(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Chaye
Your situation is like mine. I strict with #1, somehow no patience for her nonsense, not so sweet to her. But to #2, sometimes he naughty we can oso laugh abt it. Sigh... I find sometimes 1st child is like tat, we find them older liao, how come still bu dong shi. #2, younger mah, more grace.

Why dun you wanna give chicken pox jab? It is not 100% but I rather give. Cos I wont wan my kids to gana when they are like 20s or 30s... worse if say your gal next time preg then gana, can be life threatening leh! Then who to blame? If say take liao still gana, then bo bian. But if the advantages are higher than the risks, might as well.
Like pnuemococcal, many pple dun give. But in many western ctys, it is a compulsory jab. In sg, not yet, not subsidised, so many pple dun give, or wait till 2yr old. But for me, the risk is there, esp now #2 go cc. All my 3 kids I give since birth, so take 3 or 4 jabs.

SY
I din teach my kids dialect, but I realised they pick up easily. We never taught my girl, but tat day we tested her, she could understand some. But hor... here is the joke...

We asked if she is pai2 si4 (naughty), she replied she knows wat we are saying, bai4 yi4(monday), bai4 di2(tuesday) bai4 si3(wednesday), bai4 si3(thursday)...."
we had a good laugh... i think eat potato is like tat, mandarin oso half baked.

Chaye, Mom2nat.
pnuemoccocal vaccine is now compulsory in SG.
I think since Nov 2009.
I got to know it after delivering #2, so might as well give both kids the injection...

You see the link below, pnuemoccocal is part of compulsory vaccine and a requirement for entry to Pri school. If T does not have it, it could mean he does not have complete immunisation...

http://www.nir.hpb.gov.sg/nir/sv/eservices/eservicesv;HPBSession=TGT0pblQVXBSvnGBl0xjvFv9bppZ5hn0QsTL0QQf2YQLgvGNpfMG!-515306292?ACTION=DISPLAY_IMMUNSCH

Mom2nat,
When I read your post, I wanted to say your info outdated liao, haha. Then read krsytle has said it :) ya, started in 2009, became part of the compulsory vaccination schedule already.

Chaye,
I have seen kid of my friend been admitted for pneumococcal. Symptoms like stomach flu but like a few times more serious. Gonna be put on drip for sure :-(

Shannonbaby,

Thanks for the review. They are having the 1 for 1 promo again but per pax is very exp.

Kam,
Ya, if no mummies' Edd is before me, I am most probably going to pop in Dec.

krystle / kam
Isit compulsory? Cos a neighbour told me no need, can wait till 2 yr old then take. Maybe b4 pri 1 gotta take, but not everyone choose to do it early bah. 1 jab vs 4 jabs is big $$ hor.

Shannonbaby,
Hi-Fi!! We have juz booked our flight to taipei too ;) When are you going? With kids? For us, is during x'mas period & our 2nd honeymoon trip this yr, haha ;p Will need more info on Taipei cos 1st time there too & F&E trip.

I have struggled close to 1month of PTWM's life!!! My weak body protested this week. Got mild fever + rashes, MC 2days ;( Now ok already. Hope my body can be stronger & con't to work part time. Haiz, if not, gonna return back to SAHM's life again ;)

Chaye,
I very KS, almost all optional vaccination were given to both my kids when they were very young. Even ME!!! i juz got chix pox vaccinated jab few weeks ago too cos one of my boy's classmate got it. Cost me $110!!! So ex!!! Cos I'm so worried that he bot back the germs. That classmate has chix pox vaccinated too but still got it & not directly from carrier. It was from her daddy who visited his nephew who had chix pox. See!!! How strong is chix pox virus... So better be safe than sorry. Juz make appt & get them vaccinated asap. Even they got it next time, it will be very mild, only few spots.

Re: Sibling love
My #1 is a good gorgor, always give in to #2. I always told him to share toys & must love meimei as meimei did not stay with us daily, only thurs-sun. There was once where it was raining cats & dogs, my mum told me that my boy told my gal "MeiMei, dun be scared of the thunder ok. Cover your ears & GorGor is here!!" Really sweet of him to take care of meimei when I'm working. On the other side, my #2 has very strong character. Always like to fight toys & bite #1. Poor #1 always ended bitten with bruises. I asked #1 to protect himself & run away or shout for me if #2 attack. But he said "I can't leave her alone, she will cry"!!! Faint, i dunno to cry or laugh. So u think i dote #1 more or #2 more leh??? Heehee ;) But I'm telling myself to be fair to both cos did not spend enough time with #2, muz be more tolerance with her.

Mom2Nat,
For your #2, can take between now to before Pri 1 maybe. Only 1 jab is required.
For your #3, coz borned after Nov 2009, have to take 3 jabs separately from right the start (They revised from 4 to 3 jabs). You check your child's health booklet again bah. Can ask PD or doc in your child's next visit.

Ya loh all the vaccines are so exp and my coy's medical benefits do not cover too.

JanBB,
So nice going on a tour again??? Just you and your husband?

Read abt your PTWM's life. Not easy but I really got to peifu you on your persistence on home learning. I totally slack on it... JIAYOU.

Haiz, I am starting to feel what Kam was feeling many months back... My workload is getting heavier and more stressful with boss insisting us to take more ad hoc projects to have a good KPI. Just imagine telling you doing daily operation work is what you should do and does not mean a good KPI??? I don't believe in that sort of theory.

And hubby's new job is terrible, working late every night and now after I offline from work at 6,7pm, need to settle my own dinner and go fetch kids and handle them by myself until they go to bed every night. Then wake up at 12am again, do some clearing of emails until 2,3 am... Then wake up 7am, whole routine starts again... I feel I am going down soon, just hanging on every min until I cannot take it anymore.

That is why I seldom post that often... Too tired.

Krystle,
Oh dear, I can understand hw u feel. When my hb was working in his ex-company, I feel like a single mother handling 2 kids. He is forever on conference call even when driving or having dinner, and in the middle of the nite too.

Janbb,
I am bringing my kids, together with my sis family and my parents to Taiwan during CNY period. We love to go family trip together during CNY. In fact, before both my sis n I are married, our current hb which was our bf during that time already start traveling during CNY with us. Hehe..
I guess we will be planning more for the kids this time.
Anyone been to farm in Taiwan? Worth the trip?

Any idea if Singapore flyers staff check the age of our kids if we bring them there? I dun feel like getting a ticket for my son. Below 3 is free.

Krystle
All my 3 kids the pnuemococcal jabs when bb. #1 took 3 jabs. #2 completed all his jabs, got his "certificate" for primary sch registration Liao. #3 now 6 mth, taken 2nd jab liao.
Jabs v exp. He went for 6 in 1, pnue & rotavirus n consultation is $520. I heard polyclinic is $400+, so actually diff not much, consultation only bah.

Janbb
Ur #1 v dong shi n sweet gor gor. It's GD ur #1 has a GD temprement, sets GD example for #2. mine opposite... #1 war commander!

Today v nice to sleep in, but me GG retail therapy, then meet fren. Today is GG to be a long day for me *yawn*

verene
that time i bought tix for my son leh, i think in feb 2011...

krystle
oh no, your working hours are crazy!! and here i am complaining that im overloaded...i only work frm eg 9 till 12 midnight and thats all...after that to bed, then wake up at 6am, routine starts all over again...i oso vired leh...at least my boss hears my cries

wah mom2nat
enjoy huh....i wfh again when im supposed to be on maternity leave...sighs....super sleepy, bb woke up at 5am, and started rolling and playing....

eh can u remember how fast your children could crawl? it was only last last weekend x2 could sit up by herself, then last week she started to crawl a bit, now shes zooming everywhere all over the house...and these few days wants to stand up liao??!

pixie,
my younger gal is like tat. from sit to crawl to pull to standing and then stand without support all in a span of abt 2 wks?

Pixie
Ur gal is fast! Mine can't sit up properly, only on bumbo. Can't crawl, only GG backwards! Ur gal wake up, ask maid handle first, u snooze.

Krystle
U working from home now right? Is it better than GG office?

Thanks mummies. Trying to look on the bright side.
But the thing is that I have conf call at some nights too... If hubby is not around, I don't know how...

Shannonbaby,
Going to TW during CNY may not be a good idea...
I am afraid many shopping malls and attractions are closed.
Those opened will be very packed... And their CNY holidays are longer than ours... You think abt it or ask around bah...

krystle,

I checked with my friend who is living in taipei. she says everything as per normal. So we will just take a risk. Wanted to bring the kids to leofoo, one of the farm and maybe the zoo. the priority of the trip will be on the 3 kids not the adults..hehhe. anyway, i dont think i can shop in peace when i bring my kids along.

grumpus
so now your gal can walk liao??

mom2nat
i find that fast, shes 7mths next week leh. surprisingly, she crawls forward. and i tot all babies crawl backward to start off with?

HELP!!
i know im perhaps more tech savvy than some mummies here but im STUCK WITH A TECH PROB!!

i just have my new work laptop, a lenovo....who's having that?

anyway when i type right, the cursor will suddenly jump and by the time i realised that i would have jumbled up the sentence/paragraph and then i need to backspace, mouse click cursor, delete blah blah...very frustrating!!
i cant find anything wrong with my laptop settings....who ever kena this prob before ah?

same as my SHIFT key. if i want to type eg TYPO and press SHIFT and pressed 4 letters right, it somehow auto select a paragraph in the document and when i started typing it just replace the whole chunk of text with my letters! then i need to do undo, undo all the time

super fedup lor!!

verene,
I didn't buy tix for HR, but that was a few months ago. One "trick" is to carry him loh, it's more difficult to judge their age when they are being carried. But Flyer not strict one, doubt they will stop you and ask. You just say turning 3 soon :)

krystle,
**Big big hugzz** Handling 2 kids alone are definitely not easy, but it's doable. Change your mindset and change your and their routine, know your priorities and shout for help when you need. At least our younger ones are 2 years old already, much much better than when they are younger. I am already so used to it liao, but then again, I am totally off work when I leave the office, while you still have to continue working, really not easy ah, to be a FTWM having a demanding job. Jia you jia you jia you!!!

JanBB,
You jia you too!!

Wah, another honeymoon!! Sooooooo envy!!!

pixie,
My gal can sit steadily at 5th month. But she skipped crawling. Standing up and cruised at about 7-8 months. Then walked just before 1 yo.

Every baby really different leh. HR was more like the "normal" pattern, sit, crawl, stand, cruise, walk, about 1 thing a month from 6th month, so he walked by 10th month.

How are you ladies? Thanks for the wishes!

I have just delivered my two boys last Sat at 33 weeks. I was admitted to the hospital on Sat morning and delivered at 4 pm. The boys are fine but they are premature at 1.5 kg and 2 kg each. Thus, they are still now in the NICU. Hopefully they will be out by next week. Please pray hard for them okay

pixie,
my girl can only cruise, can't walk without support yet.

my girl didn't crawl backwards lei. she started with commando crawl then crawl on fours, then learn to sit up from crawling position.

re: yr laptop.
is it u keep brushing the mouse pad part with yr hands?? some laptop mousepad super sensitive. i had one laptop like tat also so i hv to type with my wrists 'flying', cannot even rest lightly.

Pixie, mom2nat, i haven't given pneumococcal to RL yet, will do it in dec after she turns 2 yrs old so that only 1 jab n she gets it before going to cc in 2012.

Shannonbaby, Janbb, I was thinking of going to Perth or Taipei too while RA has been chanting that she wants to go HK disneyland for months. But in the end window too tight cos hubby only free from 28 nov n RL's birthday n RA's Cc year end concert both on 2 dec. Hubby said go RWS stayacation enough Liao, dun rush.

Elmo, congrats n take care! Hope your boys will be out of nicu fast.

Elmo,
Congrats!! Take care and hope your babies will be out of nicu very soon :)

my #2 can crawl very well now at 12 months, she can climbs up and down the sofa, bed, chair and simply refuse to walk...

Pixie,
Lenovo is my coy's affiliated product.
Hahaha... Which model/series are you using??
I had the first problem with my old laptop R60.
I will just unplug my mouse and reconnect again. Then problem will be solved. But now I am using smaller x201s, no more problem.
The second problem, I dun have before.

Elmo,
Congrats to you again!!!
Twin boys leh, that is my dream.
Don't worry, most twins are borned premature but they will recover very soon. JIAYOU!!

Shannonbaby,
If your friend said ok then good. As long as kids get to enjoy can already.

krystle
its the thinkpad...
i change USB port of my mouse, plug in plug out still same prob
monday bring to IT for troubleshooting. i never touch the trackpad lehhhh

elmo
jia you! congrats!! and im sure they will grow up very soon!

Elmo,
Congrats! I delivered mine prematurely 2 weeks ago at 33 weeks plus too. My second premature baby..Don't worry too much. Get well soon and get you breastmilk going for them..

Kam,
That is the problem of WFH....
You can hardly totally get off work. And boss expects you to log in during urgent issues...
No excuse to tell boss you can't log in as you have no access to laptop right??

Haiz, for the sake of WFH and medical benefits, continue to bite my teeth loh.
I really wish one day I can quit and go back to translation.

blackbatz
hows ur boobies doing?
and your #1 or #2 is premie ah?
we still waiting for your birth story...u coping ok with 3 kids at home?

Thanks mummies for the wishes!

Blackbatz,

Hw is bb? Is bb back hm with u? I m a bit worried for them as they hv not gained good weight to come hm with us. Other than diligently pumping milk, I think there is nothing much I can do. I also experienced bad backache I guess due to the wrong posture while pumping. N my tummy is still so big lor....

Krystle,
U mean u WFH & dun even need to report to office at all? No wonder always see u "pak toh" with your hubby on FB status ;) The reason that i decided to work part time is to con't my home learning with them. So i got no excuse to be lazy, heehee. U can do it too since u WFH now ;) One day just spend 1 or 2hrs reading, seatwork or playing memory games with kids is consider good enough ^.^ Jia you too!!

shannonbaby, pauline, krystle, kam
Re: Taipei trip
Yes, going with hubby only. Short trip 4d3N & mainly shopping & eating. Looking forward!! Wanted to bring kids to HK disneyland in dec at first but decided to postpone next yr jun. Think weather shld not be so cold as dec rite.

Mom2Nat,
#1 is too soft, worried that he will get bully in sch next time. However, #2 is too tough & I will sure get complain by other parents if she con't to bite or bully people. Faint!!! Mummy here has lots & lots of worries, haha.

Elmo,
Congrats & take care!! Your gal has 2 younger brothers suddenly, so nice ^.^ Mother of 3!!!

blackbatz,
didn't know you delivered your #3 prematurely. Take good care ya!

Elmo,
Are they supplemented with FM? No worries, all the expects are around to take good care of them. Must arrange a playdate when you have got into your new routine, I want to carry and hug your twins. I love twins!!

krystle,
Why not? You should seriously consider the translation work, make full use of your biligual talent!

I don't log in, don't check my BB (Blackberry). Totally off work. My colleague said what if they is emergency? She is at the same position as me and she keeps checking her BB for messages and e-mails till at least 10pm, sometimes later. I said no emergency, we are not dealing with life and death, there is nothing so urgent that it cannot wait till tomorrow morning. Lucky in my field of business, it's really true that we don't have to rush with the time. So even if I can't finish my work, I still leave my co on time at 530pm every day, then continue to work on it the next morning.

Kam,
Your Collg has nothing better to do after work or feel bored ba, since nothing urgent why must check email and such. And even if there's anything urgent, I'm sure her boss will call her on the phone instead to get faster respond. Lolz

Found time to share my birth story.
My #1 is a premmie..#2 delivered on the 37th week,considered full term.
I was feeling very tired on the 14 Sept after working for long hours on the first and second day of term. was on mc cos gynae does not open on Wednesday. On the 15th Sept, I was about to stand up to get my car keys when I felt the leakage. I know die liao, not urine leakage.

Quickly left for hospital, nurses came and looked. After 1 hour, told me confirmed water bag burst liao. Gynae came around 10 plus, had to give me steriod jabs (2 long ones) but had to keep my bb inside for 24 hours so that steriod jabs are effective. Steroid jabs are given to premature babies to strengthen their lungs. The needles are the longest ever. In order to stop contractions, I was hooked up to ventolin. The anesthetist said that I was too dehydrated, ordered me to be put on glucose drip, more than usual mummies. Completely lied on the bed for 24 hours. With so much glucose, I had to "pee" every hour.

Luckily, contractions was under controlled around midnight..Otherwise, had to go for op earlier. With the steroid jabs, bb was able to breathe on his own at the NICU instead of using respirator.

I was discharged after staying for 5 days. Then the following day, I started delivering BM to the hospital as hubby was not free lor. So my confinement went haywire. From 7th day onwards, I was going there twice a day to breast feed bb. It was quite siong.

Now that he is back, I can do my CL properly..I also went to fetch CL by myself. Hopefully he is gaining weight cos I'm battling engorgement. I produce 3x more than what he consumed, so the engorgement is really bad. He can't even drain 1 breast. Can feel the blockage everywhere but it is getting better.

My house is super crowded right now. 5 room flat with 9 people (incl my 3 kids).

Elmo,
BB usually drop weight during the the first week. Then they will slowly regain their weight. I hope u have a good pump to help u with the expression. Once u are better, with the pumping and visiting, your tummy will go down.

Luvv,
She has a 2.5 yo daughter to tend to, no maid also, but her mum lives with her to help out. And she is pregnant now also. She said just in case there are people waiting for urgent respond woh. More like a habit bah. She only puts down her BB cos her hubby complained so much so there came up with the agreement of the cut off time at 10pm, LOL!

blackbatz,
You sounded very experienced and knew exactly what to do and very calm :) Wah, engorgment and produce too much for your babies!! Very good milk factory you are operating ;-)

Kam,
ok ok, i think she won't be able to keep up with that habit once bb arrives too...:p

Blackbatz,
Wah sounds cool and calm for you, btw, how come 9 people in your house so many?

Congrats Elmo n blackbatz! Jiayou to our moo moo career ;)

I m so angry w my maid past days, finally today saw her attitude improve, write notes ask questions m cookin better!
I hope she maintain else 2 wks later I will replace her! Tink she reali felt my anger tis time so start buck up! Las nite she v free at 9pm n readin papers , my hb scold her n told her off to revise her Notes n recipes! Haha, at last she buckup

Kry , wtf usu no fixed wrk hrs, 24hrs standby! As long as it doesn't affect ur appraisal n bonus, juz hang on, at least more. Freedom n saves time traveling to office

Hi Kam,
Should be a Oct baby, That's why u said why so early. This round hor, I had a premonition that I would be delivering early, dished out my work and told colleagues where I kept my stuff etc. Was keeping my fingers cross that I could hit 36 weeks, I was about to ask gynae for hospitalisation leave on the very day I delivered.

Luvv,
my family of 5 + parents + maid + CL = 9 lor
It was a relieved that #3 is bigger (2.3kg) and older (33 wks plus) than #1 (28 wks).

Chaye,
My #1 was down with chicken pox despite the jab. However, it was mild like pink spots on some parts of his body. There's no pus or liquid in the spots. It was easier to take care of him and less strenuous on our part.

Blackbatz, oic, must be too much standing n walking at work. My friend delivered both her babies prematurely at 28 weeks, spent a bomb at nicu both times. Luckily the steroid jab works. Happy mooing, hope the cl will help you out so that you can rest more. Jia you!

Blackbatz
Good to hear that you are more settled. 2.3 quite big for premmie Ligrow with ur power boobs, will grow big in no time.

Ur maternity leave a bit lugi hir, cos nov dec is sch hols. How isit with 3 boys?

blackbatz
u got engorgement im sure u got pump out to clear the milk rite...got milk better than no milk, u lucky gal!

wah, NCIU 5 digit huh...govt got subsidy or not since you civil servant?

JanBB,
Haiz, WFH still have to report to office. But only 1,2 times per mth for impt site meetings or when boss wants to just see our faces.
Aiyo, you painted a nice picture abt WFH. Unfortunately no way for home learning. Because emails are flooding in, I have conf calls, discussions, people pinging me in office msn... cannot do home learning at all!!! When kids are at home with me, I got to ask maid to entertain them and not to disturb me.

Aqua,
You are right. Travelling is troublesome though my office is not that far from my home. One good thing is lesser office politics.

Kam,
Will want to go back to translation one day coz that is my hobby, my interest. But I want to do it at min stress, hopefully in the time when my hubby's salary can allow me to be SAHM. Then I can just take up assignments as and when I want.
I miss translation. Feel good when I can just sit at a cafe and slowly write my stuff while drinking a nice cup of coffee.

Blackbatz,
Wow, you are very steady.
But now your baby boy is back, hope engorgement will be gone. Happy moo-ing.
Yes, NICU costs are sky high...
My friend's SIL gave birth to triplets and all of them in NICU for 1 mth. Total expense $100K!