(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Re: Enfagrow
currently the supplier is still pending a price review. They will get back to me when they have finalised. Most probably by end of this week.
I will let you know again. We can do a bulk purchased if interested.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Jess...do keep me in the loop for the price for enfagrow too yeah...thnx!</font>

mylife,
me gg F&amp;E. the airport express travel pass got 3day unlimited use.

mummies who went hk, did ur buy airport express travel pass or the octopus card??

Hi mummies who are attending LNT,
how lessons at LNT conducted? Good or not? I see everyone talking about classes for your babies, and I've done nothing so far. Gee... think i'm the only relac mummy who wants my baby to jsut have fun first. Heh... but I think my baby is getting bored at home too... same surroundings everyday.

mei,
it really depends on what u plan to do and how much u need to travel around.
the airport express pass is quite ex and u need to travel quite ALOT or travel very far before it's worthwhile.

for me and hb , usually we leave the hotel and walk and walk and walk. then we take train back. so it's only one train trip a day and we mostly hang around kowloon, central or wan chai areas only, we dun travel to the far ends of HK. one day go disneyland also one train trip there and back, one day ocean park, same one train trip there and back so for us it's not worth to get the unlimited travel.

the octopus card is like our EZ link card, everytime it will just deduct the amt accordingly. any unused amt u can return the octopus card and get a refund

Kam, you mean HaoRe has g6pd or your hubby? SCBB rejected? Cordlife did private banking for us, no problem leh even though hubby has G6pd so considered run in the family but it doesn't affect gals and mine is a gal.

mei,
i put a pair of scissors for cutting my girl's food, mainly noodles, just normal small scissors.

kitsune,
have to hire maid cos my hubby super lazy at home, i have no parental help to deposit my girl if i need to help him run errands or rush to sale :p

Luvv, I see, but a lot of mummies also 'bu fang xin' to deposit baby alone with maid then go out. End up also need to get an adult to help 'jaga'. :p

It's a personal choice. I attended the talk and bombarded the founder with many questions before deciding to bank privately. It's definitely good to donate to SCCB. Don't waste it. In my case, because hubby has G6PD, SCCB may reject anyway like Kam's experience and I don't want to waste my baby's cord blood. I'm a kiasu parent lar, rather bank it now. I can't predict the future, maybe stem cell research becomes mainstream treatment during her lifetime. I'll pay for it like paying insurance, after baby turns 21, it's up to her whether she wants to continue banking or throw away. :p

hey mommies!

long time no log onto SMH. i neeeeed help. any suggestion on what foods to get for a party of 10 kids n 10 parents? this thurs, my girl's class got end of semester party. each parent must bring 1 food. erm.. i was thinking there'd prob be 5 different kinds of sandwiches.. what shd i get? i was thinking maybe pastries from delifrance or breadtalk?

no nuts, no pork, no beef.... SOS. TIA!

windy
fishballs!! cocktail sausages!!

kitsune
the private banks only provide storage facilities. as to whether the cord blood is useful, i believe the attending doc has to run tests to decide. If, at the end of the day, it's not suitable, then just too bad, no refund of the $$ u paid for the years of storage as service was rendered. Siblings match probability is 20%, not 100%.

Luvv
from where u read the article? local newspaper? internet?

mei
my foray with using scissors to cut food lasted.. a week?! i found it was easier to use my own metal fork &amp; spoon to split the food. i'm not so hygenic.. my kids share my spoon if they happen to want to eat my food. but if i'm ill i dun do that la. but i'm seldom ill except for.... migraine!!!
>>> re: octopus card vs airport express
my experience was same as grumpus'. We bought octopus card for adult. I dun think need to buy for child coz no one checks whether my 3.5yo is over the height limit or not!! We'll count 1-2-3 and dash across the gantry together.
Furthermore my trips were 5D/4N. The airport express thingy.. only for 3d. And we made use of the free shuttle to &amp; from airport coz 2 kids plus luggage plus husband bad back. If we took airport express, hv to change transport from train to cab. Hassle = stress... mai la.
Maybe if husband and i go on our own, we'd take the airport express.

hi mcfluffy,

I am organising a trial lesson at LNT this month. Would you be keen to bring Celeste along? They can start a trial lesson as long as we hv 2 babies.

Anyone is keen on this too?

Kitsune,

Thanks for sharing about banking at private cord bank. No, like wendyg, I won't go private, cos up to now, stem cells treatment is still at its early stage, and I don't see the usefulness for my kids in their lifetime.

It's Hao Re who is G6PD deficiency. No, you are wrong, G6PD deficiency can be affected both boys and girls, though it's prevalently affecting boys as it's a chromosome X inherited gene. In a G6PD deficient patient, both copies of the gene have to be "bad" (we call this a recessive disease).

In most cases, the mum is an healthy carrier (meaning have 1 copy of "good" gene and 1 copy of "bad gene), when the mum pass on the chromosome X with the "bad" G6PD gene to her boy, the boy will be a G6PD deficiency patient (in Hao Re case, meaning I am a carrier).

While for girls, since th girl get 1 copy of chromosome X from mum and 1 from daddy. So if daddy is not G6PD deficient and mummy is a carrier, the girl will turn out healthy cos she gets the good gene from daddy.

In the case of when daddy is G6PD deficient, mummy is a healthy carrier, the chance of their boy being G6PD deficient will be 25%, while their daughter will not have any risk.

So on and so forth..... chances of a girl being G6PD deficient is very low, but not impossible.

mei
If ur traveling with kids, I agree with wendy, best to take airport tfr (if included in your F&amp;E package). Certain places may not require u to take train, like in HK island (the peak, causeway bay), u can actually take the tram (flat rate of $2).

Kam
I tot wendy got say she did bank with cordlife? Maybe I read wrongly. How'd u know the stem cells won't be useful for our kids in their lifetime, yes, it's at the early stage now but our kids only 1yr old! 5-10yrs before many things are invented (TV, aeroplane, telephone), the people at that time also didn't think of the possibility. Or a year before Lehman collapsed, no one would hv guessed too (except people in the mgmt?). Like kitsune said, it's like buying insurance to prep for the possibility. There's a shred of chance it might be useful I will do it cos this world getting more n more complicated illnessess due to pollution, contaminated food, mutated bugs, etc. Scary world.

Yah lo, poor Rylee teething BIG time, eight teeth!!! 4 of her molars and 4 canines emerging together. No wonder she's got no appetite in eating and kept waking up at night. My mom says molar will take a while to emerge. I didnt apply any teething gel, just let her bite on cold teether.

Oh and lots of cuddles, kisses too. I don't believe in over medicating her, so let her naturally get used to the sensation. My form of easing her pain is breastfeeding for comfort. It helps to soothe her teething pain I think.

mylife
no i didn't bank with private banks at all. The cord blood from my #1 was wasted, as that time SCBB only took donations from patients @ KKH. mY boys born TMC.

mylife,

No, wendyg donoted hers to the public cord bank.

Yes, banking cord blood now is like plan for the future. Stem cells treatment has already been successfully used for treating blood-related disease, eg, leukemia. So for family who has known blood-related diseases, it is highly recommended to keep cord blood for the "what if" in the future.

While for other diseases, it's still at the very preliminary research stage. It will take many years to get some promising results. Unlike other technologies that you mentioned and the unexpected economy down turn, developing a treatment (and drug) for human is far more complicated, simply because it involves human. For example, for drug development, generally researchers would take a good 5-10 years to come out with promising results, if they are lucky. Then need to proof the theory in animal model, or sometimes in primate model. Then goes into human clinical trial phase 1, which will take another few years, then phase 2, phase 3 and phase 4. If there is any failure in any phases, back to square one and start again. Developing a drug will take at least 20-30 years if the scientist is lucky (and good). When comes to stem cell transplant, it's even more stringent than the drug development process. And it's not suitable for all types of diseases.

Yes, it may be possible to have a slight chance that our kids' generation may benefit from stem cells. But chance is very low to my knowledge. And stem cell transplant is not the only treatment that can cure diseases. I am more hopeful for other types of treatment, eg, new drugs.

Thus, just my personal choice, I am not keeping the stem cells for my kids, as I am not positive that they will ever benefit from it.

Sourcing from public banks would hv better chance of match. Local bank, international bank. This was what the SCBB lady told me. Better chance of match than the siblings 20%.

tongtong
i was referring to my elder boy when he was born in July 05.

Kam
aiiii, u choose the start of the 1-week sch hols to bring him to zoo... maybe hv crowd/ family day etc..

Mandy,
yr boy so cute! Yesterday got loud thunder &amp; guess wat Zander say? He say 下雨!!! we are so amazed by his immediate remark when he hear the thunder! but hor, he has yet to call me..mama

step,

You boy also have cute......Jayden has not called Mama for a long while. But now he likes to call papa. :p

Anyone going IT fair??

Yesterday nite, i only sleep for less than 2hrs cos #2 demand feed almost every hourly! I get frustrated &amp; scolded my boy...siow hor, how bb can understand...bad mummy

enemum,
Mine also, Xavier kind of dun talk at all. Even simple thing like mum mum, milk, he also dun talk. Only rare occasion then he say it 1 -2x then he forget already.

To think we have many people at home to talk to him, hb even say perhaps I speak rojak - chinese, english and a bit cantonese so he got confused.

I guess he will start when he want to. I can tell that he understands what we are talking, he only go "pa pa" to everyone.

mylvera
got. i cooked mon and tues.
today dabao.

icy,
ya bringing else how to settle two kids. not advisable?

sob younger also no no how to speak yet. only mum mum when she wants to eat.

mei,
Just wondering, cos I remember mylife say over there not so stroller friendly. So u bringing a light weigh umbrella one?

I keep saying going but havent go HK. End of planned it on year end, Xmas time now cos my sil - a student also want to go.

Icy, mine too, I think it's because she's exposed to too many languages. ILs speak to her in mostly mandarin, sometimes English, Malay, Japanese while I speak to her mostly in English. Recently cos my mum come over to help me, she's exposed to Teochew. :p

kitsune
wah your ILs spk Japanese to your girl ah... then why your husband not keen on practising with her ley? Nagai, mijikai... ao, kiroii...
the other 2 exercises are: counting from 1-10, and the game to teach object permanance.

Hubbie just went back today, so finally got time to log on, so glad to have him back this week
. Time pass man, now got to count down to next month again.

1) What made you decide to become SAHM?
He got posted overseas, so instead of taking no pay leave from school, decided to join him instead because of our family planning. Just joined him for 2 months, found out pregnant, came back delivered and never went back to join him, our plan was for me and baby to join him when baby was 6 months, but instead baby #2 happened.

3) Is your spouse ever resentful or feel burdened for being the sold breadwinner of the family?
I guess in a way, he would prefer that I work so that I feel useful and not lose touch with society. But he is 100% supportive of me being at home with the kids during their growing up years. He also feel that eventually it will not be that difficult for me to adapt back to work since I can always apply to go back to school to teach again next time. My parents are now staying with us, so in a way living in an extended family will also prepare our kids next time when mummy goes back to work, grandpa and grandma will be around.

4) Any changes in your relationship with spouse before and after you become SAHM?
Yes. In way, since we stay apart more often than together during pregnancy and gwyneth's first year and possibly the first year of baby #2, but its good that we have to learn to trust each other with what each other do and that while he works hard for the family, I will do the planning in SG.

5) Are you happier as a FTWM or SAHM?
Definitely a SAHM because nothing is more precious than being able to see my girl grow up and each day she is growing.

6) Any SAHM going back to work when kids are older?
If financially its feasible, I will delay as long as possible, but it will all depends his work plans when his posting ends. Eventually I will wanna go back to work, especially when they are of school going age.

RE: Movie ~ Marley &amp; Me

Anyone watched the movie mentioned above? Hubby &amp; I watched the movie last night and it was a nice and sweet movie. Initially we thought it's a romantic comedy with a dog involved but then it's much more than this.

Basically, it's about married couples, how they cope with their life after marriage, the choices and sacrifices they made because of their marriage and how children also changed priorities and their relationship. Starring Jennifer Aniston, she's a good reporter/journalist but gave up her job with the birth of her 1st child and how she struggled with the baby, the "what if's" and how she feel she can't let someone else take care of her baby.
There was this particular part which hit my heart totally as it's often how I felt.

In the movie, she said this to her husband, Owen Wilson, after a LONG horrible day...

" When I'm at work, I think about the baby. When I'm at home, I think about all the things I have to do when I'm back in the office. I feel like I'm doing TWO jobs and I'm doing them HALFWAY."

Another part of the movie, she also said something that evokes my emotion..

After another tough day struggling with the children and fighting with her husband, she said to her husband how she feels that marriage, being a wife, being a mum is SO hard, SO tiring. She never expected it to be so tough but she didn't dare to say it out because she feels guilty for saying it. But if she don't say it out, she struggles within herself.

A simple reflection is that whenever I feel frustrated with Ian when he's being impossible, I feel awful and wonder why some women can be such great mummies who are so patient with their babies and why I'm so quick tempered and can't soothe my own. Sometimes I feel like just passing him to babysitter when he's so difficult but immediately, I feel guilty for thinking this way.

I think the movie is good for married couples so both husband and wife can see from another's view. After watching the show, Hubby said that this movie is a tribute to family, which is most important. As well as a tribute to a wife and mother.

violet
when i'm at home and doing so many things non-stop, i don't think abt work. Maybe when i'm drifting off to sleep, i think abt the work that's waiting for me in the office, and sort of plan which task to attack first...

when i'm at work, i dun think abt baby baby baby, like "oh, i wonder what's baby doing now, i miss him so much etc". I think i think abt husband more.. where he is, what's his mood etc. hahaha!!