(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Wa, pixie, bad news to me. The shoes I ordered for my gal through overseas spree is oos and I ordered the exact same design for myself through the BP that Wendy recommended and the organiser refuse to let me cancel order. If they really go bust, I'll never be able to buy the Disney Minnie mouse maryjane (black/ruby) for my gal to match mine liao. :p But I'm telling the wrong person lar, think Wendy will be more sympathetic. :p

wah, authentic crocs dying, better buy more to stock up.

re: "don't need a 2nd pair"
oh well, buy when hv good lobang lor

Just want to share – just my opinion hor, pls don’t bombard me :p

Grumpus, which 5 ah?

My son also got the jabs at PD at early months ( I think I signed up 5 in 1 package) before I read about the effect of vaccinations. Now still studying, thus I haven’t brought him for his scheduled jab cuz I haven’t finished studying :p

I’m now not taking any positions yet – whether pro and cons, but I think inclined towards the anti-vac side cuz it seems there’s more bad than good. Vaccination doesn’t give 100% also. And the ingredients in formulating the vaccines are toxic. I think there might be more studies which showed the linkage between illnesses/cancers /side effects with vacc. The effect will only show later part of life, it wont happen immediately now. We can see childhood cancer/childhood disease which have apparently no reasons for it. They are the unlucky ones because their immune system might be low, or destroyed by vac (vac is said to suppress immune system) so they caught illnesses.

Why some of the kids are so prone to getting sick? Cuz lower immune due to improper diet/bad environment being brought up/ genetic/ overly dosage of drugs/medicines/ vaccinations/ pollution/radiation.

Of course, there are too many more reasons. Just want to share with u a quick one here since the discussion was being brought up today.

Tongtong,

Just to share.............

Vaccine is usually made of either dead virus or some "man-made" structure that can trigger the immunity for that particular disease.

You said "The effect will only show later part of life, it wont happen immediately now" - I don't agree cos although it's true when they make the vaccine, they have to add in some chemical into it, but our body is smart enough to clear all those chemical in due time, in a matters of hours or days. Unless a person is so weak, then might take few months or years to clear. If a person can't clear the chemical away, his immune system must be faulty to a very severe extend. None of the vaccince will pass the FDA if the chemical added can't be cleared away by our body naturally.

You said "We can see childhood cancer/childhood disease which have apparently no reasons for it" - most of the childhood disease is inherited, including cancers, meaning they are born with a/some faulty genes. Or the child is born with weak immunity (again, also due to the genetics). It's not that no reason for it, but for some reasons we cannot see with our naked eyes.

Immunology is a very very very complex process. For those we can control - diet, environment, we do our best to control it. For the genetic makeup, nothing we can do.

luca, I'm still using First teeth but still got a lot left from the first tube. RaeAnne refuses to let us brush her teeth esp the upper teeth and when she's teething. I bought 1 more tube from BP a few months ago. Hubby said I kiasu. Quite true, think the existing tube can use until end of the year at least. So, looks like second tube got to keep for Mei Mei liao. :p

Ya, the BP organiser finally agree to let me refund. But poor RaeAnne will not have any crocs until Mummy can find a good lobang.

kam, agree with you la. i read so many conflicting studies till i dunno where my stance is? keke. Not all childhood disease is inherited. As for vac, some vac is using live virus.

So your view is part of my studies also la, keke. I am still waiting for a stage where I’m totally convinced about the results then I will decide where should I stand. Hehe

tongtong,

hehe, that's why I said "usually" and "most" and didn't say all woh.

What's the source of your study materials? Books? Magazines? Medical reports? Internet?

Kitsune,

Read you have settle RaeAnne's chinese name, no more worries now! Still have a few more months to think/confirm a name for your #2. No hurry now.

Aqua, RaeAnne's new chinese name is 张旗芮 (qi2rui4) because it is close to her original name and sounds similar to Teo Kay Ris。Called ICA just now, luckily, we decided on 旗芮 . Because after 1 year, not allowed to change English name liao. If I had chosen another name eg. 旗恩 or 旗芯 but not allowed to change Kay Ris then it'll sound very funny. Will have to find a day to go down to ICA with hubby cos both parents must be present. :p Another bonus that came out of this is that Kay Ris sounds more like 旗芮 than 祺慧 so me and my gal don't need to answer why Kay Ris = 祺慧 anymore. Haha.

Kam, yup, then I can focus on my next big project, finding a maid.... :p

pixie,

Eh, the price you got very good already leh. My hubby is those type who doesn't know to bargain one. Last Sat, we paid $80 for 3 durians, and yesterday is slightly smaller and it's $60 for 3 durians. I told him next time must let me bargain, easily pay at least $10-$20 less than what he paid.

Kam, from internet, health magazines/newsletter/books. I’m particularly interested with information from dr Lai Chiu-Nan who is the founder of lapis lazuli. So far my questions still not answered yet: what contributed to disease/cancer/illnesses, in terms of the % of factors which I had mentioned: environment, pollution, radiation, diet, genetic, stress, vaccination. Need to know what is the biggest contributor.

cheryl, chinese name only can change anytime. Each character change is $40 and admin fee is $30, so we'll need to pay $110. New birth cert can collect after 1 week. BUT English (dialect name) cannot change after they reach 1 year old. :p Better to change name before they go to school cos their teacher may start calling them by chinese name or some faster kids are already saying their own names. My gal still don't know how to say her own name so still in time for her to learn. Haha.

tongtong,

Each different type of disease caused by different factors (%). You may have to analyse one by one, then collate the data, or just to focus on the diseases that you are most interested in. But some of the factors you mention, like pollution, stress, is difficult to measure, cos these are more of indirect ones. I am in the field of biomedical science, and I can tell you even for the medical reports, you can't trust the reports 100%.....

Cheryl, ok lar, already spent $118 on the shifu, $110 from ICA considered cheap liao. Rather change now then end up feeling guilty if next time in case anything happens (touch wood!).

Thanks, Tongtong.

Kam, noticed that you updated your gal's name on your blog. So 淅瑜 is confirmed? Are you changing your blog address by the way? If I don't change, like not very fair to no. 2 cos she's not a piggy mah. :p How do you tag topics by the way? I wanted to do that but don't know how. :p

pixie,

my hubby said as long as feeling happy/satisfied after eating the durians, it's worth paying for it. Yesterday he was a bit better, negotiate the mao shan wang from $18 to $16 per kg. Eh, why the price hasn't been lower yet???? Already passed 10th July leh

kitsune,

Yes, my girl name is already confirmed :) Thinking of changing the blog address, but would mean have to redirect my readers to the new address and can't use this address anymore. Don't want to do that. So I change the title of blog to include my girl but not the address.

You need to add labels to each of your blog entry, which can be found at the bottom of the blog entry. Then you add the gadget "Labels", and that's it, the blogspot will automatically display the topics.

cheryl, that's the least disruptive way lor. In our case, cannot use the same pronounciation for the 3rd character cos I can't find any 10 stroke hui at 康熙字典 so no choice got to change. If you don't want to consult shifu, just research on your own. Go to online 康熙字典 http://tool.httpcn.com/KangXi/ trial and error to get different no. of strokes then check the best rating from http://www.xingming.net/. Also do the 八字分析 so that you know if Vernon has any missing elements, then best if the name can fill the gap. Eg. if from the 八字分析, you find out that he is missing in fire element then 3 fire may not be so bad. But if he already has a lot of fire, then his name still got fire then not very good lor. After all the days of research, I really machiam part time name consultant liao.

kam
dont say ah, it was still 18bucks per kg, even they say have lotsa supply after 10th july
we had 5-6? MSW and 2 green bamboo, at $14 and $15kg respectively. or something like that. and further discount. but still felt disappointed by the fact that now they cant slash price for us regulars.

Kam/Cheryl– yalor, if can know what is the biggest percentage then we can try to avoid that ma as it’s so hard to avoid ALL the factors. These factors are occurring everyday besides us, hard to avoid all lei? so just tackle the one which weigh most lo. I think I might give the jabs before S enters childcare or before I want to TTC., cuz I also scared he caught the MMR because not vaccinated and affect others ma. right now just trying to delay as long as possible lor.

not really "need" to know the percentage la, but if know of course better la!

Jess, I bought $2 durian before it taste nice lei! Maybe was lucky that time. Hehe

Pixie/kam, can pm me the address of the durian stall at highland centre?

Re: Chinese name
No offence to anybody hor. But our names actually affects our "ming" the least. For those who believe lah, our fate/destiny is controlled more by our "shen chen ba zi" rather than our names. My name only scored 76 points in the "xingming" website but I don't think my past 33 years has been that bad. There are ups and downs but all these are needed to make a person stronger. If life is too smooth sailing, people tend to take things for granted, become too complacent and might not be able to get back on their feet after a failure. Our life/destiny lies in our own hands...hahaha...sound like TV drama.

My personal opinion lah - I don't wish to be too-protective over my boy and I don't want his life to be only "ups" with no "downs". Everyone needs to learn from bumps and falls otherwise they become too weak, unable to handle stress and overly self-centred. I think life will be too boring if everything goes according to our wishes and there's no need to "ping" for what we want.

Re: Vaccine
Again, no offence to anyone hor. Old people always say if we too "bao bei" our kids, they tend to fall sick more often. Sometimes if we worry too much unnecessarily, more negative effects come out of it.

wah alot of u went to shifu for bb names hor...
for both my boys we didn't. Hubby name #1 汤玄德 while i name #2 汤睿德. According to the xingming.net webby, their chinese names score bet 70-80% niah.

yvonne - agree, that's why ppl said ignorant is a bliss! think i'm super kiasi/kiasu mum liao in terms of kids health keke. But my hubby was puzzled why am i not kiasu with my boy's education then, cuz i havent enrolled him with any playgroup la to learn this and that. oh well, i think when bb was small, i will be concern with his health first to build foundation. Then later when he grows up only I worry about his education?

there is no right or wrong on how we bring up our kids.. all of us have different ways cos we were brought up differently as well

so all of us prioritise differently...

but the bottomline is we just want the best for our kids

tian xia de ma ma dou shi yi yang de

yvonne,

I did this for fun, really. Since I got the book, I just follow the instruction loh. I don't believe a good/bad name will affect your life. If it's so easy, life is no fun :)

Tongtong,

education is a lifelong thing. It shouldn't be a particular timing when you have to start educating your child. Everyday you are teaching him something with or without your knowledge. Education is not about to teach him the A to Z and 1 to 10, but is about how he appreciates the people/thing around him, his observation, teach him to love and care for other, the value of sharing etc......

nowadays bb "shen chen ba zi" also not accurate cos of scheduled C-sect. For names hor...last time old people gave their children nick/real names as ah lan, ah huay, ah lian etc...cos i heard my grandma say if the names sound too nice, the child will not live to a ripe old age...dunno how true la.

steph
haha.. interesting theory ur grandma have... never hear b4...
i knw last time is got the family book.. so the generation children.. have a middle word in their name rite?

jess,
my hubby family side got the family book but some of his uncles generation stop using liow...reason being...all nice names being used up...left the very strange ones.

yea mine got the family book! all he grandson ( stop at my generation) have the same middle name yue4(moon) for either gal or boy. my brother generation no more liao cuz run out of 3rd names to give :p

jess,
i went to double check with my mum & she say is not "the child will not live to a ripe old age" BUT scare the child "养不大" in hokkien

Kam,
I know lah. That's why I say no offence to anyone. I also did for fun when selecting name for my boy. His name scored 86 points in the website and some things also not very good but heck care lah. What I mean is I will not go to the extreme of selecting date and time for c-sect or get a fengshui master to name my children. Sometimes I think all these fengshui master are out to earn our money only...hehe.

Yvonne, true, even yuanzhongxiu told me name only affect 10-15% of fortune. My own name even worse lor, only about 70% but he also advise no point changing for me cos already lived for 30+ years mah. But he said important for a child to have a good name cos they got whole life time to reap the benefits of a good name, even if only 10-15%.

Anyway, it's up to individual whether want to believe or not. For me, I'm particular about my gals having good marriage luck (cos 女怕嫁错郎). Of course, changing to good name will not guarantee that they will have good marriage or even get married in the first place but at least I won't feel guilty that it's my fault if they really don't, touch wood. Cos I'm the one who came up with her chinese name mah :p . At the end of the day, it's more about us being 心安。 haha.

Kitsune,
#2 you also do 3D scan, I thought will be more bochap already (heehee..)? Did you do for #1 also? I didn't do for my boy cos my gynae say no need to waste money...hahaha...so practical of him!

See so many of you already have or gonna give birth to #2. I think think think....the earliest also the year after next when my boy starts nursery. At least he will be in school for 3 hrs then come home nap 1-2 hrs (hopefully) so not that tedious to look after 2 kids alone. If I'm still so optimistic by next year then probably will start trying lor...hahaha!