(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

wendyg,

I wonder after I have my #2, will I need to engage a part-time helper then??? Now, we don't have any help, so we don't do any housework on weekdays, only laundry on weekdays. Hubby does all the housework on weekends and I take care of laundry and all those baby related chores. And yes, I cook, rarely duing weekdays and very often duing weekends (hubby prefers my cooking than eating out :)) Luckily my hubby is not attached to PC (don't play game at all and don't surf online), but often he has to do some office work duing weekends. Wash car? Hoho, no no no, I banned it! I told him firmly I won't allow him to spend 2 hours or so on the car, the 2 (or more) hours are too precious, either play with our boy, do housework or just simply sit there accompanying us. I would rather the car get dirty (which is usually the case) and go for car wash once in a while. Since hubby does all those heavy duty chores, I don't feel so tasking leh, usually manage to spend very nice and relaxing weekends :)

Yvonne,

Just yesterday evening, I suddenly thought of being a SAHM, just a quick thought, cos when I looked at Hao Re, I felt that he has changed so much, looked so mature already, and behaved so different now. At that very moment, I blamed myself for not spending enough time with him. But after an hour also, this thought had flew far far away. I know for sure I won't become a SAHM at this moment, esp because of the financial matters. Maybe few years later, when I eventually have 4 children (just joking), then it makes more sense for me to stay at home. But then I don't think I will ever have 4 kids (with my age etc), so I will never become SAHM :) But honestly, I am very happy now to be FTWM, I don't have problems with my 2 "jobs" - during weekdays, full time job is at work, part time as a mum, during weekends, full time job is as a mum, and no part time job. I juggle my 2 "jobs" very well so far.

wendy,
u are already superwoman! no wonder u get migraine lah.

i'm a SAHM but I only work for bb, have forfeited most wifely duties haha..
i usually dun cook lunch cos morning too rush, too many things to do..feed bb, bath, cook bb lunch etc. so usually hb will go and ta pau or we order in. Dinner I will cook if hb is around otherwise I just eat nonsense.

Laundry we share, depends on who free to put into washing machine. Sometimes I dump into the washing machine but hb is the one to hang or vice versa. Same with bb's laundry.

hb bathes and grooms the dog and irons his own work uniform, the rest of the ironing and housework we outsource to my mum's maid who comes once a week.

The rest of the time, hb is stuck in front of the pc, xbox or tv.

STUCK! he put glue on the seat huh. kekekeke

Kam
no la he spends maybe 30-45min on the car, washing/waxing. He will only go car wash when the car is old.. like 5yr old?!
i dun do heavy duty stuff.. washing toilets etc is done by PT cleaner. It's the little stuff around the house, the regular maintenance... clear the bin (i got 5 dustbins), replenish ice tray/ water jug/ toilet paper/ toothpaste/ diaper drawer, take note certain items not enuf & need to buy fr supermkt (liang cha, instant noodles, toothpaste, toilet roll, tissue box, diapers). blah blah blah.

MOm2nat
Let me know how ur lunch.. I am looking for a lunch place this friday. :D

Kitsune,
How is your research on playgroups??

wendyg,

Oh yes, I do all the things you mentioned, as I am the one in charge, and plus I take care of all the bills, have to remember how much and when to pay! Funnily enough, there was 1 time my hubby asked me, yee, how come we always have toothpaste in the drawer? I answered, because I am a magician, I already made everything in the house to self-replenish! I like doing all these stuff leh, to fulfill my duty as a wife :)

kam,

hahaha, my hb used to call me the magic elf cos everything in the house magically get replenished and all the bills get paid.

when we just got married he used to ask did u do this did u do that and i always say yahhh if not me then who do...and he used to reply...err the magic elf came at night and did it? :p

wendy,
yes STUCK! sometimes i think he really do put glue cos practically cannot get him off

haha, Mom2Nat, LOL, I definitely don't belong to the 'real' SAHM group cos I just 'deposited' my gal at ILs place at 11am. Got dental appt at 2+pm today so leave her there to bond with ILs, come back wash her clothes though my 'real' motive is to check forum. Intend to put her there again on Thurs so that I can go to Isetan private sale and go for my hair loss treatment. hee hee. ;)

Yvonne/WendyG, my weekends were like that when I was FTWM too. Then I get frustrated when I can't wash my gal's bedsheet over the weekend cos we have our own laundry, plus her clothes and 1 weekend = 2 days only. Don't have time to bring her out eg. go library, go park. Weekdays evenings is always ask her to 'sleep, sleep, sleep' so that we can rest. Weekends, usually stay home cos got so many housechores to do though I have PT helper. Differences with ILs will irk me so much because I don't agree with them but I've got no choice but to put her there everyday cos I'm working. Whereas now, I'm happier cos I've got more time and in better control as SAHM. Appreciate hubby more too cos he's the one who gave me the freedom to quit knowing that we'll have less money for our nest egg so he has to work harder and do more sideline. haha. :p

Icy, so 'qiao' that you asked. I visited the playgroup at the nearby block just now with RaeAnne before walking over to ILs place. Sigh, I think Cannot make it leh, the brochure said there are 3 sessions daily but when I asked them. There's only 1 session and there were only 5 kids in the session and the youngest one is 26 months while the oldest is 3+ years old. If I put RaeAnne there in 4 months time, she'll be the baby in the group and I'm sure the 2 teachers won't be able to 'customise' the session for her learning needs. Oh ya, and parents cannot accompany except for the 1st day. :p

hehe, magic elf so cute. I just asked my magic elf on Sunday if he still loves me when I ran out of toilet paper in the MBR toilet... he didn't put a standby roll behind as usual. Nowadays, he always use the common toilet to avoid disturbing our gal so he didn't notice that the roll in MBR is running out. ;)

mandy
I thought fully book for today only.. ooops.

kitsune,
are u looking for somewhere really nearby? Actually I also now research a bit here and there. No hurry for me, just finding out more , my friend was telling me abt Zoophonics, then i realised Tampines Mart have, 2 hours per session (inclusive of 30 min Mandarin*);
2 times per week - To be accompanied by a parent/caregiver.

It cost ard $200 a mth, not sure if it is good.. it is nearer to Luvv and Fennie place I think.

Luca,
The TMC store that I buy from, told me enfragrow UP their price by 6%. Maybe due to so much advertising on TV recently, I also notice that supermarkets also up their prices.

i think i have the same lifestyle as most mummies have - bz running around, doing chores, taking care of baby, paying bill, toilet paper, water, fridge, cook, water plants, clear kitchen, waste bin, wash this, wash that, do bb's laundry etc...
its way better now coz my hb vacuum and mop every alternate week when my PT help is not around, and he do our laundry. the rest of the housework, all i do
so used to this life and my mom always say i very hard life, but hey i realised im not alone...

pop in for a short post, cant surf smh!

Icy, no hurry for me too, cos if cannot be accompanied by parent, then I'm not sure if she'll be ready at 18 mths, cos it's just 4 months away and so far she can't stand, walk and not toilet trained plus super sticky to me. :p

What's Zoophonics? Got website? Actually prefer Tampines interchange but I don't remember any playgroups there. I need to check out the Tampines Central CC one of these days.

Kitsune,
The website is over here - http://www.zoophonics.com.sg/index.html

They have playgroup, nurssary, then Kindergarden. They also have enrichment class - 1 hr per week, $120 per mth. I remember GUG also uses zoophonics method to teach a bit in their classes.

I think Simei will have more on these playgroups. Let's share info, can thro msn as well.

I agree with u, 18mths might not understand much if they are mixed with 18mth to as old as 3yo.

Ya, I used to work near Eastpoint. Got a colleague who put her gal at Orange Tree, supposed to be not bad too. By the way, I was thinking, if putting our kids at LNT from April onwards, 2 terms will last until Oct. Then if want to start playgroup at 18 mths, wouldn't it overlap?

I wouldn't want her to start daily playgroup then weekend, still need to study at LNT. LNT already gave homework after first trial. Hubby not keen on stressing RaeAnne, he said so young got homework liao. :p

wats magic elf theory?

icy,
thanks, no wonder NTUC selling $30.40 now. sheesh, should have stock up earlier.

Kitsune,
what kinda homework did LNT give? Is it the trial or u guys sign up oredy?

kitsune,
you're looking for a playgroup? Tampines CC has? actually my block downstairs has a cc, they don't offer any short session and PCP is only another block away. I'm having a headache also, Tampines Central is near your place there right? What about kinderland? i heard it's expensive though.

Yvonne, here's my answer to your questions on SAHM

1) What made you decide to become SAHM?
Was retrenched before i deliver, had no parental help, so didn't source for any other care for my girl.

2) Is your spouse supportive of your decision?
Before delivery no. He wanted us to work for the future together however after my girl was born, he couldn't bear the thought of letting others take care of her. He has a believe now that as long as not own children, you will not put in 100% effort, no matter who you are. So now 100% supportive, even when i told him i want to work part time, he's quite against it. As he's travelling frequently, he feel that my presence at home constantly is very important to the development of my girl.

3) Is your spouse ever resentful or feel burdened for being the sold breadwinner of the family?
No. Like mylife's hubby, my hubby also quite MCP about this, he feel that bringing back the bread and butter is his sole responsiblity and duty.

4) Any changes in your relationship with spouse before and after you become SAHM?
Yes. We are both happier. I have time to help him in his business and urgent matters almost anytime, instantaneously, I am kind of stress free, he doesn't need to help a tiny bit at home and we have a maid at the same time.

5) Are you happier as a FTWM or SAHM?
Definitely being a SAHM makes me a happier person. I kind of can't take too much stress..haha...i will stress my hubby when i have too much stress..haha

6) Any SAHM going back to work when kids are older?
Definitely not full time. Part time or own biz.

Luca, trial only. Got 4 pieces of homework, I only remember 1) Yellow & blue colour 2) long and short, the rest I can't remember cos hubby was the one who jotted down the homework but he didn't give me detailed instructions as he's not keen to make ReaAnne do it in the first place. Hee.

Luvv, SAHM with 1 kids and got maid, that's my dream but hubby said no money to hire maid, haha. :p

Tampines Central CC had Elfa that has good feedback at SMF but it's 4 hr session http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353638/478826.html?1226722320. There's another one that offers 2 hr session, think it's called MRC but I've yet to check it out. :p

Kitsune,
aiyo trial already so on liao.. hehe

Jess,
do they have vanilla flavor? N wats the manufacturing date? My hb is particular on the dates, will not buy if its more than 6mths ago.

Luca, ya lor, was a bit surprised by hubby's reaction. After all, he's a teacher, everytime, give students homework also what. hee.

Ok, got to go for my dental appt liao. Bye for now...

kitsune,
I feel that LNT homework more like everyday teaching and repeating as and when we have the chance to, more like re-enforcement bah. Must see playgroup do what, I also dun want overlapping.

luca,
When I found out, I immediately bought 6 tins of 1.8kg and stock at home. :p

luca
for the mfg date, i have to go home and check lei. and also no confirm i can place order for u cos i go thru my aunt as well. i can try if u want though. do drop me a msg if u r really interested okie? i will call up the supplier.

Mandy,
u mean stage 3?

icy,
aiya never tell me :p
i find alot of places dont sell 1.8kg vanilla flavor leh.

Jess,
thanks, actually u gave me the supplier contact no before, but i lost it :p
Im interested to get the vanilla flavor, that is if they have it lar.

Jess,
yes pls, thanks alot. As long its cheaper than ntuc and the manufacturing date is ok, im interested to get it.

luca,
Actually increase this mth - 1st March, I kind of push the Uncle at TCM to sell me the old price since that was just the first day of the price change.

I will lookout for u if there is cheaper lobangs around.

Luca,
No problem. I am also looking ard for cheaper price. That time, the TCM was selling 2 tins for $96 - 1.8kg ie 1 tin $48.

grumpus
I just order 1 pack form this BP, havent receive it yet. After ordering then a friend feedback to say the sticker doesnt stick well on clothes.. oh well, I just try and see how.

luca
6tins can last me 3 mths, store room dun have space already.. I just keep the playpen, because the little boy act like a monkey. lol

grumpus,
tks. i bot the round ones from unity. they had improved from the last round i bot from them. more sticky and self-seal packaging.

hi mommies

i'm looking around for car rental services for my trip back to Spore in Apr. Any lobang? Some of them quote me quite good price, but they dont have any baby car seat to loan me. How??

Yvonne, here's my answer to your questions on SAHM

1) What made you decide to become SAHM?
I find it very hard to leave my Elias after bonding for a year and as I dun get along very well with MIl and dun trust maid 100 percent, I rather be a SAHM and get a Part time job which I am doing now a part time PA just 12 hours work week, 3 half days one... so in this case I only see my mil on days I am working to oversee the maid and I also get a breather by working part time.

3) Is your spouse ever resentful or feel burdened for being the sold breadwinner of the family?
No, My hubby is suppotive working part time to have more time with ELis my boy and he feels is a man responsilbility to support the finances.

4) Any changes in your relationship with spouse before and after you become SAHM?
Yes. . We are happier as we find life more balanced now having enough help from maid and my mil who helps when I work PT and also have more time for ourselves and my boy stays over my parents home of Fridays so we kinda of like this arrangment.

5) Are you happier as a FTWM or SAHM?
Definately a SAHM with some part time job or own biz kill time and bond more with the kids.

6) Any SAHM going back to work when kids are older?
Will always be P time or own biz if finances allows.

Hope my replies helps too! haha!

mei
airport express travel pass? Are u following any tour or u're on Free n Easy package? Do u have airport transfer inclusive in your package? If u dont, then it's good to take the airport express, they have promos every now and then if u buy more than 1 ticket. Then u shud get the 3day Octopus Card for tourists. Ask the staff at the counter when u arrive which is better deal, they will advise u.

wendyg - RE: Cord blood

I just called them. They rejected my cord blood. Reason being my boy is G6PD deficiency, which is a genetic disease. They will not accept any donation with known genetic disease in the family. Too bad, the cord blood will be thrown in the bin, again :-(

mylife,

Read that Rylee is teething 8 teeth at one go! Oh my!!! Did you apply any teething gel or what do you do to help her ease the pain?