(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Pixie, I see. At least he does it on his own, very good Liao. I went through the same thing with RL, taken care by maid all the time. :p now then she is close to me.

Thanks! Steph.

Chaye, I favor Mei Mei more cos she is more loving n chin chai n an easy baby. Just her voice melts me. If need to do things that will make her cry, eg snatch away nailcutter from her, i ask hubby to do it. Keke. :p

kitsune
u angel, ur hb is the demon rite heehee

i planning to ask my new big boss if i can perm wfh 2x a week, eg thur n fri, so i can spend more time with x2 lor....hoping, hoping leh

Chaye,
I very obvious favour HR. Only recently has improved quite a lot. XY has become sweeter and sweeter, though she still whines, but a lot better liao. I am very, very patience with HR, I hardly scold him or raise my voice at him. But also because he takes reasoning very well, so can always talk him out of a thing. While XY cannot one, what she wants, she wants, no rooms for negotiation, distraction doesn't work either.

Good thing is HR LOVES his sister, lots! They are both very good in sharing toys. Also because we never classified the toys as HR's or XY's, we always said it's their toys. So they share everything. Of course still fight lah. Usually started with XY. She must have what HR is playing/reading. HR usually gives in to her, unless it's something that he really likes/wants to have. I would intervene just right before they started to fight. And I always tell HR, no matter what, he has to come to me, cannot beat meimei and because meimei is still a baby girl, you must sayang her. He loves it when I praise him as a big boy and good boy! Parents must be fair, don't always side the younger one. So if XY is wrong, I will tell her why she is wrong first, before I talk to HR to give her the toy that she wants to snatch from her gorgor.

These 2 months have been really good for me. As in I didn't shout or raise my voice at them anymore. Been very peaceful and happy mood at home. Enjoy spending time with them very much!

SOS!!!

Mummies, need your input! Just suddenly realised it's our 8th anniversary today! Hub said he can leave on time so we can go for a nice dinner (with the kids of course, haha). Any recommendation? Somewhere near the city. Japanese food. Not too high end one.

Wah, thanks thanks! Will check these places out.

krystle, my hub doesn't do buffet, hehe. Marina square he doesn't want, cos he works there lah, he quite often eat at waraku leh.

Blackbatz,
Congrates!!! So fast you popped already! Take care and enjoy!

Steph,
Next one should be Verene. The "mystery" mummy not so soon leh, think just cross first trimester, if it's the same mummy we are talking about.

You so pretty, any hair style also would suit you one lah :)

Pixie, hehe, for RL, I am the good cop but for RA, I am the bad cop. Cos like Chaye, I am more Impatient towards number 1 cos like Kam's XY, RA wants mean she wants, cannot distract. Cry n whine non stop...

Kam, congrats! Ma maison is good cos they give toys to kids.

Kam,

There is one Japanese restaurant quite nice at the basement of Ion. It is called Itacho Sushi. There I a branch at Plaza Singapura too.

Or u can try Ootoya at Central. Must make reservations.

wow congrats Kam ! toast to your 8th wedding anniversary ! I second Ma Maison too. It's a children friendly restaurant. Those japs will bring kids along for their meals there. The waitress will go round giving them toys to keep them occupied.

Kam/Pauline
T is also like that. Want means want but nowadays it seems like I have found a way to handle him and I'm quite please with that myself. hehehe.

Twinkystar,
Thanks! We saw the Itacho at PS last weekend, but didn't go in. Thanks for the suggestion. Will check that out. I am still not decided lah, few hours to go only. Need to rush to pick up the kids from cc, then rush to city, hope traffic would be kind to me.

Itacho is nice but the variety is little IMO and Kam if you decide to go Itacho, go to the one at ION, it's better :)

Kam,
Happy Anniversary! Nice Jap food in city...all mentioned by mummies but if u need nice jap food in west area (Jurong Super Bowl), whatsapp me!

Oh...i love Ma Maison squid ink spaghetti...nice!

Thanks all! So many foodies in this thread! All mummies here know how to enjoy life :)

Ma Maison seems like the most popular pick! But hor, I am a bit kiasi cos have to handle 2 kids till meet up with my hub, so I avoid going to shopping centre.

Decided to try a small and new Jap restaurant near tanjong pagar. Will let you know if it's good.

shannonbaby,
No leh, we went to Hanoyoshi. The food were pretty nice! Not excellent but above average. We ordered too much plus the kids ate very little. Sashimi was very nice.

Kam, glad you enjoyed yourselves, thar's most impt.
But why do u avoid shopping centres though? If I got to bring my kids out alone, I love bringing them to shopping mall, cos can kill time easily just bringing them to browse at toyshops, bookshops, libraries or kiddy rides. At least they are in a confined place and won't run too far away or I got to chase after them one by one. :p

kitsune,
XY can run VERY far away! Even at library, she can disappear if I stop engaging her for a few minutes. If I am alone, I will only bring them to the shopping centres that I am and the kids are very familiar with. Those very busy shopping centres also very crowded leh. Go bookshop, they sure want to buy books, cos HR couldn't differiate borrow and buy. He thought go library also buy books, so everytime we borrow many books from library, he thought he can do the same at bookshop :p Kiddy rides they lost interest already. Toy shops we don't go unless we want to buy toys for them.

Kam, oic, when we go to bookshops and toy r us, RaeAnne is usually just browsing. Cos she knows I will say mummy got no $, haha. Only cheap things like stickers we let her buy. Books selective cos bookshelves no space liao. She knows the difference between library and bookshop cos library books usually quite old, keke.

shannonbaby, we stayed at Cosmos Hotel last Dec
, location is good cos next to Taipei Main Railway station, Subway and shopping. And there is a very very nice 'Or Ah' Mee Suah nearby. We ate there on our first day and last day at Taipei. But hotel is quite basic, feels like a 3 stars (though they call it a local 4 stars). We walked past Caesar Park Hotel a few times cos it was nearer to that 11 storey Japanese Dept store and the lobby looks really nice and told hubby next time if we go, we'll stay there. It's a 5 stars hotel though if you don't mind paying more.

morning mummies...

Sent T to cc today. Hope everything is fine. His rashes is getting better but he's still scratching here and there. Just hope he wont ask teachers to scratch his back for him. :p

Anyone gave chix pox vaccine to their kids ? Should I or not ?

shannonbaby
Rainbow hotel in taipei is strategically located right in the middle of Ximending road. Easily accessable to a lot of shops and food and train station. But the room is not fantastic though, rather small.

shannonbaby,
Grand Hyatt Taipei was a good stay for me & hubby 6yrs ago, nice room, service was satisfactory, good food but i heard things (probably the interior) are worn out now cos afterall v old hotel & no upgarde done.

chaye,
i gave chix pox vaccine to both my boys leh. But chix pox vaccine will not guarantee 100% that the child wont catch the virus. If their immunity is weak, they'll will still get infected but probably less severe.

i gave both my kids chix pox vaccine.
But my friend's son just got chix pox even though he took the jab. so its not guarantee.

I have prob planning my family taiwan trip. need to coordinate so many pple and budget. We had 6 adults, 3 kids.

shannonbaby
nowadays if he has started whining I will call his name a few times till he look at me and ask him to stop stop stop in a firm tone. And tell him the reason why he cannot have that thing he wants. He will say "but I want it now" "but I like" I will say mummy know u want but not now. We'll have that tomorrow ok?. Sometimes it works sometimes doesnt. If it doesnt work, I will say ok if u continue to be like tat mummy will get angry and wont talk to you then I walk away. He will scream for me and I will ask him to stop if you want to talk to me. Then he will cool down then we'll talk again.

chaye,
me & hubby practise the same method u mentioned abv to my #2 too. Trial & error...sometime he just left me with no room for negotiation/reasoning & really test my patience but i will still hang on!

Chaye,
Both my kids have chicken pox vaccine too.
Prevention is better than cure... like what Steph said. even if caught it, at least less serious.
Try to give your kids soon ya. I hate chicken pox.. very troublesome to nurse it.

Shannonbaby,
I think most Taipei hotels are rather rundown, even 4 or 5 stars. I stayed in a 4 star and it was terrible... toilet wall tiles are falling... Can't believe it.
Rainbow hotel is a popular choice of its location. Very basic hotel.
Another choice is royal castle hotel, also a few mins walk from Ximenting. But this one is basic too, my bro said the room is huge, can have 2 queen beds.

Zhong Xiao Dong Road has a few better class hotels. YOu can check it out.

Steph,
You really very lucky, lunch often eat nice nice food de.

I had early lunch today. Usual stuff, porridge with dishes from mixed veg stalls.

Chaye,
Up to you lah. If you don't want to see your kids suffer from chicken pox, then get them vaccincated loh, because it's almost certain that they will be infected once in their lifetime. Pray hard that doesn't happen on a critical day, like PSLE exam day, wedding day, etc. Or let them get infected by purposely have contacts with those we are having the pox, to have free and natural immunisation :)

wah yummy!!
i had chap chye png + add rice only sighs

back at my desk, started snacking on biscuits

btw, taiwan is the next place me n hb want to go lor, all the street food yums

chaye
did you get insight from the pdf i sent u heehee? ive been using what you've done for the past 1 year liao. xandall hates it when i ignore him so he will stop his nonsense n listen to me. did i send you the writeup about the stand and think corner vs naughty corner? now that i enforce it, xandall more afraid of the corner than me ignoring him. either way, i have 2 ways to handle him, at least....

chaye,
That was the breakfast set i had last Sunday at Dempsey (RedDot)
Yes it taste yummy!

Kam,
not lucky lah...the spicy hot noodle soup is at foodcourt, not ex stuff. The seafood hot stone grill set was 17th Sep dinner at Jusco

Nowadays our thread so quiet so i put up some nice tempting food to wake everyone mah:p...hee

can drink during work? shiokzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

chaye, if i got time, i will pdf-ed the 2nd part for you. stand n think corner very useful, dont even need to naughty corner if well trained. its a place for him to unscramble his thoughts until he knows whats right/wrong and what he should do, calmly (no fussy/whining/tantrums). soon, he will no need to go to the stand n think corner n check himself before doing anything that is "undesireable". its just like training himself to think responsible

i wonder when will that happen....slowly but surely lor

steph
i always dont bother coz here got file size restriction and my work laptop no photo editing s/w leh

how? wanna cut short hair? decided liao mah?

Kam,

Have u heard/feedback from yr frds of the UK Farm? UK Agro Resort is situated in the southern state of Johor, Malaysia within the Kluang Modern Agriculture Project (Projek Pertanian Moden Kluang) under the auspices of the Ministry of Agriculture and Agro-Based Industry, Malaysia.
me & hb planning to bring our boy/s for the UK farm stay package in Dec. Convoy style with my colls & frds

pixie,
no, not yet decide leh. hmm...actually the photoshoot is bothering me, not so much on what hairstyle short or long...
last time my bridal shot was long straight hair so now i want something different but scare short hair not much pattern to create...& i dun want waste $ to rebond+colour then later cut shorter again etc. dilemma...how?

can drink la unofficial ma. It's your lunch time who cares what you drink hahaha.

I have tried a few times the naughty corner but it never work. He refused to go there and cry until I out of control. So I use preventive measures and talk calmly before it gets out of control now.

oh btw, any mummies here teach your child dialect? not purposely but just simply when he overheard your conversation with the elderly & he happened to pick it up inquisitively?

Z picked hokkien language pretty fast & able to speak...somehow amusing us

steph,
OIC. I thought it's yours and your colleagues food for today's lunch :) We have never tried the hot stone restaurant at Jusco. Was it nice?

No leh, never heard of the UK farm. Sounds good. Have farm stay some more! Kluang is pretty near, like 2 hours drive?

Kam,

The hot stone restaurant at Jusco was not too bad for the reasonable price...consider cheap cos the seafood set (salmon+scallop+prawns)cost RM36+ while my hb's mixed grill (beef+lamb+chicken) cost RM39.90. The cut of meat (beef) not so fantastic but overall is still ok

Here's the link to the UK Farm - http://ukfarm.com.my/
They are fully booked for Oct & Nov for chalet rooms left 10th & 31st Dec. I think it will be a good experience for the kids since don't need travel so far & affordable.