(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

tongtong,

Since S is a jan08 baby, there are many toddlers pg that allow parent to attend. Feel that if he resisted so much, you shld a/c him to attend first since you are a SAHM. Shld not force him to sch, he may dislike sch. Now shld let him understand what sch is all about & with your a/c, he is more assured & able to adapt to sch life. Then slowly promote him to the older class. This is what i did to my boy. I rem you told me that S is also very sticky type. Same as my boy. My method worked, u may wish to try. I a/c him to zoophonics for 3mths. Then let him attend on his own after that until now. He only cried for 3days only for that switch ;)

Btw, is he attending N1 class now? If so, there may be repeating the same thing when comes next yr this time.

Dun give up. Even you stop him now, you will also face the same problem next yr rite. Why not do it slowly now?

luca,
trying to peak up the thread, haha ;)

kam,
yes mdm, kekeke!!

mylvera,
No No No... i dun want now....My gal juz turn 1yo & i'm so happy with my current status ;) Maybe will consider again in another few years time

janbb
haha i thought you so fast want to try #3.

tongtong
Hope S can adapt to his PG soon, perhaps u can find out how he is performing at the PG from teacher to find out why he doesnt want to attend anymore.

Maybe this is the stage where toddler have a mind of their own.. like my boy now.

kam,

juz curious... did you ever think of switching to SAHM if you are unable to find a gd cc?

Cos i can feel that you love you son as much as i love my son. Won't it be a gd idea to take care of him by yourself & place him in pg instead of cc? For me, it is also due to some reason that "force" me to be sahm in the first place. Like you, last time i dun think i can be a SAHM too & love my job & working environment.

But juz to share, i really enjoy it now & 80% will not return to workforce next yr ;) Plus you are 10x more patient & 10x more good temper than me. You confirm can do a better job than me ;p

janbb
envy envy you get ur hb's support to be sahm. i would do lots lots more if im sahm...
but we cannot survive on just hp's pay....so....i will never have the chance to be sahm unless strike 4d

btw, i get how you feel. on some cycles that i scared i tio, when big auntie came, i also very relieved

Mylvera,
Thanks but no thanks at this moment!!

Janbb,
I understand your feeling! I would have sweated like hell and very nervous.. Certainly would be happy to see my "DA Yi MA" for now.

Kam,
I think you would give anything to be a SAHM bah... Can consider lah. Hopefully your hubby's new job is very very well-paid and you can be a SAHM! I am still waiting for this day to come but I think not possible... Now my whole family's medical expenses got to depend on me/my job... I just added my hubby to claim from my coy. :p

Janbb,
I was about to ask you what is your plan after 6 months of SAHM. Looks like you already had more or less decided. As long as your hubby supports and no financial burden, then good for you to be a SAHM for another few years!

pixie
4D not big enuf must buy toto then can be sahm ! cos tat 0.50cts can make a lot of difference in your life ! hahaha

janbb
it's always a relieve to see that your da yi ma lai le haha cos me too always so worried in the past but now I'm on pill cant go wrong hor :p

hey mummies, can i ask a OTT topic?
i delivered x in TMC....thinking of changing to Mt A.
any recommendation for a female gynae in Mt A?

pixie
I dun buy 4D la cos no "ling gan" so when CNY will buy toto other than that no buy de cos always eat my money !!!!!!

JanBB,
To be very honest, I did think about it after this incident. Really the best person for my kids will be me, the mum. At that very moment, I so so so wish I can be SAHM and stick with him everyday.

But the reality is no. We need my income to support the family. All the loans, family expenses and supporting our parents also (2 sides). We can't survive with single income, for now.

I kinda change my mind already, that HR has grown up already, and my girl is less demanding, I actually think I can be a good SAHM (thick skin!) :) Maybe a few more years bah, when we settle most of our debt, and have more savings. My aim now is to be SAHM before HR starts primary school, so 4 more years to go.

I just had lunch with my hub and we joked and said that we both can actually don't work now - go back to our kampung, and we can easily survive with very little money :) Buy some lands to grow plantation, we whole family can survive pretty nicely already, how nice!

So happy for you that you are enjoying to be a SAHM so much! Great job!

kam
It's a nice picture that both my hubby and myself paint it once in a while ! But we dont have any kampong to run back to
unlike you guyz can go back M'sia if things dun work out here.

We always dream to have a ranch in Aust and we can set up bed & breakfast for tourist ! hmm.. nice..

krystle & chaye,

"Mother of two" all very scared to become "Mother of Three", hahaha!!

krystle,
The only thing i dun like abt SAHM is my "PAY" is always late... Sian, every mth, i muz remind my hubby to transfer allowance to me like begging for $$$. I told him i'm going to MOM to complain him, haha.

To me, money is always not enuff. Maybe i'm not too career-minded so still can give up my job. Anyway, we got certs/papers & working experiences, dun think we can't get a job next time. It is juz whether we want to give up our career for our kids or not ;) Maybe high-earner mummy find it tougher to switch to SAHM.

chaye,
You are very right! 4D very difficult to tio big money, should go for toto. My hub started from a few months ago to buy toto every week now. Spent $2 on toto every week. He said one day he might be lucky..... and so I hope!

krystle,
For my hub's profession, he needs to take the exam to qualify as an chartered architect before he can earn big money. Before that, meaning now, he has to work a few more to gain enough experience for the exam. So not possible in these few years. More paid also means less time for the family. He is actually struggling now on which kind of job he wants to choose. More $ or more time for the family. For him, hardly to have a job that can offer a balance of both.

kam,
Heehee, see i can sense you!!! Because i m stuck in same situation. Everything is well & suddenly some unwanted circumstance is forcing you to think otherwise. And the best solution is "DEPEND on myself, the mummy" ;)

I will wait for you to join my club soon ;)

Pixie: Congrats! last wk u r still ttc, dis wk i login here and see ur gd news

Janbb: i'm joining u as sahm by end of dis mth. i hav never stop workin, dont kw will b too bored for mi anot. hahahaa!
R u gg to Makoto dis sat?

Kam: Juz read abt ur cc case. They dont even kw how to handle it, by removing their cc name will make any difference? If ur frz or anybody really wants to kw more, they can email, sms or call u. Reputation is v important to any cc, such a foolish act of them. They shld b e one to apologise and ask for ur feedback how they can improve on their side.

tong tong: accompany ur boy in e class, mi and hb tak turn to accompany him thru out for 1 wk.. first 2 days we only attend half day then ard 3rd day onwards, is one full day cc. And i was beside him during his 1st day nap at sch. althot is tiring for us, but we get to kw wat they do in cc.

Janbb, haha, me no allowance, even more sad right? But hubby will pay for my spa n massage n hair treatment lar, no choice for him cos I use his supp card to pay. Hee. ;)

Aiyoh, I never see my da Yi Ma for more than 7 months Liao but I am not scared cos as long as I am bfing it won't come. :p

Kam, Janbb, me too, decided to be sahm when I had to see ils 'lian se' when raeanne had hfmd. :p just now, they came to visit n raeanne was naughty n throwing tantrum as usual while raelynn was vocalizing (screaming) so she woke raeanne up. Mil commented 'got these two, sure keep u very busy' in mandarin. Told them I am used to it, stay home to watch the kids is like that one. I think they r relieved that they r not the ones going through the chaos. Haha. ;)

Kam,
Yes, there is never a good balance of work-life, not only applicable to daddies but to mummies as well. I am also finding myself spending lesser time with my kids as I have night calls and working longer hours during month end/ quarter end... I don't like it either but like what you said, I got to give allowances to my parents too.
I see, so your hubby is an architect. actually, my hubby is also considering to get a master for accounting but I see not really necessary as it does not really guaranteed him climbing up the corporate ladder. He has lots of experience though but always no chance to climb coz there is always someone on top of him who is too comfy to move. And ended up he was the one moving (changing jobs). But given that he already has very little time for the family, taking a master would be no time at all for us!

Elmo,
did u shortlist for any CC yet? can share ur research?

Kam,

thanks for the baby dust.

Pixie,
Congrats again. where are u going then? phuket, krabi, redang?

kitsune,
I heard breastfeeding only effective of preventing pregnancy for 3 mths only right? AS it get longer, it is not so effective in preventing pregnancy already.. Sometimes I will feel scare that I might just get pregnant w/o knowing.

Icy, didn't work for me leh. Maybe I'm not so fertile. Went for gynae scan when RaeAnne was 12.5 months old cos I never got my menses back, but he said I'm not ovulating. Must wean off then can try for no. 2. :p

Thanks everyone for hte support!

Pixie, S din go to PG today leh. nanny failed to put on his uniform and his behaviour made her scared and she surrendered. just after nanny said ok today not going, then S changed his attitude 360 degree wor.

Janbb, wahaha! i supposed you are ok with having #3 because u din use protection wor? keke
abt S, talentplus PG doesnt allow parents to accompany one wor... oh he is not in N1 yet, he is in the PG. myabe i should talk to the teacher to let me sit in the class. but i doubt the teacher will like it because it's like monitoring how they teach and handle the kids...

janbb, hey why 80% but not 100%? hehe

icy, the teacher kept saying it's normal for the kids not to attend although he seemed to enjoy his class. he brought his "artpiece " to me so happily , running with his "work" to me showing what he did, so i tot he enjoyed it! but when i told him ok tomorrow we come to class again, he will show me a sad face said NO.

very sleepy....and nowadays i sleep so much until im so amazed at myself. weekends i hit the same amt of zzz as X leh...8.30pm-7.30am, 1 - 2.30pm...........supperrrrr~~

2 nights ago, my hb asked me what name should we have for #2. i was very surprised...he is so ONZ for this round!!
should be daddy's girl liao :p

pixie, because you are preggyso you need more sleep!!

this morning i changed into office attire, carried him straightaway to nanny's place without telling him anything. he saw me in office attire and started saying wanna go kai kai nonstop until reached nanny's house. and nanny brought him to PG today, yea i saw it. but not in PG's shirt,only in PG's short. saw him still wearing his pyjamas shirt.

will ask nanny later whether he cried when i bring fruit juice over to her

pixie,
Sleep as much as you can. You need it.

tongtong,
It's actually not a good thing to kinda force him to go to PG leh. The fact that the cc doesn't allow parents to accompany the kids for the first few days is weird. Almost all cc would accommodate for this. It's not really to monitor the teachers, but S needs you to be there to gain the confidence and the comfort that he needs. Even staying for 15-30min or so would help, I think. Try have a good chat the principle/teachers. You see how bah. Good luck!

<font color="ff0000">Update on HR's cc</font>
Good thing - the principle agrees to release HR by end of July despite that we gave less than 1 month notice, yah!

Bad thing - they are still trying to defence themselves after all this. They said is clarifying, but to me, they are defencing, defencing every sentence that I wrote in the e-mail. I was totally dissappointed with them. How they handle this is so unprofessional. But never mind. I cannot expect everything goes the way I want it to be. They can say what they want to say. We are leaving the cc anyway. But it's really sad loh, esp for those teachers who loves HR so much, they see him grow from 2 months till 30 months.

pixie, S is still with nanny till end of july leh, he knows i'm not working if i'm in home wear. so got to bluff him by changing into office attire so that he is willing to go nanny's place.

nanny told me that he was very happy this morning wor, after having a bottle of milk, he still eats 1 piece of bread and singing! she said as long as we dont mention PLAYGROUP, then he good mood liao.

it's like bluffing him to PG like that wor, like not changing him into PG uniform. bluff him out by saying go buy bread. but walked half way he realised that the route was to PG and he started chanting dont wanna go PG. But then when reached PG, he was obedient and walked in himself without crying.

Kam, i accompanied him on the first day but half an hour only they kicked me out liao. on second day i was also blur when he cried and teacher just shut the door without asking me to go in. Anyway, i might need to stay in the class in aug becuase i will be the one bringing him to and fro liao. think he will resist again. till then n see how it goes.

Kam, it's really sad and how the CC handles things reflect so badly on them.

kam
i dont see your blog posts as offensive (towards the cc), if they cannot take constructive comments then they should reflect hard - a company (regardless profit making or not) has to take in constructive comments and perhaps make some changes (no matter good or bad)

its the same like eg a restaurant get bad comments in hungrygowhere.com but the management wrote in to the website to defend themselves.....tsk tsk...where is the level of service??

tongtong
geesh you are having a real challenge here and we mummies sure think of ways to overcome them...hats off to your "change attire" trick! but its so weird that this PG dont allow you to observe. perhaps tell them that he has a problem "going" to the PG. the teachers see no prob while S attends the PG of course say no problem. but you are facing the problem that happens before the PG class itself. so perhaps observing what S does in class may give you clues...
i seconded kam, you should chat to principal/teachers again to ask for sit in or peeping

yesterday when i reached home to visit x, i opened the grille gates and started to sing the songs GUG teachers always sang...
after 1 mth of not attending the class, im so surprised that X still remembers the exact sequence, actions of the song...
amazing...makes me backside itchy want to sign up for GUG again.....hahahaaa

tongtong,
maybe u want to try like wat janbb says, start with those playgroup where parents can accompany then slowly adjust him to the idea of going to school without u.
my daughter is very sticky so i hv started those parent accompanied playgroup for 6 months already and now everyday i am psychoing her that next time she hv to go to big girl school where mummy cannot stay with her but promise to fetch her when school finish blah blah....so far she say ok ok but i expect when next yr come she will still cry but hopefully not so bad.
somemore S all the time is used to one to one environment with the nanny, can be quite scary for him.

the kindergarten i'm sending my girl to next yr told me they allow parents to accompany the kid in the classroom for at least 3 days, then if the kid is ok they encourage the parents to stand outside the classroom but can look through the window so the kids can still see them, then after abt 1 wk then leave them there by themselves.

morning ladies... yawn I'm so zombie today cos I duno why I woke up at 6am and couldnt get back to sleep. And I slept at 12.30am last nite

Update of my maid

she lied to me this morning.

My mum was not around cos she went to see doc this morning. I was looking at my cctv at 9am and saw her brushing teeth for TT. I went back to work and around 9.10 I log back in and nobody is around no sound at all. So I called home the fone rang for v long and finally I heard my main door unlock and can hear my boy's voice and there she came to the fone.

I asked her where is she. She stutters a bit and say she's in the kitchen. I was shocked and ask her why take so long to come to fone and she says she's in the toilet. *faintz*

I was speechless for a while and duno wat to say and so ask some general questions. So after I hung up the fone, I can hear her telling my boy to take off his shoes.

I really wonder why she lied to me. for just 5-10 mins what can she do and where did she go ??

I told my sis abt it and she says dun expose her and continue to monitor her. tonite just go back and tell her that do not step out of the house without my permission or if need be just call to inform me.

sigh...

pixie,
I gave up on them already. My hub said no point talking/writing to them if they are not listening. So we stop here. They do whatever they want to do, and they say whatver they want to say. You are very right loh, if comment like also they cannot take, what else can I say?

Oh, the class thingy huh, HR has stopped going to his music class for almost half a year already, but he still remembers the songs, the name of the instrument, and almost everything! I think they started to have long term memory and not short term no more.

pixie, X din go to GUG for 1 mth meh? so fast course finished?

grumpus, i dont think there's pg where parent can sit in one around my area leh... i think i wanna go for homeschooling liao :p

tongtong
their 1 term is 2 mths. and 2 mths of weekend classes is oredi 400, very ex wor...
but im amazed that he learns so fast there. the teachers really very dramatic kind and can capture the kid's attention. their activities very fun too

chaye
u got cctv? power!!
yes i would monitor more n expose all in 1 shot

tongtong,
i think usually neighbourhood area dun hv that kind of PG.
i bring my girl to julia gabriel, or like GUG, zoophonics are those that hv parent accompanied playgroup.

pixie

cctv is very cheap de. I bot it at sim lim for $350 went home hubby connect connect then can le. It's live viewing and comes with recording too but u hv to buy the mini sd card yourself la.

it can also see how my #1 lied at times too !

luca

yes they all know. but must hv forgotten abt it le. As my hubby said before. Initially everyone will be on their best behaviour when they know there is cctv but how long can they pretend ?? 1wk or 2wks ? they will sure relax after a while and true colors come out :p

and I dun reprimand them of wat I saw or remind them of the camera.. duno whether izit right or wrong this way.

Chaye,
agreed with wat ur hubby said, true colors will soon come out, especially its own home, at ease to do anything they like.

maybe can juz tell them u know that they are lying and they should do something about it.

hi all, finally hav time to log in today.
my girl was having high fever past few days, reali tired looking after, thank god today my hubby take leave to look after her.
wana ask u mummies, for high fever, panadol is fed every 4 hrs at 4ml interval or 5ml at 6 hours interval?
does anyone know if there is any side effects for using suppositiry to lower fever?

pixie, reali happy for u.. u are so lucky after u got ur new house, everything is so 'wang wang for u! rem i told u , goat, pig n rabbit v compatible? now u have all three animals in ur family, reali ZUN rite?

ur phase, the hungry gowhere bad comments by guests, kana defend by mgt? sounds so familiar ... ;p

kam, sad to hear from jess wa happen to u n haore... hope u are taking it well and stay strong and calm. hopefully, haore can quickly adapt to the new childcare...

ON Straits Times - NO P1 EXAM by 2013

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_553320.html

I think it's a good thing for our tods. What say you?

Aqua,
For HR, Dr Keoy precribed 5ml of paracetamol every 4-6 hours. He is about 14kg.

For the suppository, probably the body gets a sudden cold temperature for a while?

I start to think at it as a good thing. Now that I started to explore the cc available near my area, I might able to get one that's better than this one. And hope HR is happy to go to a new environment. Besides, his girlfriend has also left that cc already recently :)

aqua
im just taking an example *wink*wink* but a lot of restaurants do that lah. i dont mean anything specific

yes, now i have a complete family. except my hb (snake) is now an outsider hor?? snake gum with rabbit or not one ah??

kam
excellent new!!! i also agreed that P1 dont need exams.
i borrowed a book called the Montessori purposeful play method recently. they super relax kind. if this kind of teaching applied to primary school, will need another 20yrs lo...