(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

wendy,

ehhehe....does not mean anything with the question marks....Just my habit to put alot of question marks....although i know that it is a punctuation mistake :p

wnedyg,
tincture form better than capsules? Any side effects? $? VivoCity so big? where? pharmacy?
just in case i need to increase my supply so need to know where to buy.

hey Mandy, tks for the link!

Steph,
both are fenugreek. Side effect ah, I have - inflamme liver. End up go see specialist and even go thro biopsy to find out the cause. Anyway actually the inflammation will go off after stopping this fenugreek for 2-3 mths. But long term inflammation is not good, result in hardening of liver.

Can buy from TMC there, Vitakids have sell.

i took fenugreek for maybe 9 months when i started bfg my elder boy 3+ yrs ago. 1 capsule a day. I think no effect.. but dunno why i continued to take. Appropriate dosage is 10 caps a day?!?!
As for Motherlove MMP Tincture, i took it for whole confinement month with Tobey. Then stopped when i realised too much milk!! waaaaaaaay too much. BM Supply tahan'd until Dec 08, when my frozen stock depleted. I re-started the tincture, but stopped after 1wk as bm supply returned. Dowan too much bm, dowan painful lumps, dowan to pump every 3hr!

steph and wendy,
I think maybe just buy and eat only when SS is slow, dun need to take everyday. Me too have excess, end up also all give away.

Wendyg,
I took 3 fenugreek, 3 times a day. If I know tincture is so effective, would have bought it.

Just now went for checkup, doc asked if I'm ready for 3rd one..I oso dun know how to answer

blackbatz
are u still bfg?

i didn't know the tincture was so effective.. i originally wanted to buy the Fenugreek capsules, but TMC pharmacy dun sell, and the nurse said tincture is to increase bm supply, so i bought it, knowing i wouldn't hv chance to go gaigai to buy GNC. $50 per bottle, i finished the first bottle in 3 wks.

Have some personal questions to ask all the SAHM:-
1) What made you decide to become SAHM?
2) Is your spouse supportive of your decision?
3) Is your spouse ever resentful or feel burdened for being the sold breadwinner of the family?
4) Any changes in your relationship with spouse before and after you become SAHM?
5) Are you happier as a FTWM or SAHM?
6) Any SAHM going back to work when kids are older?

Sorry for asking so much...thoughts of quitting to become SAHM keeps coming back to my mind so I thought maybe some of you can share your experience with me??

Wendyg,
No la..I only BF 7 months.. At that point, whenever got low supply, will pop a lot of fenugreek lor..Didn't know got such thing t tincture (don't even pronounce the word)

Tie or Bow Tie for kids
Any idea where I can find tie or bow tie for children? Went to search at Metro and Taka, they don't sell. Don't have enough time to order from overseas spree.

Yvonne,

Here are my responses to yr qns abt SAHM

I wanted to be a very hands on type of mum so I took care of my bb myself even though my mil was there to help. On top of that I was still working from home and my job is a global position so lots of late night/early morn teleconferences. I was so burnt out and felt it was not fair to either side so I had to choose one. Plus my bb had bad reflux and needed to be fed very frequently. So I finally decided to take the plunge.

yes my hb was 100% supportive. My mil was a SAHM so my hb wanted his kids to be brought up by their mum too. Plus my hb travels alot so we feel strongly that it's impt to have a constant parent figure in our kids lives.

3) Is your spouse ever resentful or feel burdened for being the sold breadwinner of the family?
errr he has never said anything so i dun think so

4) Any changes in your relationship with spouse before and after you become SAHM?
actually we get to spend more time together now that i'm a SAHM

hard to say, i feel more fulfilled as a SAHM. but sometimes my girl drives me up the wall and i wish i could get out of the house :p

i won't go back to the 9-5 sort of work. but i will find something to do with my time like volunteer work and work at my shop.

<font color="aa00aa">My hb was posted abroad, so I quit and follow, from then I too attached to my girl's needs. Can't rely on anyone else to take care of her.</font>
<font color="aa00aa">Yes, I guess so. Since I SAHM for abt 6 years liao</font>
<font color="aa00aa">Wat he really thinks, I wont know. But he gives me the choice to work or stay at home. And when I worry abt $$, he will say everything is gg to be fine.</font>
4) Any changes in your relationship with spouse before and after you become SAHM? }
<font color="aa00aa">Well... sad to say, YES. Though my hb isn't calculative, but I can sense that being a SAHM means no income, I can't spend the way I used to. Sometimes quarrel oso feel can't be too stubborn, cos need the $$ from him. Hahaha... </font>
<font color="aa00aa">Depends on wat one values. FTWM will have more control of $$, time, space. Can dress nice nice, in aircon environment. No need face kids all day, sweating like a pig. Got commuting time, lunch with frens, can take leave go hol. But SAHM in a way more attached to kids, so wanna go hol oso "fang bu xia". I find if I work, I can eat snake more easily. But being at home, I will feel guilty if I not spending time with my kids. Oso, depends if got maid to hepl or not. My girl is hard to handle, drives me nuts, but kids will grow up v fast. I love having the luxury to be with them. So leh, conclusion... for me, I prefer to be SAHM, at least for now. </font>
<font color="aa00aa">maybe, but decided dun think too far.</font>

It's been a couple of mths since i last logged in. Wow... many updates!!! First of all, <font color="ff0000">CONGRATS to step for smooth delivery and completing your confinement!!!</font> I gotta go back n catch up on the posts...

janbb,
Hey gal, I shared the same sentiments with you. These recent weeks my gal only wants my mum (takes care of her during the day) to make her slp.. She'll keep saying "mama, mama" and kept looking at the bedrm door for my mom... I feel hurt! Just like u.. Nw, I start to make her slp myself &amp; slp with me - instead of with my mom. I need to snatch back the attention from my mom. I'm very selfish mom, I can't stand the feeling of seeing her more more attached to my mom...

Icy,
U signing up LNT? Lynn &amp; I oso signing up. U attending this sat's class (Mandarin)? We probably wanna continue this time slot, sat @ 3.30pm. It's pretty gd timing, we think!

me?
yvonne is the one who's considering....

what will make me be SAHM... if i lose my mind and declared unfit to work. hahaha. I'm the type that's very hung up on financial security. I'd probably go mad or get daily migraine from the constant worry abt finances. So, it's better that i work =)

<font color="aa00aa">BlackBatz,</font>

Think I saw bow tie at Taka before but Kiddy Palace should have them too.

<font color="aa00aa">Steph,</font>

You received my email on the photos?

Jacelyn, that's good, got MS liao, no need to worry about your pregnancy.

When I got more and more frustrated at work with a micro managing supervisor and when I realised I don't remember how my daughter grew up in the last year
I've been talking about it forever (even before we got married) but don't dare to take the plunge. Yes, he's supportive once he knows I'm serious though I had second thoughts after I tendered cos I've been working for so long, quite scary to move out of my comfort zone. Haha.
No, but I also 'zi dong'. Since I'm not working, I let him call the shots where finances are concerned.
Better, since I've got more time with my gal, I'm a bit more relaxed and take it out on him less often when things don't go right in child rearing because there's always tomorrow instead of trying to squeeze everything into the weekend.
SAHM but I would have been happy as a PTWM too but boss not family friendly to let me work part time.
Yes, will consider. But thinking of completing family first now. Haha.

Verene, Godsent and lynn are signing up at Parkway parade branch. I attended the trial with them last Sat.

Verene,
I will be signing up at Pomo for sats 10.30am. Are u going for sundays?

godsent,
I prefer to go Pomo, timing wise is much better for me. Xavier sleeping time ard 4pm, plus when fil comes back from msia, we would always go out in the afternoon. SO prefer to leave weekends afternon empty, easier to meet friends and etc.

My hubby need to be posted overseas, I quit and follow him, become pregnant, come back sg deliver and take care of him even tho mil is ard.

Yes - he left the choice to me. I think he prefer me to be SAHM, so that he can fully concentrate at work.

Nope, there are times where I felt like going back to work. he is the one who tell me to ut Xavier as the first priority and forget abt the rest.

I think so. I feel something like mom2nat feel, must reply on hubby financially, feel controlled at times..

Actually, I don't know. I do feel fufilled when Xavier only prefer him or wants me to put him to sleep.. but I also prefer to be able to spent on anything I want, without having to keep asking for "permission".

Yes, actually I think prefer partime or work from home.

Yvonne, here's my answer to your questions on SAHM
Long before we got married, we already agreed it's most ideal to have at least one parent at home IF our financial situation permits me to. But before i got preggie, i oredi got sick of the corporate world, so quit and took over a nail spa to manage, but one month aft, i got preggie. Initially, wanted to continue to work and manage the biz even aft giving birth, but hubby got offer to work in HK, so sold the biz and move over.

100% supportive. He readily admits he likes the idea cos we both dont really like the idea of passing the responsibility of raising/disciplining our kids to others, particularly to maids. But he did say he also doesnt mind if next time i want to do some work from home if i can juggle it well.

Not at all. He's a bit MCP in this sense, think he loves it wor...haha

Possibly. Aft working for soooo long, sometimes i do feel a little inadequate, like what others say, feel guilty for buying things, and kinda feel like have to "report" to him the reason for buying it even though hubby didnt ask for it. Now he gives me a "salary" cos i told him what im doing is also a JOB, haha, just that this job, no annual leave, no weekends, no knock-off time, no MC. I manage my own purchases with this.

I think different set of happiness. When i was working, i had challenging adult interactions, learning and meeting new people, conversations, but as a SAHM, i had the joy of watching my baby grow day by day, learning mom-sy things, it's really a different ball game! "job challenges" consists of today baby refuse to eat, today baby wake up X no of times, hard to put to sleep, today baby naps very little, i mean, this may be trivial to some, but i just view it as MY job challenges as a SAHM. It IS a job and the whole world should start to view it that way too.

Definitely not full time office/corporate jobs, possibly some business or from home kind of projects.

wendy,
Actually now I am looking around for opportunity. Xavier can play on his own with some monitorng, think when he turns 2, perhaps he will need more attention and perhaps that would be even harder to work from home.

I did web design before so it can be quite easy to find some projects but who knows this financial crisis hit in, now it is quite hard to find work.

gd morning everyone.
I am also hoping to get retrenched and be a SAHM for awhile. so now just waiting for news.

yesterday took urgent half day leave cos Javier vomitted. was quite worried so decided to go back home. hope he will be fine today. he seems to start to reject porridge..... any suggestions what i can do???

Yvonne
Did you realise after receiving the responses abt SAHM... you can see that SAHM more attached to the kids in a way? Find it harder to "let go", hard to imagine working fulltime 9 to 5 kind, cos too used to being ard bb liao. Same for me, if I go to work 9 to 5, come home eat dinner, all my kids see me 1 hour then zzzzz.. I might go into depression! Hahahah... I am not the motherly kind, dun think my frens would have tot I would be a SAHM... but well... not everyone can be a good mother at home. Sometimes gg to work, you come home appreciate the kids more... so leh, think of wat you really wan lor.

mylvera
I was joking with hb, I scared to be retrenched, then he looked puzzled. So I say, if I get retrenched means my hb tell me I gotta go out and work! HAhaha... But most of the time he will ask me, if you work then the kids how?? Hee...

mom2nat,

it's always good to hear tat hb's support wife to be SAHM. mine will nv support. he said "we have no more $$. u hv to go out work."

mylvera
If I were working all along, we will feel the big pinch if I quit, and the loss of freedom oso. But since it already started off like tat.. then see how lor. I tried working part time, not easy lor. Cos I "bu fang xin"

Anyone gg for The Line buffet at Shangrila this week? Lunch promo, 40% off. I heard fully booked liao. Heee... I gg today

How long does ur baby naps now?

Javin only naps 1 time in the nood for 1-2 hours onlys. Sometime he can wake up 7 am then nap at 12.30pm to 1.15pm. This can last him till 8pm at nite!!! Very tiring... Always wan to hold my hands and walk around the house with him!

mom2nat
yayaya my boys see me 1hr (or less) every weekday. From the time i take over baby in the evenings, it's straightaway start on bedtime routine. Sometimes in 30min complete all tasks then it's time for his zzzzzzz (maybe coz he woke early from nap). And i also knock out with him, altho some nights i manage to stay awake to fulfil my wifely obligations..
Then weekends i get migraine coz hv to tahan them for 2 whole days on my own. Sometimes wish for another family member to hang out with us so that i can accomplish all required tasks without interruption.. eg pack their bag, do laundry, wash dishes etc.
Like last Sunday, i hang 3 poles of laundry, then hv to come out living room coz baby was screaming for me @ kitchen gate, which resulted in gorgor not being able to nap. Don't want to risk him getting grouchy @ dinnertime so forced him into the room &amp; took another 45min to make him nap for 1hr. Then the laundry.....

sigh.... sweet dreams are made of these... oh i mean migraines are made of these...

luca,

u can fire a maid anytime jz like our boss can fire us anytime. we need to buy her air tix to go back to their home country tho (if we fire them). I fired my 1st one b4 her contract ends.

i am not sure lei. but on grounds that we are unable to pay her, i think i am allowed to fire her anytime.

her contract finishes next year March..

Mummies, thanks for all the replies.

Headache lor...hubby is a little uncomfortable to become the sole breadwinner since we're so used to double income. But I feel so tired having to hold 2 jobs, a real job and being mum. I realised I lose my patience and temper with hubby and baby often becos there's so much to accomplish in such a short time. Of course mummy is a 24/7 job but at least it's just 1 job instead of 2. Plus my boy is growing up so fast, I don't want to miss his precious 1st few years. I did consider switching to part-time but don't think co. is very pro-family plus I'm losing job satisfaction. Now I'm secretly calculating our finances and doing a "draft proposal" to show hubby...hahaha...hopefully can get approval. If approved then don't need to send my boy to cc anymore. Probably just send him for 2 hrly playgroup nearby. Hope my dreams come true lor, if not then pray I can strike TOTO. LOL.

mylvera
yes there's a part-time cleaner who comes once a week to wash toilets, change bedsheets, vacuum &amp; mop floor, wipe down stuff etc. But we still hv lots stuff to do daily!
husband works on Sunday afternoons. Other times during weekends, sometimes he engages with my #1, but seldom.. he'd rather be in front of computer (weekdays too!!!!) or read newspaper or choose Saturday afternoon to wash his car. He seldom sits on the playmat to supervise them playing or supervise #1's writing/ colouring. He finds it easier to turn on the TV and turn #1 into a zombie. If i had the time, i would watch TV with #1 and talk abt the characters on screen. u know what i mean.

this is my typical weekend schedule
- saturday mornings go out
- saturday afternoons at home
- saturday late afternoon until evening go ILs place for dinner
- sunday mornings go church
- sunday afternoons at home (my dad comes over help me while husband is away)
- sunday late afternoon until evening go my granny's place for dinner

So in those few hrs that i'm at home, i gotto accomplish many tasks.. hang laundry, keep laundry, pack the house a bit, wash dishes, pack stuff for next time we go out, express bm, wash bottles, feed baby, make baby nap, bowel movement, cut fruit for husband, warm up milk for #1, take a rest etc.

wendy,

no wonder u hv migraine. if i were u, i fainted liao.

now i m asking my hb when he is free to accompany me buy clothes.. no more clothings liao haha too tight! but he doesnt wana go out shopping with kids along! n where can we shop 1-2 hrs at nite n rush home?

jess,

is cereal enough to keep him full?? I have never feed him much cereal before....And i find the Nestle Cereals sweet.

wendy,

wow...u seem like a superwoman to me.....can accomplish so much in such a short time.....U seem to be a very good wife....never make noise that your husband spend so much time at the computer..:p

wendyg,
My weekday and weekend schedules also very tight like yours. There are hundreds of chores to be done so always have to sacrifice time with baby to complete the chores. And when I finally have time to play with him, I'm too tired and drained...sigh!

i normally mix the nestle cereal with brown rice cereal so that it will be fuller. if after awhile he still crying for food, then will top up with milk.... i guess shld be okie....

and my husband dun understand why i knock out at 9pm. I wake at 7am (sometimes earlier), and at nights my zzz is interrupted coz of baby. i'm a bleddy SUPERWOMAN!! haha. no la, i dun cook. if i cook then i will be superwoman. =))