(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kisune_sg,
We took photo shoots st Foto-u. -) The photographer is patient and knows how to make my bb laugh. On top of that, we stayed behind the camera and being clowns for my girl thats why she was smiley on that day.

Visited your blog & your photos are nice too!!!!!!

Ahcapp

I'm the one who is feeling dry at work.. even my job needs me but i just feel like i have no motivation for it. I take a big move by deciding to be a SAHM (soon)... Until now, I dont regret about it but infact I feel happier and knowing that I can take care of my girl full time. at least, my hubby & my ILs are supporting my decision so I dont feel the burden, so does my husband.

-

blessedbaby,

Happy for u. =) U are very noble to make this decision to be a SAHM. In fact, I respect all SAHM alot. Really.

I enjoy working as I love meeting people. But working + looking after my son even after office hours/ weekend is taking quite a toll on me. I am hanging in there though.

I think I am experience a dry up session at my current job. Maybe I should consider moving on by early next year, instead of being envy of others... I am just chicken..

Ahcapp

Like you, I was very hard for me to make this decision. Very hard!! ;(

I'll be SAHM end of this month- infact from beginning of this month, I supposed to stay home already but my boss still wants to pull me to work to train new person.. I am looking forward to being a full time mum....

blessedbaby
Welcome to the SAHM club!

Ahcapp
I stopped working a few months b4 I had #1, cos hb sent overseas to work oso. When we returned, #1 1 yr old. But I can't trust others to handle her liao. She oso not easy child lah. So time passed, got bored, decided to work part time. Then preg with Elliot. Then job put on hold. EVERYDAY, I ask myself, to work or not to work. The 1 major reason to work is $$. FInally, last month I told my mgr I can't go back, cos my 2 kids needs me lor. I not a good SAHM, cos always go out.. hee... but somehow I feel better knowing tat I have more time for them.

Wat is the weight you have? You wan to give more time to your bb or you bored at work, dunno wan to change jobs or quit? For me, I oso know I not the ambitious kind. HOw to be when I already used to the lax life at home with my kids? Oh dear, think back, I work 3yrs after I graduated, then stop for 5 yrs (if dun count my part time which I work for 6 months). I gotta give up spending so much on myself, gg holidays often, blah blah... gotta come to terms which is more impt lor. I know I am not a 24/7 good mommy who stays at home, but oso not weekend mommy kind. So hb told me, if i work for the money, 9 to 5 job, income not high, can't climb corporate ladder, then might as well stay at home enjoy my kids. Cos I can't OT, wan to go home for my kids, then kids ill or got events in sch, blah blah... then take leave... So end up, I SAHM again. The sacrifices I gave up is quite a lot lor. You should discuss with your hb wat is the best lor.

ah capp,

i also feel stagnant in my job. to make things worse, my immediate boss penalised me for taking maternity leave. when i came back from my 1st ML, my workload was increased while other ppl's workload reduced. I was not given any choice to say "no" or to say "wait a while" for the new job scope to be thrown to me (even tho I have a staff leaving n I have yet to find another replacement). During appraisal, guess what my boss told me? she said "cos u took ML n the rest did not, there is no way I can promote u or give u a good grade!" i was damn pissed off. the organisation I worked in is pro-family but not my immediate boss.
Hence after my 2nd ML, I more or less expect the same thing. True enough, work load increased again. True enough, appraisal was so-so again with the same excuses. Even now when I want to apply leave, she would give me the excuse " u took 3 mths ML already. U should give others a chance to rest." I have a balance of 8.5 days of last yr leave, 2 days Family care leave and 1 PH in lieu to be claimed by this yr!! Yet, everytime I apply leave, it was rejected. I am practically dragging my feet to work daily. wonder when I can pick up my courage n leave this organisation.

kitsune
nothing wrong with how u look & how your girl looks la. My boys look like me.. i can't c any of my husband in them, except in their temperament & eating habits?!?!?!

mylvera
argh, report your boss to HR.

ah capp & all other great lakes
i'm like that lor. Change job when i got married, previously used to do rotating shift. Now offc hr, family friendly.. the longer i stay i less inclined i am to move, coz the environment here is really ideal for mummies. I did try searching for job after my ML, but half-hearted... & not much energy & persistence to search thoroughly also. I dun think i'll get promoted soon coz of my family commitment... even tho i really wish to work OT, but i cannot cannot. Boss understands, thank God. But that doesn't mean she will promote me even tho my performance is good. Coz big big boss also hv eyes to see. So i just make the most out of it, do the best i can, bloom where i'm planted. Tell myself everyday "I love my job!" & mean it

ohya, saw this on the internet just now

Maternity leave affects promotions in Australia

Mylvera:

Agree with wendyg. Report to the higher management. Your boss is so unfair, it's your own leave entitlement, what!

I worked in Australia before. Most of the Aussie mums usually go on for 12 MONTHS (paid + unpaid) maternity leave. The employer has to get a part-timer to replace the expecting mum for 1 year. Most employers will welcome the mummy back to the workforce with open arm, although it's true mums will not be promoted as fast as thier non-mum peers, as they are away for 1 whole year. But at least they are being treated fairly, as in once they are back to the workforce, they will have equal chance to get promoted.

It's the environment and the expectation and acceptance of the society to be blamed. In Singapore, and most of the Asian countries, employers expect you to work OT, it's like an unspoken "rule" that you have to follow. As if like if you don't work OT, meaning you are not a good staff..... And employees usually don't dare to say much cos scare of losing the job etc. There is no immediate solution to this. If you have a good and understanding boss, then you should appreciate it. In Singapore, to find this kind of good boss, is not easy.

Wendyg has a very good mentality, and I totally agree with her. I make myself to be liking my job, and in fact, I really love this job. If you find yourself one day dragging yourself to work, think it's the time you take a break!

Luca: Spa Botanica is great! we went there few months ago to celebrate our 3rd anniversary.. we took e couple package, $$ worth spending.. remember must go there 2hrs earlier than ur appt so u hav time to use their mud pool and relax there..

hb ask mi to b sahm but i cant do without $$ to spend becos i need to buy toys, clothing, etc for bb... we went shopping, ask hb to buy e toy for him and he said No, he already got so many toys at hom... i'll tell bb " Mummy will buy for u".. cant imagine if i'm a sahm, then how??

there was once my bb was v cranky and my hb scolded him and wanna slap him, i quickly went into e rm and carry bb.. Hey! Look at him althot he's cranky but he still so cute!
hb said bb always melt mummy's heart but not daddy's.. Whenever i see my bb's smile in e morning, itz brighten up my day!

mylvera,
Your boss must be single and child-less right?? Not trying to be mean here but it's her personal choice to remain single or child-free so that she can climb the corporate ladder. She shouldn't be penalising people like us who chose to have a family as well as a career. You mean the 3 mths ML erases all our past contributions & performance?? Then she's too narrow-minded isn't it? The men or women who works 365 days a year may not necessarily be working as hard as us or performing well in their jobs either?! It's a lousy excuse lah...

lynn
now bb only 8m old... when he reaches 2YO & really need to discipline, remember that u & hb must sing the same tune (at least in front of him), o'wise your son will know that he can bully u.

Lynn

Guys are like that.They only buy what they "want" to. I rather to go shopping for toys by myself (means I will meet my hubby where he waits for me after I am done with my shopping), I can choose what I want to buy. Only go with hubby when he suggests to buy "big" toys.

I told my hubby,when I stay home, make sure you transfer $$$ to my account by end of the month. he said "yes" willingly. hahhahahhahahahaha.

I agree with Kam, it's not easy to find a good boss in S'pore. My boss is also another kind, she just drives us according to her moods. everybody also keeps quite and make it become company' culture.

Blessedbaby,

You mean you still have your own account? We only have joint accounts....... each and every expenses come from the joint accounts.

wendy, Kam,

not that I don't want to report my boss. I heard from past cases that 1 person report to HR about my boss. Guess what? she was asked to leave within 24 hrs by my boss when my boss came down from HR (somehow my boss gave excuses and managed to "pass thro"). So, I will only report when I am comfortable in being a SAHM or that I find another job.

Yvonne,
She is married but childless. I doubt is her choice. I have a colleague who used to "gang up" with my boss after my 1st ML. haha end up, this colleague of mine had an "accident" n deliver in dec 07. well, her life changed once she announced her pregnancy

Kam

Yes, I still have my own account... ;)) As I also want a bit of saving for myself and I also need to support my parents not on monthly basic but on special occasions, I need to give them as they are retired. So how to ask my hubby my parents while we don't need to support his parents?

<font color="0077aa">kitsune</font>
ya ya i mean that pix..heehee.. look a bit like "zhang guo rong".. u so cute, really post here ; )

<font color="0077aa">violetice</font>
Is oki, bring Ian along, think he will enjoy seeing so many babies too. So what time your hubby pick you there, 7.30pm+? Let me discuss with my hubby again. Thinking to tell him take leave too, then I can be chauffeured the whole day ; )

<font color="0077aa">blessedbaby</font>
Congrats to you to promote to SAHM ;) U seem very decisive &amp; firm! I hope i can be like u ;)

Janbb

hehhee. I was very indecisive to take this step!!!!!!! It was not easy... so many yes and no, no and yes, yes and no, no and yes along my path... but in the end I make it and looking forward for being a SHAM. I am not at ease to send my bb to child care or let my maid to look after her...

Ahcapp,
Yah, I got those. It’s realllly hard. I tried biting it myself and my teeth hurt! But apparently now my gal who has 2 tiny lower teeth, managed to slowly scrape off the biscuit after soaking it with her saliva. And she loves it. Ask her to share with us, she don’t want. Will quickly pop it into her mouth again, afraid that we’ll take it away. Hee.

Re: career
I think I’m one bad mummy. I decided to spend my time working hard coz I find that I’m a lousy mother. I don’t really know how to take care of my baby, I get verrrry flustered when she cries and will even lose my temper. I cannot imagine having to take care of baby the whole day. I really salute SAHMs!! Hence, I decided I should just concentrate on my career (take on more responsiblility and hopefully get promoted) and let my mum take care of my baby instead.

Blessedbaby,
Who was your photographer @ foto_u? How much did you pay? I’m thinking of going foto-u for my gal’s photoshoot too but the promo price is no longer that attractive.

Ah Capp, I transferred to another dept 2 years ago too. But now, HR use that as excuse, say can't be promoted cos with new dept for only 2 years. :/

Ernmum, the package at ABC is $168 for family package (45mins though we took 1 hr) and includes make up for Mummy. I need it man, was so pale cos was sick when the photos were taken. :p

Blessedbaby, know what you mean. Me also, waver and waver but cannot decide cos need to support elderly parents so still working full time till now. :p

Re: career
I am in the cross road nw - still deciding whether to quit or not. I wish I can just quit and be a SAHM. Its so tiring working and handling my gal alone. My hubby is always busy with his work, which left me all alone handling our gal and the housework. My hubby has been urging me to quit and stay at home to look after our gal. I am quite lucky that if i quit, we are still able to live comfortably with my husband's pay. However, one the other hand, I dont want to give up the career that I love. I love being a SAHM and teach my gal myself, but I also love my job as a teacher.

mylvera,
Then how come she's still so inconsiderate and narrow-minded?? Don't understand leh...if you say she's childless but not by choice, then I suppose she also wants to have a baby but got difficulty somwhere lah...then she should be more understanding towards other mummies. But if she chose to remain childless then good luck to her...accidents happen...hahaha.

We are all woman, should be more supportive of each other right?

single, unmarried woman boss is difficult to work with! I used to work for this kind of boss who has no social n family life. wow, she will call us at 530pm and give us work, then tell us to get it done by tonite.

blessedbaby,

I was laughing when my colleague complains to me about my boss.
ahem.. I shouldn't be so rude.. sorry...

Yvonne,
Well, mayb this is called "red eye"? she wants but she cannot have so she make sure those that has don't have a good time? it's like... I can't enjoy it, why should the rest enjoy? that's why nowadays my mentality is "try for #3, claim 4 mths ML n make her super angry" haha she hinted to me when I came back fr my 2 mths ML saying "well, I already told the rest of the staff, we won't give any <red> to those who is giving birth to #3 n above." I reply her "nvm, govt give more than u do
" she got angry n went back to her room haha

seems like I am not a good employee also ... always "talk back" at her. :p

ErnMum, quite pro, for weekday package, 2 a4 print outs, got to choose, let them know then go back to collect. Quite mafan since I stay in Tampines. Their shop is at second floor of shophouse so pram quite inconvenient though.

mylvera;
wah your immediate boss very bad, i agree with the rest, should report!

re: careers
a lot of mummies feel stangant in their job because after a child, priorities changes and all new mummies felt the change so, people look at this in different ways.
When i came back from ML, i also felt very stangnant. Felt that i was earning not enough to support my bb. Altho i have got fantastic boss and colleagues that i can die for, i tell myself that i need higher pay, hence i jumped ship and now landed in another job. couldnt bear to leave my ex colleagues and cried buckets on the last day. But i still jumped anyway, coz its all for the sake of $$ and for the sake of my son. Thinking back, i would never jumped if i do not have a baby. I would have put my career on hold, just like ahCapp, so that i will be comfortable in my old job, since my boss is understanding with expressing during work and going off on the dot...

luckily my new coy is very pro work balance, they are even doing a survey from employees on how to improve work life balance. i suggest daycare for employees' children/babies

talking about inconsiderate people, there was a VIP customer of mine, who demands for a report from the sales guy who served her company's account. she couldnt get him and she contacted me (i was in CS at that time). I told him that he is on leave coz his wife was giving birth. and her reply was? "he is not the one giving birth what so why take leave?" WHAT THE??
please lor, you have a girl yourself and if someone said the said thing to you when you gave birth at that time, how would you feel?
so heartless

<font color="0000ff">LUGMAX HANDBAG ORGANISERS</font>
i have 1 big and 1 small to sell. bought already but realised that I don't need it. if mummy want, can sell to u at a discount. tks.

mcfluffy

My photographer was David. I paid S$150 for 2 hours. Better bring your baby comes earlier than the appointment time. We was late 30 mins so didnt have time for my gal to get used to environment. so 1st few photos, she was looking around and cried..

mylvera,
Waaa...really sour grapes man! Support you to go for #3 and parade in front of her...haha! With this type of negative attitutde like hers how to become pregnant?? Come to think of it, if one day she really pregnant, then all of you will take revenge lor...haha.

hi kam,

what does the kembagam community centre baby show door gifts consist of?what is the criteria for choosing the champion baby?heard is only check up by pd and docs,then they decide the winner??the waiting time very long??
my friend went for the 1 at whampoa,she said from 9am to 3pm,very tiring

the eastpoint bb show if selected will have to wait till 7pm,very long

hi qq,

voted for TT

AhCapp,
I share your thoughts. I feel my priority also changed after having a baby. Im afraid of changing job because I worry tat the next one may mean more working late and higher stress. That equates to less time for my son. My current job is more family friendly. Don't really have to work late and boss is quite nice. But, I know that I may end up a bit stagnant here.

There are times I also want to move on for career development. But I can't bring myself to...sigh...I really don;t know what are my plans. Some more if want to plan for #2, then may be stuck here still....HAve to eeither get a new job before #2 or stick w this...

Goodbb,

Goodie bag with a lot of sample diapers, a box of brown rice, some brochures, etc. The bag still sits there untouched, so not sure if got something else or not.

Really not a good event to attend - no criteria said for choosing the baby. PD checked for like a couple of minutes, that's all. Then wait and wait and wait, no organized activities for baby and parent to enjoy. Waited from 9am to 12.30pm. Definitely not going back :-(

The eastpoint bb show is organised by channel 8 or channel U, right? So at least if selected, they will interact and play with baby, and will be broadcasted on tv leh..... This week is for bb girl, at least everyone now knows that you have to wait till 7pm etc. 2 weeks ago the bb boy show, nobody knew anything, went there blur blur.

kam, were there any baby room to change diapers in at kembangan cc? i had to change my gal's diapers in my car... duh.. luckily, she didn't roll around.

btw, there's a meet up this friday issit? to meet mylife? when? where? i'm so bored at home.. i'm thinking of meeting u ladies too. hehe

mcfluffy,

don't think they prepared one for diaper changing. But they did use 1 air-con room for bf. You and your baby enjoyed the event or not? Thinking of going for the one at eastpoint? Do you have a blog to share?

Mcfluffy,
Give yourself sometime to adjust to motherhood. Probably, you still long for those days when you can go and do whatever you like with hubby.

You can looks at Sudio Loft for the studio shots.

Mylvera, very sorry to hear about the sad state of affairs at work.

Pixel, at least your survey works. My "company" conducted a work life balance workshop for all of us. We laughed like mad when we saw our boss work life balance...Her idea of worklife balance is to bring work home to do..Needless to say, she is single.

Mcfluffy,

added your blog into baby Hao Re's blog www.babyhaore.blogspot.com. Hope you don't mind :)

I find the day gets shorter if we bring baby out for whatever activities. But if stay home for the whole day, it seems like a very very long day, esp if hubby not around. My boy boy enjoys going out because then he can "biou" beautiful girls.

blackbatz...
she really got worklife balance idea skewed...bring work home? haha...
my survey dunno work or not coz i suggested daycare for employees' child and must be a lot of other employees with the same suggestion then they will consider. if i am the only one who said that, a pin in the ocean leh...no point one lah...
when report out, new incentives in place, see what they offer lor...

mylvera,
hope your change of job time or be a SAHM time come sooner so that you can leave the boss from hell.

AhCapp,
don't think too much about career, just remind yourself that at the end of the day, will the company remember you as a superb worker or will your son who has more fond memories of his mother.

At times, i also wonder if i've sacriface by being a SAHM. What if i can't get a decent job with a reasonable salary should i return to work force after my children grows up? But hey, i can't plan too far also, i wouldn't know what will happen tommorrow too. My co-workers/my boss won't be there with me on the road forever. My family does.

hihi, i have 4 vouchers for free return air tickets to KL (Jetstar) to give away. won them in a lucky draw but dun think i can go. Just PM me to collect.
oh, to bring the voucher to Chans Bros to collect with your passport.

conditions as follows hor:
Conditions:
-Bookings must be made by 7 Sept 08.
-Travel must be completed by 31 Oct 2008
-not valid to fly during school hols (31 aug to 7 sep)
-excludes taxes of approx $125 per person upon ticket issurance which must be paid in cash oni.