(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Oh my goodness! Pixie, congratulations! Congratulations!! Yippee!

Pauline, I still quite a failure..

yvonne(gerger66), paiseh i havent got the chance to trf the payment for the top. i meant, i want just size 13 (1 pc only)
will do so by today yah...dun tell me u sold off liao coz i like the pattern very much!

<font size="+2">thanks to all mummies for the well wishes</font>

i hope can just pass this 1st trimester can liao
i bought my 1st top for my #2 while shopping at fox kids...wah lau, super kiasu...but everything at 1/2 price, cant resist :p :p

Anyone wanna go for <font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">Free Trial</font></font> at MYGYM?

Let me know! I can refer you for free trial! mygym got 2 locations - tampines or marine parade.

tongtong
the top was very cute and no size for x, so i got it in another size: 6-12mths
nevermind, only $7.60 only lah (trying to console myself)

We have finally decided to withdraw HR from his childcare centre. Those who reads my blog should know why. It's a very difficult decision for us, and we hope it's not going to be a wrong decision. It killed so much of my brain cells, that I had been thinking about it for several days, day and night, whenever I was not doing something. In fact, I am feeling sad that I have to do this, but with what had happened, I don't think it's wise for HR to stay on in this childcare centre.

Kam,

i went to read your blog
sometimes the teachers are irresponsible and would push the blames to the parents. i kept asking these qn:

1) if a child is sick, does that means they shd stay at home n parents shd apply leave or child MC for those days?

2) How many days of leave do we have?

3) How can we afford to do this often?

4) Will our boss likes it if we keep applying leave? Child MC?

5) So, what are the real incentive for having a baby when everything fails? $$?? miserable amt leh as compared to loss of job.

Kam,

i went to read your blog
sometimes the teachers are irresponsible and would push the blames to the parents. i kept asking these qn:

1) if a child is sick, does that means they shd stay at home n parents shd apply leave or child MC for those days?

2) How many days of leave do we have?

3) How can we afford to do this often?

4) Will our boss likes it if we keep applying leave? Child MC?

5) So, what are the real incentive for having a baby when everything fails? $$?? miserable amt leh as compared to loss of job.

Kam

Why why why are u withdrawing HR from cc ? Then who is going to take care of him? I rem u mentioned before tat he learns a lot from cc leh

mylvera,
Sigh. Don't know, I don't have answers for all your questions. And to make it worst, the child mc that I have is less than you leh, for being a PR. But the main thing is how sick is sick? When a child is coughing or having runny nose, it usually takes 1-2 weeks (if we are lucky) to be fully recover. Does that mean we cannot send him there for 1-2 weeks? We as FTWM can have such luxury meh? Even if my boss doesn't mind me being absent often, I have my responsibilities to be fulfilled, else why they want to hire me at the first place.

Chaye,
Something unhappy happened between us and the school. Withdraw him from this one and will enrol him to another one. My hub will not be working next month, so most likely will let the pair spend a good month together at home before HR starts his new school.

kam
i read your blogpost. sorry to hear about it. if i were you, i would not be so calm liao. the family surname really suits u (imagine "kam" and "calm" sounds the same)......
luckily ur hb not working next mth so should have a pair of spare hands....
btw, you found the new cc liao mah?

mylvera,
Sigh. Don't know, I don't have answers for all your questions. And to make it worst, the child mc that I have is less than you leh, for being a PR. But the main thing is how sick is sick? When a child is coughing or having runny nose, it usually takes 1-2 weeks (if we are lucky) to be fully recover. Does that mean we cannot send him there for 1-2 weeks? We as FTWM can have such luxury meh? Even if my boss doesn't mind me being absent often, I have my responsibilities to be fulfilled, else why they want to hire me at the first place.

Chaye,
Something unhappy happened between us and the school. Withdraw him from this one and will enrol him to another one. My hub will not be working next month, so most likely will let the pair spend a good month together at home before HR starts his new school.

Kam,

U are lucky that your boss dun mind. Mine will mind. to add on to that... having a nanny will not solve the problem. Having ILs or parents to help look aft the kids when they fall sick .. will not solve the problem. Having maids will oso not solve the problems. Being SAHM will also not solve the problems.

Some CCs only wants to earn more $$ for themselves. They hired Phil teachers, China teachers etc etc and all the good teachers will jump ship cos the other party might offer better wages. All left behind are those half-past six type of teachers.

I have my own share of worries too. within 1 yr in the CCs, i have seen too many teachers jumping ship. now the CCs are left with 2-3 teachers for all stages N1 - K2! with the price i m paying, really no idea if i shd stick to this cc.

Kam

I duno your blog :p tat's y I ask. Anyway so easy to get a new cc ? I have problem getting one out of 3 cc over at my place wor.

mylvera,

Chaye,

pixie,
Haha, very funny on the "Kam" and "Calm", a good one.

Chaye/pixie,
yes, there is one cc that we have visited before and we had quite a good feeling about that cc. Called them last week and they still have vacancy. Have to call the priniciple again and register HR soon.

Mylvera,
If not for this incident, this cc is actually quite good, esp the teacher turnover rate is very low. For the 2.5 years HR was there, at least half of the teachers are still there.

Blackbatz, I see. Opk quite easy to use if u chart your bbt. Got rise in bbt, quickly test opk. Or u can look out for slippery egg white mucus.

Kam, just read your blog too. While there are definitely different schools of thought when a child falls sick, some will want to start medicating immediately. Some will wait n see. Some will want to let them build up their own resistance. Nothing wrong with individual methods. So far my pg has never asked me to bring raeanne home but that's because we belong to the first group. My cousin (the weekend parent) who is a ftwm belongs to the last category so I constantly hear my aunt nagging her to bring the boy to see dr when he is sick. Also even if she brings the boy to see dr, she doesn't give the antibiotics. So my aunt constantly grumbles that it boy is sick for so long. Very difficult for her to look after. So it is not just the cc that has this type of mentality lor. :p

End up my aunt is over protective, doesn't want the boy to touch bubbles to avoid trigger his eczema, doesn't want the boy to swim in school cos he will catch a cold. Cannot play in the sun or else got fever. The mother goes along with my aunt cos she does not or cannot take leave if the boy is sick so my aunt is the main caregiver, she had to respect her decision unless my cousin is willing to look after her kid herself. The boy just lied to the parents last week cos he wants to join his friends swimming. I pity the boy most of all, always so protected cos of all this. :p

CONGRATS Pixie!

Kam
i just read your blog and was shocked that the teachers use your blog against u instead.

last fri, i quarrelled with my gal CC principal. one of the teacher checked my gal and said she is suspected with hfmd becos of the little ulcer at the corner of her mouth. i told the teacher that since thur, another teacher saw it and told me that likely is heaty and this stupid teacher say she got hfmd where my gal doesnt have fever nor red spots on hand. i was soo pissed and she asked principal to come out to talk to me. the principal told me to bring my gal home or else they will keep my gal in the principal office the whole day! deprive her of mixing with other kids and attend classes! i was so furious and told the principal off. reason being this is the second time that they claim my gal got hfmd. the last round, they saw 3 ulcer &amp; kept my gal inside the principal room the whole afternoon and then ask me to bring her to see doctor. however, the doctor told us that it is not hfmd and wasted our $ just to queue up and get a paper to certify that she is not hfmd. even the doctor laugh at us. felt so stupid that time. so i question the principal that my gal is prone to have ulcer so everytime they see ulcer, they claim is hfmd is it while they not medically trained? and she say yes. then i told her that if that is the case, i don't think i want to continue with this CC and i left the place very furious with my gal. in the late afternoon, my gal teacher called me and ask me to cool down and tell me not to change CC and trying to apologize. the teacher is nice and the circulum is good but the new principal doesnt know how to handle situation. now i m also thinking whether i want to change CC becos of the stupid principal whom got complained by some of the SMH mums too.

kitsune,
Eh, what you mentioned about that boy is very different from what we practice woh. Though we believe in letting the kids to build up their immunity, we do not hesitate to bring our kids to PD when they are sick. And we do give medicine to our kids when it's needed. In fact, for this incident, he finished the whole bottle of cough and runny nose medicine. If the PD prescibed antibiotics, we would have no doubt about him and will give the full course of antibiotics without fail. Giving med immediately = get well earlier?

Superbee,
Sigh! Yours one also drama woh. The principle can be like that. You got another cc to go to?

superbee,

wow! the principal super leh ... did she worked in MOH before? u know, i got questioned by kkh HOD for my kids cases. He kept asking me "did yr PD do test to confirm that the boy is having hfmd? if no test done, not considered HFMD. so, how can u say yr gal mite hv contracted HFMD?"

the gist of it all:
no one solution of child caring: SAHM, CC, grandparents, maid - is perfect
we all have to find the balance within the imperfections

like what mylvera said lor

kam
i havent got another cc as backup leh... now i gotta start looking again loh.
haiz... at least u found another cc for HR quite fast...
actaully, i m very fussy in terms of selecting a CC especially on the circulum cos my intention of CC is more like a school for my gal. i was glad that my gal was toilet trained within 2 mths by the CC teachers and she can also recite chinese nursery rhyme--Xiao Bai Tu cos her chinese teacher taught her and the national pledge too. she also started speaking mandarin now as we only talk to her in english at home. so it is really a good school except for the KS principal... haiz...

mylvera
dont think she from MOH loh... u mean must do blood test to confirm HFMD ah?

Kam,
just went to read your blog. the way they handle things are horrible, i want to comment here about the cc...today is her 1st day only... will i get sued?....i actually feel so sad that i'm going to let her go through all that in the cc...

kam, if i were u, i sure laughed it off when they gave stupid comments because I have my own principal and believe. I wont think so long liao and straightaway, i would have decided to withdraw and look for another CC. Have your hubby found new job? when will he start new job? can be sahd with HR next month, hr will be very happy!

luvv, are you talking abt hr's cc or whose cc??

mylvera,
Still have to test to confirm HFMD meh?

superbee,
me is opposite than you. We didn't ask much about the curriculum. We feel the environment is okay (clean, tidy, well kept, etc), and the teachers "look" okay, and HR didn't seem to be scared stepping into the cc, then we are okay with that cc liao.

Luvv,
Hugz! Yes, it's never easy for the kid to go through the process. But you have to ask yourself what's the purpose you want to send her there and if there is any other alternative.

I just called my mum and she was so sad to hear about this. She even suggested to send HR to her so she can take care of him. But I can never bear to be separated from HR loh. How I wish my mum can stay with me on a long term basis.

tongtong,ya i mean my girl 1st day at cc today.

kam, it's totally different from what i expect (or is it my expectations too high?) Seems to me that they are just rushing through everything and my girl got so mad when she got bluffed by the teachers, thereafter keep asking me to bring her home. I send her to cc for interaction and learning but seems that the kids don't interact much or don't even talk at all..don't know is it becos of their age? and for learning...i don't think they are teaching things that she's keen or interested in...

Kam yup, all I want to say is that it is not easy to find a cc that has the same style as you. Cos most cc n parents r kiasu. You will get along very well with my ils though cos they advocate the natural way n minimal med. They always say my kids aren't sick, never hear her cough, she will be ok after a nap etc. Dun like to give med either, drink more water will be ok Liao. Too bad me n hubby belong to camp 1 while they belong to camp 3. Haha.

Kam,
Wah, hot topic today...
I am very surprised that the teachers really visited your blog and commented such thing.
I mean blogs are like a diary where we recorded our kids' growing phrase, a good sharing space for friends and family. Of course, it does not mean that the CC cannot read your blog but they should respect and be graciously on what the parent wrote. So we can only write good things and not bad points? No such nonsense! Then how about newspaper forum??? You mean everyone who wrote there to complain will be questioned and maybe get sued? No!!! That is not the way right? Companies are aware of their shortcomings through the forum and tried their best to change and reflect.

Based on that, I can see that HR's CC is not receptive to change or even complains... Then where are the rooms of improvements? I understand your feelings here. You are very calm indeed. If I were you, I would have argue my way and maybe ended up in tears of anger.

I am sure HR will adapt well in the new environment.

Kam,

that's wat the ex HOD told me wor... else every single ulcer found in mouth = hfmd? cham liao .every other month i will b heaty n bite my lips, n hence got ulcer.. so every other month i will have hfmd? haha better tell my boss i got hfmd n den can keng MC at home hahaah

Thanks for all your support! Really makes me feel better :)

tongtong,
I have very good relationship with some of the teachers, and I do treat them as friends, after going there for 2.5 years, 有感情的! But this particular teacher I don't really like her from the beginning, she is teaching K1/K2 and she is very fake as my hub described. Yes, hope my hub can spend a month with him at home. He has got an interview this week, not sure if he will get the job or not. But even if he gets it, he will negotiate to start in Sep the earliest. He needs a break from work.

Luvv,
Try a few more days and see how it goes?

kitsune,
Okay, get what you meant. Yup, difficult to find people who have the same frequency as me. Now then I can only understand how excited tongtong was when she found the cc that she loves.

krystle,
You are very right! I only made 1 complain in the last 2.5 years. Maybe I am too soft in their eyes. The one complain was when they had a new teacher and that stupid teacher didn't give dinner and didn't give milk for HR! The sacked the teacher cos other parents complained also, and made some improvement on a few things. Those minor minor things I am okay to close an eyes and never made any noise. 不出声当我是病猫! I cannot cry in front of HR, so I forced myself to keep the cool.

mylvera,
HFMD usually comes with very high fever, as it's a virus infection. Just ulcer is not necessary HFMD unless it's with fever or with blister found on hand/foot. But most PD/GP is being very careful, they rather play safe than misdiagnosed.

Kam,

Dun get too upset over that CC. A change of environment might not be a bad thing for HR.

You use to say there is a very kind teacher in that CC. She even help you to jaga HR for one nite when u went to deliver XY. Is she still in HR class?

I am so Happy!!! My gal have become more and more sensible and loving towards her mei mei. Maybe i have become more patience after i stop working.

She seem to be taking her playgroup well and she can actually walk in herself and listen to the teacher instruction and waved bye bye at us. Felt so proud of her and its making me feel more and more bu she de to return to work.

Kam,
so you signed up HR for the new cc already? you need to give this cc one month's notice? i heard that normally they will be more vigilant and more careful of handling the kids and parents of parents who complain more frequently...think they think that you are too easy to "handle"...

re: going to playground to in cc
do your kids actually goes to the playground at all? mine doesn't and it's not that i mind about this, it's just that the teachers told the kids that they are going to the playground, they put on the shoes and go out of the cc, yet, only walked a big round of the estate and return to cc without going to the playground. I feel that they give hope to the kids and then shatter them, i'd rather they just let them play toys in the cc,however, playing toys also have lots of restrictions...i'm not sure whether they are the norm in other cc...

luvv
thats a very funny thing. 1st time heard before. how did you know that anyway?
did you ask the teachers or principal why they meant "going to playground" = walk 1 round of the estate? what was their reply?

pixie,
i was there, i was wondering why they didn't go when they walk past 3 playgrounds...i asked the teacher, she told me they cannot handle so many tots at the playground at the same time. I'm fine with it but i'm not happy about them giving the kids false hopes or rather..lie to them.

Luvv,
my girl doesn't go to cc so i can't comment. but i think it's very bad the teachers tell them they're going to the playground but end up never go.
the kids are old enough to understand already and sure will feel very cheated.
my mum always say cannot bluff yr kids, if u say u going to buy something for them or bring them somewhere then must do it. if not dun say at all.

Kam,
Hugz to you! So sad to hear those unhappy stuff. I feel like slapping the teacher after reading your blog. You are really kind &amp; calm to handle the matter. I dun think you have done anything wrong. This is your blog. You have your rights to put down anything you like. Fine, if the full name of CC &amp; teacher "real" name really affect them. Then juz give them a nick ~ AN UGLY NICK for that stupid teacher!! Keep on blogging &amp; we certainly enjoy reading ;)

Pixie,
Congrats to you!! Happy to hear your good news &amp; your TTC process is real fast!! Think you are one of those very fertile one. Once you want it, sure will got it ;) Rem you are also gemini, birthday coming rite?? Muz be your best b'day gift.

TongTong,
I got your msg &amp; also replied to you. But think I will give the trial a miss cos both branches are in the East. Too out for me. Thks for sharing the info ;)

krystle, lynn, icy
Rem your child is attending a music class rite? Can I have the website? May I know what did they learn there? I was doing a new set of flashcard last week &amp; it was on music "Do, Re, Mi, Fa, So, La, Ti, Do". So funny, he kept repeating these &amp; like to play with piano recently. So thinking maybe i shld expose him in this area too ;)

kellie,
Wah you have very good memory! Yes, that kind teacher is still there, but she is at the infant care. Same as the other good teacher whom I like, also at infant care. We also hope a change of environment won't be a bad thing for him. Glad that your girl is adapting well. When will you go back to work? Next it's your turn to adapt :)

Luvv,
haven't signed him up yet. Just handed in the letter this morning. Yes, need 1 month of notice, now it's already 12th July, not sure if they are going to let me stop by end July or not. I hope they allow me, cos I don't get any subsidy, the principle told me last time because they need to claim the subsidy from the ministry, so must give at least 1 full month of notice.

Agreed that they are very bad for giving the kids false promise! They could have just said let's go out for a walk! HR's cc is at the semi detached houese, so they have they own playground, and they get to go for outdoor play everyday. See I still talk good things about them :p