(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

QQ
i see

i oso miss a good nite sleep.

last nite #2 din z with me ..but i super "jian" missed him n still wake up in middle of nite. my hb said "see lah .. give u chance to z u oso dun wana z. wake up for wat?"

Jess,

Can! Not difficult. "Exercise" every night lor..... sure kena one. 40 days cycle is not bad what, it's still considered regular.

Mei,

I don't miss mahjung. Haven't touched mj for more than 10 years already, used to love it. I miss the "er ren shi jie" with hubby......

Wahhhh...again, so many posts to catch up...sometimes didnt get to read everything leh

Crying It Out
I agree that this method prob works for some. But every baby is different. Personally, i have seen babies who was trained successfully thru this method and now a great sleeper, and then there are those who simply cant, no matter HOW LONG the parents let him CIO, this boy i know cried until vomit, then hang on his cot, and fell asleep. When the mother went in, the vomit was on the bed, his PJs and his cheeks were stained with 2 lines of tear stains. Such a heartbreaking sight, and definitely doesnt look like he "learned to self soothe". More like passed out due to pure exhaustion of crying and wailing. The next day, the mother discovered he lost his voice. So i guess, it all boils down to the child's personality. A mother knows her baby best. Like i know Rylee, very strong willed, definitely wont succumb to CIO. So save me the trouble and heartache to go thru it.

QQ
is your menses all along like that one? Irregular i mean...

Pixie
I think SAHM log into SHM lesser than FTWM leh. Cos u in office sometimes got free time or lunch time can log in. Me have to wait till Rylee naps, then i can log in. Eat lunch also super fast as lightning.

kitsune/in2grace
i also want to wean Rylee off her night feeds. But dunno how. Yday i sort of let her CIO, but i was holding her. Hushing, patting, but she cried and cried. Daddy tried to take over, but she cried even more violently. Was writhing and struggling in Daddy's arms...so scared she will fall cos she damn strong sia! So i took her back and kept telling her "nen nen sleep oredi, it's night time, dark dark". I think her molar is emerging, thus she request to nurse cos nursing soothes the ache (for some babies). She seems to understand, cos aft a while, she jus lay on my shoulder (was holding her upright) and whine pitifully and softly. So heartpain. Wanted to give in and nurse but that would mean entire night of struggling would go to waste. After awhile, she slept, and the entire thing took an hour. This morning, she woke up at 8am and requested to nurse, i quickly told her "See, sunshine come out liao, can nurse liao!" And she nodded happily. So thats why i said she understands lo...hehehe

Kam
Forgot to tell u, perhaps HaoRe is teething too? Check if his gums (where the molars are) are swollen?

Mei
I same with Kam. As much as i love Rylee, i miss the carefree times i had with hubby, go paktor, dining, especially late night movies cos we both movie buffs. Now no more liao. But i tell myself, it's ok lah. I didnt lose my freedom and my old life, i'm merely putting it on hold for the time being, once she grows up a bit and more independent, i will get back my old life back.

Yvonne
Forgot to add also, ur scaring me on the part of your cousins still need someone to sleep with them leh.

mylife same here ... now ah I go out makan with hubby I always tell him that we pick up TT later .... lets have a nice dinner cos I dun enjoy she keep asking me to feed her and my food just turn cols after feeding her and I am hungry so I always like to dine out w/o her hahaha :X

Kam
Forgot to tell u, perhaps HaoRe is teething too? Check if his gums (where the molars are) are swollen?

Mei
I same with Kam. As much as i love Rylee, i miss the carefree times i had with hubby, go paktor, dining, especially late night movies cos we both movie buffs. Now no more liao. But i tell myself, it's ok lah. I didnt lose my freedom and my old life, i'm merely putting it on hold for the time being, once she grows up a bit and more independent, i will get back my old life back.

Yvonne
Forgot to add also, ur scaring me on the part of your cousins still need someone to sleep with them leh.

Jess & QQ
if every time is 40days cycle still consider a regular cycle. Juz calculate your fertile days & maybe u will hit the jackpot, 2nd miracle happen again?
Btw, not advisable to "excerise" everyday if wanna TTC cos' sperm may not be strong. Do it alternate days ;) Jia you!!

QQ
Yes, Rylee is miracle and the best part is, we were not even TTC-ing, so noo taking of body temp, monitor ovulation etc. I was off the Pill a few years ago but didnt strike anything cos were not really trying, so i tot i'm like my sisters, will be childless. So she's really a miracle to us

Err...why miss Mahjong? Aft baby sleeps, still can jio people come to house and play rite? But cannot be super loud lah...kekeke

Jess,

Yeap. Missed my period for 1 month, but tested negative. "Auntie" still hasn't shown up for another month, so tested again. Then it's positive.

mylife,

Thanks for the tips. Will check on him tonight. And we also plan to co-sleep with him tonight, see if this helps.

i still mj ... sometime my hubby give me Free time ... let me go play mj while he take care of TT and play his PS 2 at the same time

and ya i thought I will be childless oso due to my condition ... so i ask my hubby b4 what if I cant conceive he say nevermind .... kekeke

Anyone keen to come together for lunch gathering at York Hotel on 21 Feb sat? (but this time, i no freebies things for u hor. haha)

QQ,
wah good leh. how i wish i can play mj. i think hard for now. with 2 kids. sob.

sometimes when i hear my neighbour play mj, how i wish i can pop over and play. haha.

btw, anyone uses those instant camera? those kind there it prints the photo instant (the white colour film). how u find it? am thinkin of buyin or not.

Mei, I miss:
1) Uninterrupted sleep from 12 to 6am
2) Sleeping in on weekends, leisurely breakfast n reading newspapers
3) Buffet dinners
4) Long sessions at spa (the full works 3-4 hours at least)
5) Er ren shi jie with hubby

QQ, Mylife, we also thought won't have baby liao. RaeAnne also a miracle to me. That's why gynae see our problematic case, suggest me to stop BF I guess cos really not easy for us to conceive. :p

In2grace, thanks for sharing. If my menses will return after I stop cutting away the pumps, I wish I can continue to nurse her to sleep at night lor. Can't bear to reject her, sigh.

mylife,

no lei i SAHM but always on SMH :p

well done with rylee!! one hr is not too bad u know for her to sleep back without latching

Mei, I miss MJ, I still get to play now, but I miss not being to play as and when I like, now instead got to wait for baby to sleep then can play. I also miss my own time, when I can do whatever I want, whenever I want. But hor, having gwyneth is a miracle for me, so I will also treasure my time with her and how precious she means to me and my hubbie

On TTC, what I do last time after my ectopic pregnancy is that I will track my ovulation, i got those cheapo test kits in bulk on line and basically just use them when i think ov is coming, so more or less I start to understand my cycles and stuff and learn to listen to my body. Then hor when near, then we TTC. So at least wont anyhow. But the crap thing was, the month our girl was conceived we basically forgot about TTC and just relax and have fun :p

grumpus, serious, you got helper is it? I hardly, either you see me here 1 day all the time, or else its never. My girl just loves it when I switched on my computer she will go gaga and start to play.

Pauline/ mylife: its impt when want to put baby/kid to sleep not to communicate with them or make eye contact. Or else they think you want to chat with them. But sometimes I get so pek chek I just scold and scold her den she will cry even louder. Made things worse.

My mum keeps asking me to potty train my girl, but I have not started. Lazy to clean up the mess if there be accidents :p Probably start one weekend when hubby around in case pee or poo end up on floor...

in2grace,
Maybe ur mum meant training ur girl to get use to sitting on a potty. Once they get the hang of it, then slowly train her to use the potty to pee when she wakes up. Do one thing at a time..Mine can poo in the potty but not to to peeing into the potty.

take ur time..Full toilet training is a massive exercise which takes a few weeks, not a few days or weekends..Must be patient with the dirty floor.

Blessedbay,
It's the Zermatt range (Autumn 08)..I think it's Zermatt Sky babybag or Zermatt Stevie.

Mylife,
Our bb can understnad us although they cannot talk. My hubby likes to do this experiment.."Mummy scold ah" and Zachy will cry.

Janbb,
Initially, #2 sleeps with me while hubby sleeps with #1 in another room. Sometimes #1 sleeps with grandparents. Now, both sleeps with grndparents or whatever permutation my boys want.

in2grace, I'm sort of trying to potty train my gal. I put her on the potty before her morning bath and her evening bath cos convenient mah, got to take out the diaper anyway before bath. Sometimes she cooperate, sometimes she don't but at least there was twice when she peed into the potty.

Hubby sick liao, down with flu. Latched RaeAnne to sleep just now around 10pm. Think will status quo for the night feeds until I can get my day time pumps/feeds out of the way. yi bu yi bu lai ba... :p

Feeling so engorged today, use up 1 cabbage liao. Somemore not applying every 2 hrs without fail cos went out to deposit my gal's angpow $$$ and buy another potty for ILs place.

mei,
Make you jealous....I still get to play mahjong every sunday at my mum's place...kekeke. My family, aunties, uncles, cousins and nieces all there so always got someone willing to take care of my boy. But my boy is so interested in the mahjong tiles...probably find the sound so familiar since I've been playing it for ages and during pregnancy...haha.

mylife,
It's my nieces not cousins. It's true, my 13 year old niece is still sleeping with my mum NOW and the 4 year old sleeps with my sis. They simply can't sleep alone. My mum always complain my elder niece will hold on to her leg when she sleeps...haha...sounds very funny but definitely not healthy lor. It's really a problem.

Actually my boy also very stubborn, same as me lor. But I decided to persist because the benefits are long-term whereas the training is actually very short.

blackbatz
yah dats what my mom told me, but i tot her vocab not fully functional yet mah hehe. I tot they understand us by tone of voice..

kitsune
rule of thumb for gentle weaning is "dont offer, dont refuse" ie u dont offer to nurse her BUT dont refuse her when she asks for it too. I would suggest u go this route cos of ur tendency to get mastitis/blocked ducts cos sudden weaning will result in very engorged breasts, leading to problems. I've also read that for weaning, the last session to go shud be the night one (before sleep) and the first feed of the day. Cos these 2feeds are mostly for babies/toddlers to "touch base" with mommy for comfort and reassurances. So yes, u can continue to latching to sleep for the time being in order to avoid any tantrums from RaeAnne. BF babies are very sensitive to mommies, if u wean too suddenly, they will become very clingy and backfire. At least that's what i read from the La Leche articles. Good luck. Me also headache how to next time or if i'd want to continue nursing if i get pregnant and do tandem nursing. Say only, havent even preggie yet haha.

Grumpus
wah u solid leh. For me, u'll see me here with a number of postings at a certain hour, then will go missing. Sometimes i'd read the postings with my 3G iPhone on my bed while nursing Rylee but lazy to post cos screen so small. I attempted bringing my laptop out to living room and placed it on sofa while watching over Rylee walking around but cannot leh, cos like angelsky's Gwyneth, mine will also keep wanting to play with my laptop. I sit in my study room, she will cling onto my leg and demand to be carried up. I carry her sit on my lap, she will play with my keyboard. Aaarrgghh.

Toilet training
I tot potty training will be at least 18mths onwards? So fast u all potty training already! For Rylee, i'm just training her to poo poo when i see her "red face", quickly lie her down, tear the diaper and "egghhh egghhh" her so that the poo come out nicely and wont create a mess. Easy to wipe. Will graduate to sitting to potty once she used to it.

Pauline, if u wan to cut juz lengthen the time between feeding. Will feel a little uncomfortable initially but very fast will be ok. Is SAHM better now that u stopped working?

CIO
Yes the younger the better to start. If not will cry even longer when u start.

In2grace, take your time with potty training. One day they will tell u. Unless u got the energy to bear with mess, can try to progressive train by putting her on potty every 2hly..

Working mums
Do u all feel tired after coming home and no energy to play with kids? Arghh....I'm sometimes so frustrated with my older one of abt 3 coz she juz dun want to listen to me.

Mylife, thanks, that help puts things in perspective. I'm guilty of offering when she wake up from her sleep halfway like just now. Had to run into the room to latch again. If not, she'll cry and cry if I'm not there, sit up and fully wake up. Then it'll take me even longer to put her back to sleep. Ya, she complains so long and so loud when I deny her, keep crying and going 'dey dey dey'. :p

Babe, I've been the slackest SAHM so far. Last 2 days keep running errands, yesterday full day, today half day so I can't comment. But the feeling of being able to wake up later at 9am if I manage to put my gal back to sleep after her usual 6am feed is definitely SHIOK!
The problem with me as FTWM is, by the time I come back to work, and have dinner, all I want to do is to put her to sleep so that I can rest a bit before all the night feeds start again. No interaction time lor. Then when she wants to play and don't want to sleep, get frustrated. :p

kitsune
hahahaha, i was laughing away when i read ur post. Called hubby to come read also cos TOTALLY know what u mean!! Rylee was like that too last time, cry and cry with dey dey dey sound! Now "graduated" to nen nen, nen nen! And i know what u mean on the "tougher if she fully wakes up"...

Mylife, Had to run in again just now, aiyoh, looks like she's sleeping in bursts of 30mins even when she's sleeping on my bed and hubby is sleeping with her. This time, I went in and hide in one corner, observe her cries escalate until wailing liao, bo bian go to go and comfort her. But this time I didn't offer the breast to her, straightaway apply what you shared. I just carry her, then put her down again, let her complain and roll all over me. Finally, she found comfortable position with her leg over my thigh and her face hiding in my waist and fell asleep as I patted her. Then I substitute my thigh with bolster and my waist with pillow and sneak out again. Don't know how many times she's going to wake up tonight. :p

kitsune,
Ur hubby flu? better dun let ur ger have close contact with him.. Later do re mi ah, like last time.. hb pass flu to me then I pass to Xavier.. all can get membership from doc and when baby sick, they dun eat well, dun sleep well.

mylife,
Yah, me too couldnt come online so often as I was working. Perhaps becos previously my work too free.

icy
u working meh? i tot u SAHM? or u went back to work ah?

kitsune
jiayou. Is the aircon in your room on? If it is, sometimes, what i do is, i'd hug a blankie when i'm patting her, hug until the blankie is warm and full of my smell, better yet, stuff it near to your chest/breast so can have ur smell, when u sneak away, try putting the blankie next to her so she can feel the warmth and ur familiar smell. It works for Rylee since she was young, until now too.

Icy, ya true but he took antihistamine and knock out leh. Bo bian. I'm more worried about me getting from him cos sometimes we share food. :p

Mylife, we never switch on aircon cos hubby allergic nose. Anyway, after 4 years of disuse, my aircon condensor unit spoil liao. Only the one in the master bedroom still working. But it's a good idea. No wonder she can fall asleep with her head on my bolster sometimes. Maybe got Mummy's smell. Heard her coughing just now but since not crying, never go in and investigate. :p

Kitsune
Oh, maybe her nose is blocked and she's falling sick *touch wood* lah. But perhaps that explains her restlessness? Oops, Rylee's turn to wakeup liao...can see her in video monitor, suddenly sit up wide eye looking at the cam. I'd better go in...good night and good luck!

Touch wood, I think she cry just now so cough now, she always do that to tug at my heartstrings combined with the 'dey dey dey'. Cos when she cry until cough, I 'xin ruan' liao. Hee.

Okie, Good night.

mylife,
I mean I cant be online as much as compare to when I was working. Now still fulltime mummy.

Now Xavier can sleep on his own, but must be on my bed and with me lying down too.. He need to flip a bit, rub on me, touch my hair, get my smell then can sleep.. Now i dunno how to let him quit this habit. He only wants me when it is bedtime. Then when he sleep I will carry him to sleep in cot.. now 100% of the time he will join us at ard 4-5am..

blackbatz
eh, i read some mummies managed to toilet train (daytime) pee within 3 days or 1 wk. I was so ambitious, i tried with #1 when he was abt 2yo.. aiyo cannot la. bring more suffering upon myself and my parents. Everytime pee accident my parents very kan cheong, as though earthquake happened. & my boy slipped on his own pee before. In the end, childcare centre did it @ abt 3yo. They hv cleaning auntie standby with mop.. so not scared the kids slip & fall on their own pee.

in2grace
yes my child is potty trained... my elder child, that is. hahahaha. he is now 3.5yo. my baby poos in potty most times. but every now and then he will still poo in diaper.

yvonne
i used to sleep with my grandma until 10yo, then moved out of her home when my mom quit her job. First week/ month of sleeping alone in my room, my dad left the light on (white ceiling light!!) & chairs on either side of the bed in case i rolled off. So i'm a bit better than your niece la. hahahaha.

Janbb
since Tobey was born, husband sleeps with #1 in his room, i'm with baby in my master bedroom. Main reason is that i can handle baby by myself for night wakings. i get very stressed when husband spends the night with me and baby in the same room, coz scared husband is awakened by baby's cries... next day he will get headache & ruin his day.

babe
after work there's little time to play with my kids coz it's the start of their sleep routine... they sleep abt 9pm. And i knock out 9pm also hahaha. Not my kids.. it's my husband that needs to be entertained.

kitsune
why she says "dey dey"... like indian la....

Posting from iphone so pardon me if typo yah!

Kitsune
Just now I came in n tried to not latch rylee as well. She flipped here n there, cried n protested. Can tell her cries like different, in pain. I suddenly rem her molar is breaking out n tat any sleep training shud pause when bb is sick or teething. So I latched her on, and whispered to her, drink till comfort liao quickly sleep cos mommy n nen nen also need to sleep..less than 1min, she unlatched herself n rolled away to zzz

Icy
Oh...got u now.
hey, xavier oredi very good liao. He's still fairly young. Don't push him to advance so much leh..u wan him to zzz without u? This age they r very clingy to their main caregiver aka YOU...slowly lah, one at a time. Rem once they get older, u wan them to cuddle u also they feel paiseh (esp boys) so treasure the time he's needing u now. Ur oredi in a much enviable position than most of us here cos xavier can sleep on his own!
grats!!

Wendy
I had to stifle a giggle when I read ur question to kitsune. Rylee also went thru this phase of dey dey dey when she had smtg to complain! Dunno why hehe.

Me too tat time took care of bb alone during night wakngs. Damn stress cos scared wake hubby up cos he needs to work n I don't...come to think of it, me also "working" next day what! No pay some more, no off days, no weekends, no mc! I'm also stress of bb's cries waking my mom in the next room cos she's a light sleeper n the kind tat finds it difficult to go back to zzz after being woken! So stressed until I tell myself within bb's 3rd cries I've to jump up n hushed her. Those were the days...miraculously hubby said he will help out with night diaper duties but bb cried n he can continue sleeping! Why did mother nature didn't instil fatherly instinct into men too???

mylife
u more "zhai" than me lor.. coz 3yrs ago with my #1, both husband and i were up at 3am, trying to figure out what the crying infant wanted... could only get him to sleep after carrying and rocking him around the whole dark house, the moment set him in the cot he would cry... tried to burp him, apply ru-yi oil, swaddle tight, change diaper etc... aiyo everything under the sun (moon). Now looking back... the reason why he couldn't settle was... he was hungry. *duh*

u and rylee.. your first time, c-sect, bfg, her reflux etc.. u win la...

Aiyoh, it's not about winning lah! That is why I suffered from very bad PND. Can only scream in the mind, no one can hear. Also explains why I'm hesitating in tryng for #2 now. Ay..ur memory very good hor, can rem rylee is csect and got reflux some more! Hehehehe