(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

every baby is different... not always that girls talk faster than boys. ask Kam to ask her Dr K la? free consultation for us haha.

steph
U're welcomed!

wendy
agreed! here in HK's playgroup, got one girl born on Dec30 2007, she can walk well, PLUS can say mama, papa, apple and other singular words leh!

Kam
ur hubby very funny leh. Hao Re is his son mah...he's very tall and lanky, so his son will prob be the same also lo.

Now I am unable to catch up my boy milk intake. Everyday he will take about 1 big and 1 small bottles of BM. Everyday I will put about 4 bigs and 4 small bottles of BM, and he finished all. I have just bought a tin of FM to standby. So sad that I might have to go partial bf. Within 2 weeks I cut down 1 session at work really make my supply drops badly. And I am not willing to give up bf yet.

wendyg,

Too late for the last question already. I left office already.

Ask him a few questions:

- Hao Re weighs 11.05kg, 76.5cm tall and 48cm for his head circumference. Dr K said my boy grows well, is considered above average. I showed him the "beer belly", and he said is perfectly normal. I described to him Hao Re daily food intake (3 or 4 milk feed + 3 solid + fruits + snack), he said okay, can continue. Don't have to worry giving too much food at this stage, as long as the boy is taking the food willingly, and not force-feeding.

- He said can started on adult food. I told him I started already. He said okay.

- I asked the fresh milk vs FM question. He said he personally recommends FM as the vits and nutritions are more balance. BUT he said if I prefer, fresh milk is perfectly okay. And kids usually very willing to accept fresh milk, cos it tastes better than FM. He said very easy to switch to fresh milk, but if decided later to switch back to FM, very difficult. Then I ask why in the west more people choose to give fresh milk, his answer is cos they usually serve milk cold, thus fresh milk right from the fridge is most convenient.

- I asked Hao Re has the habit of pulling his ear and hair very hard, and scratch his head very hard and rubbing eyes.... he said is very common in kids this age. Nothing to worry about.

- Also asked Hao Re never showed signs of separation/stranger anxiety. He said need not worry also, perfectly okay, not affecting anything. Good on parents cos easier to take care.

- Then he also checked Hao Re eyes, ears, nose, body, private, everything is okay.

BUT, I didn't ask the triple birth weigh question, sorry :-(

After assessment is the jab. Hao Re is a tuff boy, like nothing happened even he has been poked, maybe because he was eating biscuit at that time.

Then I asked for the cough and running nose medicine for stand-by, cos Hao Re teachers said they heard Hao Re coughed a bit today. Dr K said if just cough and runny nose, no fever, still active and eats well, no need to bring Hao Re to see him, just give the med and observe and see how first. Save 1 time of consultation fee. And don't know why he charged me lower consultation fee :)

That's why I prefer to go to his clinic in the evening, less crowded, shorter queue, and thus have plenty of time to ask questions and don't have to feel bad (that a lot of people still waiting).

The next girl went in after us, also got HFMD. Think is spreading fiercely now, beware!

The next jab will be in 3 months time. I should write down all my questions again (worked out very well this time). Any question to "tumpang" :)

thanks, mummies. She does seem better. Tried to latch tonight but still failed. At least she is sleeping on my bed after hubby rocked n patted her while i showered. An improvement. Keeping fingers n toes crossed now.

Kam, i'm still on mc tomorrow but working on sat. Swop with colleague cos want to celebrate raeanne's birthday next weekend, will be v busy. Eh, your pd let the kid with hfmd wait in queue ah? How can? Can be infectious one esp with ulcers they can't close their mouth properly, will keep drooling. My pd's clinic assistant automatically jump queue for us, first to see dr, first to collect med, think we were in n out in less than 10 mins.

Raeanne also hasn't tripled her birthweight. Just 1 week plus more, plus she sick these few days, i've more or less given up hope liao. :p

Mei, i've forgotten most of your questions but definitely need to do spring cleaning n bring raeanne visiting. I already bought 2 sets of cny clothes from bp for her. Only $10 for 2 sets, cheap cheap.

mylife, the thing i'll really miss about breastfeeding is the latching. Definitely not the mastitis n pumping. Told hubby i must take a photo of me bf raeanne before i stop. Too bad i didn't take one when she was first born, shy mah, if not i can compare how much she has grown with my bm. Hee.

morning,

thanks steph. will take a look. any others to recommend?

btw, my boy still sucking pacifier.

morning!
thank goodness steph found me heehee

kam, thanks. i know xandall is fit, and has a beer belly. hes not overweight but he is a voracious eater. i think around the same as Hao Re (4 milk feeds + 2 solids + fruits + snacks). it never amazes me that they can eat non stop all the time and never get full??! do you get what i mean? how can so much food pack into this tiny belly...haha...

wendy, i dont want my boy to grow up too, want him to remain as a a baby forever so that i can hold him. big liao cannot hold, has a mind on his own, and scold him until i tired...

yay!! after so many months (xx months)...im finally going to watch a movie! red cliff here i come!

Kitsune,

Last time when we brought Hao Re to see PD (not Dr K, another PD), also no priority, cos at that time we didn't know is HFMD, only brought him there because of very high fever, did't even know he has mouth ulcers and no blister at all. Then how would the nurse know and let us jump queue? Think same as the little girl yesterday, only after consulted PD, then knew is HFMD. Probably in your case is different, cos yourself already kena, so highly suspicious already.

Anyway, good to know RaeAnne is doing better.

Pixie,

But not every baby like that leh. In Hao Re's class, the teacher said only Hao Re is like that (eat non stop all the time and never get full), other boys not like that. So they are very careful not to give him anything out of his meal schedule, they only give him food every 3 hours or so. If not, anytime you give him food, he will just open his mouth and eat happily, *pengz*

Eh, we are also going to watch red cliff tomorrow leh, without Hao Re (will send him to his infant care) :)

Morning all! Hope all of u have a wonderful day ahead!

Kam,
Dr Keoy charges u lower consultation fee is becoz of the vaccination package lar, its $5 cheaper. :p
I also took up the package.

Dr Keoy is nice, sometimes when i bring both my boys for checkup, he only charges 1 consultation fee. hehe

hoohoohoo
im gonna watch on sunday
you mean saturday also has full day infant care?? didnt know that...

dinner time is worst. he has his dinner + soup at 5.30pm, then my mil eats her dinner, then has fruits with him. then i reach home liao, he begs for food, i gave him some, then i eat fruits, i share with him. by then daddy reaches home, the whole cycle repeats so he is literally eating non stop...he has this lip smacking action, and say mum mum all the time

Luca,

I know it's the $5 off for the package. But because I go at night clinic, there is surcharge, but he didn't charge me that. That time brought Hao Re back for HFMD review, it's FREE :)

Pixie,

No, saturday half day. So we gonna catch the morning show. We did that for the red cliff 1.

Haha, it's the same for Hao Re. Has his dinner (1 full bowl of porridge) at school aboout 5.30pm. When reach home, have to share my dinner and fruit with him. When my brother eats, he goes and begs for food from him also. If give him bread, is worse, he asks for more and more and more until half a slice of gone still wants more (and that's after his dinner!). He can finish almost 1 big orange on his own. And yes, he also did the same - the lip smacking action and mum mum......

Kam,
oic, wow Dr Keoy is really damn nice. hehe

I didnt know theres a surcharge for nite clinic, how much is it?

So did ur hb enjoys his birthday?

Yeah, TGIF!!!!

Javin just had his lower 2 teeth half way grown. Will the upper teeth start to grown now? I am so nervous now cos this sunday he is celebrating his birthday, and yest nite he is running a fever!!! Not sure is it the upper teeth going sprout that's why fever. As when he is sprouting the lower teeth got fever and lose bowels.

He seems to reject drinking water since yesterday. What can i give him instead of plain water? I boil "ju hua" but he dun like it so i force him to drink some.

Kam,

U give Hao Re the whole slice of orange to eat. Can we give citrus fruits now? As for me i seldom give him fruits. Cos his duinner time is ard 6.30-7pm. Shortly after that about 8.30 i will give him milk before he sleep. In day time, mil will say no time to give.

pixie
haha that's funny. my boy not very keen on food.. no patience to eat lumpy food. When i'm feeding him cereal, i gotto do it very fast o'wise he will lose interest and start to fidget. *stress*
lasttime at this age my #1 can eat 1.5 bowls of porridge.. i was happily cooking for him - all sorts of stuff throw into the slow cooker and he finishes everything. same food for both lunch & dinner sommore.

re: FM vs fresh milk
>> i done a comparison of some common stuff found in both Fresh Milk and Mamil Gold 3 (that's the only Stage 3 formula i hv now)
100ml Marigold Fresh Milk vs 100ml Mamil Gold 3

calcium: 112mg vs 104mg
Vit K1: 13.5mcg vs 3mcg
Vit D3: 2.5mcg vs 0.8mcg
Energy: 64kcal vs 80kcal
Protein: 3.1g vs 2.5g
Carbohydrates: 4.8g vs 13.2g

there's a whole list of stuff on the FM nutritional info that's not found on the fresh milk list.. eg SA/AA/DHA/Omega stuff/ Taurine/ Beta Carotene/ Prebiotic/ Niacin/ Choline/ Folic acid/ all sorts of minerals like Iron, Phosphorus, Magnesium, Zinc, Copper etc

jaclyn
try barley? or whatever fruit juices. i hv Heinz fruit fuices on standby
or put few drops of Gripe water into his water. Or Glucoline?

Luca.

Both of us are fans of Dr Keoy, ya :) I also confused. Sometime they charged me $50, sometime $45, yesterday was $40.

He enjoyed the food, so considered enjoyed his birthday :)

wendyg,
d other time u mentioned ur SE hp is spoilt, so u bought new hp already?

I'm aiming new hp from sony or samsung, anybody had any good suggestions?

Jacelyn,

Hao Re already started on citrus fruit since he was 9 months or so. PD said okay, but when cough, try to avoid citrus fruit. I give him in small pieces, like a 10-20 cent coin size.

what's the temperature recorded for your son's fever? If it's because of the teething, shouldn't be high fever, probably <38C and shouldn't stay long (shouldn't link fever to teething at the first place). If high fever observed, better bring him see doc.

Agree with wendyg, barley is good. Can try fruit juice also.

wendyg,

fresh milk vs FM - I think for now I continue to give Hao Re the Enfagrow, since I have already stock up 6 big tins. Then after finishing these few tins, will consider fresh milk again. Hubby said leave to me to decide.

Thanks for the info all the same!

pixel,

my 'parcel' weight 146 gm and then in a slight bigger envelop (not those envelop meant for letters)...must put how much for the stamps huh?

I'm back fr hk, v tiring but enjoyable trip! glad to mt up wif frz and relatives..
my bb was ok thru out e whole trip except e flight bac to sin, he was v cranky..
my bb reject porridge, is it time to give him rice??

mylife: great to mt up wif u in hk.. hope Rylee can fit into e clothing.
thks for e gift too. itz a really short trip so we didnt spend much time at ur place.

Kam,
ya hehe
I find him way better than Dr Ang who is blur. That time the 2nd day after i delivered, he came to my room and told me that my bb's blood group is 0+, I thought its the same as my hb, so i didnt suspect anything.
Who knows after I've discharged and saw from my son's records that his blood group is B+, only then did i realised that this blur Dr Ang made a mistake. My hb was quite pissed, coz at 1st he was so happy finally 1 of his son follows his blood group. duh!!

Thats good, so what present did u give him?

Wendy,
i hate touch screen, either not sensitive enough or too sensitive. My SGH U700, will just "accidentally" called the person up when i wana read the incoming sms. And it broke down on me twice liao, wana trade in before the warranty ends in apr. Prices dun drop when u wana buy, its always like that, isnt it?

luca
ah... for me, i will buy when i need to change the phone. i don't monitor the pricing trends before/ after i buy.

Luca,

No present. We don't buy present for each other. Even I said I would buy him nice dinner for his birthday, ended he was the one who paid for the bill. But also never mind lah, because at the end, money comes from the same bank account :) The meal is very ex leh.....

Luca,

How about changing service provider. I switched to M1, and they "automatically" gave me 6 months free subscription, worth >$100, pretty good deal, I think. My hubby is using the Samsung F480, not good, but for its price, okay lah, shouldn't complain. My brother is using Samsung Omnia, he likes it, so far. But then both touch-screen leh, which you don't like. Then you go for SE lor.

ernmum
100g is 50cts
yours is 146, so it is counted below 250g, which is 80cts
the sizing doesnt matter, they wont penalize you. they say what standard mail/non standard, i oso heck care and all look under standard mail category. all reached destination what...
mine are milkbags so will be odd-shaped sometimes, oso will pass one leh...

hp:
i oso aiming hp, ever since my boy drops my hp...my #6 key is spoilt. asked to repair, say 100+! crazy...

Kam,
Im a M1 user now, thought of switching to Singtel if they got better deals hehe but still sourcing which hp to buy lor.. headache leh, i dun like to change hp.

Pixie,
my boys like to play with my hp, thats why easy spoil too. Haiz

luca
best is dun give them hp to play
i got a song i always played when i was pregnant, so when i play this song now on my hp, i think he recognise it and gets very excited. other songs i play on hp he so-so reaction nia...

i am with singtel like 10 yrs liao, never got anything free from them. ST is the most kiam siap provider, SH or M1 got more freebies, but coverage not that good.
my company can apply biz fone with SH, but that means must change provider, i dont want leh, and my manager say no need use company fone. so no free fone, boohoohoo

pixie,
ya, I've stopped letting them play with my hp after I've repaired it for the 2nd tme. Must keep hp workable so that i can do a trade in.

Actually, do they really check the condition of the hp when we do trade in?

Kiam siap, and u still faithfully stick with them for so long, isnt it time to wake up already :p

they wont check very thoroughly. can press all keys without any faults, and phone through and call is clear, they will take. fone scratchy or what, they dont care. dont like use tape or rubberband tie up kind lah, that one extreme heehee

they r kiam siap but their coverage is good leh.
last time they treat me good. buy 3mths of subscription, get 9mths free. i was on it for 3 years, super value...now...not even bird shit

wendy,
so u eyein on any hp now, besides ur hb helping u?

Kam, these days eating out is expensive, so home cooked food still the best!

luca
no, i'm out of touch with the latest handphone models.. no point that i do research, coz husband will override my choices with his reasoning.

aiyo, so detailed check ar, then cant "bluff" liao lor.

pixie,
U can try terminating or what, who knows to keep u this loyal customer, they might just give u good deals again leh hehe :p

i eyeing the SE xperia or HTC touch pro
no $$, recession. i think kiv for some time first
now ST buy online, can get $200 off your mobile fone bills, it will rebate you from 7th to 16th months (want to tie you down mah)...not bad what...offer valids till 11jan...

luca, tried liao
that auntie on the hotline, asked me why, and i said coz other brands got more freebies etc. she say ok you consider carefully lor.
then never offer any freebies
my hb's colleague, kaopeh with M1, and got few hundred worth of mobile vouchers. hearsay lah...

Luca,

Yesterday we paid $200 for the 2 of us :) One of the most ex meals we ever had.

Pixel,

Ya-lor, if no freebies, no discount, why you still so faithful to Singtel leh? I was with SH and Singtel before, and now M1. Singtel got better coverage meh, I never realised any difference leh. All 3 are equal, to me. I just grab whichever gives good deals, esp now you can port your number over to the other service provider and don't have to change your no.

Wendy,
is ur hb paying for ur hp? Else why should u listen to him? hehe

Pixie,
aiyo, too bad for u. I think it depends on luck, not everytime so heng 1. :p

Kam,
wow u had candle light dinner ar? How come so expensive?

Me too, whichever service provider gives good deals, i'll grab!

cfm ST got better coverage. im sort of in this industry so its a known fact leh...
but then again, recently poor coverage. call my HB, no reception one. can call to complain, they will rectify it if one place persistently got no coverage...

luca
erm.. co-payment. i submit to him coz i'm his wifey. But in turn, he has to love me like he loves himself.

icy
hey Icy, how are u? Your liver results out? Caused by the MMP? Coz i hv a colleague she also wants to take MMP to boost supply, and i told her abt your problem..