(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

<font color="aa00aa">AquaDucks Trial - 2pm Sat @ Tanglin Village Heated Pool</font>
1 parent per baby. 6 babies per slot per sat.
<u>Mummies</u>, pls reply if you ok or not with the allocated slot. else, indicate preferred date for other mummies to swop with u.

<u>04-Oct-08 Sat 2pm </u>
1. QQ
2. kitsune_sg
3. mandygoh - ok
4. lyn78 - can't. prefer 11th.
5. babyshannon
6. mom2nat

<u>11-Oct-08 Sat 2pm </u>
1. shorty_gal
2. tansy x1 } dawn, 6 is the max. can i swop you to 18th Oct?
3. tansy x2 }
4. godsent
5. mcfluffy
6. vereneting
7. babyship

<u>18-Oct-08 Sat 2pm </u>
1. AhCapp
2. blackbatz
3. blessed serene
4. cherylkjh - can't. prefer 25th
5. dor11 - can't. prefer 25th
6. happymum2b - can't. prefer 25th

<u>25-Oct-08 Sat 2pm </u>
1. superbee
2. pm_babe
3. manuka_chan
4. Hana79
5. valencia_val - pm details pls.

wendyg,

I never tried butternut squash leh. I 38 go and google.......

Yes, mashed potato and carrot very nice, one of my son's favourites!

<font color="ff6000">Birthday Bash</font>
haiz. Okidspot undergo reno. so cannot hold bday party there. pity.

urgh. i gg crazy! so hard to find a suitable venue. haha.

hi mei!

if 11th no avail slot then 25th, i'll go alone wif bb.. my hb only avail on 11oct, e rest he's not in town.

I made the mashed potato &amp; carrots and find it very yummy too. In fact, I ate it myself
cos strangely my gal doesn't like it. She seems to only like sweet fruits like pear, apple, grapes, peach and ok with plain cereal. Others like porridge, veg, pumpkin, sweet pottato is no no. Think I have a fussy eater on hand!

wendyg,
u tried NewBaby confinement food b4? How's the food? I wanna order for my confinement but dunno to pick NatalEssentials or NewBaby. NewBaby charge $1,311 (aft less 5%) &amp; NatalEssentials charge $1460 for 28days package.

steph
no regrets abt Newbaby. Fishia also ordered from them. i was looking forward to confinement coz can eat their stuff!!! fabulousssss yummmmmm drooool. if u order their food, i visit u during your confinement and hv lunch with u ok.

wendyg
my colleague just ordered NewBaby few months back but she say the dishes &amp; soup very bland although portion is big, enuff for 2 persons.
Heard v gd feedback on NatalEssentials too.
I don't mind u visiting &amp; join me for lunch but i stay JW le, very far for u la. Can help me baby sit

ya, i can help u sit on your baby haha

i'm a teochew (teochew food dun hv v strong flavour), i'm used to really lousy food (my mom can't cook well), and bland food (due to my dad's health - whole family ate bland food). So maybe u just go for Natal Essentials la.
but hor, i dun think their food is bland lor. It's very very very yummy. Ask Fishia. She had to discard coz she couldn't eat much. Whatever i dun like to eat (eg innards), i will pass to my parents/ husband.

wendyg,

I also used to bland taste food. My mum cooks very well and yummy. But both mum and dad have health problem, so no sugar and no salt in all of the dishes.

steph,

bland food means healthier cos less salt less sugar, and thus better as confinement food??? And bland food can be yummy also, unless you are use to strong taste food.

bland food is okay for me (i don't like salty food) I am more into soup &amp; soup is important for BM supply hor. I dun like innards except liver ok. I ask hubby to decide for me since he is the pay master
tks for feedback!

Mandy,
Kam answered all the questions...thanks Kam!
I choose to double-boil my boy's porridge becos I have no time to stand there to stir the porridge if I cook directly in a pot and using the slowcooker is way toooooo slow. So I just throw all the ingredients into a small ceramic bowl with cover and place into a pot of water, cover and cook for 1hr and it's all done. Porridge is nice and soft and washing up is easy also.

wendyg,
I find butternut squash easier to cut as compared to pumpkin leh...or maybe becos the one I bought was already cut into half and cling-wrapped. It taste very nice and sweet when cooked with porridge...yum yum...easy to mash up with the spoon as well.

steph: cater food also nt cheap, isnt t beter to get a confinemt aunt? then she can cook fresh hood for u everyday
hw r u feeling now? nw u r moving into second trimester, shld be the best time o move around n get things done. nw can feel ur bb movemts? it is a wonderful feeling to feel them wriggling in ur tummy, haha

aqua
for both my confinements i catered from Newbaby &amp; didn't hv confinement nanny to get on my nerves, coz i'm the type of person who likes to do things my own way. Dun like stranger to stay in my house, and sommore boss me around - cannot do this do that. And the CL horror stories dun do much for me - those CL who are unhygenic, lazy, and out to make a carrot out of new mums.

for steph, i dunno la. I spk for myself.

Yvonne
yes i remembered i bought b4 - cut in half &amp; wrapped. From Cold Storage. But i still hv to cut into small pieces right? Can't put the entire half to cook... or can i?!

muacks Ian *heehee*

Mei u not gg to aquaducks? I am ok with that slot ....

mummies you all very good leh still jot down bb schedule hahaha i never loh not even one word hahaha guess i am lazy

Fussy Eater:
My boy used to be a pretty good eater... will eat anything we give very very heartily. Not much prob feeding.
But lately, he starts to fuss a lot half way through the meal. Will yell and struggle and grab the spoon away.
Very stressful and tiring feeding him like that...sigh

Anyone got this problem or have any tips?

<font color="aa00aa">AquaDucks Trial - 2pm Sat @ Tanglin Village Heated Pool</font>
1 parent per baby. 6 babies per slot per sat.
<u>Mummies</u>, pls reply if you ok or not with the allocated slot. else, indicate preferred date for other mummies to swop with u.

<u>04-Oct-08 Sat 2pm </u>
1. QQ - ok
2. kitsune_sg
3. mandygoh - ok
5. babyshannon
6. mom2nat

<u>11-Oct-08 Sat 2pm </u>
1. shorty_gal - ok
3. tansy x2 }
4. godsent
5. mcfluffy
6. vereneting
7. babyship

<u>18-Oct-08 Sat 2pm </u>
1. AhCapp
2. blackbatz
3. blessed serene

<u>25-Oct-08 Sat 2pm </u>
1. superbee
2. pm_babe
3. manuka_chan
4. Hana79 - ok

QQ,
haha. i forgot to indicate my name in the list. end up the slot that i can make it is already taken up. so i wait till all mummies replied first then got slot then slot me in.

Wendyg,
I still cut into cubes or slices and freeze...only take out 1 slice when i cook porridge. Easy to cut leh...no meh?? At least the skin is not as hard as pumpkin...

MomMe,
Maybe your boy wants to feed himself?? I also noticed my boy tried to grab the spoon and bowl from me...suspect he wants to feed himself. Maybe you give him a spoon to hold while you're feeding him? It may be a bit messy but they will have to learn sooner or later...

wendyg,

Wah, I think we are very click leh **hi-5** I also can't stand having a she-thinks-she-knows-all-and-so-can-be-boss type of confinement lady. I was very stressed up during my last pregnancy. Luckily my mum able to come and help. So end up mum focused on cooking and some housework while me doing everything else, laundry, washing, and all baby business. I think if I had a CL, it will sure drive me CRAZZZZZZY!

You remember you saw that Isaac baby in my blog, i went to visit his mum after my confinement. Wah, her CL huh, I don't know how my friend can tahan, I was there for about 1 hour, I almost wanted to quarrel with her already, cos she even wanted to educate me on how I fed and carried baby Hao Re, #&amp;%*#)@*&amp;%#$

wendyg &amp; kam: so scary har? i tot the aunt can cook n help lok after bb , then mummy can rest beter. my mil cooks for me n i gota lok after bb myself.. nt easy coz i had csec n my wound was v painful the first 2 wks.

aqua,

I rather be more tiring than to have a someone nagging on me 24-7. Somemore there is no way I will follow those old traditional "rules", I want to do it my way, modern-ish way :)

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">VENUE??</font></font>
<font color="aa00aa">AquaDucks Trial - 2pm Sat</font>
OK. a bit of a problem here and need your mummies comments. I dun know how to explain so i abstract of the here:

In that case, we would recommend that the trials for the group of babies be held at <u>The Pines Club at Stevens Road</u> so that should the parents wish to sign up after the trials, we can then accommodate the whole group of 24 babies with back to back classes on a Saturday to your preferred timing. Each class has a ratio of 6 pairs of parent and child to one coach.

We are now finalizing details with the club and can arrange for the trials to be held from October 11 onwards. Your group of babies will have a priority in selecting a time slot at The Pines should they wish to sign up after the trial.

We hope you understand that we are unable to slot in the group for trials at Tanglin Village as there would be no option for sign ups of such a large number on a weekend at this location. We can only accommodate 6 babies at 2pm on a Saturday.

meaning to say, cos Aquaducks worried that if all wants to signup at Tanglin Village heated pool, they cannot accommodate everyone cos they only have 1 slot of 6 babies.

so they would prefer trials to be done at The Pines Club (usually only members only) so that if sign up, can sign up immediately and got space.

but The Pines club NOT a heated pool. it's a normal outdoor pool.

so how???? or shall we ALL go to the non-heated pool at The Pines Club?

cheryl,
but heated pool only can allow 1 slot of 6 babies to signup lor unless join the LONG waiting list. so eg. if 4th oct slot mummies all signed up then not fair to the other slots of mummies who trial at latter date. unless the mummies change to wkday slot (but most of us are working mummies) or change venue (but not heated pool).

aiyo i headache. big head. die lah. tonite i canot sleep liao.

<font color="0000ff">aqua,</font>
initially i want to get a confinement nanny but then later MIL offer to do confinement for #2 too. #1 also MIL do for me. She cook (if lunch cannot cook/prepare in time then packet chix rice/vegetarian beehoon), she also help me with laundry &amp; look after bb at nite (she stay over). Day time while she cook from her own home (not my home cos she not use to my kitchen), i am alone with bb...abit stress but soon get use to it. MIL cook very nice double boil soup
She is pro-breastfeeding but hor during the 1st few days (BM have not kick in), she also worry me not enuff milk &amp; scare grandson hungry so will panic cos baby keep crying &amp; she will ask if need to give FM first. As a 1st time mum, i also very stress &amp; sad with her negative remarks "not enuff milk &amp; baby hungry etc". Well, given a choice i still prefer MIL than CL cos i heard horrible stories abt bad CL service &amp; CL running away half way thru confinement period! Oh, the current market rate for CL is $1.9 - 2k (non-peak) + ang pow (b4 &amp; aft) + food she buy for u &amp; herself = $2.5k plus, not cheap. Confinement food for 20days 5days/wk only $1120 still cheaper &amp; i have no worry my kitchen will be messy:p

I am into my 2nd trimester (15wks) &amp; coping ok (MS reduce &amp; appetite better) Cannot feel bb movement, still early but excited to know gender. I've gained 2kg:p

mei,
tum tum bulge liao:p my colleagues all noticed my tum tum, all give way to me when i walk pass
shld i be happi or sad? hubby say my butt also bigger! will post my tum tum pics in my blog later.

steph: haha, i agree. i dun like pple messing y kitchen. prf to use n keep it my own way n style ;p

if ur ml helping, it is better lah. at least own pple, can trust them to take gd care of u n bb b no.1 .

steph,

your MIL very nice leh. If die die must choose between CL and MIL, maybe I will go for CL.... at least can fire her, but if MIL, everything must keep quiet and hubby will be in very bad position, that's because I don't have a very understanding MIL. Envy you lah.

Kam,
i am an easy-going person unless MIL step over my set boundary. There were a few times during my #1 confinement, MIL just walk into my room (w/o asking permission) to watch me breastfeed my boy! So now my breast b'come public display at home loh, no privacy &amp; no respect for me la. I told hubby abt it &amp; he say his mum mean no harm. of course i know but we sure uneasy mah. How to have let-down if someone is staring at your breast when u r trying to latch your bb. Aiya, hopefully MIL wont do this for #2 since what i have she also have mah "BREAST"! She watched nvm but still ask me Got Milk? hey, how to have milk like that? so stress lo...:p

fussy eater

Today brought my gal for flu jab since we travelling, doc ask about her feeding, I say so so, he told me to cut down on milk feed, if she is supposed to eat, even if dont eat, I dont give milk, milk give the next feeding time. Else she will only crave milk and refuse to take solids, potentially will be fussy eater in the long run. My girl about 7.5 months, only 6.8kg.

mei,
i'm ok with my aqua ducks date.

i prefer heated pool too coz i bring my gal to my condo's pool and she always make a face / cry when we slowly enter the not so warm water. must take very long to acclimatize to the water.

mei,

yes, i can swop to the 18th oct. ;)

I dun mind going to the Pines for the swimming...though of course heated pool is always better and we can get a feel of what the place is like b4 we sign up. but even if all 24 of us go one the same day, those given the earlier timing can sign up earlier, so they will also fill up the slot also right? ;) so that doesn't solve Aquaducks problem leh! hee hee.....

violetice, my boy have been drinking 210ml since 6mths plus sometime he drink 240ml.

kitsune, haven't know baby gender yet. maybe next appt will know.

babyyen, how is it? joining yunbb, steph and me?

evening, dun think i can use the clarins huille tonic now. will use it after my pregnancy bah.

HI, Mei I can't make it for 4 Oct and 18 Oct, actually it's hubby who can't make it.

04-Oct-08 Sat 2pm
1. QQ - ok
2. kitsune_sg - not ok, prefer 11 Oct, if not 25 Oct.
3. mandygoh - ok
5. babyshannon
6. mom2nat

11-Oct-08 Sat 2pm
1. shorty_gal - ok
3. tansy x2 }
4. godsent
5. mcfluffy
6. vereneting
7. babyship

18-Oct-08 Sat 2pm
1. AhCapp
2. blackbatz
3. blessed serene

25-Oct-08 Sat 2pm
1. superbee
2. pm_babe
3. manuka_chan
4. Hana79 - ok

Luca, pixie, my weight was around 45-47 kg before preggie. Lost at least 3 kg liao.

Steph, you not hiring CL but using MIL instead? Good that MIL want to do for you. I'm like Kam, rather hire CL whom I can fire then to use MIL, got to suffer in silence or risk 'jia bian' if not happy. Plus, can't order MIL around, no matter what still inconvenient. If I have no. 2, I want both CL and maid. Will get CL to train the maid, haha.

Baby gender,
Steph/Joyce, Share share soon ya? Missed being preggie already haha, but cannot, my menses still not here, very hard to plan. :p

mommies! Help!

Jus now I found some crystal jelly like discharge on my gal when I changed her diaper earlier. Totally freak me out. Anyone knows what cud it be?? Its tiny but a few pieces.