(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mandy,

i did give my #2 tat to eat. but not everything lah. he will take bits n pieces of the taco n some of the meat? of cos i dun add anything spicy to the food
cheese is ok for the toddler liao.

mylvera,
easy meh? looks like alot of work and ingredients. :p
where to get flour tortillas? it looks chao tar haha

topic: wat u gona cook for ur kid this weekend?

breakfast: avocado+banana+dried cranberries, cheese bread, apple cereal.
Lunch: Chinese wild yam 5 grains porridge with sweet potato,green peas, green vegs
Snack: wholemeal bread/biscuits/yoghurt/fruits
Dinner: ramen/meesuah with tomato,green veg, carrot,seaweed

Cheryl: I wanna go either tomorrow or sunyda, you wanna join me?

Mylvera: thanks for sharing! I will try to make this kind of bread too. Will go buy wholemeal flour tomorrow.

tongtong
yup my mil boiled greenbeat&barley drink yest. my boy still very active, poo and pee normal. just viral fever. he gets its like once every 2 or 3 mths

mandy
get rid of fishy smell, rub salt, put ginger, tomato, sng mui, chinese parsley etc etc
actually ginger is the most common one lah. and the taste wont affect the fish

luca
weekend is standard fare leh...potato, vege, meat (fish or chicken or pork) porridge. once a day. the remaining meal always settled at my mom and mil place

how is the mag??

luca,

get tortillas from cold storage. no nid to make the tortillas fr flour..jz buy ready make one. den all u nid to do is prepare the ingredients to put inside, heat the tortilla in pan? den add the ingredients + cheese to the tortilla n u have tat liao.

Kam, my son also not sleeping very well lei, he will cry at night like 2 or 3 am. His cry is like those in pain kind, so yesterday I tot teething pain? But he is not drooling wor.

Mylvera: market got sell large flour tortillas ? it’s not normal flour hor?

mandy
those meant for cooking kind, not those we snack on kind...
my mil steam fish with the plums liao then she just take the fish. its a whole plum (kinda squashed after steaming) so will not mix into fish one leh...our kids wont get to taste the sour taste...

mylvera,
ok, tks, else the cooking can kill me man hehe
i dun like frying, eeks!

tongtong,
wow sounds nice leh, ur kids got ko fu liao!

pixie,
i hvnt get the mag leh, wanted to collect on wed, but ur sis workin ot. I'll try if can collect from her tonite, but hvnt contact her yet.

Pixie: if kena viral fever need to take medicine? Can recover by its own or not? But why kenance every 2, 3 months so frequent one? Ur boy always mixed around with people/kids?

Cheryl: ok, tentatively tomorrow la, vine told me the splashpark got opening hours one, 11-2pm and 5-8pm. Dunno whether it’s true?

mandy,

my mil only add a bit of ginger to the fish n sometimes dun add anything at all. children shouldn't be afraid of the fishy taste leh. my sons love fishes .. but i hate it cos i dun take fish.. mayb can ask wendy cos she loves fish

luca
ok then, i tot u got the mag liao

mylvera
huh like sour=eat sour=vomit? haha weird hor
i go to the area near my office for marketing. need to buy some vege and meat for my boy's meals this weekend. i do it every friday. i bought dou miao and potatoes today...hope he likes the dou miao

pixie,

yalor. sianz.. now duno wat to eat haha but got abit of craving for curry n my FIL making indian curry tonite with roti prata. duno can swallow bor haha

Remembered a mama shared a blog that another mama had on what she cook for her toddler and with instructions...
Anyone still has the blog??

Talking about recipes...

Cooking usual threadfin porridge with sweetcorn and asparagus for his lunch. Tonight will try out a japanese recipe - Steamed Salmon and Shiitake Mushroom rice.

and guess what? I lost 2kg after becoming SAHM for a month....hurray! Finally back to my pre-pregnancy weight and even 1kg lesser...heeheeeeee!

Can...but I will charge you for the meal....hahahaha! Now no more income can consider to make this my side line....really gotta go liao...my boy wants to play with my laptop! aiyo...

Mandy,

I think ginger is the most effecient one to get rid of the fishy taste, just a few slices will do. If give to your boy, better don't rub salt.

mylvera,

Aiyoh, too bad, for us, definitely not Sat morning for zoo, cos hubby has something to do. Will be Sunday morning.

Yvonne,

Wow congrates! Meaning SAHM life is much tougher than FTWM ya.

Tongtong,

You plan the meal so well. I am opposite. I everything last mintute one. If I lazy to cook, my boy also follow whatever junk we are going to eat :) His weekend very poor thing one, no schedule and no proper meal if we are out.

morning mummies, Just fed my girl 2 chicken drumstick and 1 banana for lunch. wanna if it's enough? ;)

Mylife & Lynn, hi5, I always buy new things for my girl. when i am in sg, i almost buy new toys for her every day. ;) Also has to tell lie about the price (hahha). My MIL always spot out and asked me why Johanna has so many new things when she sees my girl on webcam, I always tell her that i buy from spree when it's on sales. Very cheap. Only 5 dollars each. Hohoho

Kam: my girl understands some chinese already. ;) She can point to her toes, hand up, clap her hands when she hears these words in Mandarin. ;) I am so happy. ;))

Pixelpixel & anglesky: I bought Jurlique to try, we love it. Now my family is using it. I even bought for my girl to try too (they have baby products). I think it's about 10 dollars cheaper than to buy in sg.

I also have to crack my head each time when it comes to meals. I have to plan proper meals with soup, rice, blah blah for my girl to eat as well. If anyone has good recipe blog/ website to share, do count me in. I am interested to know more. Thanks in advance. ;)

I was so angry with my MIL and SIL again. Told my hubby that I dont want to see them ever again. Hohohoho. ;)) LOL

Mylife, grumpus: I used to run around to feed my girl. Thank God that my husband stopped me from doing so and my girl is so cooperative to this. Sometimes, if she doesn't want to eat, she just use her fingers and count how many rice in the bowl. You can imagine how impatient I would become?? ;( But of the time, she is ok. Although, she doesnt eat alot, but i give her meal/ snack thoughout the day to make sure she is not hungry.

One more thing I want to ask, how you give your toddlers fresh milk huh?? My girl just take 1 or 2 sips and thats it. I want to take 1 cup of milk per day but seems very hard or I am not persistent enough in introducing fresh milk to her?

blessedbaby
glad you like jurlique
yes sometimes i have some remaining lotion on my palms and i swipe my boy's arms, for him to enjoy the smell

Yvonne, wow....congrats on gainning ur pre-preggie weight n even slimmer.
i am stuck with 10 kgs plus of excess fats from pregancy, v sad...everyone around me can lose the weight after gav birth , except me!!!!

blessedbaby,

Thought you are in OZ now. Your MIL and SIL also there meh? What happened?

Glad Johanna is understand more mandarin now. Yesterady watched a Taiwanese show interviewing some non-mandarin speaking mums living in Taiwan. At the end, after living there for 1-2 years, all the mums picked up Mandarin and speaks Mandarin fluently. Maybe you should start learning Mandarin also, for the benefit of Johanna (and yourself) in the future.

Blessedbaby; whr r u now? in Aussie, which part? Rayden will miss playing wif Johanna..
wen u coming bac?

tongtong: whr is e splashpark?

aqua,

You are not alone, ME too!!!!!! I have about 6kg of excess fats from my 1st pregnancy. "Luckily" now pregnant again, so don't need to worry about that for these few months at least :) Quickily get pregnant again :p

i havent try let my boys try the splash park yet, evn though its very near my place coz SSC carpark sux big time, always gotta wait. sheesh!
surprisingly, u dont see their food court packed with people, but i think they should really improve in making more carpark lots.

mandy,
if the fish is fresh shouldn't have fishy smell leh...dunno maybe i like fish so i don't really think it's fishy.
but usually use ginger, wolfberries to steam the fish..

luca,
how abt fried rice for lunch this weekend?

here are some chinese food blogs...more for adults though not babies..but if yr kids are already eating adult food, some of these recipes will work...
http://wokkingmum.blogspot.com/
http://lilyng2000.blogspot.com/
http://belachan2.blogspot.com/
http://mylocalcuisine.blogspot.com/

kam, 6kg is nt as much as 12kg... if i get preggie, then i put on another 20kg...
ohh..my weight will balloon n exceed 80 liao!!! scare scare

Breakfast Planner
I just forward 2 pdf copies of breakfast ideas for your kids. It is fom a power mum. There is a attached link for her blog too.

I am so happy today! later going to bring my gal to take out the cast on her right leg. After one mth, finally she can walk again. I am looking forward to this weekend where i can bring her to places for her to run about. Most likely will be going to Sentosa beach for picnic and water play...

pixiepixel,
I just forward the attachment using mei's contact list but I forgot to change the subject. Have u got it?

icy,
thanks for the email!

grumpus,
wow, the steamed egg looks delicious leh, will try over the weekend.
i duno how to cook fried rice lar, remember i said i hate frying? :p
Moreover, to cook nice fried rice is not easy also, i dun hv the skills leh :p

luca,
fried rice very easy lah...use a non stick frying pan will be easier....and use overnight rice...sometimes i don't have overnight rice i cook rice early in the morning and leave it out to dry..by lunch time ok already..

fry some garlic or ginger until fragrant.
throw in whatver u have in yr fridge, chicken breast, minced pork/beef, fishcake etc
throw in the rice and fry
break eggs in and fry
season with some soya sauce and pepper
dish onto plate and sprinkle some fried silver fish on the top...DONE!!

Kam & Lynn: I am in Canberra now. ;) Enjoy my time
My MIL & SIL are in sydney. I hate their commenting about how should I look after Johanna. ;( I can't take it. Went mad and almost blow up with them. Hehehe.
Something like this:
I feed my girl Yoplait yogurt, my MIL says: yucks, who wants to eat that yogurt, so sour??!! I mean, if my baby doesn't eat it, I would not buy it for her in the first place. She doesn't like this brand, does it mean that my girl is not allowed to it it?
We went out for dinner, if the SIL is considerate about what Johanna eat, she would not have brought us to the foodcourt where we only can eat fast food right? I don't mind if my girl eats them once or twice but then after dinner, they all shown me black face and said I should take care of Johanna, dont do this and that. Grrhhh. So angry.
The problem with the ILs of mine is that they are all doctors & PhD, and they are cautious about this and that. They always mean I don't take care of my girl let her stays near TV (we don't have TV in SG, only in OZ then we have), and first few nights when we r in Sydney, my girl cried and waked up at nights for no reason and it's very normal at this age, but they then said i should change her bedtime (instead of 830pm sharp, maybe change to 10-11pm, as what their friends do to their kids). I am so angry and upset. I cant stand when people nag. I just can't take it and wanted to jump on them already.

Now, we travel few places in OZ on the weekend and am so glad that my Johanna is behaving very well. ;) She is really an easy baby. ;) and am so happy not to see them everyday. ;)

Lynn: Yeah, i am sure Johanna will miss Rayden too. Will be back in Sep for 2 weeks and then will head off for another trip to Vietnam for 2 weeks.
Ever you consider to send Rayden to Christian based play group? I will send Johanna to a playgroup after all my trips. The class for her age only commence in Jan 2010 and registration will take place in August 09.

Sigh, really envious that you mummies always have plans for the weekend. My hubby always so busy that we can't plan anything cos he'll always tell me he got work to do. I'm waiting for June holidays to start cos I told him we must bring our gal out before no. 2 arrives cos our hands and legs will be tied down by then. It won't be fair for RaeAnne if she doesn't get to go to the zoo, beach, etc until didi or mei mei grows up. :p

Icy, I finally brought the bedrail home this morning. Very handy cos looks like MIL doesn't want to follow us to Penang nor help look after RaeAnne so we'll be bringing her with us to Penang after all. So, we may bring the bedrail to Penang cos I'm afraid she'll fall off the bed at night. :p Poor hubby, he was looking forward to a relaxing holiday shopping for books while I was looking forward to trying out the spa. But hopefully, it won't be so bad lar. I'll still have to lug my slow cooker along but I'm not going to be so strict with letting her try outside food cos she'll be almost 17 months. And thanks for the email. I'm worried about what kind of breakfast to give RaeAnne when in Penang cos me and hubby will like to have local breakfast and not all will suit her. I think bread and cheese will be more convenient.

Talk about eggs, I cooked a hard boiled egg for RaeAnne after her afternoon nap on Tues and she refused to eat it. She only took a small crumb of egg white then refused liao. Thought she might prefer the yolk so gave her a small piece but she also don't like. Duh, think she doesn't like the taste of plain egg lor. But scrambled egg at Macdonalds was fine though. :p

Mylvera, is it? Why this week free leh? Don't know leh, he always busy with marking. Maybe JC level, different bah. Somemore he wants to write his 4th book by Nov. I keep telling him let's go to the zoo but then, zoo better to go in morning right cos not so hot. But if want to prepare porridge to feed RaeAnne at the zoo will be a quite rushed. :p If wait until she wakes up from her afternoon nap around 3+pm then afraid it'll be very warm. :p

kitsune,

JC ar.. den mayb diff liao. zoo is better to go in morning .. if i go zoo, i wun cook porridge liao ..bring bread n cereal.