(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

thanks icy
received liao. wah, very detailed pdfs...

luca
fried rice is simple leh. grumpus's way is chop chop on the go liao. my mom used to cook fried rice, she cook ingredient by ingredient ok...so now i make fried rice oso same way as her. lots of effort but taste nice. ingredients: carrots, prawns, char siew, egg, long bean, chinese sausage.
actually for our babies, can use carrots, egg, long bean, chicken meat. use the water you boiled the carrots as a base for the rice. the rice will taste very sweet. sprinkle raisins on top. done!

grumpus,

pixie,
wat u mean by cook ingredient by ingredient?
and hw much water to use for boiling of carrots? base for rice as in wat? use the water to cook rice?

luca
means i will simmer carrots, put aside. then cook the beaten eggs, put aside. then lightly stir fry the char siew, put aside. then fry garlic, chinese sausage. then add in rice, and the rest of the ingredients, then pour egg mixture.
means i do prepare ingredient by ingredient.
for boiling of carrots: you diced the carrots, then boil just enough water to barely cover the carrots. simmer this, because carrots needs a longer time to be soft enough for your bb. keep and use whatever is left of the carrot stock, coz later can pour this back in to coat the rice. rice will be sweet from the carrot stock

Pauline, did u manage to find maid agency? I have one agent to introduce to you. They r really good. They will interview you first before recommend any suitable maid. They also offer none limited replacement if the maid is not suitable for you. They r very professional. I dont earn anything them, just let you know they r good and specialized in Phil maids. ;)

Icy thanks for the email too. I will start trying for my girl. Every breakfast I crack my head what to give her. So far, only give her yogurt, bread, cereal, con-flakes, fruits for b/fast. Will explore more variety for her.

kitsune,

After a long talk with my hubby about 1 year back, I have made it clear that weekends are for family days. Hubby was not agreeing to this intially, but after seeing how important it is to bond with our boy and what's the different it makes to bring our boy out, now he tries his very best to "reserve" his weekends for the family. He still does his work during weekends, but that's during Hao Re's nap time or after he goes to bed. Or I will give him some "time off" if he really need to do the work urgently. I stand very strong on this.

Same as mylvera. If we go out, I won't bother to cook porridge. Bring cereal and biscuit. Or just let him eat what we eat.

Pixie,

why must boil the carrot first, for fried rice? Mine is more like grumpus'. But I don't use meat. I usually put carrot, long bean, some green veg, and egg. Never use chinese sausage and raisin (I hate raisin in cooked food, I have to pick them out one by one).

pixie,

I do your way of cooking ingredient by ingredient when for fried noodle, esp beehoon. For fried rice, sometimes I also cook the egg separately then mix with the rice later.

Oh you boil the carrot because of bb. Get you. But I don't do that, cos my boy can take hard food already.

Pauline: i mean they offer no limited replacement. ;)

Pixelpixel: next week can? My hp is out of battery and got to buy the power switch b4 I can have the details to PM you. ;)
They are good as what I know so far. I have met the maids, and they are well trained, experienced, proactive, got common sense, happy, submissive. I really recommend them. ;)) Sounds like I am advertising for them. Hahahha.

kam
if you see my post above, the chinese sausage is the adult version (aka sinful version).

i dont know why, maybe i got lousy cooking skills, but i find the carrots too tough to chew as compared to the rest of the ingredients. so i simmer this for a while to soften the carrot, and make use of the carrot stock. same goes for the long bean, but long bean takes a short while to be soft, so a short simmer will do. doesnt feel right if the whole dish is soft - rice, egg, vege but the carrot and the long bean is so hard and crunchy right? else, you must keep frying the rice to soften the carrots & long bean...but then the rice becomes more n more dry...

thanks blessedbaby
no worries, take ur time

kam
nolah, even for adult version i do that. not coz of my boy. my boy takes hard food too but it just feels weird to have some parts hard and crunchy, some parts soft.
personal preference bah, maybe?

mylvera
no. just in case lah...
if i have #2, i will maybe get the maid to stay with me instead of with my mil. if my now-maid dont want to be with me, then i will get a new maid. and say byebye to paying for this current maid lor.

mylvera
seow lah
next yr then tcc
my auntie just came hor....

btw, i wonder who is the #3 mystery mummy. like u said, havent solved hor

Hi, blessedbaby, Thanks. Yes, I'm still looking out for good maid agencies. If not convenient to PM then just post here at the forum lar. Nothing sensitive anyway. ;)

Kam, maybe your husband is in different occupation as my hubby, that's why he can accommodate your stand. Teachers are expected to bring work to mark, prepare for lessons, set exam papers etc. If not, they stay in school to work until 9pm also won't get to come home. Like my bro who reaches home only at 10+pm every night cos he prefers to finish his work in school. Come home just to play comp and sleep. But, he's a bachelor so come home late also never mind. If my hubby comes back so late everyday, he won't get to see my gal at all, cos she'll be asleep. Since it's part and parcel of his job, I can only grumble but can't possibly ask him to change jobs right? ;P

The only perk about being a teacher is school holidays lor. Now that I'm not working, everyday, we can go out 'technically' and no need to wait until weekend and squeeze with the crowd. That's the only thing positive I can think of lor.

speaking of maid, i got my new maid yesterday, she so quiet leh, unlike my previous maid, sometimes duno if she understands what im talking about when she didnt respond to me. My boys are so active but her actions are abit too slow, im worried she cant handle.. haiz!

yalor, went back yesterday. quite a sad departure, she cried, made me teary too..
new maid at my mum's place as usual.

aiyah.. mine oso cried .. end up the new maid oso cried. but lucky i plan for her to leave when my #1 not ard haha else even worse.

ar? u let the "old" maid saw the new? i didnt let them meet, just in case they fight haha

my new maid doesnt know how to cycle at all, so which means she cant help my mum do groceries and fetch my son to n fro sch, im still thinking whether i should change. alamak, didnt thought of it until yesterday when i asked the agent to ask if she knows how to cycle.

pixie,

Yes, different preference. My hubby likes all the veggies to be crunchy, not too hard, not too soft :) I brown the garlic, then put in carrot, then long bean, and stir fry until these two turn softer, then only add rice.

Kitsune,

Sure, different lines have different load of work. My hubby is doing what your brother is doing. He works late during weekdays so can have more free time for the weekends. It's true, for some weekdays, he won't get to see Hao Re when he comes home. I prefer this way, though I still grumble at times :)

luca,

i let them meet n let the old one train the new one cos the old one keep telling she wana come back next yr. i dun think she will b so terrible as in making more mistakes or teaching the new maid mistakes n end up i wun wan her again. haha

anyway, was good tat i let them mix for 1 mth cos the 1 mth, the old maid makes lots of mistake!

Icy,

THANKS!!! That's such a detail breakfast menu, will sure try out.

I have started letting my boy drink fresh milk (cold from the fridge) for weekend breakfast and he is okay with it. I let him drink from the cup, just like us adult, and he is handling it well so far.

erm, can lar, my boy's childcare is at the market upstairs, near ur sis place, but still prefer him to be fetch on bicycle lor, dun want him to go through the hot sun lar.

thats wat i worry too, i scared must pay $ also. i even thought of getting the previous maid back. wah liew, i couldnt sleep well last night becos of this matter. haiz!

mylvera,
i thought of letting both maid mix also, but my agent advised us not to lor.

Blessedbaby: R u gotta registered ur girl to Christian based play group in sin or over there? if in sin, which one? I'm keen.. we r searching for one cc, if itz christian based will b great but not easy to find one near my place. called one in Pasir Ris but they only hav for 3yrs and above..

Godsent: i called e church opp loyang point, only for 3yrs and above.. heard there is one cc at loyang do hav any idea watz e name?

If i got no.2, i tink i will need a maid too..
my sis's maid went back in feb but keep calling her once a wk to ask her abt her family and us. my sis wanna her to stay, intend to pay her double but rejected cos she wanna go hom and hav her own babies..

pixie,
erm, can lar, my boy's childcare is at the market upstairs, near ur sis place, but still prefer him to be fetch on bicycle lor, dun want him to go through the hot sun lar.

thats wat i worry too, i scared must pay $ also. i even thought of getting the previous maid back. wah liew, i couldnt sleep well last night becos of this matter. haiz!

mylvera,
i thought of letting both maid mix also, but my agent advised us not to lor.

luca
oic, you mean your boy's childcare is at the market there...
my mom sometimes goes to the market there too. sad to say, i been there once only. coz i moved out of sembawang for quite sometime liao so never had the chance to go there.
i like sembawang. but i dont like walking to mrt. totally no shade and must walk around the interchange. last time no interchange just cut down the slope can liao....nowadays i go home, my boy sweating like crazy from the mrt to my mom's place

kam, my hubby will love it if i let him stay in school until late at night everyday. But he want also cannot cos we eat at his parents' place n they expect him to help out for the evening feed, evening bath for my gal. So he bo bian guai guai come back at 6+pm everyday. But nearly every night must burn midnight oil lor cos his work can never finish mah. Last night i also dun know what time he slept, i knocked out at 12+am after taking cold med. :p

mylvera, dun sad lar. I give u my diamond mouse okie? i caught a few already but can u give me the mouse that carries gold or super brie in exchange? Hee hee.

Pixie,

Thanks. Is there a minimal hours per session/week/month we have to engage to?

Anyone has part time helper to recommend? I am at Yew Tee. Thanks!

Kam, not to say plan la, just that I know what’s still in my fridge now so I can tell u what to cook tomorrow lor:p I love cooking for kids! Hehe

Blessedbaby, wah 2 chicken drumstick so much? Should be enuff hehe

Cheryl: what time are you going? 11 to 2pm, the hour so odd, it will be very hot leh, since it’s outdoor one right? And also it’s shaun usual nap time wor. 5 to 8 I think it’s a bit late. Maybe I don’t let shaun nap and let him play there, then when go back KO . keke

Lynn, the splashpark at sembawang shopping center. U wanna go ? join us !hehe. but then I haven’t decided what time to go yet.

pixie,
when i just shifted to sembawang, i also curse the distance to the mrt station. hehe

kitsune,
ur hb is so busy, i wonder how u guys manage to find time make #2 :p

kitsune,

be glad tat yr hb does help in bathing yr gal. mine only help when #1 was few mths old. thereaft he stopped liao. i rem i still bathing my #1 when i near delivery for #2.

kam
i have contacts, but not sure if they have slots left and is willing to go yew tee. all are china pei du mama
AT LEAST you have to fufil 4hours per session of once every fortnight. a more standard one is once a week, 3hours for 4rm, 4hrs for 5rm flat.
if you are keen, you sms me and i forward you their contacts.
my current one is sick, she got her fren to do. even if she is not available, they are all in their own network so can help you to find their fren blah blah to do your unit

luca, that's why i must use opk to test then hint to him lor if ovulating. Luckily this time one time strike liao. Hehe. No. 2, he's still supportive lar cos he wants 2 kids. If i want no. 3, i think hint until the cows come home also no use cos he thinks kids r too exp, n we need to save up for our own retirement so cannot have too many children.

Mylvera, ya my hubby is really a hao nan ren in that sense. Some hubbys if they r sole breadwinner become very mcp, expect the wife to do everything. My hubby still applies bread for me every morning n put in sandwich box, helps look after raeanne on weekends, help me buy supper if i really need to eat due to ms, irons his own clothes if the part cleaner fly us kite n dun come. If other hubbys may even expect me to serve him like a king cos i not working mah. :p

kitsune
bravo on getting such a good nan ren
my hb never swipes anything on my bread, he is the typical mcp....he is a leo!
luckily he is more hands on recently when it comes to our kid. else i sure get more n more depressed....like...am i going to go through this for the rest of my life??!!

haha, mylvera, no need lar, your hubby quite good liao. Maybe he's waiting for u to shout for help then he offer. Me buay paiseh to ask for help. If i'm very miserable from ms n gastric, i'll ask him to look after our gal so that i can take med, lie down n rest for a while to recharge my batteries. But if i'm ok, then i'll bathe my gal on my own, tell him he can go n rest. Plus my gal only wants me to put her to bed so every night between 9+ to 10pm when my gal falls asleep, it's time for him to watch tv in living room n stone for a while lor. ;p

hehe, pixie, guilty guilty cos i'm a leo, definitely cannot stand mcp. My hubby is a capricorn, quiet worker, tiger but no temper one. :p