(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hi, eRnMum, you working today too?

WendyG, thought your real name is Wendy? Hee.

I'm new in this forum. I'm a working mother of a 9 months old baby boy and i'm staying @ CKK. Hope you dun mind me joining this thread.

hallo everyone

again MIA for very long...so many posts never catch up liao. This whole week brought rylee out a lot cos my sis is in town. Also brought her to Disneyland!

Me too in FB...everyone add me ok! Me also super auntie liao. My own sister told me that when i was back in Sg. She was waiting for me at her void deck, and i was pushing baby in the stroller walking towards her. She go and tell her hubby standing at her side, "wah, morning these aunties walking baby liao..." then her hubby told her "that's your sister lah!" Grrr....kekekeke

Kam

Besides banana, what else do u recommend to intro as finger food to let my son learn to feed himself. I tried letting him feed himself b4. It seem like he is more interested in playing with the food than feeding himself. It's like he wants to feel the texture of the porridge in his hands =P N yes, it was big mess after the feed.

Steph

Hiya dear! When is your EDD? Will u be getting Mdm Rokiah's staff to do the post natal massage for u? =)

Take extra care when your baby learns to crawl/ walk

My son quite active (or hyper-active). He has mastered the skill of standing at the base of the standing fan and try to poke his finger into the fan blade cage lor. =S Lucky I caught him in time.

My mum told me that my son knocked down the whole standing fan yesterday at her place. N he actually pulled the dining table chair across the dining room. Aiyo... I think when he knows to walk, I will be chasing a monkey. *shake head*

I am amazed by the speed my son learns. But that means I have to be extra mindful of his safety too. Don't under-estimate them. =)

I read some mummies seem to be concern about their darlings' developlent. My son is quite fast when it comes to crawling/ walking. But not talking. He still doesn't know how to say mama or papa yet. So every baby is different. No worry =)

lactose intolerant

Anyone's darling is lactose intolerant? My son can poo poo from 3 (minimum) to 5 times (max) per day. I was quite worried. The pedi said it's normal, as long as the stool is not water. The stool is not water definately, just soft. So my pedi suggested that I switch my son over to soy milk for 2 weeks to see if he is lactose intolerant.

Any mummies is feeding their darlings soy milk now?

Ah Capp, agree with u once baby knows how to crawl, it's alot more work. Mine kept standing up to grab things..arghh...

Btw, ask u gals what u do with ur bb during ur free time at home? Mine like all over the place..but nothing very educational...when I dun bring him out, I really dunno wat to do with him.

blackbatz, I put billing address to be same as BDL address leh. Should be ok bah since I already got my stuff. I don't mind if they don't bill me. Haha.

WendyG, count count, only for ICA, it's not counted. haha.

goodbb,

I bought 1 yday at CK. $1.20. But 35cm diameter. So I need to change the rubber band so that it can stretch further.

wendy

Soy milk smelly ah... the nurse told me that I might need to mix with normal FM first. =(

babe

I let my son push the foot stool around in the living to practice walking. I also log onto Sesame.com to watch the educational vidoes or listen to the songs with him. I try my best to read to him, but he is more interested in biting the books. =S I like him play his toys, but he is easily distracted.

Guess really nothing educational too =P

<font color="0000ff">AhCapp,</font>

harlo
My EDD 15Mar09. Yes, already paid downpayment for post-natal massage..KS hor...i booked her staff Mdm Suriyah. Hope she is as gd as Mdm R.

<font color="ff6000">mylvera,</font>
yr MSN photo very small le, not so clear cos onli c yr side view. The family photo look great i think

steph

march baby, nice =) U must be really excited. =) So happy for u.

Me taking nature at its own course for now. Hehehehe.. do remember to give us feedback on Mdm R's staff. =) Me keep it for future usage also good. *wink*

Me MIA for months already, long time never visit/post here liao.. Been busy with my shift work and baby Tristan.. Had wanted to organise a gathering few months back, but did not carry out due to busy work schedule, Paiseh!!!

Last week, baby Tristan is down with high fever (38.5 - 38.9 degrees Celsius) for 3 days and followed by fake measles. Went thru the past archives and found that baby Rylee had also went thru the same illness. I was freaked out by his temperature and frequent vomitting then.. Glad that its all over now..

mei
Can I join in for the aquaducks trial lessons, am I too late to join in? And also in the 1-yr Bday Bash party?

steph
mar bb is pisces! Same like me...hehe...very emotional one.
. My bday is 3Mar, so if ur bb is early, might be same bday as me?

ahcapp
my gal also SUPER HYPERACTIVE. It's like the moment she wakes up, open eyes only, straight away wants to climb here and there. Despite trying to baby proof the house, not everything can be. Aiyoh, so headache!

Audrey
Baby Rylee didnt have fake measles, but fever yes. But i read quite a number of babies here had fake measles, latest being i think is Mcfluffy's Baby Celeste. Mine is viral gastroenteritis.

AhCapp,

RE: Finger Food
Besides banana I give my bb potato, sweet potato and carrot sticks. I cut them into strips or discs and steam/bake them then let my bb hold to feed herself. I also give her bread which I cut into strips.

I put everything into a bowl and put on her tray together with her water bottle and away she goes. It's very cute to watch her feed herself and she even knows how to stop for a drink but it gets very messy so I had to really learn to control myself not to keep wiping her fingers, the table, her shirt etc.

This site gives some good ideas for finger food.
http://www.homemade-baby-food-recipes.com/baby-finger-foods.html

wendyg
Once I gave Nat soy milk, she said it tasted like beehoon and din wan to take it! hahaha...

Ahcapp
Mine is a poo king I think. Normal poo, thick consistency, abt 4 to 5 times a day, sometimes quite a lot, stain his clothes. Dunno isit cos he is taking breastmilk, so poo more.

Grumpus, I tried giving RaeAnne baby carrot sticks too. She enjoys holding it but doesn't really want to eat. Where do you let her eat? Do you have a high chair?

Artemis, yesterday FIL told us RaeAnne has two bottom teeth cutting out too. Can feel it when I put a finger in cos she'll bite me. Yeah!
Hope that doesn't mean she'll bit me when I BF her though. :p

kitsune,

yes, i let her eat in her high chair. sometimes she will just hold or play with her food too. Sometimes it's because she doesn't know it's food so i'll break off a small pc and feed her or i'll just let her explore with her fingers.

Her usual style is to turn the food around in her hands, squeeze it, shake it and then finally test with mouth. Sometimes she's just plain lazy and wants to be fed so i'll feed her with my fingers and she still gets to practice eating chunky food

mom2nat

Your darling also poo poo as frequent as mine wor. My son's poo poo also thick consistency. My pedi told me to reduce his fibre intake. =( I reduce his veg and he seem to have difficulty pushing the hard stool out after the meal with reduced veg. Quite headache here.

grumpus

I think I really should try to give my son finger food so that he can learn to feed himself. But the mess.... *sigh* I feel more like a maid than a mum after the feeding session. =P

mylife

Your gal also hyperactive ah. =) I feel very drained at the end of the day. I will lay down on my bed and my son will continue to crawl, stand up n down, bang the table, push the stool etc etc etc. Non-stop man. =S

Grumpus, I have a high chair at ILs place only. Feel like buying another. We have been feeding her in her walker but not very ideal cos no proper tray to put her food. I want her to learn to self feed too. How much is your high chair? Expensive?

Hi Kitsune,
Thanks for your reply.

I also bought 2 highchairs. One at my own place, one at my mum's place. The first one I got was from Ikea. I think occupies space when you don't need it next time. Anyway, my dad found it too high, so he bought another set of poles and he "sawed" the legs shorter...He said, easier to feed.

The other set of high chair is foldable, with tray and strap. I thought more space saving, about $60 (3 years ago.

Self feed? So soon, Sad to say, I didn't managed to train my #1 to do it.

#1, already 5, still need adults to feed. Haven't been able to train him to eat by himself. I think he will take more than 2 hours to finish his dinner.

AhCapp - FINGER FOOD

Like Grumpus said, anything with soft texture that baby can break into pieces easily with his mouth/gum, can be cut into stick and let them pick up the food. For me, my main intention was not for him to learn self-feed, but to let him practice his pincer grasp skill. I believe each of these motor skills is important for the development and stimulation of his brain. I use the food to get him interested. Now he is pretty good, he can pick up very small thing from the floor with his 2 fingers.

RE: What to do with babies
Play, play and play. I don't stress (actually I don't bother) on educational play. If he wants us to accompany, we play with him. If he prefers to be on his own, we just let him play/crawl/cruise on his own, but keep an eye on him. Yes, I read to him, but it's not for educating him, but because he prefers to have some quiter time sitting down with me with a book.

AhCapp

actually u dun need to jump straight to finger food at meal times. For me I started with biscuits, in between milk or when we go out nothing for her to do then give her some biscuits lor. So much so that now she recognises her biscuits and reaches out straight away for them. Biscuits are less messy to clean up afterwards. When she got better then I moved to finger food during mealtimes. I'd feed her porridge and give her a potato or sweet potato stick to play/eat

But yes the mess is terrible, sometimes I will find bits of food in my girl's shirt or diaper and we always joke that she's saving them for later when she's hungry.

kitsune
Yup, it's good to train them to sit properly in high chair to eat. Imagine next time can walk they start running all over the place, the mess will be worse!
I bought my high chair from Ikea, chair + tray <$50. Cheap and good. All made of plastic somemore so easy to clean. I bought one for my own place and one for my mum's place too!

Grumpus,
Agree with you. Better to train them to sit in the high chair to eat so they will not protest when they're made to sit in one when out in restaurants. Sometimese a bit lazy, so I just let him sit on the bumper mat while feeding him...headache man...cannot sit still, will try to climb onto me, suck the mat, grab his toy, etc...

Re: Baby walkers
2 schools of thought lah. Some say can let them practice walking but I feel it's not very good for their feet if placed in a walker for long period of time daily. PD also told me if they tend to tip-toe in the walker and it will affect the growth of their feet. I have a friend who put his son in walker since 5/6 mths. He can really move fast in it but problem is, he's so mobile in a walker so he refused to crawl and couldn't even sit unsupported until about 11 mths. Sometimes too much of a good thing becomes bad. I think it will hinder his development in a way. A bit should be alright though.

Pincer hold
Kam, haha, RaeAnne has no problem with that. Her favourite past time is to shred tissue paper into bits and she'll be holding to that last bit of tissue paper with her pincer hold. Refuse to let go. If she gets distracted and drops it, she'll start looking all over for it. MIL said when they give her biscuits, she'll hold onto the last bit of biscuit and will not put it into her mouth, like "bu she de" to eat. Hee hee.

Blackbatz, don't feel bad, my cousin's kid also like that. For her, she always has MIL and now maid so there's always someone to feed her no. 1. Good and bad lar, got extra hands to help, not so stressful but with extra people plus her MIL and hubby scared of mess so her girl didn't learn to self feed early.

High chair, I know the ikea ones are the cheapest but I prefer those with leg stand, instead of dangling. But then, with leg stand, baby tend to stand up halfway through, also got problem. :p

violetice, baby ian very cute!! my boy dont have hair, yours the hair so nice! *envy envy* my boy got hair or cut hair liao still look like botak kind leh...

Kitsune,
No lah, don't think they can stand up in the high chair with leg stand. Usually the table will be in front of them so can't possibly stand up. I bought the lucky baby one with an adjustable table, 5 pt harness, cost me $55 which I find very worth it.

hani,
gotten ur pm. the available slot now for aquaducks trial on 1nov08 is 11am. ok with u?

audrey,
sure!! welcome for trial and bday bash. pm u.