(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Luca, HK trip is from 7-10 June. Was considering to sign up for magic access annual membership so that can get discount for hotel stay, dining etc. But end up the hotel package I booked which includes 2 adult tickets and buffet breakfast is cheaper. And cannot use the magic access membership discount for the hotel package prices. :p

Nez, I don't know how to do it cos it's my first maid. Asking agency to do it for me, need to pay $200+. Anyway, already passed agent my maid's itinerary, think she will do the necessary for me.

Nez, I find that cebu pacific airtics seem cheap when you book but after adding the hidden costs, it's even more exp than jetstar. Eg. for jetstar, I paid $260 but cebu pacific, initially show $119 for one way ticket but after you book for return tics and they add the taxes, the price becomes $322+. :p

nez,
never heard of this airline, but will check it out, thanks!

maybe u can check out phil embassy website, see if they got instructions there.

kitsune,
ni zhen hui jin da xi suan ;p

Nex,
It is possible to do it yourself online. But it is not joke. After applying online, still got to go down to Tanjong Pagar early in the morning to queue up to get the work permit card. If go too late, there will be long queue of people collecting their work permit cards, all types of foreign workers, not just domestic helper. Got to make sure u purchase the insurance etc..

Nez,
My mum's helper always goes back by Cebu pacific. When there's offer its really cheap.
I also do the WP renewal n insurance myself. It's really quite easy, just go to MOM website n do online. Insurance also can buy online.
The only thing u still need the agent to do is get the 'standard employment contract' for u. This is required by the Phillipines side n only authorized agents can get it.

Oh n after yr maid come back, u can log in to CPF website n apply for waiver of levy for the period she was on home leave. Juz scan in the required docs n submit online. The rebate will be credited back to yr acct.
So far I've done the renewal twice already n no issues.

Thnx all for the reply!

I'm ok with the insurance n wrk permit thingy actually since can do online. But whn my helper went bk last march, the agency said for Phil helper, they need to pay extra 200++ for their Hm leave application. Is that the contract thing which grumpus mentioned?

kitsune,
no website. i received their phamplet at my doorstep.

i can scan the phamplet for you if u want?

Kam,
hubby in KL, doubt i will go to pasir ris park :p, if i do, will text you definitely!

Nez,
Yup my mum's agent charged them abt $300 for all the documentation required on the philipines side including the contract thingy.

Grumpus, so which means I still need the agency to help me do the contract thing lor rite? Sry for so many qns ;p

Nez,
Yup, u still need the agency to do part of it for u, cos when yr helper leaves philipines aft her leave, the govt got a lot of requirements tat need to fulfill. I tried asking the embassy before whether we can do ourselves they say cannot. Only registered agencies.

Singapore side WP, insurance etc is easy n MOM allow us to do ourself.

Grumpus, can i check with you if this is the 2nd time I am sending back my filippino maid, still need the employment contract or just need to apply home leave can liow? The last time I also paid 220 for the employment contract.

I also bought Cebu Pacific tics last week as they had a promotion...v much cheaper than the 1st time i sent her back.

Dawn,
When was the last time yr maid went back? If the employment contract from last time is still valid, u can reuse. Everytime they leave philipines they need to hv a valid contract. If no longer valid then need to get a new one. The agent shd hv given u a copy. Usually we only let our maid go back after 2 yrs so always need a new contract.

But anyway even if contract still valid, best to check with the agent if any other docs required cos philipines side got a lot of red tape n kopi money situations. If yr maid got prob leaving phil then jia lat liao.

Its massage again tonite wor. I realized if men go on biz trip to ang mo countries the chances of being brot to entertainment is so much lesser compared to ASEAN countries hor ?

Tks Grumpus, she went back in Dec 2009, going back in Dec 2011 again...think the contract would have expired. She told me her friend said 2nd time no need contract, just home leave needed...so I was quite confused. Philippine very trouble some, my fren's indo maid, she just apply on her own home leave cand renew work permit can liow. save $$$

Dawn,
U will need another employment contract thingy. Yes philipines very troublesome. Is their govt trying to make $$ lah. All these requirements r when they r leaving philipines, nothing to do with sgp. For indo maid their govt dun hv all these requirements so is much easier.