(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mei, mittens i have new ones, but they are not in nice nice packaging. coz my mom bot a lot and put them in 1 plastic wrapper...all never used, never washed before....5 pairs.
3 pairs are similar design, just diff colour - pink, blue, green. another 2 pairs bot from another brand, maybe pigeon or what i dunno

just now while waiting for my turn at the clinic, the huggies supplier came with 3 super bigggggggggg plastic bags containing many many jute bags of samples so i got 2 jute bags. then i say i wan a bit more enfagrow sachets, she gave me the whole boxful haha

Janbb & Kam,
maybe u can try let #1 bond more with ur hb now, so that when #2 comes, #1 will not have a hard time not having u around to sleep with them.
I feel "training" should start early, the longer u delay, the harder it is.

But then again, every kid is different, might not work for all, but its worth a try.

RE: CIO method
I also cannot do the CIO method cos I cannot bear to let my girl cry out. Also, she is the type who will cry until she cough and vomit. End up more work for me.
I also strongly believe that the CIO method does not work on younger children cos they will not understand why the mummies have 'abandoned' them. Most of the time they go to sleep from sheer exhaustion of having cried so long.

So I told myself that if by the time she is 18mths or so and understands reason and she still hasn't learnt to sleep by herself then I will try the CIO method.

If you check out other overseas forum, alot of mothers believe that children will learn how to sleep on their own when they're ready. Some do it very early like a few months old and some simply need more time. At one pt, i was practically waking up every hr to carry my girl back to sleep.

Fortunately for me, my girl learnt to sleep on her own when she was abt 11mths, it wasn't easy in the beginning too cos i had to keep 'fighting' with her to lie down and relax otherwise she will keep climbing up. I also keep telling her "it's night night time". But now after one over month, she is an expert in putting herself to sleep already. Sometimes she wants to play or climb I will tell her "it's night night time" and she will guai guai lie down. Only thing now is she needs me with her before she can sleep, even in the middle of the night if she wakes up, she sees me there she's ok, she just sleeps back. But if I put her in her cot by herself she will wake up, not see me there and cry.

So that's the next on my list to work out.

vernon has fever since sun morning.. highest hit up to 40degree. bring him to KKH. and he was insert the bullet into his butt. haiz... so heartpain. still running fever now.

Janbb,

U went to the restaurant at the wharves before right??
Is the food good? What is the name of the restaurant?What food do they serve??

Re: CIO
I agree with luca that training needs to start early, it gets harder when they grow older. At least can still put them inside the cot now but when they are older, can't even contain them anymore. There's a misconception that we're abandoning the child by leaving them inside the cot. Of course we have to make it a point to tell them nicely that it's time to sleep and they have to learn to sleep on their own. If we can maintain a calm manner when they're crying, they're more likely to cry less and try sleeping. Of course every child is different and whatever we choose to do is all personal choice. Just sharing info here only

Some mentioned when they grow older they will learn to sleep on their own. I'm not sure how true but don't think it works just by looking at my nieces. The elder one is 13 years old but she has been sleeping with either my mum/sister since young and now she cannot sleep alone! She still sleeps with my mum now. When she went to china with her teachers last year, she had problem sleeping at night becos there's no one beside her so she begged her classmate to let her sleep in the same bed as her. Needless to say, she didn't sleep well at all for the entire week while she was there.

As for my younger niece who's 4 years old, she's been sleeping with my sis since young and now she sleeps on a single bed beside their queen bed. Same problem - she can't sleep alone and needs dad/mum beside her, even for naps! I see it as a very unhealthy problem becos they won't go to the room to sleep on their own even when they're tired so they sleep around 11ish every night since they have to wait for my sis or mum to sleep.

Sigh, raeAnne woke up at 3am last night, hubby couldn't get up cos he slept late marking scripts. The fm is already in the warmer but I knew she won't take it if I feed but no choice got to try. Tried putting it in her mouth for 4 times but she keeps beating the bottle and turning her face away. Bo bian, got to latch and try to keep it a short session, try to take In2grace's advice and don't let her fall asleep on my breast. Carry her to cot, she immediately alert and cry. My cot also very lousy, cannot lower the side with one hand one so putting her down sure wake her up from drowsy state. Sat on sofa bed beside her cot and keep talking to her. Ask her to sleep on her own. Carry, put up and put down for 3-4 times. She cried, rolled, complained, stand up, fling herself back on cot, climb up again. Nothing can console her. After it went on for 15 mins, I wonder if I'm doing the right thing by staying in the room. But can't bear to close the door and let her cry insider. Sigh, end up carry her back to my bed. She continue to cry and complain until hubby woke up and carry her outside. Once hubby carry her, she keep quiet. :p

Actually, she got no problem sleeping if 1) I latch her on and 2) I let her sleep on my bed. But MY problem is 1) I'm going to stop BF so can't latch her on 2) If I let her sleep on my bed, I can't sleep cos ours is a queen size bed and my daughter is also a 'wu ying jiao' and 'rotates like a clock hand'. :p

Think I may need to ask hubby to handle the night feeds and night wakings. I think he is going to feel very 'bo hua' liao. Let wife be SAHM, end up still cannot get a good night's sleep. :p

u wan see pic? see pics will need longer time. maybe tmr nite i send u email. if not, then i just pass u the best looking out of the 5...when r u back in pngl? how many pairs do you need?

i got nothing lacking. stamps perhaps?

wah kitsune, my hb sure complain like crazy if i sahm but nite time need him to feed baby
but really, no choice...
so how, r u willing to try out CIO all the way?

btw, who's baby is crazy like mine over disney clubhouse? can entertained him for an hour, incredible! if anyone needs the dvd (5 stories all in one DVD), semi pirated version (coz its sold legally in a cd shop near my place), only 12.90! now got discount. i bot the 2nd pc, put at my place, they sold me the dvd for 11.60 only...
hey, the actual dvd with the story (maybe 3 or 4 episodes inside) is retailing for 16.90 etc etc..and i have 5 stories (26 episodes) in 1 dvd!

later im going back to my mil place, deposit my boy. i am carrying:

my 10+ kg boy
laptop
2 tins of similac for sale
bag to stay overnight at my mil side...
*pengsan* i need a NTUC trolley that can go onto bus and train

Pixie, I don't know leh, let hubby decide lar. I also don't know what to do liao. If I try CIO all the way, he come and rescue her halfway also defeats the purpose right? :p

kitsune
the upside of SAHM is... can log onto SHM leh heehee
well, make a pact with ur hb that both must stick to the CIO all the way lor
nowadays i put my boy down repeatedly when he climbs up. also made the pact with my hb to grit our teeth and go thru the whole process. now my boy still needs putting down but falls asleep easier liao leh. just now nap time, less than 5 mins KO liao...each of us got our own set of probs hor...my boy can flip, play, twist, climb up and down for 2 hrs then fall asleep...my hb say i force him to sleep but i told him that babies need their required number of hours to sleep. hence we agreed to put him down all the way...very heartpain too coz he will cry and cry

Pauline: Last time I "replaced" latching with carrying, I carry very very very long :'( not without my girl complaining. So just hang on there. Usually night feeds are the last to go.

Maybe I tell you my weaning schedule:
Usual BF schedule b4 weaning (kept the same schedule on formula, small quantities)
Morning Wake up 1 feed
Morning 10-11am b4 nap 1 feed
Afternoon b4 nap 1 feed
Afternoon wake up from nap 1 feed (this is a top up feed before dinner cos I will only next feed her before bedtime at 8plus- she is really skinny so I don't have a problem adding more feeds)
Night 1 feed
Night wakings feed as per needed

I started off with the top-up afternoon post-nap feed cos I knew if she rejected the bottle not so much of an issue. Only when she started to self drink from the bottle I con't to knock off the morning and afternoon pre-nap feed. She started to reject food about 1 month ago so I added a pre-bedtime feed before latching on. I try not to feed at night wakings. Last night 1st time wake up for over a month, I gave her formula cos I suspected she was hungry. I will probably still latch on at night for the next month or so, but I think she is ready for weaning off the pre-bedtime feed.

If your hubby too tired just con't the night latchings until she is happily drinking from bottle during the day and stopped needing the breast to fall asleep lor. Sometimes my funny girl will only allow ME to feed her the bottle. ???

pixel,
i just nid 2 pairs of mittens. its for a girl. for if can, please give me unisex colour. can u pm me ur address so that i can send u an SAE.

stamps i dun have. hmm. i've 2 small packs of pigeon wet wipes (like the one u use in restaurant). give u this?

kam
stroller cant get on bus. all by myself.
i hope can use magic haha

mei
i dont need the wet wipes. let me see what lelong stuff you have. i just need to refer to previous threads...

In2grace,

I trained my boy to poo in the potty. Every morning after milk i will put him on the potty and say "eng eng" then he will poo. If he didn't poo i will try again after lunch.

haiz pixie,
that's the prob with singapore. in australia or europe, ppl see mother carry so much things will auto come down from bus/train to help them carry the pram up the bus/train

Congrats Joyce .....

wow u all so fast toilet train liao har .... I wont use potty for TT hahah .... I will just but the smaller toilet cover and let her try on there haha

QQ,

No, I also havent potty train my boy. Worst, if I make the "eng eng' sound he will be laughing at me and won't continue doing his poo poo. Any advise for me?

congratsssssssssssss joyce!!

mei, ur wts/wte all i dont want
u give me diaper lah. 1 pc or 2 pc or 3 pc or something like that

just now my boy said "water" when i asked him to drink water! a new word from him!

wahahaha..... me??? dun wan la... i want early half of the year baby lei. keke.....
if preggy now hor.... means it Oct baby?
anyway, my cycle now is super long lei. 40 days cycle. so i guess it is hard to conceive liao.

me worst i dun have period for 1 mth liao always skipped de irregular so having TT that time is like what mylife say is a miracle ....