(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kitsune
Xavier loves to boo with saliva. love it so much that he think it is greeting people.. very horrible, lots of saliva everywhere. u see his blog and will see his super pout lips.. he wanna boo lor.

drinking water

Any mummy's little darling doesn't like to drink water? My son doesn't like to drink water. =( So now, I have to give him fruit juice mix with water (50% each). But in the long run, I think this is not very good.

How ah?

Ahcapp,

Yes, my darling is Joshua
I think i will give the class a shot for this 1.5 terms. Like you, I wanted to try other classes too but this one so much nearer to my place. Oso about 10-15 min drive. I can't imagine driving ALL the way to Orchard for juz 1 hour of class..

Maybe ur darling 1st time in such an environment and he shy cos he was the 1st person vanessa did the flash card thingy, that's y he cried. He seemed to enjoy the gym.. my son on the other hand, didn't seem to like the monkey bar thing leh..

So, will I see you both this coming Sat? This time must intro our boys... hehe...

mandygoh, you can just call the BJG and arrange for the trial. They apparently only have the Sat 2:30pm class available for crawler 1 only...

Hi LynnTHK,

Nice to meet u! =) Joshua very 'guai' that day, sit still and listened attentively to the teacher. I think my boy is the more active side. So maybe he likes the crawling part more than the class. But I noticed my boy easily startled by sudden noises and I feel he is not comfortable with the outside world. That's also the reason I feel like letting him to join such classes.

Btw, can I ask. I was told that even if we were to sign up for the remaining of this term, we have to sign up for the next term too. Is this right?

I will be away on business trip this and next weekend. So my son can only join the sat class when I return. Should be ok to join the class on 30 Aug. =) Will call them up tmrw to check. Keep u posted. Our sons can make friends. ^_^

hi blessedbaby,

Hope your darling likes the peas. =) I actually find these peas tasted nicer than those we eat in the 'zi char' fried rice wor. ;P But I am still not that keen on peas. Hehehe..I am sure your darling will enjoy the peas. =)

Green Pea

Blessedbaby / AhCapp / Mandy

I think the one mentioned by AhCapp is the brand I got. Can't remember exactly cos I already through away the packet, I stemaed the entire bags and keep the puree in freezers (only enough for 5 feeds for my baby anyway). Yes, it's okay to puree skin together and the skin can be broken down pretty nicely. But the First Food book said to seive through the blended pea to remove skin. But I didn't manage to do, like nothing passed through the seive. So I gave the pea and skin to my baby. When I tasted it, it's kind of quite coarse, rather than smooth. So I guess if your baby can swallow pretty well now, it should be not a concern at all. It tastes very nice :)

Mandy, can visit my blog at www.babyhaore.blogspot.com for the simple recipe I wrote about puree.

Hey, anyone knows what happened to the Aquaducks trial? Cheryl was organising it right? It's in Sept right? Can't remember the dates, confirmed or not?

Kam,

I didn't bother to sieve the blended peas to remove the skin since I noticed that it can be blended down nicely. Me lazy mummy. I was also thinking eat together with the skin may be more nutritious. ;)

Any more must try purees to recommend us? ^_^

Thank you all mummies for sharing useful informations in this thread! Have been reading this thread everyday but did not do any posting.

As I'm going for my operation to remove my fibroids next Sat, will need mummies' advice urgently on giving my boy frozen EBM. I've been giving my 5mth old son EBM since birth but due to my operation, I need to give him frozen express milk.

May I know :
- how many hours in advance do I need to thaw the frozen EBM?
- if I need to transport my frozen EBM to another place, can I put back all the frozen EBM back to the freezer or I can only put it in the fridge compartment must consume within a certain period of time? How long can it last in the cooler bag?
- eg, I took out the EBM from the freezer to thaw in the fridge at 1pm by when do I need to use it before I need to discard it?

Thank you all mummies for your advice!

Kam & Ahcapp,

Just back from Cold Storage and managed to get green peas. ;)) Will let my bb try it next week.
My hubby said I should slow down to introduce new food to my girl... as she has her whole life to eat. hahahaha

Ahcapp
I want to breadfeed my bb for 1 year at least.. (i still have 5 more months to go but soon I become SHAM.hhohohoho). -))

hi jenny

- how many hours in advance do I need to thaw the frozen EBM?
12 hrs to thaw in the noraml fridge compartment.

- if I need to transport my frozen EBM to another place, can I put back all the frozen EBM back to the freezer or I can only put it in the fridge compartment must consume within a certain period of time? How long can it last in the cooler bag?
if in big qty, try those containers (dunoo wat u call it..) for can drinks and ice. then can put back in freezer if for quick period of time.

i know normal cooler bag is 4 hrs, pigeon is 12 hrs. but tt more for ebm. frozen one not very sure.

- eg, I took out the EBM from the freezer to thaw in the fridge at 1pm by when do I need to use it before I need to discard it?

thaw 12 hrs, use within next 12 hrs.

Hi Icy,

Thanks for replying!

Another 1 more question, we must thaw the frozen EBM this way arh? Any more express method to thaw it? Can we take out from the freezer and put it straight into the warmer to thaw and warm it?

Thank u again for your advice!

Jenny, for me, we thaw the frozen pack in a cup of water, once melted but still cold, we then transfer to the chiller section to be consumed.

anyone facing rejection of milk? My girl has been refusing milk for like 2 weeks, everyday she can refuse to taker her morning milk and her milk before she sleeps..ends up her last meal will be cereals at 6pm and that's it, she'll go without anything until the next morning. And come morning have to do a lot of coaxing to get her drinking like 1/2 her portion.

After lunch during her milk time thereafter, the same thing happen. All in all, i think she's only taking like less then 150ml of milk per day (excluding the milk in her cereals).

I'm really worried about the amount of milk that she's drinking now.

Any ideas what can i do?

I have a friend whose 5 months plus baby is only having 4 milk feeds a day. Is it normal?

She thinks I'm overfeeding my boy because he takes 6 feeds a day.

blessedbaby / AhCapp:

Glad that we are on the same page, we are at the world of pureesssss :)

I want my baby to have as much of different variety of food as possible, so that he can get all the nutritious he needs, esp those he can't get from FM readily, so me not slowing down on introducing new food every week. I focus on quality rather than quantity

Think only have a few types of fruit/vege (pear, honeydew, ang-moh spanish) to try, and that's it.

So I will be giving him fish, chicken and tofu puree (though Hao Re already taken fish and chicken blended with porridge by his teachers) this or next weekend, depending on how busy we will be on the weekend. And baby Hao Re turns 8 months, can give him brocolli, clauriflower, egg yolk etc.

Re: Green Pea Purees
My existing blender is not very good with making purees so I gave my boy Healthy Times Baby Sweet Peas instead...and he loves it!

Re: Other Purees
I made broccoli & potato puree over the weekend, used my blender but the puree is not very smooth so there's some lumps inside...my boy didn't like the lumps at all...haha...but I think he likes this new "recipe" (I added formula milk to get a smoother consistency)...mummies can try this...it tastes nice becos I ate the leftovers.

yvonne
fitti basic abt the same cutting, maybe slightly larger than Petpet. Your boy L size can la.

yeah my boy also likes the HT Sweet Peas. Smells good eh.

kitsune/ blackbatz
i took a digital photo of my baby (he was lying on patterned bedsheet), tried to edit away the background as much as i could from Paint. Submitted online & crossed my fingers.. within few days rcv'd notice to collect. hee hee.
for my #1, he was sitting upright against a beige wall, but can't really tell it's not white background. They also accepted without any editing.

Thanks wendyg, will get a pack to try.

The HT sweet peas taste like green bean paste..quite yummy...hehe...I always try whatever my boy is eating. My hubby even better...want to eat my boy's HT teething biscuits...he says every nice.

Luvv, maybe she is teething soon? recently my son also suddenly drinks less than his normal intake then yesterday saw his 1st teeth popped out liow! Is she still happy and active, if so should be ok!

re: puree
I also agree with Kam that should introduce wide variety of food....thanks for introducing the First Food Book, it s really good! It is fun making all the puree.....planning to make porridge for them when they turn 7 months with all the fish and chicken puree. Anybody used thermo pots (ENDO/Tiger) b4....r they good? i wanted to buy from BP but too late closed liow!!! waiting for the next BP.

re: peas,
i hate peas but read that u all say so nice...haha will go and buy some to prepare!

violetice, think total intake more impt rite?

Gd morning all

<font color="0077aa">JanBB,</font>

yup so coincidental. Wah, yr eyes very sharp...can stilll spot me when it's crowded. I was a bit dizzy after the medication &amp; can't concentrate if any pretty mummy walk pass me:p My eyes were busy scanning the baby clothes on sales...keke
We spent $40plus on clothes, mickey mouse bb shoe, pigeon mag mag set &amp; avent pacifier for 6to18mths. After that, we went to PILs plc to fetch Zander home. Very tiring &amp; sleepy now...low energy level...hope 1st trimester quickly pass. #2 is growing well &amp; measure 21.3mm...sooo tiny. I am 9wks now

<font color="aa00aa">violetIce,</font>
speedy recovery!

<font color="ff6000">blessedbaby, shannonbaby,</font>
yeah, happi belated 7th mth old to Johanna &amp; Shayne

Morning all mummies,

blessedbaby,

I got the discovery ball quite sometimes ago from overseas spree site. u can try looking at Isetan (I know they sell leapfrog stuff). It helps to keep my gal occupied while i do my cooking..hehe

icy, pixiepixel
thanks for responding. Haha, my gal also play with saliva now, but instead of boo, she razzes.

pixiepixel
good to BF ur baby for 1 yr at least

yvonne
ur hubby very funny leh. Eat teething biscuits. Haha.

ahcapp
aiyah, she can only call out Ma, but only at times of distress..ie when i walk away and she having some sort of separation anxiety, then it blurted out bah? Pa she doesnt know yet. Dont think they know how to call mama and dada discriminately yet.

kitsune
like wendy, i also placed rylee on my bed (with beige bedsheet) and took her shot for the passport back when she was 2mths old. The immigration not so strict with the photo lah. As long as u bring baby along to collect passport, then they check baby indeed the one in the photo can liao. Wait grow older then take professional pic lah.

Baby Hao Re FELL OUT from his cot!!!

Finally, the expected day came. I was constantly worried Hao Re would one day climbed over and fell out from his cot since he can already pull himself up to the standing position. It happened on Sunday morning. I didn't raise the side of the cot higher as I thought I was only a few steps away preparing milk for his morning feed, so it should be okay. When I was scooping the FM, I heard him crying, and when I turned, he was head down body up kind of position, with one leg hanging on his cot. Luckily I pulled his cot next to our bed and lock the roller of the cot. So he only fell on our bed. Don't think he was hurt, but he cried because he himself got a shock, I think.

So don't under-estimate what your baby can do!!! And always be prepared, make your home child-proof!

Brown Line

Any mummies still have the brown line on tummy?
Mine still don't bear to leave my tummy!!

Sneezing

My girl has been sneezing once or twice a day recently, in e beginning there's Bi Ti then i brought her to doc n gave her medicine. Now she still sneeze but no more Bi Ti. Any advice? Should i bring her to doc again?

bebe_yan, my brown line still there too , stretch marks fainter but still there...the worst is my tummy is still big!!!

Kam, u must have a big shock! Think our kids have reached a dangerous stage liow. my gal juz kok her head when she lost her balance when sitting up. went away for 1 minute n din realised she had crawled out of the bumper mat liow!

re:calendula cream
when i ordered for myself, i ordered another extra 4 bottles, anybody who wants to buy can PM me. $15 :)

dawn, shannonbaby

i tot e line will go off in a couple of months so i tot why mine still there.. so ugly ler. haha.. cos i see why those celebrities mum tummy so nice just after 1 month then why mine still dun wish to go.. :S

the brown line is not stretch mark right? my tummy big too but i still manage to squeeze into my old jeans.

wendgy

I dun think so ler, cos they cant possible go out wear short tees revealing their tummy with the brown line ma. like tat not ugly meh.. those pics are taken by paparazzi one so shouldnt have airbrushed or maybe they rich got special cream to use..

wendyg,

haha, you are funny, yes, can consider that as one of the future career for baby Hao Re :)

dawn,

yes, have to take extra care when they started to crawl. And have to remove everything from the floor. My baby is particularly interested in wiring.

Kam, at least urs hit the bed. Mine hit the floor. While I was disciplining my gal and carrying him, he decided to flip back and I couldn't catch in time and he fell face down on the grounds...luckily he stopped crying shortly.

My baby loves apple purree. Will start making others for him soon.

<font color="0077aa">Mandy</font>
Re: BJG
Me also lost track on the BJG status liao, heehee ;) Think mummy Hema (did i get the name rite?) took over the co-ordinating job. Anyway, rem read that some mummies are going on 23 Aug (sat) trial class.

Why not u juz call 65630716 &amp; confirm yourself?
Me already attended the trial, not sure whether can attend another time or not. Still thinking to sign up the crawler 2 when my boy reach 9 mths or sign up this week for crawler 1 first. Cos' dun really like the timing, is at 2.30pm on sat!! Like half day gone after that...

<font color="0077aa">Steph</font>
Wow, that's fast...3wks more approaching 2nd tri soon.. Muz endure endure ; )But i see u still looking fine, at least still can go shopping. Me last time so pale &amp; "xin gu" in 1st tri, not to say go shopping...

<font color="0077aa">Kam</font>
Saw your blog, HaoRe is soooo cute in his photoshoot ; ) Nice pix taken!!! I bot that tiger romper too.
Btw, how cum there is these "1 day ago, 5 days ago...etc" under the link to our blog? It look like a "prompt" when we updated our blog?? If so, will be good. Teach me leh, thks ^.^

JanBB,
When expecting Zander, me also no shop, no GSS, very xin ku. hehe this time gynae didn't say cannot shop so i just go ahead, chop chop buy &amp; then go off. The parking fee at Taka is so ex! less than 1.5hrs, kena charge $5plus leh.

JanBB,

Thanks (on behalf of baby Hao Re) for the compliment!

For the link to others' blog, click "customize", the "edit", then in the "show" selection, check "date of last update". And bingo, when you log in to your own blog, you will know which mummy has just updated their blog :)

We wanted to get a pig romper, but can't find, so picked the tiger one. Any lobang to get a pig romper?

Steph,
Ya i know...We parked at the building near Party World think only 2-3 buck. Cos last yr was there with my fnd &amp; rem she paid $8+ for it. Like no saving from the sale hor after paying the parking fee ; )