(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

luca,

yes i am biased haha

let me share with u my "sims/xins"

#1 make me gek sim (always throwing tantrums when he unhappy)
#2 make me dan xin (once he sick, worry abt him getting bronchiolitis)
#3 make me shang xin (cos of her kawasaki issues + some other medical issues which i did not disclose here)

there goes my heart .. each of them have a part haha

steph
my sis says apparently its a hot hot item now wor so she bring in and see got response or not

re: weight
i oso dunno my boy's weight, always forget to weigh him when seeing a doc. maybe tonight i try to measure his height

let me share wat the cc teachers taught my sons.. now the boys will sing this song to me

mummy mummy i love u
u know tat i really do
i know tat u love me too
so i sing for u

janbb/yvonne, speedy recovery to your kids!

mylvera, aiyo .. so many "sims" but not happy xin! hope ur #3 can recover and be fit and healthy..

Thks Steph & Tongtong,

I juz bot J to see PD & he got HFMD!!! My #2 still having fever but i can't bring her home as got to separate them.

mylvera,
all your "xin" come to me now...
very gek xin, dan xin & i'm really really shang xin why both my kids fell sick so often.

tongtong ~ rem u wrote something abt HFMD here is it? Any link or blog for me to read? Now #1 slpg, i need to find out more abt HFMD. Thks.

janbb, alamak, he caught it from school? I din bring ouyang's book with me so cant tell u remedies for HFMD, and i also dont have the link to a mar mummy's blog here. wait let me look thru the archive.. there are 2 feb kids down with hfmd also recently. let J drink lots of fluid.

can ask pauline and kam about hfmd also.

tongtong,
Thks a lot. I hv informed the sch today & it seem that we are the 1st case. Anyway, he can't go to sch for the whole next week. I wonder why he got it. Maybe he didn't wash his hand properly as he likes to "peel" his bread or any snack prepared by me in sch. Other than that, i'm quite particular at home. always ensure him to wash his hands before & after meal.

janbb, ok the remedies are here
perilla plum
ingredient:
1 perilla plum, half an apple
method: remove perilla plum seed and extract the flesh. Remove apple skin, seeds and cut it into cubes. Pleace both ingredients in 100cc of cold water and mix them into blender

janbb, what did doc say?
as for the drink, drink 1 time lor. it's zi3 su1 mei2. i also dunno what issit. a type of preserved plum? maybe you check with the medical hall?

The PD @ Kidslink gave some med for fever & inflamation and an oral gel for the ulcers and cream for the rashes. He said fever shld last 1-2 days. Rashes to be recovered in a wk time. I also dunno is today considered his 1st day of HFMD. His fever started yez evening. I juz discovered the rashes today as he told me his soles are itchy & asked me to put powder. Then at a clearer look this afternoon, i suspected it could be HFMD & hurried down to PD.

Will find out the plum tmr. Thks for your prompt reply.

Now very worried abt my #2. Fever shot up to 39!! Hubby is at my mum's hse monitoring her. So poor thing. Very sad that i can't be with her. Tears dropping when thot of her now.

janbb
jiayou
my boy recovered from his high fever 2 weeks back, today mil say he got slight fever. should be gotten it from niece, she got fever this whole week. i sianz totally coz he just barely recovered.............

hope J x 2 get well soon!!

janbb, jiayou.. understand ur anxiety. ur hubby and mum will take good care of her, dont worry. maybe your hubby shd take care of #1 while you take care of #2?

pixie, hope X get well soon too..

i think the weather is so terrible that made lots of kids fell sick..

<font color="ff0000">JanBB,</font>
Don't worry too much. As long as his fever is under control, it's okay. Another challenge would be feeding him fluid and food. He may refuse due to the throat ulcer. If he is drinking and eating properly, then don't have to worry. The ulcer and blister will be gone after about 1 week. Think of it positively, he would be stronger after the round of HFMD. Stay strong!

Ask your MIL and hubby to monitor your gal fever closely. If she refuses milk, it may be a sign of getting the virus from J already. Cos HFMD usually starts from the throat ulcer, and may or may not have blister on hands and foot. Bring her to see doctor asap when necessary.

Last time, the PD prescribed an anti-viral med for HR. Not sure how effective it was. Even though HR got HFMD 2 times, it didn't bother him much. In fact, he enjoyed the 2 weeks cos I stayed at home with him 24-7 for 2 weeks. HFMD is not as scary as long as you detect it early and necessary precaution is taken. You take care too! Virus can be passed to adult too, make sure you have enough rest so that your immune system is kept strong!

JanBB,
Hope Jayden and Jayna recover soon! Like what Kam said, you must also take care of yourself too coz you may also catch it..

Pixie,
Why you need a pediatric ophthalmologist? Does X has vision problem???

Mylvera,
I like your "simslogy" Here are mine..

#1 - make me "kai xin"
#2 - make me "hui xin"
Hubby - make me "shang xin"

Pixie,
Why do u need to go to them?

Can try...She's located at KKH
Dr Yvonne Ling Visiting Consultant (Paediatric Ophthalmology &amp; Strabismus, Cataract &amp; Comprehensive Ophthalmology) MBBS, FRCSE, FRCOphth (UK), FAMS

Hope all the tots get well real soon.
My boy was at my mil's hse yesterday and she was sick..fever and cough...hope J is not infected. He had just recovered from colds.

Luca,
Yes, I went for the trial. The lesson is more into to music, not much of dance kind. They teach them to identify notes too. Didnt join the lesson cos the timing not good. New class at 1pm. It is J's nap time.

pixie, life without office work= super syiok. can eat and shop with a very relaxed mood :p . Am going back to SG on the 14th, cuz S still needs to attend his gym class ma.

Janbb, yea HFMD affects and bothers adult more, as adult will suffer more from the pain etc. Kids one is midler than adult. so make sure you have enough rest ok!

krystle, why hubby makes u shang xin leh.dont get hui xin on ur #2!

janbb, hoping that both J get well soon.
when i girl has mouth ulcers tht time, she refuse porridge and milk, so i made her 'chrsanythesum tea' and gav her maunka honey.
juz rem giv them more fluids when they r done, she recovered in 3 days..

kry, why ur hubby make u sad? i tot u r touring europe with im now???

Tongtong, Aqua..

Haiz... Yes, touring now in Europe but not in the best of moods liao...

I feel that we are drifting apart in our feelings leh... Our lives revolve around our kids... We talk abt them, but I realised that we rarely talked about ourselves, how we feel in recent years...

I used to have a bad temper when I always flared up whenever he said some critics about me... so in recently, I told myself that I should "ren"... But the problem is the more I "ren", I saw these harmful words coming more frequent at me liao... I admit I am not very IT person, so when I was doing this itinery for excel, I tend to be slow in clicking formatting functions (coz need to search where)... then he will say "Here lah, you don't know meh... You working in IT coy leh.. blah blah blah..." Once and twice is fine, but he can say a few times loh... and it hurts my feelings. Then I just tell him, yes I am not good at IT and maybe I should QUIT job at IT coy since I am not up to it. Or, I will tell him since you know how to do, you do it loh.. then he said I "fa pi qi"...

Just this trip, I like going to theme parks to walk and take pics and I can't take those roller coaster rides... He keeps wanting me to take... I told him he can take and I can wait for him. But he does not want.. then he said next time he will forbid our kids to go theme parks becoz mummy's fault.. she does not want to take rides... everyone has their own fears and now you are blaming me for not overcoming my fears??? Haiz...

Then throughout the trip, he will push me to do things like carrying the heavy luggage.. But it is really too heavy for me to handle.. then he will say, you want to come right? then carry your own bag.. You want this trip right? then do this and that... I was like Hello? Yes, I want to come but going for a vacation is not just my biz mah... Just push things to me... I felt like shouting back "you are the ones who want kids, so you take care solely by yourself lah!" But I did not say that... coz I know if I say that, he will say I "fa pi qi" again...

I don't want to change him... I already told him that he has not been very nice with me on his words recently... It is up to him if he want to change...

Anyway, I just continue with my tour and today going for shopping therapy!!! Hopefully I will feel happier.

krystle, hope u felt better after sharing w us, if possible, it would be gd to hav a heart2heart talk w ur hubby. coz once in a while, we tend to forget each others needs and take each other for granted
yes! shopping theraphy will cure all unhappiness, GO GO GO

blackbatz
thanks for the info, i "targeted" her too and another doc

harnor, x blinks his eyes a lot. we thought its habitual blinking but seems like something is not right so i though a trip to specialist can ease my mind

krystle
hugs!! as you know, me and my hb not very "gum" too, so this weekend was very tiring for me. this morning i burst into tears and X saw and did the same....haiz....
i truely understand how you feel, but we must be strong for our kids. they depend on us for everything so no matter hb good or no good, we still must be positive

like x's eye thing. he die die oso dun want to bring x to see doc, say no prob become a prob. then i say just bring n see lar, anyway the fees covered by my company's insurance.
then i told him my near sightedness getting worst perhaps during weekend go spectacle shop n test my eye. he very sacarstic say "go to specialist lor, since you every small matter oso go specialist"
wtf, i didnt ask you to pay $$, i never ask you to bring x to see doc (take leave &amp; drive etc), i never ask you to contribute anything you still want to be so sacarstic?

sorry ranting. this whole week i really super sianz. everything i do at home and still not satisfied say i never do anything.

really very very tired emotionally

Pixie,
Wah, we can really hug each other liao. Haiz... Just imagine y'day I was also crying outside Lourve Museum. What a scene!

But after I told him y'day that he has not been saying nice things to me, today is much better. No criticism remarks from him... So ok... But is your hubby like that since day 1 you know him??? My hubby used to be very comfy at words one... I know part of the reasons was me... Coz I very bad tempered and always flared at him.. So I guess he slowly cannot ren my temper and now he retaliates back, I think... Another reason is his work... He is facing lots of ridiculous pple and work stress so he slowly speaks to pple in such way... and inevitable, he brought home such tone to me... These are just my guesses... Maybe I am just finding reasons to make myself feel better.

Ya, you are right! We have to stay strong for our kids...

X blinks alot huh? Ya loh, no harm going to see specialist and see what he say... Sure X will be fine and it is a false alarm. just ignore your hubby lah... I know men sometimes think we women like to make small problems look big...

pixie,
good to go and check out X's eyes early. my sis had severe myopia at a very early age, she started wearing glasses at 5 yrs old.
she also used to have this blinking, squinting sort of action.
then later on she would sit in front of the tv for a while only then run off. my parents still tot wah this kid so good dun like to watch tv one...then later they found out is cos she couldn't see!!

re: blinking, rubbing eyes

according to the Ophthalmologist at ttsh, it is very common in children. as the eyelashes grows, it will irritate the eye lids. children will outgrow tis.

Pixie,
My boy used to see her when he was younger cos he was a premature baby. For him, it's quite critical cos premature babies tend to have eye sight problem, especially near sighted.

At their age, really hard to test cos they can't say the A,B,C,D..Based on their reaction wor. It wasn't until he is 5 years old, then the testing became more accurate cos he could articualate his A,B,C etc.. Maybe that's why ur hubby thinks its pointless.

Observe whether your child is watching TV etc from the corner of his eyes. Cos the doc will check with u the reasons for seeing her.

It's true that relationship will take a back seat once the first kid comes along. Same for me too. Right now with second one, harder to do anything. So when no. 1 goes for enrichment class, hubby and I will go for dinner together. Otherwise, really no time to pah tor.

Hi krystle, hugs! Hope u are feeling better. I quarrelled with hubby a few weeks ago too. But we talk thing through after that n realized both r at fault so we have been trying to be even more aware of each other feelings. I think it is important to have short catch up session each day to appreciate each other instead of sweeping things under the carpet when we r not happy n letting the resentment stew n multiply.

Kitsune,
Yes, I am feeling better. Today day 2 and we are getting along well together...
Hope it keeps this way for as long as possible.

Ya, short catch up is impt. But haiz... hubby is always so tired after late work everyday, and most of the time he is either falling asleep in front of TV or PC... I don't want to rob him of his precious sleep... and I am working longer hours too... Haiz... How I wish there is only 4 working days in a wk, Fri let it be a chill out day for parents and then wkends for our kids....

Re: couple time

Last time i still can go out during the evening without the kids as my ILs are there. Now, I simply apply leave n go out with hb while the kids are in cc lor. no choice but leave #3 with maid alone :S

krystle
what a good suggestion heehee for fridays = parents; weekends = kids

blackbatz
ok noted, i will go and monitor while he watched tv...i didnt get yvonne lim, she is fully booked, i have another doctor, and its next fri

he blinks a lot while watching tv....or rather he blinks non stop with flashing images infront of his eyes. that i discovered

Krystle, that's true. Why dun u start with a good night kiss just before both of u sleep and tell your hubby 1 thing he did that made u feel loved today. Eg. Thanks for taking care of the kids so that I can have a peaceful shower.

Ask him to do the same n you will be surprised what the little gestures that mattered to him. Eg, I learn that my hubby appreciates when I make a simple dessert eg. Canned longans with ice or a root beer float.

After we get married tend to take each other for granted n stop doing loving things for each other. if we let angry words n criticism take over all the time, it will affect the marriage. So must learn to appreciate every small thing that your spouse did everyday.

mylvera,
i am working too
monday blues...

<font color="0000ff">hey, any mummies (or yr frds) here got the latest babycare magazine ? Is a bi-annual babycare guide for pregnant and new mums. If u have one to let go (foc) or selling it away, let me know k...i need to keep this copy badly!! Thanks

why steph, you got #3??

hey i'll be your neighbour soon liao ley....i've just started the process of selling off and buying new flat...to stay near mil (aka back to JE)
sianzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

pixie, why sian! it is a gd thing to buy a new flat! can get excited looking for new places, and designin ur 'dream home'

me also at wrk...

pixie,
really?? welcome to WEST side:p:p i know u dun like but west side also got nice food/places lah except no KOI
next time let's organise a playdate together with Janbb too! So, when u shifting over? 2011? oh west side very limited popular/gd school woh...except rulang or west grove:p balloting...PV etc but count me out!

Jess, pixie,
why i need this copy (2011 edition till June)? Cos my bloom photo was published!!