(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

<font color="0077aa">Speedy Recovery to Baby Ian &amp; Rylee</font>
violetIce &amp; mylife, u take care of yrself too.

i been to festival walk!
expensive mall wor... only went to makan @ their japanese rest, and ta-pao once from their foodcourt. That the nearest mall to where my friend lives.

which are those shopping centre that should not be missed.

So far, my plans are
day 1: citygate
day 2: disneyland
day3: Ocean park + jumbo
day 4 and day 5: TST and central (other than SOGO, langham, dunno where else to go) Late afternoon, Lamma island to have dinner. Back to TST for the symphony lights
Day 6: yuen long

Should i go to the famous Kau Kee beef restuarant to have late lunch etc....?

<font color="0077aa">Help mummies,</font>
Can someone post the "can eat" &amp; "cannot eat" list of food for 6-12mths babies? where can i find the link? Thanks a lot.

Want to faint liao. My MIL feed my boy quill eggs porridge... both egg white &amp; yolk... Can eat?? Thot i saw something that no Yolk for babies below 1 year old?
I muz print out the list of food for my MIL to prevent myself fr getting more heart attack ;(

<font color="0077aa">mylife</font>
Poor Rylee, give her lots of water ah. U take care also!

<font color="0077aa">violetice</font>
how's Ian? Discharge already? Hope he is well now. Take good care too!

JanBB

Egg can only be taken when bb are 1yrs old, n must be york first to see any allegry if no, then egg white. That's what my PD told me e last checkup.

Thanks mummies!

I really "Gek Xin" if my MIL still so adventurous next week. But i shouldn't be complaining cos' I'm a lousy cook &amp; lazy mummy. My MIL is a nice mum to me, she will cook for my boy every weekend. I'm going to print the list out so that i won't get to see more surprises again and she will not find me very rude better than hearing me say NO to this &amp; NO to that.

wendgy
Up to now, she is still a working mum. That's why lor. She really enjoy cooking &amp; love to add this &amp; that in my boy's porridge. Every week, i am very direct, will ask what is inside the porridge. But i cannot stop her from feeding him although knowing that certain thing in the porridge is not supposed to feed. However, I did say "I think this cannot feed baby at this mth". Haiz... hope the list will help me..
Luckily, my boy is alrite..so far so good..

wendyg, you not auntie....cos me too...love to go supermarket

i also dun really shop liao...go out is always for the kids.

janbb, my mil 2 weeks ago also mixed eggs into my boy's porridge but luckily nothing wrong. sometimes really cannot control what she puts in because im not around in the day all the time, so close 1 eye lor...no choice

gave her the training cup to let my boy sip the traning cup, she say he dont like, so she gave up. aiyoh, must preservere mah, if try a bit my boy dont like, just go on lor....what else can i say? she also take care of my nephew, who is in K1 this year...still taking the bottle as milk feeds! i remember watching this tv programme on tv (im not naughty aka wo bu shi bu ting hua), the expert says so old liao cannot drink from bottle and nipple like that...she oso bochup...force her oso no use, sometimes old ppl dont like u to tell them do this or that...

Wendy
wat to do? Die also must care for baby lah. It doesn't help that her separation anxiety also peaking. I walked to kitchen/bathroom also she will cry like I've died haha. Me going back for my dad's first year passing ceremony. Its on 13th. But we flying back on 10th and leaving 16th cos also to visit my PILs who hv not seen Rylee since she's 2mths old.

ernmum
how long did it take for ur #1 to recover ah? I'm a worried sick now. Some more so close to our traveling plans liao. Even if she recover today I also worried to be taking her traveling immediately aft she recovers. Cos her body may still be weak and she's prob still very teh and cranky rite?

pixelpixel
ya men, think the older generation are all like this, maybe they could have find us very "particular" on the other hand...No choice, we 1st time mummy of cos very kia si ; )

To add on, my MIL also added scallop, yellow bean, "Gou Qi Zi" in the soup &amp; later she will pour some soup in the porridge to make it more tasty. Is the above also suitable for baby at 8-9mths?

mylife

did u try using hard boil egg to rub against Rylee's body? Heard that it will reduce the body's heat. And also try the Cooling Pad on her forehead to reduce the fever.

heard from my PD, fever should subside after 3-5 days before the rashes come in. diarrhoea might be a good thing, coz all the "heatiness" is released.

mylife, try the hard boiled egg which janbb mentioned, it works for my boys.

violetice, how's bb ian now? hope he is ok already and take care ya! now i'm very phobia when bb cough. did you bring bb to see dr AAT? think i have banned TMC and would bring to PD/KKH.

Mummies, if bb is heaty due to food intake, will it result in fever?

mylife,
So you might have to change your plans a bit? Usually after fever they will be very tired (from all the medication, etc) so will probably sleep alot?? But might also be more cranky. Hopefully Rylee will recover within these 2 days. Give her lots of fluid.

JanBB,
seafood except fish is no-no for under 1 yr olds.

mylife,
possible to postpone your returning home plans? i think might be better to wait for Rylee to recover 1st.

tongtong,
i think for baby, the 1st sign of heatiness will be constipation? as long as you give more water and fruits should not be resulting in fever?

JanBB,
my MIL also add wolfberry aka Gou Qi Zi &amp; cook together with porridge &amp; some other herbs (forgot the names liao) to taste. Zander like it very much. For scallop &amp; yellow bean, we have not tried yet. MIL also suggest adding abit of soya sauce *faintz* Aiya, we tell her that PD say NO (salt &amp; egg) but if behind our back, she'll add or not, we cannot stop her. I am sure they know what they are doing to their grandchildren bah.

pixiepixel,
Same story with my in-laws. I'm not sure if they let my boy use the sippy cup I bought...haha.

Anyway, they always complain to me that he's very naughty and don't want to take his naps. They say "last time put him in the playpen and he will sleep but now will flip here and there...aiyo". I told them he's getting older now and there's so many distractions around, cannot expect him to fall asleep right away. They spent 3 hrs to get him to sleep but still didn't succeed. I told them they should give him a clear message that it's time to sleep so no more playing. They still challenge me say it's not so easy but I told them that's what I do and I only take 5-10 mins or the most 30mins on a bad day to get him to sleep...kekeke. In my mind I'm thinking if they carry him immediately when he makes a fuss and start playing with him, he will never be able to SLEEP!

JabBB:

Don't have to worry too much, if you don't have a history of allergy. Allergy is affecting only about 3% of all babies. Baby will take in the food fine, but of course if can avoid processed food, is better. Yellow bean is okay. Scallop should be okay though I avoid cos it's processed food, and "Gou Qi Zi" is okay also if just give the soup.

For eggs, until they are a few years old, shouldn't give them half-boiled or half-cooked eggs, as it might contain Salmonella, which is a deadly bacteria. Egg yolk (fully cook) is a good source of nutrition and can give to baby from 8mth onwards. From 1 year, can give fully cook whole egg, but the egg white is not that nutritious, so not much different than giving just egg yolk, and you can be sure baby is safe from the bacteria.

JanBB,
Here's Zander playing with the rattle u gave. He enjoy shaking it very much cos of the noise it produce. But at the same time, he close his eyes when he shake it cos scare it hit his eyes bah.keke..so funni

1698500.jpg

Steph/JanBB,
Tell your MILs that if they start adding seasoning, etc in baby's food, they will become picky/fussy eaters in future. It's ok for babies to take "bland" food (if that's what they call it) as it's the most natural food without any additional additives/seasoning. Now's the time to train them to eat all those "not so tasty" food so they will be less fussy eaters in future.

Luvv, my son caught fever on one evening, he didnt poo for 2 days and had started on millet porridge but without much water intake. I gave him one time paracetemol and fever subsided that night. So i just wonder whether it's due to heatiness as he din poo and millet is too heaty? If heaty then take para dunno got side effect or not...

as for TMC, my son was admitted for bronchiolities ( same timing with violetice- i met her in the hospital, hehe). We both saw the same PD and i heard that she always admit bb cuz she prefers to play safe. But i think my son's case wasnt serious after consulted other PDs.. so if i brought my son to KKH, he might not even need to be admitted.. he only had slight cough and no fever at all. but after admission he needs to go thru blood test, xray, physio, phlegm suction, which were all very traumatic to a small bb.. i too sim tia, so i ban the hosp liao...

now is the bad weather season so i try not to bring bb out. very scared he cought cough or something, very phobia now..

Yvonne,
U'll be shocked if i tell u that my MIL cook using (vegetarian type MSG) to all her dishes including soup for the family! I was shocked too when she told me that cos my own mum don't use any MSG at all. That's why perhaps i am not a fussy eater. My hubby is more fussy in terms of food selection. I did tell my MIL that MSG is no good but she say she don't know how to cook w/o MSG! *faintz* I cannot imagine my kids growing up with MSG in their food!! So sad but can i change the family food culture?

QQ,
Aiyo, better don't give TT too much adult food...the salt/sodium is bad for their kidneys.

No offence QQ but you remind me of a family I saw 2 weekends ago at a coffee shop. There's a mummy with 2 kids and their grandmother. The younger one is about 1 yr old I think. The mummy ask the grandma to borrow soy sauce from the food stall to add into his boy's porridge. Grandma did that and came back with his porridge, the mummy took a look and said "Not enough lah, where got salty". So grandma went back to add MORE soy sauce...one bowl of porridge add soy sauce twice! faint...me and hubby shaking our heads.

QQ, wah bb can take curry meh? tot will be too hot for bb?

i agree with yvonne that salt is not good for bb. tot i read that can only give salt to bb after 1 year old.

Yvonne,
I am not ready to introduce KFC whipped potato. I choose to let baby eat natural food first. Adult food can wait till he is 12mths old, no hurry. On the other hand, my MIL is very adventurous type aka gan cheong. My brother-in-law even let my son try tomato sauce when he was just 5mths! I complaint to my hubby abt it &amp; hubby say only a little bit wont do harm la. I say in a fit of anger that next time, i will feed yr brother's baby with chilli sauce!

eRnMum, my girl also like that, I also tried to feed her alot, some I will repeat like Luvv says, but not working, she has learn to swipe the food. So now if she dont want, I just tell her its okay, then I keep. Will keep trying lo. I even alternate, with puff and 1 mouthful of food, first time still ok, then she realised than she refused to even eat the puff. =)

KFC whipped potato is not as bad if you don't mix in the gravy. But I think they mix with cow milk during the process, so it's better not to give.

Curry itself is okay leh, as long as it's confirmed no salt and MSG added. But except homecook curry, where got curry in the market don't add salt and MSG. So conclusion also cannot give.

Yvonne, I saw a mummy in a coffee shop giving her young baby half-boiled egg leh, you know, those for breakfast type!!!

Steph,
Can understand lah. My FIL is the cook at home and his food is also super salty...so my hubby and I have been telling him over and over again since my boy was only a few months old that salt and soy sauce CANNOT be added to his food. I will remind until he fed up I will also say...haha.

But seriously, you mummies should not introduce all these stuff so early. I know they look very cute when they're tasting the new food but you're doing yourself a very big disfavour. Like how my own sister let her 2 kids have all these junk food since young, now they only like junk food, sweets, chocolates, soft drinks and don't like to eat regular home-cooked food or drink plain water. It may not seem a big deal right now but you may regret 2-3 years from now when your kids have all those bad food habits. Must remember, it's easy for them to accept junk food but it takes hell of an effort to make them eat the healthy stuff.

Homemade mash potato very easy to make. Skin the potato, cook with water (just enough to cover the potato) in a small saucer, cook until potato turn soft, cool and blend. Add milk or water as necessary. Or try potato and carrot, my baby favourite!

steph

nice one.. haha.. i also dun allow anyone to feed Gisele adult food. Cos tat time a Doc mention on e tv that if baby take salty food, their kidney might not be able to clear the toxic easy n might accumlate n lead to kidney problems. Which is not a kidding issue. So i think it's better to wait, afterall it's only 4months+ to go, what's e hurry.

Yvonne,

Yes, my nephews also the same! They favourite are junk food (twistees, mamees, etc) and soft drink. It's VERY hard to change their food habit...... If any mummy don't introduce enough solid food, at least don't let them started on the wrong type of food.

Bebe_yan,

Doesn't mean after they reach 1 year than can start to give salt/sugar. We can be more relax but is best to hold as long as possible. At home, even for ourselves, I don't put salt in the soup and dishes. Whoever needs more taste, just add soy sauce.

igive home cook curry my mil cook ... i only tab tab on her mouth let her taste kekek .... i know too much salt no good

hehehe I like her to taste anything kekekeke but of cos not full meal

ya, i agree. I'm sure my mother in law feed my hubby junk food when he's young. He drink little water and almost no water after a meal which i felt very salty.

Kam,
I think we saw the "real-life" examples so we keep reminding ourselves not to do the same. I also want to hold off as long as possible but I know once he turns 1 year old, everyone else will be so eager to feed him with all sorts of things...sigh! Everytime I feed him vege puree, someone is bound to comment it's so bland, not nice, etc etc. But I still insist lor.