(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Yvonne, think you missed my keyword, the 3d scan is <font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">FREE</font></font>!!! Siemens need to train their sales staff so they offer free 3d scans for those mummies whose EDD is Dec 09. If not, I also won't do it since never do for no. 1 mah. Haha!

Yvonne,

No need to think too much, JUST GO FOR IT!!! 船到桥头自然直 woh! Next year I TCC for my #3 if my hubby wants to "cooperate" :)

Kitsune
Wah, free v good leh! Hee... so look more like who?

When I was trying to catch a nap tat day, Elliot was in the playpen.

He shouted "Mommy mommy". I smiled and tried to nap, again "mommy mommy... wake up".
So I walked over, he went "bao bao Elliot".
Thinking he so cute I rescued him out of his playpen, immediately he went "walk walk"...

alamak, asking me to put him down to walk... Sigh... there goes my nap, need to watch over him liao.

today tried my boy to sleep one nap a day. not so successful, not that failure either.
he slept at 12.30, wakie at 2.30pm. so it was only 2 hours worth of sleep; i was hoping for more.
but, he fell asleep easily during his nap and his night sleep.

went to the PD today. eczema. sian. on his neck, chest, stomach. nowadays steriod cream doesnt even really help much.
i just hope he'll grow out of it fast

Mom2nat, I think look like no. 1 which means small eyes like me, flat nose like Daddy. Hiaz...
Anyway, hubby very ah q, he said if mei mei got all the best physical attributes from us whereas cheh cheh got the worst, not 美美 also not fair. :p Anyway, will find out in another 4 months who she looks like exactly.

Brought RaeAnne to a family gathering at Pasir Ris bungalow, across the huge hallway and dining area, she saw me stand up and immediately pointed there there, waving and want me to carry liao. Sometimes, feel very sweet lor but most days, tiring to keep carrying plus can't eat or chat with my cousins in peace. :p

Kam..serious ah..No. 3 next year..kowtow to you..

3D scan free sure go for it.. U mean it's not part of O &amp; G..My gynae only has 2D machine..I also never asked much.

Everyone around me is pregnant leow..Sigh..

kitsune: i like the new name 'qi rui', quite special

no.2 name is raelynn? so her chinese name is qi- something?

blackbatz, yup, that's why endure the 1 hr session. Some of the trainees quite inexperienced but they are all guided by their instructor who is an experienced sonographer.

Aqua, thanks.
Yup, no. 2 will also be qi-something but exact character haven't decide yet. :p Got a few ideal names to choose from though, just need to confirm when we have her bazi.

morning all,

another long day for me cos almost whole day either meeting or training.

haiz... another fedup weekend i had. i tink this time it also pissed my hb off.

i was in the room cos my #1 is about to wake up (if he sees no one inside, he will cry). my hb came into the room's toilet. my INITIATIVE maid was outside playing with #2. when my hb went out, in less den 5 mins time, he saw her feeding my #2 with titbits! he shouted out "y did u give him titbits?!" she ans "cos #2 cry" my hb pissed off n ask "who told u to feed titbits when they cry? cry = can eat titbits meh?" she ans "ah mah (my dear MIL) say can" faint leh. tat nite, my hb told his mother off n she buey song vent her anger on my #1! shouted at him cos he refuse to change pyjamas, shouted n say she wana go home NOW n den lock the room's door so tat my #1 cannot go into the room to sleep! end up my #1 was crying outside the door n went into another "hysterical moment"! fed up! anyway, since my hb decided to quit his job, i told him to manage his MOTHER else i wun know what will happened to me as i m very stressed now! with work, staff probs, n now family probs n $$ issue???!

mylvera, ur family is giving u lots of stress, hope u dun tink too much ,看开, 放手。Life has lots of ups and downs, i am sure u will pass this terrible stage soon

mylvera,

Poor thing. I would be mad too if I were you and I will definitley tell MIL clearly what's my stand is as the parents. You see, some people really don't mind to feed thier kids tidbits, so you (or rather your hubby) gonna put it right. But she really shouldn't vent her anger on the boy hor, showing such a bad examples to the boy. Hope you and your hubby can work things out. Relax relax...... 家家有本难唸的经......

morning all,

Mylvera: dont over stress yourself ok? Hang in there, think will work out brighter and brighter each day. For MIL, choose to ignore her instead. I know it's hard coz they would nag and nag and nag and don't care how we feel. For my case, I told my MIL off and she actually changes a lot now. Don't worry too much coz you are going to deliver a princess and have 2 boys to take care too!

aqua,

u will not "see broken" if

1) yr child is learning all the bad habits (cry = can have titbits/ sweets etc etc)

2) yr child is sick (coughing) for few mths n now my hb begins to think is cos of the "daily lifestyle". imagine, my #1 is back fr playgroup at 11 am n immed my MIL feed him with biscuits, melon seeds etc etc n not LUNCH n then send him to bed n when he woke up at 1pm or sometimes 2-3 pm, eat lunch, den by 5 pm insist he must eat dinner else she threw away the food n no food for him till bedtime milk.

3) daily threaten my #1 that she doesn't want him but want's the didi. my #1 used to b a sunshine boy when he was born n b4 he knows wat's happening ard him. now he changed to a rainy boy. daily cry n when he cry, his cough will get worse.

Kam,

which is why now my hb decided to quit n stay home for time being n to tell his DEAR MOTHER that this is our HOUSE n these are our KIDS. he doesn't want another kid growing up with emotional imbalance! She changed so much of our things n insist that the maids packed our things till my hb TL cos he cannot find his things.
I told hb that his mother is getting into my nerves liao. everytime he not in, she will indirectly/ directly suan me. when he back from work, she will grab the kids away from him incase there's some "outside" virus (esp during H1N1 period) that is attached to his clothes n the kids will get it. but when i m back home (n it so happen that my risk of contracting H1N1 is higher den my hb) she refused to move my kids away. they will tag to me like super glue. she conveniently forget that i m preg n having some complication to my preg!

mylvera, if u stay with inlaws, there isnt much u can do to change their lifestyle and habits.unless, u tell them to 'move out'?

aqua, enemum,

that happens to be my house n they are there to help look aft the kids. my hb say he cannot chase them out of our house, n can never be able to control his mother. what he can do is to let her go off for shopping or tours more often when he is at home but he will still need to look for a job at a later stage. and things will b the same again? i told him very firmly that when his dad pass away n he pass away too, i will chop off all relationship with his dear mother. i have my limits n she dun even treat me as a dil so why shd i treat her as a mil? my hb speechless haha

aiyo...then it is really bad huh

that's the danger of staying with PIL

your house like not your house now...wanna escape also no where

Mylvera, aiyo, I pity your #1!!! Possible not to be taken care by MIL or not ? if constantly coughing for so long not good for ur boy leh… issit possible not to stay with il or not

Mylvera,

Pity your situation... but when comes to MIL, so hard to manage them coz they are not your mum and what you said has little impact on them. Only way is get HB to be firm with them and tell them off straight. Your #1 how big liao? Or want to consider full day child care or not? At least teachers are more discipline and I guess won't give snacks unnecessarily?

Kam,

they have their own house.

Tongtong n krystle,

currently cannot consider full day childcare cos my hb tendered liao. short of 1 income cannot anyhow spend liao. i did tell hb abt the different choices tat we have but he choose the last choice?

also, no way to get rid of them cos my FIL wana b with his only grandchildren for as long as possible. neither does hb wana be seen as unfilial. so i told him he gotta handle his mother else there is no guarantee if the stress will kill 2 lives or not. am thinking of getting bedrest from gynae liao cos at times i even hv prob walking. can feel the gravity pressure n it does seems like i m going to deliver anytime or the feeling is like wat i encounter when i was abt to deliver #1 n #2.

mylvera, 家家有本难念的经。Can't help you also, I think you already went through all the solutions yourself and evaluated the pros and cons. Hope you feel better by venting your frustrations here though. Jia you!

ay, i oso have mil prob

i tok to my mil about possibly putting my boy in childcare, saves the hassle of travelling up and down, that was last fri, she said ok
then come yest, after a day out with her sis, she said not ok, coz auntie's girl was in top childcare last time and got this sickness, that illness blah blah...aiyoh, the auntie's girl now oredi uni, that happened very long time ago leh.
and being the forever filial son, my hb heard my mil rejecting me and said very firmly "yah, dont want, yah dont want" and kept nodding his head...

now in order for me to put my boy in childcare, i must move not 1 but 2 mountains.

i question myself why i need to put my boy in childcare - issit i am selfish, dont want to travel? but deep down, i know that my principle for this is - i am the parent of my child and being a parent, i need to be with him most of the time (if possible), and not be a weekend parent.

i know most ppl would love to be in my shoes i.e. being with their kids during weekends only. i know i have perks that some dont enjoy, but i feel that i am not spending enough time with my boy.
i just need to strike the right balance. which i am not.

i have 3 solutions:
childcare
sahm
move nearer to west

i am loving the 1st; cannot afford the 2nd, and dreading the 3rd

sianzzzzzzzzz
think whole night until never sleep. gek sim

pixie
dun geksim... i think some of us here are also facing this problem.... talk to ur hubby about it stating ur point tat u want to be there for ur boy... not becos u r against his mum or anything.... let him slowly go and think lor...

jia you.. i believe all of us can overcome our problems!

haiyo pixie dont geksim

why this monday so blueish one. my colleague just complained to me her woes also - about office politics.

aiyah jess, my hb never listen to me one. we have an underlying communication prob. sad to say.

he thinks that i dont listen to his opinions and hence he is very dead set against whatever i say. but truth is, i do listen to him but most of the time, it turned out that mine is correct most of the time...geesh...

i can hardly persuade my hb to take my opinions. we just are very very different people and agree to disagree

haiz. take a step at a time. me and my hubby at times also like tat. so i will just listen to him, let him go his way first. wrong liao or when things happen liao, i will ask him to go think back... then he will quiet... change to my way...
perhaps men are all like tat... ???

jess
nowadays im doing that lor.
but still, he wont listen to me unless the facts are thrown into his face. i thought his mom can persuade him but now even his mom dead set against putting my boy in childcare...so no other way to persuade him liao

maybe move to west part?

amongst all the areas in SG, i hate the west most.
i rather take east or north

enuff of my probs, ship towards bridge will be straightened. i must be a brave, resourceful mummy for the sake of my boy

pixel,
Actually i prefer childcare to pil take care. cos although they might get sick more often, but i think after sometime they will get stronger. The kids will be more discipline and learn more in child care too.

MIL problem
I also have.. especially when staying with mil. AND the house is not mine.. don;t really have a sense of belonging in a way. Dun have the HOME feeling.. cos everything is not really the way I want it.. (as in the hse).

I am back from checkup, can hear BB heardbeat. :D My EDD would be 10 Mar. Will be quite close to my bday. And hb says he can save on cakes... BTH.

Congrats, Icy! Next time, can celebrate your birthday with no. 2, 1 cake never mind, still got 2 presents mah. Hahaha.

Sigh, I think most people have IL problems lar. Part and parcel of being DILs and not understanding/agreeding to their way of lives. Was telling hubby, since we have gals, maybe both of them will chose stay near to us after getting married so that we can help them look after their kids. Less conflict with their ILs this way too. Haha, think until very far liao... ;P

icy
i agree
but the most basic thing is: i am my child's mother and i should be taking care of him. granted my child is in cc most of the day even, i get to see him for the rest of the times he is not in childcare. this is what a parent should do.

sorry ah mummies, i am placing orders for my frens from forever21.com and i am 15USD away from free shipping, who is keen to buy a top/blouse to meet the minimum amount?

help me lah hahah

Monday blue.......

Hope all mummies can find a way that works best for them, JIA YOU!!!

Change of topic - my son learned how to say "NO". Very precisely pronouced and he shakes his head whenever he says "NO". Cute, but meaning must really respect his views now!

Question for you - does your kids' nail chipped easily? I felt my boy's nail is weak and easily chipped, wonder is it like that for toddler this age, or is it a sign that he is lacking some kind of mineral?

Pixie, I agree, that's why I didn't agree to be a weekend parent even though ILs offered and we stay just 5 mins walk away. I only tried out for 2 nights already buay tahan liao cos of the guilt plus I feel that it would have affected my BM supply if I don't sleep with my gal at night. I think my ILs are secretly rejoicing now that I rejected their offer cos nowadays occasionally want to leave her there overnight, FIL also not keen. :p

pixie,

think abt #2 option. frankly speaking, if u can't convince yr hb, there isn't much way abt it. #2 mite b a better choice in yr case. take up home-based job, eg, setting up more sprees, selling more milk bags, doing BP?

RE: MIL prob

I am shifting in to stay with my MIL after delivery of my 2nd child. Then after, we will look for a bigger house and move in together forever. Kind of quite worried nw after hearing lots of MIL prob. So far, my MIL n I have a ok relationship and she respect my style of handling my gal, although she will give suggestion when it comes to my gal's food diet which i agree to most of the time. Wondering will our relationship change or not after staying together.

Kam, my gal started doing that a few weeks ago. Saying "NO" loud n clear and at times, saying "no no no no" while shaking her index finger. very cute but thats means everything is no to her unless she likes it alot.

Kam: Johanna' nails are ok. Very strong actually. ;)

My girl dont know how to say NO yet, but if she doesn't want anything, she will shake her head like rock star. ;) And she also doesn't know how to say YES either, but the way she nods her head is like a princess. Hohohoho. I dont know where she learns that from. ;)

Icy: Congrats.

Kam, good for you. I think Haore speaks more mandarin cos you speak to him more in Mandarin right? RaeAnne has been saying no for nearly 1 month liao. Not easy to make her do things like wash her face or brush her teeth now. She'll say no and run away when I approach her with a face towel or toothbrush. :p

She can say black today cos I told her if she doesn't wash her face and brush her teeth in the morning, she'll end up like the black cat (on the flashcard) and become an 肮脏猫。 Then she went 'black', 'black'. Allow me to clean her face with towel but still refuse to open her mouth for the toothbrush. ;P

RE: Chip nail - thanks for the feedback. Will ask his PD during the next visit.

kitsune,

I still hasn't started the brushing teeth routine on my boy leh, though he should cos already got 16 teeth. My boy doesn't brush his teeth most of the days (ops!), only brush like once a week, lazy mum to be blamed :p You did a good job.

mylvera
only if i can do more online biz = more mummies who are bfeeding.
i am discussing this with my hb. he is OK with this but i must make sure i earn from online than from my current job before i can officially quit.
#2 is my best loved solution but this doesnt come ez. i very diff then get this good pay job - no way i will quite and be sahm. i maybe earning as much or more than my hb...my hb should quit and be SAHF leh...

kam
my boy started to say no by shaking his head 3 weeks ago. something he learnt from his cousins at my IL place. talk about good or bad influence? my niece likes to shout "NO!" all the time until feel like slapping her

my boy's toenails chips frequently, thus he has nail snags very often.
i tot kids's nails always thinner than adults?

kam
i want to ask you about haore's eczema leh.
wat did doc prescribe? is he better now? do you know what causes his rashes?

Kam, I only brush her teeth in the morning cos same morning routine as me, easily to convince her to 'follow' what mummy do. Told her every morning must 洗脸,刷牙,去厕所。 She has also pooed pooed a few times on the toilet bowl or potty in the morning since I established the routine. But sometimes, weekends, hubby don't do it for her, just change her diaper on the changing table. So come monday, she'll resist again. But he's starting to do it more consistently after I complained. :p

At night, I never do it cos after last milk feed is bedtime so only give her some water to drink/rinse her mouth. More important to brush teeth at night actually. Cos milk teeth spoil easily with milk residue. RaeAnne only has 8 teeth, the molars not out yet. :p