(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Kitsune: I also never brush Johanna' teeth in the evening coz she always has her milk after that will zzz. Bad excuses huh? ;)
Aiyoh, just now I was buying ON maternity clothes online, left there for whole day when I come back to make payment, it said the session time out and lost all my data. Now so lazy to go back and choose again. ;-(

pixie,

His PD gives him Elomet. Hao Re's eczema comes and goes. Don't really know (or rather I don't bother to find out) what's the cause of it, since it's usually mild. But based on my observation, it's the heat and food intake. That day let him have "char siew pau", forgot the char siew has colouring, the very night established eczema, apply the cream, and disappeared the next day. Other food not sure, cos I don't do systematic investigation :)

blessedbaby, hehe, ya lor, I scared if i brush her teeth after she drinks milk, she'll be alert and don't want to sleep anymore. Bad excuse, should at least clean her teeth with a towel lar. :p

I hardly bought maternity clothes this time except a few t shirt and shorts. My previous maternity clothes were more for working. :p

kam
i have been using fucicort. doc gave me elomet last sat...
do you need several days of application of elomet before rashes tone down considerably or just 1 application to the affected area will do?

pixel,
Yes, and You are the Mother, u know what is the best for your child. So u decide. :D

My doc give Xavier Desowen lotion. I will apply for Xavier when he start having rashes.. it actually stop the rashes from spreading. It will normally start during hot weathers.

Preggy Moms
Does your #1 or #2 get stickier when u are pregnant?

MIL

Shanonbaby: If you and your MIL have good relationship now, then just look at bright side. One of our girlfriend can get along VERY WELL with her MIL. They go out together, shopping together, do everything together.. if you look at them no one can tell it's MIL & DIL. They are like good friends. So I think it really depends on the family background. Think positive. ;)

For me & my MIL, I decided to keep some space between us. It means that I will give her some time to "miss" me. In this case, she will appreciate me more and somehow, it works for me so well for last couple of months. ;)

icy,
my gal is a superglue to me during the first few mth of my pregnancy. Nw still a sligher better, at least she will wants my hb also. But eversince my current pregnancy, she keeps waking up at night to look for me, sleep on my tummy, or I must carry her to sleep.

pixie,

Sometimes once sometimes few days, depending on the severity. But I stopped applying the cream immediately once I see the rashes stop to spread or the condition improved. After that will be applying lots of moisturiser.

Icy: so far my girl is ok with me. Everyday I tell her to kiss baby in mummy' tummy good morning and good night. :) During her play time, I ask her where is baby? she will point to my tummy and laugh. Hope she will be like this forever. I am very afraid of my girl being "sticky" to me. ;)

Kitsune: hahahaha. I also think the same, scare of using wet towel on her otherwise she will wake up and walking around. ;)
My maternity clothes are in singapore, and now it's winter time over here, I better buy few jeans to stock up before my tummy can't fit my normal jean anymore. ;) ANother reason for shopping. ;-)

ok for bluey mummies on a monday:-

"(A mother) is to bring the breeze of happiness into (our family), changing the raging winds of sufferings to fresh breezes that revitalize the spirit. The driving force of this to take place is none other than having a sense of purpose and mission in life and what is more, a life-long dedication to fulfilling this mission."

icy,

my boy was super gluey to me when I first found out I was pregnant. Then improved a bit. Then started to get gluey again. And now, luckily, less gluey, phew! He used to like to kiss my tummy, and answered to me when I asked him where's baby/meimei. Now he doesn't answer me, bo chap, probably sick of my big tummy already :=P

Icy, mine has always been sticky so I can't say that it has been because of no. 2. :p She touch my tummy at least 10 times a day (as if it's her private property), sleeps on it too. If i cover myself with a blanket and she can't touch my tummy, she'll pull the blanket away angrily. Nowadays, she sees babies' faces on diapers packaging, she'll say 'ma meh' 'meh meh' and not 'baby'. :p

Kam,

Javin also very gluey to me when i was pregnant initially, gets better a bit but now come back to his gluey state again! Where evere he wanna go, he will come and hold my hand and point to the place he wan to go.... Every nite, i will ask him where is mei mei he will say point at my tum tum and say "there" and hug then lastly kiss my belly button!

RE: superglue baby
I just experience a superglue baby for a few days. He don;t want anything except me.. don't even want to play on his own, only wants me to carry or sit on my lap..keep touching me.

Some friends said he sense "compeition", then my hb say it is just a growing stage.

No matter what, I hope he outgrown this.. can;t carry him as long as I want now. No strength...

icy,

That's exactly what Hao Re did when I was in my early pregnancy. He used to be very independant and liked to play on his own. Then suddently not interesting in anything, except ME! Yes, he will outgrow, but probably will be stickier than previously, depending on how you handle his request.

Jacelyn,

My boy likes to pokes my belly button :) You start to buy dresses for your baby gal already?

Kam,

Javin also like to poke my belly button. Then after poking he will smile at me! I haven buy any dresses yet cos some of my colleagues say betta dun buy first cos her experience is at 7 month dr scan say its gal then next month go become a boy liao!!!! so better wait till abt 8 months then buy.

Looks like a lot of babies like to poke their mummies' belly buttons. At least my gal is normal then.
Sometimes, see her lay her head on my tummy looking so contented also can't bear to scold her. But just worried that it won't be good for no. 2 to keep facing this pressure on her. :p

Kam, jacelyn, have you all felt stomach hardening? When did it start? I'm not yet 5 months but can already feel it hardening. Thought we are only supposed to feel hardening in 3rd trimester?

mylvera,

Yes, yes, initially said doesn't want to buy cos lots of hands me down. But couldn't resist leh, SO CUTE the little dresses!!! But didn't buy that many lah, about 10 dresses for age 6 months to 2 years (ya ya, kiasu, see those we like than buy first and keep lor, all from BP).

my mil just called and say that since my boy rejecting milk from fri till now, ask me change FM
she think i print $$ one....
even compare and say my niece and nephew's fm got sweet smell why mine dont have

wad de???!!!

Arghhh is there sumting wrong with HF??can't seem to load properly...maybe my co blocked the application:p

Re: belly button
Z like to touch & play with his belly button & will say tor chai in hokkien
We taught him how to identify & say different colours' names but none he can pronounce except "purple" he can say this word very accurately & he will giggle whenever he pronounce this word. Everyday he surprise us with new trick! Kids are so amazing...

Kam, mylvera,
BP selling very cute pretty swimwear for gal gal
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2697786.html?1248076834

Pixie,

You tell your MIL that you call the PD and PD said CANNOT CHANGE FM.

steph,

My boy's favourite word now is "turtle", pretty close to "purple" ya :)

oh, that's really cute. Will ask hubby take a look if he likes any of this.

Any BP for boy's swimsuit? My boy outgrows his current one.....

steph,

thanks thanks .but according to the dowagess, NO SWIMMING FOR KIDS BELOW 6 YRS OLD. i bot 1 swimwear for #1 liao.. yet to use cos of orders.

icy, mine didnt but maybe house got too many pple, so she always get lots of attention from others besides me. But she does get very sticky to grandpa, since daddy not around and grandpa is the only male.
. But depending on activities, she does get selective as to who she wants and dont want.

Kam –HR’s chipped nail very frequent? Wah, coloring can cause eczema also ah. If we think the other way, maybe we shouldn’t call it eczema, it’s just the detox process whereby HR detox off the color from his body? hehe

Pixie, what are you working as now?

Pauline, R so guai …

Brushing teeth: I din start brushing his teeth till lately when I realized his front teeth is getting yellowish . jialat!

Re: talk

I realized all your babies started to talk already! But Shaun hasn’t even called me or his dad yet. Is there any cause for concern or is he just slow?

tong tong, mine too...

slightly before 18 months, he can say bao bao and ma ma....but these two weeks...he stop again...sigh

Kam,

BP for boy's swimsuit...i think the abv thread oso selling but not as adorable as girl. I bought a swim trunks for Z from baby fox recently cos got 50% off

mylvera,
wah...MIL so strict ah...why dun allow swimming ?

RE: Braxton hicks

fr wiki

Braxton Hicks contractions, also known as false labour or practice contractions are sporadic uterine contractions that usually start around 6 weeks however are not usually felt until the second trimester or third trimester of pregnancy.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Braxton-Hicks

fr webmd

Before "true" labor begins, you may have "false" labor pains, also known as Braxton Hicks contractions. These irregular uterine contractions are perfectly normal and may start to occur as early as the second trimester, although they are more common during the third trimester of pregnancy. They are your body's way of getting ready for the "real thing."

http://www.webmd.com/baby/guide/true-false-labor

steph,

can't rem wat she say. but nothing nice lah. feel like answering her "tat's y yr son, my hb is afraid of water till now!" ahha tat will surely pissed her off :p

tongtong, no worries, some kids start talking slower, but once they start talking, they yak non-stop..

steph, my gal also loves to say purple and blue.

tongtong
me work...in IT line...do some pre-sales work

btw, my boy likes to say "papapapapapapapa!" everyday several times without fail BUT will not even call mama. unless he cry for 5 mins and i never attend to him at all, then he will ask for "mama"

Re: Tv commercial
Any of your tods like watching tv commercial?

Z love to watch very much...his eyes majiam glue to tv & if we call him, he'll bo chap us. One of his favourite is dunno Carlsberg or Heineken advert where the female owner showing her gfs her ...& the guys were screaming like the girls? Even before the screaming scene start, Z will start screaming too! so funni his expression

tongtong,

I read that no concern until 2 years old.

Yes, HR's nail chipped quite often.

Kitsune,

I don't really know how BH feels like..... so cannot comment. Just hardening only huh, not necessarily as painful as contraction pain one huh???

steph
my boy likes the music when the news plays the stock indices...when the music & news changes to the weather report kind, he will turn away and walk off...
seow rite

pauline, I had hardening quite early too and it lasted throughout till my delivery. My gynae actually give him one injection to relax the muscle.

Pixie, oh yea pre-sales good money, so very hard to leave the job now hor.

Re: watching tv.
My son never like watching tv, but recently think he learns to watch babytv. But quite rare too to catch him watching tv. He likes to switch off the tv while we watching ( haiyo) He particularly likes MTV (not sentimental song) but songs which make him dance and he will dance along.

Kam, you going to ask pd about the nails ah. But I tot HR has been eating so much food shd have enuff minerals.

Steph,
My boy like to watch the RIBENA commercial. The one with that lemon looking for partner & loud music attracts him. He can play halfway & pause to watch this and return back to what he's playing. Kids are "Multi-tasked" hor, kekeke ;)

Re: New word
Last nite, hubby played football with my boy at home. And he learnt a new word "KICK", he said this when he wants to kick the ball. So funny.

Re: sticky #1 when preggy
Icy - My #1 also very sticky to me that time & only want me to carry. Seem that they can sense another sibling coming along, so they tend to "fight" our attention. Dun worri, this period will go away after awhile. Now my #1 is closer to hubby than me. Always call "dad dad", only emergency then shout "MA MA".

Superbee,
How long did your wound infection get recover? Mine is still in the process of healing. Abt 1 week already. Hope this week can heal back ;)

Kam,
Saw your blog, you have selected mei mei's name already ah. Nice name ;)

Re: Happy Farm
How cum the flower in front of my door can get missing one? Got expiry date to place the vase & flower?

Mylvera,
Take good care of your #3 & dun get agitated by your MIL. Try & get some MC from your gynae to rest since hubby also at home. Stay in your room to breathe if the air is too filthy with MIL around. *Hugs*

OMG, CL going home next fri liao. Good thing is confinement going to end soon. Bad thing is gonna do the feeding &amp; cleaning job myself. Lazy mum here, heehee >.<

tongtong,

Ya, like you said, he has been eating very well, though less milk now, but still about 500-600ml per day, so don't think he is lacking any minerals?! So yes, will ask PD if there is any other reason for it, maybe got from me?

JanBB,

Yes, named our baby girl already. Also started to wash her clothes and napkins bit by bit...... THE DAY is drawing nearer and nearer........

kam,
Weather is super hot these few days, juz nice to wash &amp; dry the clothings.

Btw, who is the next mummy going to pop?? Angelsky?? any news??

Steph,
Zach is like ur boy..Screamed together with the ladies in the carlsberg commercial..and stare hard at Ribena commercial. Will say "disc" to watch barney

JanBB, no news at all, 6 days more to my EDD, but for now, hope she kuai kuai, wednesday onwards, tomo my mum's early birthday celebration, so wanna eat melben crabs with her first. :p, so I told bb to tahan a day more, wanna arrive wed onwards. Then daddy says prefer thursday or friday, can take more leave to come back for 2 weekends LOL. So today, I give myself bed rest, tomo as well. HEHE.

But will announce when I gg off.

mylvera, thanks for the link. Tongtong, wa, need muscle relaxant? Mine not so bad lar, it's infrequent and painless but I'm just surprised how come this time come so fast? Enemum, yup, going for my detailed scan this fri, will ask gynae.

Kam, you never had BH ah? The weekend before I popped (it was a Mon), my BH was so bad that I can't sleep. After that, when I told my gynae, she said they were real contractions. I couldn't even tell the difference. :p That time, keep telling my gal cannot come out cos gynae not in Singapore on Sat. Think she quite guai lar, that's why water bag broke on Mon morning, start of work week, maybe she wait until buay tahan liao. When's your EDD? I thought sept? How many days early was Hao re?

Tongtong, sometimes she's so naughty that I'll walk into my room and ignore her (with hubby around of course) until I cool down. :p But she has her endearing moments too. Especially when she is reunited with my tummy, she'll look so contented with those adoring eyes and winsome smile. Will miss this moments when she grows up, sigh. :p

Maid
Agent smsed me today, one of my shortlisted maids decided to accept the job liao (she initially told agent that she is scared to look after NB). Think she got told off by the local recruiter or my agent here so changed her mind. I told agent please make sure she really wants to come and work for me. I don't want maids who come here 'chu' pattern then hope to change employer. The agent assures me that if the maid really dare to chu pattern, she'll deal with her. Anyhow, I told agent I want to do a phone interview with her to make sure she is sincere in wanting to come and I can understand her English. Anyone can share what questions should I ask the maid during phone interview? :p Thanks thanks.

Pixie, can you PM me your rules/guidelines too? Thanks.

morning all,

think i m down on luck haha i did a home urine test at home again last nite n this morning. cfm i have protein in urine liao, ie, with the blurred vision, BP going slightly higher (130/75), protein in urine, could signal pre-eclampsia again. damn sianz.

mylvera,

eh dun play play, pre-eclampsia is very dangerous to bb and mother.
go book appt with gynae liao and see what he says. if u need hospitalisation leave then go ahead!!

grumpus,

am trying to push the appt to this fri. tues - thurs all filled with meetings/ deadlines in office. fri on leave to bring sons to PD for review so nite time go see woody.

mylvera,
u still want to dong until fri ah...
u shd be resting more and not worrying abt meetings/deadlines already!

u hv blood pressure monitor at home? better make sure u take yr pressure morning and night and yr urine test and keep track of bbs movement. keep close monitoring hor...

grumpus,

i have bp monitor at home. i even bot the urine test strip to test at home too cos of previous experience with woody's nurses haha last preg, they ignored the changed in colour even tho i alert them. they say "it's normal" n threw it away. i duno the changed in colour = protein in urine till my delivery date n the nurse in Mt A jump up n down saying i got protein in urine. so this preg, i do all the test at home haha n will alert woody if there's any changes lor.

bb movement alot n hard kicks/ punch too

mylvera,
last time my gynae taught me this method to monitor bbs movement.
everyday u start at abt the same time, say 8am. then count each time u feel an episode of bbs movement (meaning she start kicking, punching, rolling and then rest is counted as one episode, not actually counting the individual kicks/punches)
so when u get one episode of movement u put a tick on a pc of paper, when u reach 10 episodes, u record the time, say 4pm.
u do this everyday to monitor yr bb, if bb ok, by right the 'end time' shd be abt the same everyday. if u see the end time getting later and later then u need to see woody already....

last time i used this method and it's true that time for bb to complete 10 episodes of movement is abt the same everyday