(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

<font color="0000ff">Can i check if any of your baby still suck on pacifier to sleep? Mine still so i wonder when shld start train bb wean off?</font>

Steph
mine is still sucking on pacifier to slp... haven wean off yet lei... dun think will be so fast?
my another question will be when to wean them off from milk bottle and drink from cup.... ??

Jess,
my sales &amp; mktg dept (5 staff incl me) all went out meet customer so no one left. Other dept also left a few pple ard cos the project engineers also not in (on leave/MC/gone fishing aka MIA)

wendyg,
u still bfing so not counted mah...if dun suck on u then where??haha..

Jess,
why need to wean off from milk bottle? my niece now 3yo still use bottle for her milk time leh.
My boy still dunno how to drink from cup/straw...he only managed to drink from Pigeon Mag Mag sprout cup &amp; loves to bite on the plastic sprout!

mine still on pacificer to sleep, target by 2 yo no more...
count ourselves lucky liao. some daytime oso suck pacifier when not sleeping!

those angmoh say, wean off pacifier must tell them the pacifier fairy will take it away, and give you a present in exchange, so must say goodbye to your pacifier tonite and put underneath your pillow.
then at nite u take away and put ur own pressie lor...

wendy, counted leh. oso must wean off eventually mah...rite...

i saw those edu program on tv, drink milk from cup after 2 leh. if your kid insist on the bottle, then u must say "ok, today you want to be baby, mummy let you be baby, because baby drinks from bottle. but you are big boy/girl now liao, so tomorrow you try to take cup and be big boy/girl ok?"

wah.. all MIA... my office everyone is around... haha..

ehh.. i duno read from where say 1 year old can drink from cup instead of milk bottle. but i also see my niece 3 years old drinking from milk bottle still...
my boy drinks from straw very fast but not very well with the mag mag sprout cup.. same.. he also bit on it instead of drink water.

Steph,
Mine still sucking on one as well. Will probably wean him off around 18 months?? I myself only wean off in kindergarten...haha...hopefully my boy is not a pacifier addict like me. But my teeth are all nice, straight and neat...even better looking than my husband's crooked teeth even though he never sucked on pacifier. So I don't believe when people tell me paicifer will cause crooked teeth because I believe it's all in the genes.

Jess,

Hao Re's teacher said can start training him to drink milk from cup now. But I haven't started. Hao Re can drink very well from straw, but from cup, ohhh, very messy still, can wet the whole shirt.

i oso tot can take bottle, but that expert on tv say cannot liao coz all kids associate bottles as a form of security, so cannot let go of bottle. actually must use those spill proof mugs or bottle liao...
furthermore she said must wean them off nippled bottle by 2 yr or older leh...

Kam
ya lor, maybe got to wait till they are more stable with holding the cup and drinking properly before moving them to drinking milk from cup. otherwise, it will be a mess....

i use those spill proof ones as his drinking cup
now i never use magmag coz my boy also keep chewing the spout until rough rough surface...
so i got him spillproof cups he can suck from. but very weird, he dunno how to suck from straw...he cannot associate that both requires the same action, i.e. sucking

pixiepixel,
The books I read also say should wean off bottle after 1 year old and let then drink from cup...what tooth decay problem, eating problem, etc etc. But they very poor thing leh...only 1 year old and we have to take away all their "security items" - pacifier, bottle, breast, etc. No need to be in such a hurry right?? Probably make the transition slowly lor. I believe it will be easier when they are ready for the change themselevs.

hihi, mummies. RaeAnne is quite happy today, can play, I'm more an xin, hope tonight will be as good. She can drink milk from bottle, eat porridge etc but still cannot direct latch though she keeps lifting my shirt.

Wendy, me human pacifier too. Just 3 days of not latching Raeanne, feel very bu she de liao. Think after the fairy take me away, I'm the one with withdrawal syndrome not my gal. :p

ylim,

yup i also think let our babies transit slowly cos this is only a growing up phase. Current Avent pacifier states for 6 to 18mths so probably wean him off slowly.
My boy is drinking Friso 2 but is from 7-18mths &amp; Friso 3 is from 1-3yrs so i wonder when we shld start introduce step3 to them? after 18mths?

Yvonne,

Yes, agree, must do it gradually. Whenever we feel our boy is ready, no need to follow the book or what the expert said. My boy not attach to pacifier (weaned off when he was 4 months), not attach to breast (failed the breastfeeding business), so now only bottle, and he seems to be very keen to drink from the cup, though he doesn't know well how to. Let him play play a bit and see how.

And it's also up to parents' choice. My nephew still drinking from bottle now he is 5 years old. He didn't brush his teeth regularly and drinks lots of sweet stuff, not good, but it's his parents choice.

wendyg,
It's genes...becos his whole family also crooked teeth....hehehe. So my boy got 50% chance lor...oh noooooooooo! Hope he's blessed with my good genes.

steph,
Friso 3 much cheaper than Friso 2 right? I'll check with the PD next week - either introduce fresh milk or change to Friso 3??? Will let you know what she says.

Kam
Aiyah, no lengthy explanation needed lah. Just teasing u only
And no, i wasnt comparing BM and FM. More like the secret conspiracy of FM companies who are exploiting the love of a mother for their babies.

Yvonne
me too hoping to let Rylee drink fresh milk, so traveling will be easy! WOO HOO!!!! And yes, no need to follow book lah. Best advice i got was "follow your own maternal instinct" cos every baby is different mah...we know our babies best, so who is to tell u when to take away wat? If u feel he still needs the security item ie blankie, pacifier, or bottle, then let him be and do it gradually lo. Just like lots of book also tell me cannot nurse to sleep, must wean by 1yr old, cannot bedsharing otherwise baby wont leave my bed, etc....but i also heck care and deal with it myself. Of cos not until very old lah.

Wendy
i dunno about Sg, but in HK, GainIQ is spelled as EyeQ on their packaging...didnt know got such court story wor...

Mom2Nat
Wahhh ur photobook very nice wor... which software u use or did u say it but i missed it above ah?

violetice
sorry missed out your posting asking about the book. The author is Lise Eliot but i must cautioned u that it's quite a cheem boring book. Not very reader friendly ie the font very small and compact, machiam like those textbooks, i see oredi also headache, so i was just flipping thru. Another book good to read which i simply love is You Are Your Child's First Teacher by Rahima Baldwin Dancy. But this is in line of Waldorf Steiner way of teaching kids. Read for fun.

Steph
Checked for u liao. HK also launching the bags in Feb 09. Pricing as below:

Odeon PM HK$5850 ~ SG$1118
Odeon MM HK$6900 ~ SG$1319
Odeon GM HK$8950 ~ SG$1711

Hubby said HK/SG exchange rate is about 5.23, so aft calculating, not much diff between Sg and HK pricing, HK slightly more expensive some more...

kitsune
me too, same like u, if next time weaning, i think i will be affected more emotionally than her. Good to hear RaeAnne's recovering.

I'm also on leave tomorrow and monday. Going to Bintan Club Med tomorrow....hoooohoooo! Tomorrow is the day I will remember my labour pain...hahaha....and an hour of torture on the ferry...seasick leh.

ylim, wendyg,
yup Friso 3 is cheaper than Friso 2. For nutrients, not sure...have not compare the %contents. ylim, aft u check with PD, let me know ya, tks

mylife,
tks! Any mummy gg to Europe? Can tompang?hee..

kitsune,
Glad to hear Raeanne is getting better, jia you wor!

Yvonne,

I am also to ask PD tonight on his opinion on FM and fresh milk. I have write it down, among my other questions, so I won't forget. Anyone has any burning questions to ask a PD?

Have a good break! And happy birthday to your little one!

Mylife,

Kitsune,

Great to hear RaeAnne is getting beter. Yourself? You feeling better? Tomorrow gonna work or can extend your mc?

mei,
me aiming the LV Odeon loh but not launch yet. I need to view the physical bag first. If by end Feb, no variable bonus then this bag can be forgotton

Kam
can u ask your Dr K why Haore's childcare tchrs say he shldn't gain more weight? I think 10.9kg is abt... 50th percentile ley. My Tobey is 10kg and i consider him on the lighter side for a 1 year old boy. Considering he was 4.5kg at birth, he should triple birthweight by now, which is 13.5kg (omg!!!!), but he's only 10kg, which is actually ok with me heh heh

Pixel,
How do u manage to sell ur things?

Steph,
Sell more milk powder/maternity stuff, so can buy LV Odeon. Plus 4 months paid mternity leave..4 months hibernate at home. Can la..

sigh, after reading the mummies blog. i realised that my #2 really slow development - no tooth, no no how to walk, only know how to fake cry to get what she wants. sigh.

hope after her first birthday, she will shoot up and grow up fast!

Wendyg,

His teachers said so for fun lah, cos they think he looks just nice now, any fatter will look FAT and no longer handsome. 10.9kg for 12 month is close to 75th percentile leh. All the while, Hao Re has been on 75th percentile. So I think is just nice for him. From now on, the weight gain will be very slow, according to the chart, probably 1 kg in the next 3 months.

Aiyoh, Tobey was born BIGGGGGG. Have to triple the birth weight huh? If he has been on the constant growth, ie on the same percentile, it's okay. Have you look at the length-for-weight chart? If it's maintain, then okay. Hao Re was born small, only 2.97kg, so triple will be 8.91kg only. Okay, maybe I ask the PD if baby not triple the birth weight, what's the advise, okay?

Kam/wendyg,
My boy was 3.63kg at birth and about 12kg now, he has already tripled his birth weight since he was 8/9 months. I always complain and ask my PD if he's overweight, she says it's ok for the 1st year becos their weight gain will usually slow down significantly during the 2nd year or once they start walking. They will grow taller but weight wise will increase slowly. So we better don't complain why he's becoming so skinny when he turn 2 years old...haha. Their "chubbiness" will be gone soon....so we better treasure their chubby cheeks, michelin thighs and bouncy buttocks now.

Yvonne,

My boy already walking, but he still gain almost 1kg in the last month. But I think from 1 year old onwards, they start to grow taller and a lot of calories burned for learning new things.

My hubby wants to keep Hao Re's chubbiness, but how to? My hubby was super very skinny when he was young, so he wants his son to be very chubby...... but Hao Re's fat all piled up at his tummy leh, like beer belly. I asked PD on the beer belly before, he said okay, the same answer, from 1 year onwards, all this will be gone, sooner or later.

blackbatz
err sell in WTS lor...why? u wanna sell stuff??

mei, nevermind lah, i got a colleague's fren's girl, never tok, even till 5yo! after 5yo, started talking, now become machine gun like that

fyi, ur cny qns very difficult to answer leh, havent even plan whether visit relatives or not heehee

abt weaning off pacifiers/bottles
when i was young, i sucked my thumb...till lower pri i think? really man, terrible...suck until my thumb knuckles has a big round knobbly flesh...then my mom one day told me if i keep on sucking, it will grew to as big as a watermelon. i got so scared, i stopped completely.
scaring working maybe? haha

kam, my boy has beer belly too!
also can walk liao, also gained at most 1kg in the last mth...not much weight gained...as of 3 weeks ago, he was 10.9kg too

aiyoh, we got twins or what huh? all the same milestones!

Steph,
I also got new avent size 2 teat. It is loose pc though cos got them when i bought new bottles. You want??

Blackbatz,
me not milk powder manufacturer otherwise rich liow! 4mths ML, stay at home 24/7 will be crazy leh...cannot la.

Kam,
Zander also has beer belly! My hubby also very skinny when toddler so i think it's in the gene.

grumpus,
tks
but icy is giving away hers so i have enuff stock at the moment.

Pixie,

Just go to your FB. Your Xandall born big leh, 4.07kg!!! He is very cute, I like that photo he was doing the superman on tummy, CUTE! Now he still has the chubbiness on his face, but can't see his tummy much, he looks pretty fit to me :)

no i didn't c height for weight. but i checked height for age and he's quite long.. abt 90th percentile. he's chubby la.
sigh i want my baby to remain a baby ley.. dowan him to grow up and get naughty and i gotto start scolding him. sianzzzz

pixie,
your FB nick is? Did i add u?

mei,
dun worry too much cos every baby is different. Girls are faster in speech development while boys are faster in motor skills ya! Zander still dunno how to call mama &amp; papa leh...me waiting neck long long wor...