy an extra set of stuff at my own cost, say things like bath tub. I will move my playpen over to her place and play mat when she gets older. I told the nanny that I just bring new sets of clothing everyday to her like the CC way cos I prefer to wash them on my own as I am afraid she might mix bb clothes to wash with the rest. Told her I am using the modern cloth diapers and I will bring back the soiled ones for washing. She says ok.

Luvv,
Congratulations..Welcome onboard..I'm still trying to figure how to manage 3..U can ask Mom2nat..Today can breather better, so I can post online.

Verene,
Jia you!!! It is very tiring. Mine woke up at 2 and refused to sleep till 4.Now sleeping.

Mom2nat,
My baby is rejecting bottle feeds. I'm really scratching my head cos I hope to go on a short trip to Bali in March with hubby. How to train him to be like Darius? Can drink both bottle and suckle? At least I found him a suitable pacifier, NUK..

Aqua,
I also bring my maid to the clinics near my place cos the nearest polyclinic is Toa Payoh and the queue is perpetually long

Verene ur ss is beri gd, my bb drink abt 100 ml every 2 hr when she 3-4 wks. I pump exclusively, so i monitor her volume, make sure enuff, she guai sleep tru by 7 wks coz she is of gd weight earlier than average percentile

Still pumping, bt ss obli 900 ml as compared to 1200ml when i on maternity

Mom2Nat,
Yes, my MIL is my backup plan liao.
FIL is not helpful as he has slight mental problem so cannot look after kids. He only know how to sit and just only "look" at them.
My MIL's health is bad and got eyesight problem. Need to go to SGH for checkup every now and then. Also very tiring for her to look after 2 young kids alone...

As for my parents, they live in Boon Lay, very far from me so not possible to help unless I let my kids stay overnight there.

I thought of it liao, just bite teeth and see how things go daily. If MIL is not available or I can't cope work + kids, I just take urgent leave.

Yesterday got a call from CC on the confirm date, mid Feb.

Aqua,
Like what Kitsune said, now not easy to find available CC. In fact all CC within 1km are all full!! Scary right?
The CC I have been waiting since Jan last year still cannot give me place till now. That is why they counter offered me the new CC coz same mgmt. Now I heard the new CC already full too. We cannot be choser now... If I give up this one, then the consequences will be very bad.

Some neighbours are also complaining to me that they have no place in CC this year at all for their kids or grandchildren. The situation is that bad here in Bedok Reservoir...

Aqua,
For maids' checkup, I normally bring my maid to nearby GP. Only $20 for the basic screening, blood and urine tests. Then the GP clinic will help to send the results to MOM. We don't have to do anything.

Blackbatz
Today is my breather day. I went raffles city... Hee...
Darius took on milk bottle since a few wks' old. Nuk or pigeon oso ok. But I dunno how to train on this, cos nat n Elliot din do tat well. I tot ur maid bottle feeds? How come now dun wan? I wan him to take pacifier, he dun wan!

Krystle
U can get ur mom stay over at ur place on wkdays? When I need mil come by, she stays over too, or else v siong to travel up & down. For that 2 wks, let tv b bbsitter lor. How abt ur hb?

Mom2nat,
My mum is looking after my nephew who is in P1 now.
So she cannot come over as she needs to take care of him and bring him to school daily.

Ya loh, have to rely on TV, iPad, iPhone Liao... Not good but no choice.

My hubby ah, if he can come home everyday at 7pm, it is already very helpful Liao... But since he started this job, everyday I only see him at 12am... How can he help? He needs me more to hold the home situation than I need him...

Haiz, maybe I am better off to be SAHM...

Krystle
12am??? If my hb comes hOme constantly at tat kind of time. I will bring his pillow to office!! Dun worry too much, things might not b too siong for tat 2 wks. Imagine Sch Hols when I had 3 kids at home? Chaos. Got maid oso no use. Hee...

Blackbatz,

i think worse for me cos i have to work from home too, now with 2, already having a big headache, i can't imagine all 3 asking for attention.

Twinkystar,

Will be at Mt A, so no chance to meet you already...haha

Verene,
keep it up! I don't know if i can manage to pump diligently with 3 kids since my elder one is attending pre sch only.

Mom2nat,
E goes to CC, so even during sch hols, he's there too right? Most of the time is only 2 kids in the house even during sch hols?

i can foresee real chaos coming soon...

Mom2nat,
He became smarter lor and refused the bottle. Sometimes, maid can succeed but if my mumu does the feeding, it's a complete failure. With him, definitely more impatient.

I couldn't agree with you more that the house was in constant chaos during the hols. ?This week I hardly have chance for 'me' time cos my mum kept going out until sick, still want to go out.

My #2 felt abandoned when the 3rd one came along. My #1 will ka cheow the 3rd one at the wrong time (like when he is sleeping soundly).

Luvv,
Yours 3 girls, should be better. Im wants to be superhero all the time. Regretted getting the Star Wars light sabre, u see them hee haa hee haa all the time.

Luvv
It depnds on the nature of your kids. My #1 v stubborn and like to disturb #2. if ur kids are all good natured and you are v patient, then no problem.
In June last yr, #2 din go cc yet. When I bf #3, the other 2 either playing loudly or bickering. so I was always shouting and resolving conflict. Then #2 take v long to nap, if he doesn't, more chaos, so I will threaten him this and tat la. It was so tiring,
But with #2 in school most of the time, #1 can do her hw and oso I scold #2 lesser. Cos see him v little, I oso try to sayang him more.

Are u getting a confinement Nanny? The hardest time was when she left, bb more wakeful and less help. I should have ask her to stay for 2 mths, cos 1 mth really not much rest.

Blackbatz
Dec hols passed v fast. I feel sad my girl is growing up so fast, P2 Liao.
Nat used to kiss bb when he was sleeping! So irritting cos it wakes him up.
Think your mom buay tahan stay at home. Go out more relaxing hor. Your 'me' time is when your boy goes TLL lor. Weekdays I try not to go out too often, but time oso pass v fast. Haven't rest, #1 coming back, soon maid cook dinner, #2 back... Then it repeAts...

mom2nat,
Sometimes I just drop him and drive off Liao. Then go back to take my pm nap.
as for my mum, best is that bb sleeps for long hours.Then she doesn't have to take care till I am back. Coe when I come home, if bb wakes up, just nice I BM.

blackbatz
I hardly take naps liao. Cos maid needs to cook and bb wakes up easily. If I wan to nap, I need to do it ard 9+am when bb naps. Your #2 naps right?

Just started private swimming lessons for the gals today. RA doing ok, can follow instructions to paddle, blow bubbles etc. RL has a bit of phobia of water, cannot stand if we just drizzle water over her head. Instructor said I can actually choose to start her when she is older eg. 4. Meantime, just let her play water while Cheh cheh is having lessons. :p

Holidays ending for me today. Hubby already gearing up cos had meetings all week. Tomorrow, he is back to leaving the house at 645am again. The start of chaotic mornings for me to handle 2 gals to prepare them for school.

Kitsune
Most instructors tell me to start around 4 yr old when the child can take instructions n tall enough. I think RL a bit too young. Better let her free play now first.

Mom2nat, yup, think I will do that, anyway, $300 per month for 2 kids also too siong for me. But must fulfill 4 sessions first before I stop her. By the way, Is Nat attending piano lessons? Did u buy any instruments for her?

I know nothing about musical instruments but RA starting on yamaha junior music class n the pace is definitely much faster. Got homework too. Teacher said must buy an instrument for her to practise liao. Anyone has any fairly new secondhand digital piano or junior piano to let go? :p

hi kitsune, are you with the tampines branch too? we started lesson one last week. hubby accompanied #1, he finds it very fast-paced too. and there's homework and required to revise the songs, rhythm and beat too! i wasnt expecting the course to be like that. not that it is bad, but i thought is is relaxing and fun kind of class...

Mom2nat,
Mine is sama sama..put in stroller cry, put in car seat cry. Don't know what he wants.

Kitsune,
Swimming really got to wait till child himself/herself is ready. My eldest did not start to learn till he was in K2 cos he has a phobia of the depth. Eventually got a kind uncle instuctor who helped him to overcome the phobia. Now we have moved him on to another instructor to improve his strokes.

Prataqueen, yes, RA just started last sat, 12-1pm class. She attended music wonderland last yr. In comparison, that one is really relaxed. For jmc, first song they teach already has 3 verses, I can't even remember after listening to the cd for 3-4 times, let alone RA. :p I definitely need to be more hardworking than her if I want her to keep up with pace. Have u bought any instrument for your gal?

Blackbatz, yup, RL not really a water baby though she really enjoys those splash water theme parks at Nex n the zoo. After 4th lesson, then i decide bah. :p

Ya, first song is friendly fingers, the other is on rockets? Gosh. You know, the class is 5pm on Sat, and we spent Sunday morning revising instead of going out! Cos we know Sun is our only chance to practice, once Monday comes, its another mad rush to get through dinner and bedtime. Teacher didn’t say need to buy keyboard? At least my hubby didn’t mention this part. My mum house has a piano, so I guess my gal can tinker around on weekends when we are there. My 4-room is too small to put a piano in, unless we remove the parklon playmat and fencing.

Kitsune,
My eldest son behaved exactly like your daughter, enjoyed playing at the water play section in the zoo, beach etc.

hi prata-queen & kitsune,

may i know who is the yahama teacher? my gal attend YMC, the teacher like very rush , tok and do things all very fast!

hi, mine is a ms low.

my hubby has the same comments, there seems to be a lot to be covered so it is fast-paced and we had trouble catching up.

maybe we should feedback to the school that parents aren't comfortable with the lesson pace.

hi prata-queen,

mine is mrs gwui (ow).
she seems to have a fence built up between herself and the kids when she tok to them, a bit forceful n stern.

Kitsune
Once RA starts on keyboard in the music school, u gotta have a keyboard or piano, otherwise how to practice. My girl started on a $19 keyboard, then my cousin gave us her old piano. I am surprised to hear that yamaha is fast cos I tot v slow paced. My girl started group class at seimpi when she was 4. The course only 1,5 yrs. At 7, she took her grade 2 Liao. I think at yamaha, can't go so fast.

Yooohooo mummies

Started x1 on swimming too. He coped ok on paddling, kicking n blowinv bubbles. Teacher had ard 6kids of all ages, i think quite distracted for teacher. Dunno how it will turn out? Anyway paid for 3mths of lessons liao so just let x1 have confidence with water. I read somewhere that first yr is really just to build up water confidence, which is something i do not have.....

Prataqueen, babyling, mine is Ms Chan. Part of the reason why I decided to continue with JMC though i dun like the timing is because RA is used to this teacher. She took half a year before agreeing to go to the front of the classroom without me accompanying so I really dun want to do that all over again. :p

Prataqueen, yes, I think music wonderland did help cos there is quite a lot of listening, singing of solfege, songs, some keyboarding for rhythm.

Mom2nat, RA will not go for any unaccompanied classes yet, is seimpi accompanied or unaccompanied? Your gal went for group classes or one on one. How come so fast grade 2 liao? Last yr, there was also simple keyboarding too but no need to buy anything. Maybe cos they r not expected to know the notes yet. The pace was slower then.

So good, got free piano. My friend has a second hand piano to let go but it is more than 5 yrs old. But I dun know how to test if it is still in good condition. Got to pay $1.5k-2k n got to pay for professional tuning, plus pay for transport whereas BN digital piano costs $1k. Like not very worth it. :p

Oh ya, today, RL managed to nap in school, she did cry on n off but when I picked her up at 4pm, she was not crying. Today, there were 2 birthday celebrations, one in the morning, one in the afternoon so that also helped cos she was happily eating cake n holding onto her goody bag. Maybe she was also drowsy from her cold med cos she has slight runny nose. Tom, i got to go office for meeting n they have gym class in afternoon so will try putting her for full day. Keep fingers crossed. :p

Hi mummies! I read the posts everyday but seldom reply cos lazy...hehe. So many kiddos on music class liao, B only has Art class so far and he really loves it! Intend to start him on chinese but probably next year.

I ran into my hubby's cousin over the weekend and was shocked the hear the no. of enrichment he daughter is attending. She's in K1 and has English, Chinese, Swimming, Art, Ballet, Maths & Science (??) lessons. Her scheduled is packed everyday and she kept telling me to put B in more classes cos he won't have time when he hits P1. I politely declined and said I wanted him to enjoy his childhood and have more R&R time...keke. I paiseh to ask her "Why so kiasu?" cos I really think it's too stressful for the poor girl...but different parenting styles lah, so didn't comment much to her. My hubby said she's crazy when he heard it from me...haha.

Anyway, we celebrated B's birthday in school yesterday but he was down with a fever. He requested to have a celebration this year but suffered so much anxiety from it. His fever started on sun night and he told me he couldn't go to school. We already bought the cake so I told him we have to bring it to school no matter what. Asked him what he was worried about and eventually he told me he doesn't want the birthday song. Figured he doesn't like to be the center of attraction with everyone crowding over him and singing the song. So we agreed not to have the song and just cut the cake...he felt much better. Kids are so funny...

kitsune
Ay, my cousin's piano 25 yrs liao!!! I din wan to buy cos dunno if my girl wants to learn for long. But I prob wont buy 2nd hand piano, cos even with my cousin's piano, I had to tune a few times and oso had a thorough cleaning which cost me $700 cos of sticky keys.

My girl went for group class, accompanied. I think some kids here oso going seimpi. ONce a week. Sing song, play games, play on keyboard. If I dun rem wrongly, by half a yr, they had to play with both hands liao leh.

Elliot refusing to go to school recently. But i haven't found him a new sch yet, so dong first lor.

Oh, $300 for your swimming lesson v exp leh. ONly your 2 gals in the class? My girl's class is $60, but abt 6 kids or so.

Yvonne, my S doesnt want a bday celebration at school too. He said he only wanted to celebrate at home. Maybe same reason as urs la.

Babyling, yes, I am lucky so must stick with this teacher. But problem is it's too close to nap time so the gals esp RL are cranky in the car cos they want their milk then KO.

Mom2nat, thanks for sharing. Yup, $300 for my 2 gals only cos I cannot make up a class of 6 tots. Private swimming class. Bo bian leh, dun have timing that I want for group classes at Tampines. Either super early in the morning or clash with dinner time. :p Nat's swim class is only $60 per mth when she was 4 yrs old or now?

mom2nat, wa, price so cheap, but lessons at your condo right? Outsiders cannot go in so I cannot enrol her also. :p

Babyling, you should. I have never seen my gal so excited to go for class, even music class she will whine sometimes that she doesn't want to go. But swimming to her is like playing, after her lesson, she gets to go on the water slides. If she is naughty, and I threaten not to bring her for swimming, she will start behaving. I also had to 'sacrifice' ballet or art class in order to let her learn swimming.

Like Yvonne, I don't believe in cramming the whole weekend with enrichment, esp since my gals go to CC and they already have gym, phonics and speech & drama on weekdays. Need to have some free time for outings or just let them 'nuah' at home. Also, because only music and swimming lessons, they allow parent to accompany lar. Ballet and art class cannot. So, even though it's enrichment, I still consider it as family time lar. ;P

kitsune, i try nt to overload my girl with too many activities, only wkend morn. afternoon n evening she can play n go out

my gal likes the activities, she even ask for more which i feel is enuff at the moment. maybe i will let her start swimming when
she reach the age of 5

Babyling, that's good. So, what enrichment does your gal have in the mornings? RA has yamaha music class on Sat 12-1pm and Sun swimming 10am. Ideally, is to squeeze all the enrichment on Sat so that Sun is totally free but instructor is not free on Sat mornings. :p

kitsune, sat will have yahama 9-10am , berries 1030-1215pm
sun will have britishcouncil 9-1045am, ballet 1145 - 1230 pm

which cc is RL attending?