(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Kam noted u mentioned about organic food. In fact if we buy non organic veg or fruits we can wash them using enzymes. Good enough no need go for organic, cheap n good ya.

Luvv, thanks, finally saw the brochure. The furniture sets are sweet, but seems like for older kids cos I noticed there are no bedrails. But still don't have the pull out beds that I'm looking for.

Steph, aiyoh, my kids have home cooked food cos I have maid mah. Anyway, they still fall sick often esp RaeAnne so dun feel guilty.

Tongtong, I've bought starfruits today. RaeAnne ate some but mei Mei refused (she is very picky about fruits, hardly want to eat any fruits). So in the end, no choice, I juiced it with the leftover tomatoes and apple. At least Mei Mei drank some. :p

kam, i see, no wonder. hehe, I liked fried crushed garlic n fried shallots but too heaty for the gals leh. :p Oic, the gals eat at home unless we go out on weekends. So 5 days of healthy food, come weekends, I'm usually more relaxed too. Cos I think cannot everyday eat healthy also (Tongtong, cover your ears ;P). If not, they will crave so much for unhealthy food and go crazy over them when they grow up cos too deprived when young. :p

Just briefly scan thru the post. Finished cleaning the house and packing and we're flying off to Seoul tomorrow morning...yipee!

Saw the comments on cooking for our kiddos. B eats whatever I cook and it's simple cooking with less seasoning. He eats well outside but we do try to avoid fast-food and fried food as much as we can.

I like to cook japanese/korean food like oyako-don or bibimbap...these are suitable for our kids. I can share my simple recipe:-
1) Oyako-don (chicken & egg on rice)
Just stir-fry some sliced onions with cubed chicken thighs, season with soya sauce and sake and add water & chicken stock. Stew for 30 mins then break 2 eggs over the stew, gently stir and cook for 5mins until eggs are cooked. Just scoup over rice and add scallions & seaweed stripes on top.

2) Bibimbap (korean mxed vegetable rice)
Just stir-fry minced meat and season with soya sauce. You can use a few different types of veg eg. carrots, cucumber, bean sprouts, spinach, etc. Just slice veg thinly and stir-fry. Add the veg and meat to rice and add korean chilli paste (for adults) or some ketchup (for kiddos) and mix well. Top with seaweed striped and a fried egg if you like.

These 2 recipes are well-liked by B and my hb and simple to cook, not much seasoning too.

So envy with everyone getting busy and going out due to the long holiday.

I am stuck at home to work and cannot spend the day with my kids. Feeling like a very bad mummy now...

Pixie,
With a newborn baby, can't do much lah... Maybe shopping?? Weather is too hot now for an outdoor... Or you want to bring X2 to one of those tub swimming session???

Yvonne,
Enjoy your Seoul trip!!!

Last nite's D&D sucks. It's the worst ever I've ever attended. The is zero entertainment and so what tat they paid so much higher for Hossan Leong as mc ? Too easy for him man ! He just gave out some awards, sang 3 songs and played a game which is less than 3mins. So anti climate. All the staff started go round toasting each other from table to table. Pity the Muslims who doesn't drink so they practically sat there chi chatting tat's all ! So so disappointing. So u tot ok maybe can get lucky to win sime prizes home right? They only gave away the top 3 on stage and the rest (abt 400+) staff has to go back to chk our portal on Monday ! it's just so nonsensical !! This year's committee sucks ! Lol sorry mummies it's Good Friday but still need to offload this here.

Yvonne
Eh I like your recipe leh. So simple. I must note down and try some day. Enjoy your trip to Korea ya !

Pixie
Ya MOM will deduct from your savings a/c

Krystle
I'm also staying at home. T is taking his nap. #1 is doing assessment. Mid year exam coming le. Once u hv sch going children hor ver difficult to go out on weekends. Cos need to study LOR :p we must cherish our toddler now

Chaye,
OK lah abt the prize giving... at least you don't have to wait for all the 400+ prizes to be given out or else I don't think you can even go home when day breaks! Hahaha..

My ex-coy's DND always had 100+ prizes to give out and we will all be super bored coz everyone is only interested in the top 3 prizes only. The waiting part was really sianz.

Yes, must spend time with our kids now before too late. Tmr and Sunday will be full day with them. But I am feeling very tired now...

Pauline, lol. S is also eating outside food when comes to weekend, very difficult to restrict him. I guess he just likes to eat lo, healthy or unhealthy all he sapu. :p for the sweet, I think max 2 per day ba.

Pauline, my maid goes back in Dec (xmas and new yr), so that is a super peak period. 2 yrears ago, I paid 700+ for the airtickets, so 2 weeks ago, when I saw Cebu Pacific offering less than $400 for the same period, I immediately paid lor.

Krystle no no normally previous years practise is the lower prizes are drawn by computer. Staff will collect outside the ballroom. No hassle at all de. Only the top 10 draw on stage. More exciting ma.

Finally confinement over. Sad in fact. Shd have done 40days, but my cl next mth got assignment. 28 days not enuf rest.

I am mentally so drained from my #1. she is 7 this yr, defiant, won't listen, keep arguing. I try soft mtd, talking, explaining, caning, reward... Even got a life coach last time. Dunno isit something wrong with me or her! Sigh...

Mom2nat
Not you la. It's nowadays the kids r like tat ! Mine 8 yrs old also like to argue and stubborn. Give up man ! I'll always ask hubby to handle her if I cannot reason with her.

Maybe u can ask hubby to talk to her too.

Chaye
My hb buay tahan her oso! He reads to her, bring her out... We gave her so much attn Liao. Yet over small things, she will say we not fair,Why didi have, why this why that!! Instigate #2 to do nasty things or make him upset. I am so tired arguing with her! I told my hb now we quarrel lesser cos no time to quarrel! Whole day fighting war with the kids instead!

Blackbatz
How to handle? I dunno isit my parenting Style led her to be like tat, or her peers or her nature. I feel so sad, I gave her so much yet she has so much pent up in her, as if I owe her.

Mom2nat
I know how u feel, trust me...when i was wayyy younger, my younger sis strayed out of the norm path, refused to study n kept being very defiant. She also not happy that why her friends can afford this or that while she cant, or why she has to follow curfew while her peers dun have to, that time, my parents washed their hands off her coz they dunno how to handle n in the end i was the one tok reasoning to her n parenting her, thinking that our close age gap she can listen to "common sense" more...it took her few years to get things straight but it was a learning process for her, and for me too, i wasnt even a mother yet!!

I dun understand why she had that kind of thinking while i was generally satisfied with life but she was forever not...
I think its how kids view things in life...and at age 7,8,9 onwards they dun listen to us anymore.. We not as hip as her friends leh...

Pixie
Now E v active oso. Pple who c my kids, always comment they are very active. Aiyo, I m a lazy n laid back person leh, why my kids so active!!

There are many kids who go astray. My parents are divorced, my mom was worried I will turn bad cos no one to guide. But I turn out fine la.
I be sahm cos I din have the kind of attn from my mom cos she was working. But my kids mah chiam take for granted. Sigh

Mon2nat

U #1 kek u only, not so bad. Mine both #1 & 2 kek till I cried juz now. Jia lat ah. Actually, #2 more scary!!!! In the end, both cried n promised they will be gd n Nv upset me again. V drama sence. But, I know Tmr everything will be back to normal n I hv to scream n scold again!!!! Dunno what is the root cause.

Valencia
My #2 is a rising terror. He Doesn't listen to maid or grandma. Hb n I gotta control him. Easier in the sense we can treaten with cane n won't answer back spitefully kind. But physically harder to control cos he runs ard everywhere, in shopping malls he oso not worried we r not ard.

Our 2 kids not easy lor. Vernice speaks v well n argues well too!! Hee... Randall v intelligent oso. Wonder how ur mom tahan at home. U want #3??!! hee..

hi mummies who hav maids,
wat kind of questions should we ask during the phone interviews to test the maid? can share n highlight?

#3, I realised alot of mummies in all thread are all keen to have no.3, very productive and it is good news to our low fertility rate! nex yr is dragon yr, sure to see lots of pregnant mummies to be....

Mon2nat,
All parenting skills that we all know cannot be put into practice. All these r crap to me now. I only want fast n effective way to get things done.

#3?? I am not tired of living yet. I really kudo to u. Lol

Valencia
Tats true, I dun even know which parenting book or method to trust!

Aqua
Try to ask more than u expect her to do. Like u can say, look after 3 kids, at night sometimes wake up clean n feed. Cook lunch n dinner n clean up.... Tell u ah, some maid's hear Liao run far far away. I asked 1 b4, she tell me find another maid, she is not suitable for me!!

Everyone's having monday blues ah? No one ard today!

Anyone gg Robinsons sale this wed? I wanna go leh, but how to lug bb along?

Grumpus
#1 told me no sch for her on wed, which means I have to bring her along. Cos mil n maid needed to handle E at home.

I have the MIM sling. But newborn like v fragile to put inside leh. Maybe I push pram. U gg for the sale?

Mom2nat, is thre coupon or vouchers like $5 off for members to Robnson sale? Think I got to check my mailbox. May go to get avent pump for my sis

Mom2Nat,
ahhh how come so suay no sch for #1??? lug 2 more difficult. i'm tempted to go for the sale but dunno how crowded it will be since it's a one day event? i dun want to queue...

TT
The only coupon is $30 with $180 spent. Bo $5 one this time.

Grumpus
Her sch used for polling centre, so wed close. Sigh.
I ask 1 of my frens go w me, she can q for me

Nothing much to buy so not going to Robinsons sale. RaeAnne had fever on Sun so brought her to see dr yesterday, whole family sick. :p

Mom2nat, I dread that day too. RaeAnne is already naughty enough. :p

Kitsune
Nothing to buy better dun go. Sure crowded.

Grumpus
If same timing, sure can q for u too.
See la, I shd have done 2 mths confinement!! Haha...
After cl left, this fella has been drinking every other hr or more. But nvm, prob cos he needs comfort now oso. Still young I will try to Ren.

Mom2Nat,
wat time u going? i only hv some time in the morn when #1 is in sch.

#3 having growth spurt? there's one at ard 6 wks.

my #2 has been practically planted to my boobs the last few days too. think growth spurt also. and #1 woke up at 4am and didn't sleep back till 6am...so tired....

Not reporting here yesterday cos have to bring my gal to her PD for her stomach flu. She stuck to me the whole day then like koala bear. Much better liao so sent her to her nanny while I catch up with some rest :)

Kam,
speedy recovery to XY! Have a gd rest today...not working?

Yesterday oso bring Z for PD's review for his hfmd. He is back to CC today

I wonder how's pixie CIO experiment last night with X2...

hiaz...first time my menses late for 5days!!! Today finally appear

Qn: How often do u change a new pillow?

Everynight when i sleep on my pillow, i can hear some sound from the pillow on my right ear. The sound is like some bug noise...i can't figure out. Hmm...i got use & wash my pillow protector weekly...my pillow (from Ikea, Polyester fiber balls filling material)
already one year old. Maybe is time to change a new one?

Steph,
Thanks! She is back to normal liao :) Yes, not working today.

Pixie said it's successful last night.

I seldom change pillow. Only change when it's not comfortable or started to have bad smell.

steph, kam
bb cried non stop frm 830 - 9pm...finally ko on her own
this morning cio for her nap too
if this works, why not? im sick of carrying, patting, rocking for straight x hours lor. never put her down ok. coz if i do, she started crying again like crazy

i determined to wean her off this bad habit. cant even last 10 seconds alone??!!

and....never slept yesterday from ard 1030am - 9pm...how can babies dun sleep in the day? i tot so tired, can ko at 6 or 7pm, in the end TRYING to put her to sleep from 6-830pm ok...i want my quality time with x1 oso de leh! i put her down finally n tell myself, this is it! time for CIO!!

i will CIO whole of this week or what, see by when she adapts to it bah

hope XY get well soon

mom2nat, grumpus
i wanna go lorbinson sale too...but tmr got counselling so stuck in d west

pillow
i never changed...until i moved house in dec then i buy from lorbinson sale...still using...so perhaps 3mths liao??
steph, issit ur hair scratching the pillow sound? so scary leh

Just now, rushed to pick RaeAnne at 11am cos her teacher called and said she has fever of 37.8. But I already fed her panadol at 830am. Worried why fever went up, so went down personally though MIL supposed to fetch her from school today cos I got physio appt in afternoon.

End up I tested with my thermometer and it was only 36.8. used the school thermometer, also only 36.7. Then teacher said RA looked quite sick and listless so better let her rest more at home. Next time, only if fever free without med for 24 hrs then let her go to school.

She got no fever leh. Yesterday, already never go to school. Luckily I still haven't go for course, so can just bring her back today when they call. If I'm working, how to do that? :p

Kam,
hope XY gets well soon.

steph,
my menses always early, last mth came 4 days earlier. if late, i will sure panic ;p

pixie,
wat counselling are u attending?

Grumpus
I GG 10.30am when doors open!!! Haha
Prob have bf at macs first, fill #1's tummy up then she won't disturb me

My fren said when her cl left, her bb oso kept feeding n waking up. Maybe trying to get used to us since no cl to soothe them

Kitsune
U starting ur course Liao?

pixie,
i am v sure is not my hair scratching the pillow sound. my hair not toilet brush leh (lolx), not hard n rough type mah...hmm...i wake up beat/pat the pillow many times & make sure no other insect creeping inside the pillow then i can sleep peacefully else is so scary leh. But after like 1 min or so the sound came back again...like some insect/bug buzzing sound. So irritating loh...only managed to sleep at 1AM last night!

kitsune,
u decided to take up the property course?

luca,
this menses i got craving for sweet stuff...now eating my McFlurry

That suddenly reminds me to schedule for my pap smear (long overdue)! We gotta do it once a year?

steph,
u better get a new pillow lar, d weird sound doesnt seem right.
how come u can eat mcfluffy now? not at work?

i juz did papsmear last week, overdue for 3 yrs ;p gynae said can do every 3 yrs.
speaking of which, i did a ultrasound scan also, n got a pic similar to a baby pic. my hb chanced upon d pic when he helped me to pack my things, got a shock n thought dat i was pregnant.. LOL this incident cfms he definitely doesnt want #3. ;p

Mom2nat,
i know it sound creepy & somemore i can still continue to sleep on my pillow. I think you mummies will throw & change another pillow liao!
I also wonder if it's my ears got problem but the sound only coming out from my right when i lie on my pillow in the silent night! Gosh...the more i talk abt it, i got goose bump!

luca,
ya i will get a new pillow asap!

I am at work of course. I bought the Mcflurry after my lunch at 1.30pm
finished up liao!

i am contemplating whether i shld do a pelvic ultrasound since i got cysts history. How much your gynae charge for papsmear? Mine is $30. ultrasound will be additional $80 to $100!

hey u got take precaution right so #3 wont come as surprise? But yr hb got longing for bb girl?