(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Luca, HK trip is from 7-10 June. Was considering to sign up for magic access annual membership so that can get discount for hotel stay, dining etc. But end up the hotel package I booked which includes 2 adult tickets and buffet breakfast is cheaper. And cannot use the magic access membership discount for the hotel package prices. :p

Nez, I don't know how to do it cos it's my first maid. Asking agency to do it for me, need to pay $200+. Anyway, already passed agent my maid's itinerary, think she will do the necessary for me.

Nez, I find that cebu pacific airtics seem cheap when you book but after adding the hidden costs, it's even more exp than jetstar. Eg. for jetstar, I paid $260 but cebu pacific, initially show $119 for one way ticket but after you book for return tics and they add the taxes, the price becomes $322+. :p

nez,
never heard of this airline, but will check it out, thanks!

maybe u can check out phil embassy website, see if they got instructions there.

kitsune,
ni zhen hui jin da xi suan ;p

Nex,
It is possible to do it yourself online. But it is not joke. After applying online, still got to go down to Tanjong Pagar early in the morning to queue up to get the work permit card. If go too late, there will be long queue of people collecting their work permit cards, all types of foreign workers, not just domestic helper. Got to make sure u purchase the insurance etc..

Nez,
My mum's helper always goes back by Cebu pacific. When there's offer its really cheap.
I also do the WP renewal n insurance myself. It's really quite easy, just go to MOM website n do online. Insurance also can buy online.
The only thing u still need the agent to do is get the 'standard employment contract' for u. This is required by the Phillipines side n only authorized agents can get it.

Oh n after yr maid come back, u can log in to CPF website n apply for waiver of levy for the period she was on home leave. Juz scan in the required docs n submit online. The rebate will be credited back to yr acct.
So far I've done the renewal twice already n no issues.

Thnx all for the reply!

I'm ok with the insurance n wrk permit thingy actually since can do online. But whn my helper went bk last march, the agency said for Phil helper, they need to pay extra 200++ for their Hm leave application. Is that the contract thing which grumpus mentioned?

kitsune,
no website. i received their phamplet at my doorstep.

i can scan the phamplet for you if u want?

Kam,
hubby in KL, doubt i will go to pasir ris park :p, if i do, will text you definitely!

Nez,
Yup my mum's agent charged them abt $300 for all the documentation required on the philipines side including the contract thingy.

Grumpus, so which means I still need the agency to help me do the contract thing lor rite? Sry for so many qns ;p

Nez,
Yup, u still need the agency to do part of it for u, cos when yr helper leaves philipines aft her leave, the govt got a lot of requirements tat need to fulfill. I tried asking the embassy before whether we can do ourselves they say cannot. Only registered agencies.

Singapore side WP, insurance etc is easy n MOM allow us to do ourself.

Grumpus, can i check with you if this is the 2nd time I am sending back my filippino maid, still need the employment contract or just need to apply home leave can liow? The last time I also paid 220 for the employment contract.

I also bought Cebu Pacific tics last week as they had a promotion...v much cheaper than the 1st time i sent her back.

Dawn,
When was the last time yr maid went back? If the employment contract from last time is still valid, u can reuse. Everytime they leave philipines they need to hv a valid contract. If no longer valid then need to get a new one. The agent shd hv given u a copy. Usually we only let our maid go back after 2 yrs so always need a new contract.

But anyway even if contract still valid, best to check with the agent if any other docs required cos philipines side got a lot of red tape n kopi money situations. If yr maid got prob leaving phil then jia lat liao.

Its massage again tonite wor. I realized if men go on biz trip to ang mo countries the chances of being brot to entertainment is so much lesser compared to ASEAN countries hor ?

Tks Grumpus, she went back in Dec 2009, going back in Dec 2011 again...think the contract would have expired. She told me her friend said 2nd time no need contract, just home leave needed...so I was quite confused. Philippine very trouble some, my fren's indo maid, she just apply on her own home leave cand renew work permit can liow. save $$$

Dawn,
U will need another employment contract thingy. Yes philipines very troublesome. Is their govt trying to make $$ lah. All these requirements r when they r leaving philipines, nothing to do with sgp. For indo maid their govt dun hv all these requirements so is much easier.

Dawn, when is your maid going back? The last time when Cebu pacific had offer, I went to check but June hols like no difference leh.

Grumpus, my maid's contract only ends on 29 Jul but I'm letting her go back in June cos school hols. Any contract implications ah? Cos actually her work permit haven't expire yet. :p

kitsune,
no contract implications. as long as she has a valid contract when leaving phil, the govt doesn't care if the dates actually match up etc....it's just abt $$$ so their requirement is very 'simple'
my maid also goes back on home leave a couple of mths before the work permit actually expires. no issues.

, luca , ya enzyme is good especially for adult above 35 yo cuz the body would have lesser ability to produce enzymes to digest food n do other functions. Actually Kids do not need enzyme supplement as they are able to produce from their lymph node themselves n as long as they are eating enough raw fruits n veg. If they dun , it's more taxing on their digestive system because the body needs lots of enzymes to breakdown the meat . So in a way taking enzymes now is beneficial for the kid if he doesn't like veg or fruits. That's why Shannonbaby ur gal doesn't fall sick easily.

I had taken the photo will post the pic of the candy that I have at home

Pauline shannOnbaby, I can't upload from my phone, can pm me? Then I email u the photo. Forum is blocked in com so can't upload here too

Ahhhhh my #2 fell off the bed yest!!
I left bb on the bed, turned away for a split sec to make FM for #1 and then I heard a loud BOM. Turned back and saw bb flat on her back on the floor. Best part is #1 actually told me bb falling down but I didn't turn back to look Cos when bb tips to her side lexie always says she's falling, so I tot she just tipped tat's all. Who knows she ended up so close to the edge that she tipped over it.

Haiz, lexie was so scared and started crying loudly also so I sat there holding 2 screaming kids. Last night couldn't sleep kept waking to check on bb make sure she's sleeping n not unconscious.

grumpus,
Oh, poor thing. Not to worry, falling off bed is one of the part and parcal of their growing up. When my #2 fell, HR didn't respond like Lexie, he just said meimei fell down and that's it.

You catch some rest in the day whenever possible. Take care!

TGIT...long wkends ahead...

morning all!

grumpus,
hiyo sayang bb Alyson. But like Kam said, not to worry, my Z oso fell off bed while toss n turn in bed until today...& amazingly he can continue sleeping!*duh* My #2 lagi best, fell out/climb out from the yao lan by himself & still sit upright on the floor! Can still smile...he must have felt v exciting but i was terrify...dunno got hurt himself...luckily is just only one time off:p

Here's a joke for the day to bring a smile on everyone's face!

A popular motivational speaker was entertaining his audience.
He Said: "The best years of my life were spent in the arms of a woman who wasn't my wife !"
The audience was in silence and shock.
The speaker added: "And that woman was my mother!"

Laughter and applause.
A week later, a top manager trained by the motivational speaker tried to crack this very effective joke at home.
He was a bit foggy after a drink.
He said loudly to his wife who was preparing dinner,
"The greatest years of my life were spent in the arms of a woman who was not my wife !"

The wife went ; "ah!" with shock and rage.
Standing there for 20 seconds trying to recall the second half of the joke,
the manager finally blurted out "...and I can't remember who she was !"

By the time the manager regained his consciousness, he was on a hospital bed nursing burns from boiling water

Moral of the story: Don't copy if you can't paste !

i still cant book the tickets after trying it twice last night, n its getting on my nerves oredy as the air tix has raised to $20 for d 2 way trip. shucks! wondering is the airline really so hot dat everybody book at the same timing? duh!

Can i check with u mummies...need your advise/opinion. TQ!

Z got HFMD on Monday but last Sunday feverish. Today considered the 4th day? He is recovering well now (no fever, still coughing on/off), better appetite & just need to go back for PD's review next Monday. His little bro R so far don't show any HFMD symptoms, no fever. My qn is...will he catch the virus from his bro still ? or he is considered safe (no/low risk)? Cos me & hb wanna bring him for a convoy trip (3D2N) tmrl but we scare he might develop hfmd symptom like Z.

hi tongtong,

i pm u my email already..

i must agree enzyme is really very good. my family have it everyday before n after meals.
my gal seldom fall sick cos she is usually on vege, fruits and fish diet only. in fact until nw, we still do not put any salt or sugar in her meals except when she takes her lunch in school. We cook her meals separately from the adults. She loves homecooked food and cant eat well outside.
but a bottle of enzyme is sooo expensive. luckily, my MIL pay for it..hehhe

steph,
Haha, funny!

Wah, another convoy trip! You and your hub addicted to it liao :p Where's the destination this time round?

For the virus, it's hard to say. But it's more likely that he won't develop the symptom since it's already 5 days liao (since Sunday). I thought you sent R to your mum? Would there be a lot of interaction with other families? To be on the safe side, minimise his contact with other people and bring along a bottle of fever med?

ShannOnbb, I will try to get the address for u . But no 2O%discount ok. Btw ya enzyme is real gOod. U can actually DIY cheap n good. My mums friend made one for me, papaya mixed with red wine. It's like xian1 dan1 u know. If I feel heath or starting to feel like having sore throat I just drink at night next morning ok Liao. For enzyme it's better to drink after food if u have week stomach.

Hey ur gal is so clean n Pure! My boy although eating healthily but at the same time lots of junk n seasoning too that's why he eats very well outside. Sometimes commenting that the fried rice outside better than what I cook for him lol.

kam,

yup my hb enjoyed convoy, i am neutral. We didn't plan for this/another convoy so soon, at least not at this time when Z is unwell. It was a sudden arrangement/invitation cos one of the marshal's father is v sick in hospital so the chief marshal need another marshal for this convoy to Kuantan (17 cars 60 pax) & since my hb knew this route to kuantan so well (will be his 3rd trip if he gonna do it again this time). This trip will be complimentary (accommodation & meal) for the family!
We have not give an answer to the chief marshal yet...still contemplating. Most likely not gg.
If we are gg with R then yes will bring a set of medication on standby just in case! V challenging cos is like bringing a time bomb! if u know what i mean. Yup R is with my mum, no contact with Z so far & Z miss his little bro v much! I miss him badly too, it has been 3days i have not seen/touch/hug/smell him liao

steph,
wow, we had drove up to Kuantan too! love the trip very much.
i think shld b quite safe to go since the 2 boys are not together, lower chance for R to get the virus. But then again, do bring along medication. Actually, i will bring along some common medication when i bring my kids overseas everytime.

tongtong,
i have another set of prob cos my gal cant eat well outside due to her eating habit. she survived on cheese bread and milk during our 2 weeks europe trip. only occasionally if we manage to find plan rice and egg, she will have it. She told me she wants to eat rice with broccoli whenever i ask her what she wants for meals. but where to find rice n broccoli soup in europe..

twinkystar,
my MIL bought it in bulk from a supplier, so i duno where can we get it. we usually take a few bottles from her, when we run out of it, then will get it from her house.
I will try to ask her tonite if ur interested.
but i saw some organic shop selling it, different brand and more exp too.
will try to take a picture n show u tonite.

Shannonbaby,
wow your girl's system so pure, you hardly eat outside?

kitsune,
i emailed you the brochure liao, no price but i wrote the price i paid for in my email liao.

shannonbaby,
That's so good for S. You must be working very hard cooking for your kids.

I am forced to cook too as HR didn't eat well at restaurants, and I don't want to give him foodcourt/hawker food (no offence, but I just think it's too MSG laden). I add a little salt/soy sauce when cooking for him, if soup then no salt. I do use pork and chicken in his dishes, but mainly are veg and fish. I don't cook separately for the adults, we eat the same dishes as HR. For my gal, still no salt/soy sauce, and she is mainly still on porridge. My next challenge comes when my gal starts cc in July. The big change of food would definitely affect her.

steph,
FREE leh! Go lah! R&R mah, who knows your #3 will be Made in Kuantan :)

Tongtong, thanks for the pic of the enzyme sweet. Any restriction on how many they can eat a day? :p

Thanks, luvv, I am still trying to download the pic using my iPhone. Super slow. :p

Kam, Raelynn already eating our home cooked table food which has low seasoning. If we cook soup then will dish out hers before we add salt. If noodle soup, will use fresh ingredients for her first, then add fish balls n crabsticks to the soup later cos those r Raeanne's favorite but I dun like to add much cos got msg. :p

Btw, interesting to add sesame seeds to stir fried veg, I never try before. Does it make the veg tastier?

hi ladies..
back to work today. Not tip top condition but feels better coming into office talking to colleagues and working rather than staying at home nua.

Moreover it's our D&D tonite ! yeah ! wonder will I get the top lucky draw ! kekekeke

luvv,
my gal's system is not that pure, we do give her things like ice cream, french fries, etc when we r outside. in fact, we eat outside very often during weekends, but will make an effort to cook and bring the kids' food along or feed them before bringing them out.

kam,
i used to be very hard working cooking for my kids. but nw, i have a maid mah, so she will do the cooking. in fact, when my kids r in childcare, i still make an effort to cook for them and let them bring to sch until they r abt 2.5yrs old then they start taking cc food.
btw, i love the dishes u prepare for HR...

kitsune,
Actually, I am very relax with XY eats or don't eat over the weekends. So I cook very simple porridge. She doesn't eat also never mind, cos comes weekdays, she eats very well (yummy and nutritious meals at her nanny). Make me very lazy lah. I rather she doesn't eat seasoning food till later.

Hao Re liked fish ball for a very short period. Then rejected fish ball liao. Crab stick he never ate (not sure at cc lah). I avoid processed food as much as possible and there is no sauce in my kitchen. Only use salt, sugar and soy sause for seasoning. But I do use a lot of garlic and sesame oil. Try to use fresh ingredient as much as possible (though didn't take the organic approach). After having kids and read a lot of info, I truly believe in "we are what we eat!", more so for children.

Oh the sesame seeds, yes, make the dishes taste different and mainly because I LOVE sesame seeds, I would eat up every single seed I can see ;-)

shannonbaby,
At least your maid can cook well for the kids. HR is weird, he doens't like french fries. Oh but my girl, she chiong for french fries, I tell you! We dine out often too during weekends, but ya lor, try our best to cook whenever we can.

Sigh, talking about cc food, think most of the cc don't provide good food leh, usually it's soupy rice with tiny bits of veg and meat. I thought of letting him bring lunch box to school, but didn't have enough energy to do it and don't want the teachers think I am a troublesome parent :)

Thanks! That's very simple dishes lah 家常小菜 only lah. I learned from my mum. She made me cooked for the family (occasionally when she was too busy) when I was only primary :p

tongtong, shannonbaby, kam,
yeah i enjoyed the Kuantan trip too. Love the Pak Su seafood
plus the nice beach near the hotel BUT we turn the free offer down. We miss Z v much & yearn some family time together!
Dun want dragon bb leh...factory close for overhaul:p

Just now Z's cc teacher called & informed that another girl (Z's classmate) infected with HFMD on Tuesday but she is mild case, no fever (only mouth ulcers). She also highlighted that we need to buy some supplements to boost his immunity as she noticed that Z often fall sick. When during outdoor playtime, Z will participated actively but at the same time if too strenuous, he'll start to vomit...dunno why? hmm...TCM physician term as 胃寒.
Apart from this chat, we also talked about Z's school progress. His learning milestones were on track but his attention span were v short for activity that he is not so keen in. While he will only concentrate on activity that he's more interested in like art n craft, music n movement & water play. On top of our discussion, we oso talked abt his misbehaviour in class cos i often heard Z told me that he was punished by teacher to stand at naughty corner. Teacher quoted one incident that Z address another teacher as 'office girl'!! And the teacher felt disrespectful. Gosh i have no idea where he learnt this sentence from. Anyway i told teacher when you discipline/punished him, please explain to him why (reason & correct him with proper word/correct address, in this case shld be teacher instead of office girl) & do not hold it against him too harshly as he is just a kid & with no ill intention/meaning since 'office girl' is not an unpleasant word. Am i being too lenient towards Z? Do u think he needs to be punished to stand notti corner for such issue?

sorry for my long post:p

Steph,
I can understand why the teacher would think the term office girl is disrespectful. I would be ok with the teacher telling Z off for using tat term n explaining wat is the correct term to use. But I think the naughty corner shd be reserved for serious misbehaviors cos u want to make sure they understand n remember the big issues. If every small thing also naughty corner then it will lose it's effect?

Kam,
How do u find the extra time to do marketing for fresh veg to wipe up simple dishes everyday? Aft work, u gotta pick up HR from CC & XY from nanny & do marketing?
you, shannonbaby, tongtong & kitsune...really 用心良苦 & put in extra effort to make sure your kids eats healthily (home cooked food)...your kids are so fortunate! No wonder my boys kept falling sick, I am 惭愧

I am very relax with my boys's diet. They'll have home cooked food almost Mon to Fri prepared by my MIL. Come wkends, v unlikely to avoid processed & junk food BUT we'll sure try to avoid if possible. My boys love Jap cuisine alot, esp chawamushi (steamed egg) & garlic fried rice from sushi teh

chaye,
Enjoy your D&D!

steph,
You meant to say you missed R very much, right.

I think grumpus is right. Naughty corner should be used more appropriately. Just because the teacher was not happy being called office girl, which Z has no bad intention and doesn't know what's the real meaning for it, that doesn't warrant a time out. Say if the teacher calls him naughty boy, should she be put at the naughty corner? But yes, have to explain to him clearly.

Re boasting the immunity. If he is eating well (good enough portion and not too picky on food), I don't think giving supplement can help to boast his immunity. Though no harm trying if you want, but you have to know what he is lacking of so that you can supplement it. I would rather look at the opposite way, ie how to get rid of the toxin in his body. Z bowel movement is okay? Pooing is important to get rid of those unwanted stuff in our body. And to help him eat more healthily. Cut down junk food for sure. And eat more fruits and veg. And exercise more. Drink more water.

grumpus,
yeah i meant i am ok with teacher telling Z off too but was just wondering if notti corner is just too much for such issue cos like u mentioned if big issues how?
oh last wk, my pil asked contractor to do fan installation in their living room so my fil forgotton to pick Z up from CC at usual timing & until about 2.30pm then remb as installation time was prolonged. So cc teacher kept calling my handphone & i got four missed calls diverted to voice mail. I was in a meeting so didn't pick it up. When i try to retrieve it yesterday from my voice mail to listen & delete voice mails, i heard one message from his chinese language teacher which goes like this, "Wah Lau...打家电话,打手机,没人听!" hang up. I was like...duh a second then was wondering how could a teacher say "wah lau" as in terrible (in my voicemail somemore but i guess not on purpose)...i mean i admit i used this word sometimes but not infront of my kids. Imagine if the kids in the CC overheard it, will they pick it up accidently? Somemore is from a teacher's mouth! hmm...anyway his chinese language teacher is PRC. Maybe my PCF cc no standard
hiaz...

kam,
i meant Z, not R. R co-sleep with me every night.

Z's bowel movement is good, everyday sure poo, no problem. He is a picky eater...maybe, sometimes. He don't like his greens. We'll try to mash the veg into his porridge to make sure he eats it. Or replace with other non green veg like carrot, cabbage etc. As for fruits, he got no issue with fruits, he loves banana, apple, watermelon, papaya, strawberry etc.

Kam,
yes R with my mum when i am working mah. after work, we'll bring him home still. As for Z, with my pil & he stays overnight since Monday nite till now...so i missed him loh.

Steph , one way for z to recover from his cooling stomach is to avoid giving fruits at night n to give him cinnamon leaves which is boiled in water . Add some molasses sugar so that it taste good for the kids.

wahhh tongtong...u are natural remedies/TCM guru!

ok i try but provided my pil strictly follow no fruits at night. Old folks v difficult to educate them cos they will say not i want to give (their mindset is fruits is a good thing after dinner) but your boy make noise/request, cannot tahan his tantrum so give in etc.
I dun like cinnamon smell leh...where do i buy molasses sugar? in chinses is call? I dunno if Z will like/accept cinnamon taste/smell. Sounds easy can try no harm. But how does cinnamon leaves help? thanks!

Steph, just tell them to give fruits especially in the afternoon or morning cuz that is when there's sun. Ur boy needs sunning too. Bring him under sun before 10 am or after 4 pm. Cinnamon stick doesn't taste nice but the leaves one is good. They are heaty stuff so it can help z. But u have to see his condition n stop after 3rd or 4th day if he started to get heaty. Also at same time give him the porridge with shan Yao, qian2 shi2 n barley. Good for him . So important thing to remember, clean food, sun n love. Guarantees health