(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

wendy,
don't know leh, i was already 3cm dilated somemore..thank goodness waterbag didn't burst. hospitalised for 1 week plus and on HL for about 2 months?

icy,
we book the f&e packages from tour agency, i feel cheaper la..during that period (sch hols)..now you can check, should have a lot of promos due to bad economic climate?

icy
i booked via agency.. air tix & hotel, but no need any sightseeing tour coz we prefer to move about on our own timing. With kids, timing unpredictable ley. I done some checking during Aug 08 for our Dec 08 trip - prices abt the same if book via tour agency or via internet travel portal like zuji. So i went with the tour agent, who helped me book my previous HK trips also.

The hotel has a travel desk that had day trips to some attractions like ocean park, disneyland etc. We chose took the ocean park day trip coz need to take train and bus to reach ocean park.. with 2 kids and a pram and barang barang.. we took the easy way out la. But down side was that we were one of the earliest that the bus picked up, and bus went to other hotels, had to wait for some latecomers etc. And they departed ocean park at 4pm, so we couldn't stay for the evening programs. But then again, by 4pm we were quite tired already... glad to be heading back.

Wendy, FIL's Jap is half past six at best cos he study on his own using books and tapes. I've never heard him talking to my gal in complete Jap sentences only things like kawaii, oishii, kireii. :p But at least he had the passion to pursue his interests which is good.

I think our LNT homework is a bit different because they already taught the kids to count 1 to 10 in the english trial class. And I vaguely remember one of the homework must find a musical toy. :p

Icy,
Somehow for HK, cheaper to go through agent rather than DIY. I opted free and easy. Like what Wendyg says, kids take afternoon nap as and when they like. By going F&E, u are not restricted in anyway.

Luvv,
I delivered #1 at 27 wks. So gynae also said the same thing. Luckily whole pregnancy for #2 is very smooth sailing. Delivered almost full term. Gynae will always warn u that #2 will have the same problem cos they just want to be more cautious.

<font color="aa00aa">wendyg,</font>

I think I’m a compulsive “email checker” as I tend to check my office emails even when I am home. (Like now, too) Even when I am on leave or during weekends, I still find the need to check my office emails and reply to the many emails I received. My hubby thinks I am obsessed with clearing my emails. Thus, when I am at home, I still think of work, the tasks ahead etc. When at office, I wished I can be a SAHM so that I can bond with my boy. Maybe it’s the theory of “you want what you can’t have.”

When was that comment? On blog ar? My niece can speak and walk faster than all my nephews. Actually, my GP told me that.

<font color="aa00aa">Steph,</font>

Wow. Zander is so cute!

<font color="aa00aa">grumpus,</font>

Maybe your girl will walk before she talks. Some babies walked first, then followed by talk. Some talked first, then followed by walk.

Pauline (Kitsune),
I tink the LNT homework is more like daily teaching.. just like how Icy put it. but the timing is very early... For e/g: they told us to teach blue &amp; yellow!!! If they din tell us to teach colours, I'd have thought it's too early to teach Evangeline colours! I mean, come on, she's only 13mths.. barely knows anything, teach colours??? But then, I started teaching blue &amp; yellow to her ever since.. Guess what, she can articulate "blue", "yellow" and point to the right colour!!! Other than that, I didn't do other homeworks like using a musical to make her eyes move to the direction without moving her head, long &amp; short, object permeance.. I tink if she can manage Blue &amp; Yellow... I'm very happy liao... hahaha....

Windy,
Planning for NO 2???
For me, yes! I've the thought to have No 2, No 3... and timing is 2yrs apart or 3. so the timing will be ard these few mths time. hahaha... but gotta think $$$ leh... My hubby WANTS to have no 2 cos after Evangeline.. He thinks that kids are very cute... He only want 2 though!

Mylife,
Got a favour to ask u! Can you help me to find "Mr Men" set of vcds from HK shops? I'm not too sure which shops, maybe those music shops or wat? The vcds teach kids on phonics, etc. I think they have "Little Miss" set too. Thks in advance...

Godsent, think Evangeline is very fast vocally. RaeAnne only babbles but I don't know what she's talking about. She still hasn't said any words other than 'an' (press in mandarin) recently. Even mama and baba is forgotten. :/

I tried to teach her blue and yellow yesterday but she's barely interested. But managed to point to the right colour card but today when I asked her again, totally forget, anyhow point. End up I decided to teach her fruits instead cos I cooked corn for her soup stock. Showed her the uncooked corn, let her smell the corn, touch the corn, taste the cooked corn kernel, then reinforce with the flashcard again and again. Finally when I asked her where's the corn, she could point at the right card. But then, I won't be surprised if she forgets it all over again tomorrow. ;P

What she's really developing everyday is her temper. She just cried and throw tantrum for a full 10 minutes cos she refused to sleep after her last milk feed. Keep pulling my shirt and crying so that I can carry her out of the room. Refused to give in if not she'll think she can cry and whine her way out of everything. :p

Windy, no. 2 is a definite yes for me. Always joked with hubby that if we don't have no. 2, RaeAnne will become a 'xiao ba wang' with 2 sets of grandparents, uncles and us doting on her. As it is, now my ILs and mum let her 'bite' them without punishing her. I've never witnessed it though but they sometimes complain to me that she bite them. My point is if you don't teach her from right to wrong and let her bite you, then she'll think it's nothing wrong and continue to bite you. What can I do? ;P

wendy, luv and blackbatz,
Okie. Thanks for the info. Then I will lookout for next natas then, I still have a long time to plan since only wanna go during Xmas.

Godsent,
I am also very impressed with Evangeline, she can say bear bear and some other words. That is really clever.

Windy,
Previously hb always say wanna 2, very eager. But after having Xavier, he would say up to me already. I guess he knows having kids is not easy. I think I will try TTC in few mths time bah, should be a tiger baby.

My friend was joking that if tiger baby, great for fengshui, cos hb is dragon and #2 is tiger. Like 左青龙右白虎。 *faint*

Baby Talking
Just wondering for those toddler who can speak a few words now like Hao Re, Tobey, Evangeline and Zander. Do all of u just use a single language to speak to them?

Godsent
Sure, no problem, u want DVD or VCD? Do u also want Little Miss set as well? Or just Mr Men?

Talking
Rylee also not talking or not showing any signs yet. Maybe jus a little bit. She calls Dada, Mama, and jus ONE word "mei" as in "mei you" while doing the mei you sign LOL

Icy
Definitely if u use rojak to talk to Xavier ie more than one language, he will be slower to talk BUT dont worry, he will catch up very fast next time. The languages are "stored" in his brain. Here in HK, lots of angmoh mommies with chinese daddies also say, their kids talk later, but once they talk, they are well versed in both languages! For Rylee also, altho i speak to her in Mandarin and my hubby speaks to her in English, and sometimes i also speak to her in English and Canto, my mom also speaks in Canto and sometimes in Mandarin to her. Altho she cant speak now, but she can understands even though we speak to her in Cant, Mandarin or English. She can understand so no worries lah.

hmm.. i think i want (since the husband dont want) a rabbit or dragon #2. how ah? ambush the husband in a year's time? wahahahaha...

baby talk
i agree with mylife. speaking to baby in different languages. i try not to baby talk with kayla, i think the goo-goo-ga-ga-pom-pom-nan-nan will hinder speaking properly. kayla understands english, mandarin and cantonese. and hor, the baby dvds like those from brainy baby also uses spanish n french. i realised more pre-sch cartoons are multi-lingo too, eg dora the explorer and handy manny...

btw, i love handy manny. damn cute this spanish repairman and his talking tools. kekekeke

wendyg

pregancy was the best time of your life ah? lucky u lor!!!!!! i hated every minute of my pregnancy. super bad MS. vomitted my guts out. had to be warded cos dehydrated. come to think of it.. WHY DO I WANT #2?! AM I CRAZY?!?! yaya.. u all sure say #2 will confirm stamp chop guarantee will be different de... hehehehe.. my mother also like this say.. :p

windy
hum... i dun dare to promise u that #2 will be different.... on what basis wor. all the best to u!!

my elder boy loves Handy Manny.. he's 3.5yo! Younger one not that into cartoons, but he'll scoot to the TV during commercials.

icy
nope, for both my boys, the main person talking to them whole day is my dad, he uses eng &amp; chinese, sometimes teochew. Tobey can speak a smattering of everything, even Hakka! Coz he has to address my ILs in Hakka right...? Nei nei, Da da, Tai tai. He knows teochew coz he addresses my grandma as "Ma".. actually shld be Lau Ma. And he addresses my aunts as "Gou". Shld be Lau Gou. And he calls my elder boy "Gor gor". All these are dialect ma..
the usual chinese forms of addressing, eg mama, baba, popo, gong gong...
and the english... i'll ask him "Tobey how to call Uncle? Un..." he'll complete with "...cle!" Same for Auntie. Coz at 1 point he started calling strangers "mama", quite alarming!

Wendyg,
I thought I was the only early bird.

Icy,
In some book, it's recommended that children be exposed to third language. I speak to my boy in EL but he speaks to my mum in CL, dad in EL and Teochew. When he was very young, I realised he could do translation in is "brain". He will talk to me in EL and and when he turns to face my mum, it's CL. All 3 of us were engaged in the same conversation.

The downside is he insists that I cannot teach him CL cos I don't know.

morning all,

wasted trip to office today. going home soon as i m not feeling well. even broke my cup cos i m feeling faintish.

Icy,

For us, we speak to Hao Re almost 100% in Mandarin, but between me and hubby we talk in Cantonese. In school, also mostly Mandarin with a bit of English cos have a few malays teachers from other classes. In a society like this, multi-lingual is unavoidable.

I read that it's actually good to expose to toddler multiple languages at a time. Best is that for example mum speaks Mandarin, dad speaks English. According to that article, kids would pick up both languages faster.

I think the important thing is I talk a lot to my boy, doesn't matter if he doesn't talk back to me, just keep talking. While talking to him, I would observe his lips, whenever see some signs that he is interested to speak, I would repeat the words several time so he can learn. Hao Re understands a lot of thing though vocal vice is still a bit slow, not as fast as wendy's tobey. For example, when I ask him to put back his shoes onto the shoe rack, he does exactly what I tell him to. Same as keep the toys, go and get his water bottle, etc etc. Make it funs, and kids would love it.

Re: Talking
My PD keeps reminding me to talk to my boy like a "broken recorder"...repeat repeat repeat. But boys tend to be slower in this dept as compared to girls lah.

My boy's volcabulary is still limited to mama, mum mum, papa (seldom said), mao mao (cat, which he only said it once) and ahhhh! (I realised recently that it's car...hahaha). When I ask him to point to the car in the picture book, he will do so. He also knows how to point to Elmo and Barney when asked to. If I ask him to bring me a book, he will walk to the shelve to pick out a book he likes and we'll sit down together to read. At this stage, reading and talking to them is very important. They may not be able to say much but a lot of information is being absorbed.

talking

i alway say papa n mama to vernon. but he will reply back in ba ba ma ma ma ma. or ma ma ma ma...
so i duno he understand anot

actually hb also say he wanna stop at 1. cos got 1 time i was in KL and he have to take care of sick vernon tat time... cos he keep crying.....
den hb got quite scare. he was telling if #1 n #2 sick together how? lol actually i tink also like tat lah....
so maybe #2 will be at 3-4 yrs later?

Hi Icy or Mei - just checking, was it you who travelled to HK or Melbourne or planning to travel? Trying to trace back who was it tt went to Australia...was there a mummy ah?? thanks...

icy: i tot dragon and tiger r v fierce togethe, gd for fengshui? got an chinese idiom, long zheng hu tong. pardon my hanyupinyun.

i plan to have no.2 later the yr too. coz they say tiger v compatible w horse, n i m a horse.

Thanks for the info Kam...
Hi Yvonne - are u plannign to go Australia this year? If so, which part?

Blessedbaby - sorry I did not really read your update abt ur trip to Australia...can give me an idea how was it gg with your kid?Which part u went?

mom2nat
www.robinsons.com.sg
wow looks good huh. Early this morning husband called me up to say Sealy King mattress hv offer.. but i managed to persuade him to postpone the purchase hahaha.
Last week i went, Pigeon breastpads OOS!!! sheesh.

Hammies,
We cancelled our original plan to go Sydney in 1st week of May. Hubby's co. going through a merger so difficult to take leave. Their revised job scope supposed to be out by end-feb but until now also no news so we gotta shelve our plans for the time being.

wendyg, where to buy Motherlove MMP Tincture? how much per bottle?

steph u r not alone. my boy also demand feed almost every hourly! worst thing is he now dun wan me to lie down on side and bf. so tired. now look like panda.

steph how's ur flow now? increase? how much u get per session?

joyce
- TMC pharmacy
- camden pharmacy
- vivocity... vitalife? i think icy bought fr there.

i bought fr TMC Pharmacy, charged me $48.XX per bottle, which lasted me 3wks.

blessedbaby - thanks for that!
I'm thinking of gg either Perth or Melbourne in June...I would think Melbourne is nicer, but I've been before. Perth sounds a bit boring..but the flight there is shorter!! Cos first time flying..not sure how my boy will take to it...

Blackbatz
You check today's Straits times, they put there. Tmrw I might bring my boy and maid there oso. NOt gg to mil to help, cos my girl super fussy when mil is here.

wendyg
If you dun need, then dun change, cos you buy mattress, need to buy new bed, new bedsheets and comforter. So end up not cheap hor. Imagine 2 sets of king sheets with comforter cover already $500 liao. I am thinking of getting another set of bedsheets if cheap.

hammies03,
hmm...TODAY got an ad to travel to australia with chen li zheng (mediacorp actress) by the Five Stars Tours but cant rem which part of australia.

mom2nat
yeah u're right.. but hor, already i hv 1 pc King bedsheet coz bought wrongly 5yrs back. and we buy those cheap bedsheets.. no need 500 threadcount la. hee hee.
comforter.. i think our current one still can la, coz we seldom use the comforter to spread across the bed. Most times it's folded and placed on the foot on the bed, or just crumpled up and waiting for bedtime again. muahahahaha.

Joyce
1 week! There's instructions on the bottle, i think 4 times a day, 1ml each time. I took for 1 wk and supply went to respectable level &amp; i stopped.

Upcoming Sales:

Burberry Sale
11 – 14 March
10am – 9pm
Suntec Convention Hall 303-305

Body Shop Warehouse Sale
Up to 70% savings; FREE Gift with purchases above $50 or more (Valid for
the first 3,000 customers only)
11 – 14 March
11am – 8pm
Suntec Convention Level 3 Gallery West (near Pearl River)

Charles &amp; Keith Warehouse Sale
Up to 70% off
12 – 15 March
10am – 8pm
21 Tai Seng St

Crazy Warehouse Sale
Brands like Renoma, Goldlion, BUM, The Cocoa Trees etc; Ladies/Men’s wear,
Undergarments, Kidswear, Accessories, Chocolates etc; Prices from $3
12 – 15 March
10am – 10pm
Suntec Convention Rm 202

Jean Perry Home Linen Fair
Special Buys from $1; Discounts up to 80%
12 – 15 March
11am – 9pm
Suntec Convention Rm 201

IT Show @ Suntec
12 – 15 March
Suntec Convention Levels 1-4 &amp; 6
12pm – 9pm

The Lingerie Shop – Knock-out Sale
Up to 90% Ladies &amp; mens
Till 16 March
Mon-Sat 11am – 7.30pm
Sun 12pm – 5pm
B1-07 Palais Renaissance

1-for-1 lunch @ all Swensens
Order any food item from ala carte menu &amp; get another free
Valid till 30 June 09
11am – 2pm on weekdays

anyone has recommendation which strawbottle is good for our toddler to suck? i prf those soft straw and non-drip one. is the straw magmag cup gd?